Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Keep Calm And Discuss Retro Generally!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    Swery game has me most interested.

Which one was that again? The JSR/Dead Rising mash up?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,313 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Andrew76 wrote: »
    Which one was that again? The JSR/Dead Rising mash up?

The episodic murder mystery game with the comic book visuals. Anything by the guy behind Deadly Premonition is going to be an experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭Nerdkiller1991

Don't mind me folks. Just watching some Toy Story 3 here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭Jack burton

The MGS 5 footage does looks to be the **** though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,435 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

The MGS 5 footage does looks to be the **** though :)

That's not just footage, you're actually playing the demo ;)

Wow! Sony just destroyed MS with that conference imo. €100 cheaper than Xbox One, no restrictions on playing second hame games, no internet connection needed to play single player games, self publishing indie devs and some class looking games ofc. Your PS+ account carries over to PS4 too. Decent looking machine too. Impressive.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,313 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Only bad point is paid for online gaming but I'll only need that for the next Dark Souls.

FFXV actually looks like fun as well despite being the usual Nomura weeaboo crap. Kingdom Hearts 3 will have the fanboys slobbering over it despite looking like a very early tech demo.

Looks like Sony pulled another E3 1994.

Only bad point is paid for online gaming but I'll only need that for the next Dark Souls.

That's no different to Xbox Live Gold though isn't it? The only low point of the conference was the Sony Pictures part, waffling on about movies with no real details that I recall. Would have liked to seen more of the machine itself, the slanty angles look cool, guess we'll see everything over the next few days.

That's no different to Xbox Live Gold though isn't it?

Yep but I think you get PS Plus benefits as well.

Sweet. It will be interesting to see if MS try and come back with some sort of counter, if that's even possible at thise stage, they really shot themselves in the foot with the DRM crap at least.

Swiped this from the main E3 thread, very funny and true! :pac:

Also wonder how Nintendo can get their foot back in the door too.

Good games, new Zelda, new Mario and Wii Fit. I'd be surprised if they don't roll them out.

I think MS are in a far worse position than nintendo. Nintendo won't be trying to compete with the other two.

A price drop would do wonders as well but I doubt they'll do that.

No Legend of Dragoon 2 :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

That was some ending to the show alright. Things had wittled down and gotten pretty boring untill that point, then my house was suddenly alive with the sound of cheers from myself and the lads. Is this what football fans feel like when the sportsmen do something pleasing?

You know what. **** MS for making the announcement that you actually own the games you buy a big deal.

Good games, new Zelda, new Mario and Wii Fit. I'd be surprised if they don't roll them out.

I think MS are in a far worse position than nintendo. Nintendo won't be trying to compete with the other two.

A price drop would do wonders as well but I doubt they'll do that.

The days of a Mario or Zelda game selling a console are long gone for me, probably not for others though. Will be interesting to see where they go with Mario, I thought they pretty much perfected 3D gameplay with the Galaxy pair. Suppose they'll involve the tablet gamepad yoke.

You know what. **** MS for making the announcement that you actually own the games you buy a big deal.

Completely agree. I was just having this same conversation a few minutes ago. Fair play to Playststion, but they didn't actually do anything out of the ordinary. It's just that Microsoft came across as such soundrels that Playstation doing the same thing tey've always done made them look like heroes.

The days of a Mario or Zelda game selling a console are long gone for me, probably not for others though.

Yeah but you're one of those soulless weirdos that is unable to experience the joy of a nintendo game :P

I think Nintendo will have a strong line up this year. I hope they show more of Xenoblade 2 and with Fire Emblem finally getting the success it deserves on 3DS they will be pimping the hell out of SMT X Fire Emblem.

deathrider wrote: »
    Completely agree. I was just having this same conversation a few minutes ago. Fair play to Playststion, but they didn't actually do anything out of the ordinary. It's just that Microsoft came across as such soundrels that Playstation doing the same thing tey've always done made them look like heroes.

Shows you how bad MS messed up when the loudest cheer at the Sony conference comes from them saying they're doing nothing different to how things are now. :D

Yeah but you're one of those soulless weirdos that is unable to experience the joy of a nintendo game :P

Hah, I was playing and enjoying Nintendo games when you were just an itch in your daddy's pants! Of course I enjoy them, just saying I'm not forking out 100s for a single title like I would have years ago. The Wii and 360 midnight queuing on Dawnson street were the last for me. I can wait a while for a new machine now. :)

Shows you how bad MS messed up when the loudest cheer at the Sony conference comes from them saying they're doing nothing different tp how things are now. :D

And the same as it's always been. They got greedy and shot themselves in the foot. Good enough for them!

That was certainly worth watching again.

I know the packaging will be different but the machines themselves look kind of similar. I wonder will that make any difference to parents or casual gamers when they see both on a shelf and one black box is 100 quid cheaper than the other.

k-bigpic.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭Danonino.

Xbox360E_4GB_Console_ST2013_US_Groupshot.png?w=940
    They also look almost identical to the new design Xbox 360.
    http://news.xbox.com/2013/06/x360-xbox-360-e3-2013-reveal
    €299 for an 8 year old console on the shelf beside the €399 PS3... then the Xbox One looking like the poorest console choice day 1 that I can think off for €499. I've worked in gameshops for many years and even though you are pushed to sell the most expensive bundles, its going to be a struggle to convince people to pay for an Xbox this Christmas. The xbox one will be a very hard sell. I thought the PS3 was a hard sell launch day but really, Microsoft are in trouble here.

If Nintendo are watching closely enough they will slash the WiiU price, sell at a loss and cement it as the perfect companion.

Any idea if the PS4 will be region free like 3 and vita?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,609 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

It will be fascinating to see how this all plays out late this year and onwards. Sony may have won over the gamers almost completely, but will have to wait and see how the average consumer responds. Although at one hundred euro difference and hugely variant fundamental principles, the deal may well be sealed. Will be fun to watch from the sidelines ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭Jack burton

I'd say sony have this one in the bag. All they have to do now is not **** it up, which I think would be very hard to do

I do like the look of these new consoles. They looks like what someone in the 70s/80s thought a console would look like in the future, just a black square box that gets the job done! :)

I'd say I will be a launch buyer for PS4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭Pyongyang

No they do not look similar! The PS4 looks like an X68000, which is BRILLIANT!

The XBOX One looks like a Ferguson toploader or something a heavily constipated pensioner would evacuate from their bowels after a month on ex-lax to get it shifted!!

I've pre-ordered a PS4 this morning. :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,754 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Pyongyang wrote: »
    No they do not look similar! The PS4 looks like an X68000, which is BRILLIANT!

The XBOX One looks like a Ferguson toploader or something a heavily constipated pensioner would evacuate from their bowels after a month on ex-lax to get it shifted!!

I've pre-ordered a PS4 this morning. :)

Oddly enough I have much experience with getting bowels evacuated after months using a Lactulose preparation.
    Enema usually does it, although it can be the nuclear option, with almost certain area denial features as a result.

There is nothing that sucks on the Xbox One that can't be fixed in firmware before launch.
    MS have had massive success with the 360, they have produced a superior gaming environment that has made them a lot of money and made a lot of gamers happy.
    I wouldn't write them off just yet.

And Sony, they always generated great hype only to snafu the launch lineup with a pitiful game selection. And they've done this again and again.

I reckon some distance, get closer to the launch date, then we'll know what to expect.

The region free nature of the PS4 is great news, but then the PS3 was largely region free too, so are last gens features now selling points?
    "Here, come see how we haven't borked it up this time"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,729 ✭✭✭The Last Bandit

By the sounds of it MS have way to many legal agreements in place now with publishers to roll back on without some serious financial penalties regarding used games.

Sony look to have the upper hand at the moment but are well capable to throwing it all away with some stupid decisions later on..

Who knows... wake me in a couple of years when the second variant is released and loads of cheapo 2nd games available...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭Pyongyang

I beg to differ on this one chief. It's truly Sony's war to lose in all honesty.

What are the facts of the PS4 we know now? Sony were clear as day and clarified everything we want to know:
    • No DRM
    • Used games OK
    • Buy, Sell, Trade, Eat your games, it's OK!
    • The Move camera does NOT spy on you and is fully controllable
    • Move camera is not an integral part of the PS4 functionality
    • No always-on Internet required
    • Open arms to indie developers
    • Easy to develop for (apparently)
    • Almost €100 cheaper than the Xbox One
    • Most likely region free per their previous form
    • Looks like an X68000! :)
    • Xbox One exclusives will likely come to PS4 anyways (aside from Halo, Forza etc)
    • PS Vita used for remote play. Xbox One has no remote play. A Godsend for me when the wife is always robbing the telly to watch Peter 'C**ting' Andre and other reality rubbish!

Probably missed a few things there, but all those appear to be golden promises from evil Sony. It really is their war to lose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,729 ✭✭✭The Last Bandit

Hmm seems complicated...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭DinoRex

But... but... but... Last Guardian...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭Nerdkiller1991

ARG! But they now have PS4 online play behind a paywall in PS+, but hey, at least it offers value with its free games, unlike a certain other online service.