Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Keep Calm And Discuss Retro Generally!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭Pyongyang

Whats a good places to order a Jamma connector?

FrancoB.

Costs more than the €10 yokes on eBay but those things are only fit for the bin anyway. Would you trust your stuff on one of those or spend an extra €20 on a hand-made, proper yoke from yer man with the thingies? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭Jack burton

its just the socket I need, sorry

One of these lads

$%28KGrHqYOKj!E1tSVUi%28FBNq62RlW+g~~_35.JPG?set_id=880000500F

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭valleyoftheunos

Retr0gamer wrote: »

...Actually managed to get some games in Rage that weren't overpriced. Got Goof Troop, Pop n'Twinbee and Super Alester for the SNES. Weird thing was I got Goof Troop and Pop n'Twinbee for 12.95 each but they also had the same games priced 24.95 there as well...

Happens all the time in there, they don't know what stock they have and pretty much make the prices up as and when they get stuff. Its such a shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭MrVestek

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,754 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

That's been posted here before!
    But it is still pretty cool.
    Love to see a level of the game playable in some regard.
    Pretty neat.

Hmm,
    I wonder if they could get Panzer Dragoon running on a MD!
    Oh no....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Yeah seen that before, possibly on here - impressive stuff

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,754 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

I just had a thought......

Regarding the idea of the Xbox One and trade ins!

Assuming the model of ownership of Xbox One games will be more that the "owner" will really own permission to use software as long as their account decrees?
    Is it possible that a user can relinquish rights to a game upon trading it in, allowing a third party to buy and link it to new hardware?
    It would require trust on the part of the new owner to be sure, but it should be easily possible.
    Just some sort of opt out, "No, I do not wish to retain permission to play this game with my account" click it and, all your DLC, saves and patches can remain if you like but you won't have the game to play anymore without buying it again.
    It might require the likes of Game and Gamestop to then use the servers and a local player to formally end the link between a traded in game and any linked account.
    The game would then be free to be sold and the likes of MS would have revenue stream, especially if they charge a sum for the equipment to perform the function and a small sum for each disconnected game, which would be passed onto Johnny Consumer....
    Hmmm, might be onto something, Patent it quick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭DinoRex

I think they're planning a system where you can sell games, but it will all be done via xbox live. They want to cut out Gamestop from the equation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

DinoRex wrote: »
    I think they're planning a system where you can sell games, but it will all be done via xbox live. They want to cut out Gamestop from the equation.

Be interesting to see the trade in values. Might be better than gamestop :P

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,615 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

I don't think it's an inherently bad thing to tie games to an account - Steam have being doing it for a decade without complaint. I do want to hear the definitive explanation of how it will be executed though. All down to the little details, though, especially what will happen when the game or console is no longer supported (actually, that's a big thing, isn't it?).

Have to admit anything that sticks it to GameStop's deplorable is IMO a good thing.

what will happen when the game or console is no longer supported (actually, that's a big thing, isn't it?)

Definitely the big concern for me, & why I always buy physical media where possible. There dropping of support for a consoles online marketplace, coupled with high failure rates of consoles these days, means you could potentially lose your console & library of digital content & never be able to retrieve it

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,320 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I don't think it's an inherently bad thing to tie games to an account - Steam have being doing it for a decade without complaint. I do want to hear the definitive explanation of how it will be executed though. All down to the little details, though, especially what will happen when the game or console is no longer supported (actually, that's a big thing, isn't it?).

I know it's like Steams DRM but I don't see it giving the benefits that steam does which is why we put up with it. With steam your games are playable online and off, you can access it from any PC, there's more security there that your games won't disappear once the servers are shut down and user generated content.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,729 ✭✭✭The Last Bandit

I don't think it's an inherently bad thing to tie games to an account - Steam have being doing it for a decade without complaint.

And it really saves on shelf space. Instead of a heap of old smelly carts and discs I can get anyway with a PostIt with my ID scrawled on it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,729 ✭✭✭The Last Bandit

Whats a good places to order a Jamma connector?

Well you can buy a good EDAC one from Farnell for about €15 if you like :) But a generic Ebay one will be just as good if fitted and used correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

And it really saves on shelf space. Instead of a heap of old smelly carts and discs I can get anyway with a PostIt with my ID scrawled on it :D

:eek: leave this place and never come back! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭MrVestek

:eek: leave this place and never come back! :P

You promise? :D

Finally finished Dark Souls last night.

Put about 78 hours into it, pretty sure I got all the bosses though.

Now to start all over again with a different character build.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,447 ✭✭✭richymcdermott

Project x zone demo up now on the 3ds store

Was very fun

Cant wait for it now :D

Donkey country returns 3D tomorrow as well, getting it for a sweet 30 euro :cool:

Could you plug a WiiU into the Xbox One's hdmi input and have an xbox overlay on your WiiU?

cloud493 wrote: »
    Donkey country returns 3D tomorrow as well, getting it for a sweet 30 euro :cool:

How?
    And is there any point in my buying it, given I have it for the Wii?

DinoRex wrote: »
    Could you plug a WiiU into the Xbox One's hdmi input and have an xbox overlay on your WiiU?

my-head-hurts.jpg

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,320 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    How?
    And is there any point in my buying it, given I have it for the Wii?

6 new levels I think.

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    6 new levels I think.

And an extra dimension

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,622 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

EnterNow wrote: »
    And an extra dimension

Dimension X?

I just tried the project x demo. No idea what was going on or what I was doing. Not for me.

OwaynOTT wrote: »
    Dimension X?

Didn't they get to number 1 with "Baby I want Your Love Thing!"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭Jack burton

Well you can buy a good EDAC one from Farnell for about €15 if you like :) But a generic Ebay one will be just as good if fitted and used correctly.

Well cheaper than Neo Legend. They want €18.50 to post an edge connector. You could fit it in an envelope! ebay here I come

cloud493 wrote: »
    I just tried the project x demo. No idea what was going on or what I was doing. Not for me.

The two games it's based on weren't very good so not holding out too much hope for it.

EnterNow wrote: »
    "Baby I want Your Love Thing!"?

Sounds like an Atavan pick up line! ;)