Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Keep Calm And Discuss Retro Generally!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,763 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Hmm, stiff, dull and without any real signs of humanity.... but that's enough about his acting!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,328 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

OwaynOTT wrote: »
    Anyone have any idea of gameboy games exclusive to US, can't find dick online. Easy to get lists of Snes pal exclusives, ntsc exclusives, euro pal only, Japan only, special edition lists, big box, extras included, name changes, etc.
    gameboy related lists, not so common.

The Gameboy unfortunately isn't well documented at all. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

can't find dick online

Retr0 should be able to help you out there

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,328 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Space dicks on reddit I heard is good.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,619 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Oh, Sony! They released a system update yesterday, and amongst other pointless updates, they automatically installed an un-deleteable Singstar app at the top of the games section of the XMB. You have to navigate past it every single time you want to access your downloaded games. Baffling decision, but hey, guess that's Sony for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭DinoRex

The amount of times things you have to click through to download anything is really stupid.

How could they test that with anyone and not have them turn around and say 'what the hell?'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Touch Fuzzy Get Dizzy

V6kZi.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,623 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

I had the best interview ever this morning.

'Why do you want this job? (Or some such)'

'To be honest I'm not even sure what the job is and I think I'm in the wrong interview.'

Turns out I was. Put my details through for any teaching experience available in limerick and got called for an interview. The job was actually for an office position in the civil service in dublin.
    Needless to say that I won't be getting a call back.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

I had the best interview ever this morning.

'Why do you want this job? (Or some such)'

'To be honest I'm not even sure what the job is and I think I'm in the wrong interview.'

Turns out I was. Put my details through for any teaching experience available in limerick and got called for an interview. The job was actually for an office position in the civil service in dublin.
    Needless to say that I won't be getting a call back.

Oh you don't want one of those, lots of weekend overtime and filling out TPS reports. :pac:

TPSreports.jpeg

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,763 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Office Space, such a great movie....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭Nerdkiller1991

untitled-129u2uwq.gif

I'm looking for options for a SNES pad (or a good knockoff) to play games on an emulator in windows...
    You can get the Buffalo SNES USB pad for about €16 posted, supposed to be well made and very close to the original...

I just ordered one of these on fleabay this evening. Cost me about €17 including 7 day shipping by airmail, but the only places that stocked it despatch it from hong kong, so i'm budgeting for a few quid on top of that in case "the man" hits me for import duty for buying from outside the EU.

Thanks for the recommendation. It looks like a really nice pad. I'll post back in a week or two with my general impressions once i've got my hands on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

but the only places that stocked it despatch it from hong kong, so i'm budgeting for a few quid on top of that in case "the man" hits me for import duty for buying from outside the EU.

If I were you I'd be budgeting extra for a different reaon :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,465 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Okay, so not videogame related - but one of the greatest things ever happened this week and I need to share it with people who understand what it is like coming (unexpectedly)across grails!

I just came back from holidays, and had an ebay alert saying my favourite comic artist, Johnny Hicklenton (well, it's either him or Simon Bisley) had a piece listed on ebay.

Usually these are false flags and it's just a book he was working on before he passed away in 2010. So I clicked in not expecting much. I've only ever seen two pages of his listed on ebay in 5 years, one I won, the other vanished from ebay and when I asked the seller what happened, he said someone made a huge offer on it that blew him away - apparently it was to be given to the artists wife.

Anyway, I clicked in, expecting the usual book - I was wrong. So wrong I could weep. Not only was it original artwork, it was a complete title page from his first 1980s 2000AD strip, Nemesis: The Two Torquemadas. (The one I'd sell body parts for artwork from)A TITLE PAGE! WITH CHAINSAWS AND EVERYTHING!

I almost **** myself. In about 5 years of searching for his artwork, I've only ever found and bought one page from this story.

So, I got all pro active. There's no way I was losing this page. The auction was on 24 pounds, with two days to go. I was ****ed if I was sitting there waiting it out with bids.

So, I emailed the seller - asking would he accept 100 pounds to end the auction earlier.

This is when it turned from me being hopeful into feckin legendary (well for me anyway!) I still can't believe this has happened.

'Sure, but I have two more pages too, do you want to have a look at them first before making your mind up?'

HOLY ****ING ****!!!! WHAT DID YOU JUST SAY?!!!?!?!?

I tried to keep my cool. He said he'd email them to me later in the day. I was just refreshing my email like mad.

Second page comes in.

ANOTHER BLOODY TITLE PAGE?! SOMEONE IS HAVING ME ON!!!

Third page, and greatest of all, a splash page - the very last one in the whole bloody comic. Where one of the main characters (Nemesis's son Thoth to all you 2000AD buffs) dies.

There is no way. There is no bloody way I am sitting here, in front of my PC, having someone offer me a piece of original art which I have studied and drawn since I was about 8 years old. Absolutely no way. And no, not for a grand, not even for 500 quid...for 100 pounds. 100 POUNDS!

I made him an offer for the lot. I Didn't hear anything for the day. Started to get really freaked out, as the aution was still up for the one he'd already listed. All it would take is one other person to email him and I'd be screwed (there were four bids, all from people with **** loads of feedback)

Finally he gets back in the evening saying he wants to think of it overnight.

I couldn't sleep. I just knew it wouldn't work out, things like this never do.

Lept out of bed yesterday morning, checked email - nothing. Balls, someone else must have made an offer, they had to have, this artwork is insanely collectable - and it's the best of the best when it comes to examples.

So I went to work. Couldn't really focus, kept opening up the pictures he'd sent me. Hoping and hoping and hoping.

Then, while in the middle of something really important (always the way), I see an email land from him. I really want to click it, I'm absolutely dying to click it, but there's someone at my desk talking to me and they wont **** off.

I could literally eat my hand in frustration.

Finally. I opened it - 'we have a deal'

Hands down, the greatest deal I've ever bought online. I'm still in shock. They're in the post, I have a tracking number, but I seriously will not believe it until I see it.

TLDR version - geek buys artwork he loves, really happy about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭Sparks43

Windows 8 is being released in 45 mins time.

Word of advice to anyone thinking about buying it or upgrading from 7

DONT!!!!!!!!!

It is without doubt the biggest piece of **** MS have ever released much worse then Vista.

I have been hands on with it and it has very few redeeming features.

Stick with 7 for the time being and if you really want a new OS then look into Linux (great and free)

8 Will not last more then a year and this is the end of microsofts dominance.

They will not be missed

That's vigilance for you...

tumblr_m2hk6yZ0LQ1r9bspuo1_1280.jpg

Master of the Universe

Sparks43 wrote: »
    Windows 8 is being released in 45 mins time.

Word of advice to anyone thinking about buying it or upgrading from 7

DONT!!!!!!!!!

It is without doubt the biggest piece of **** MS have ever released much worse then Vista.

I have been hands on with it and it has very few redeeming features.

Stick with 7 for the time being and if you really want a new OS then look into Linux (great and free)

8 Will not last more then a year and this is the end of microsofts dominance.

They will not be missed

Please don't listen to this man. It's a great OS and will get you lots of hotties. It even says so in the license agreement at the start*

*may not be true
    DinoRex wrote: »
    That's vigilance for you...

I'd like to think the evil alien hating racist would be proud! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Touch Fuzzy Get Dizzy

o1s1n wrote: »
    TLDR version - geek buys artwork he loves, really happy about it.
    I know this feel kinda, got loads of m dot strange stuff years ago for free, he sent it over himself because I was just so excited about him, should actually get a photo of it sometime.

Unfortunately I wasn't invited to any Windows 8 parties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

o1s1n wrote: »
    Please don't listen to this man. It's a great OS and will get you lots of hotties. It even says so in the license agreement at the start*

*may not be true

I nearly threw my laptop out the window when I tried the RTM release :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭Jack burton

O1s1n I am literally vomiting with joy and disgust right now! Well ****ing done my good man! That it ****ing amazing!

Wait till they arrive and then ask the seller how they came to get them, could be an interesting story!

Emailing sellers to end bidding early though, you shame all all us ebay snipers! :P

Master of the Universe

Sera wrote: »
    I know this feel kinda, got loads of m dot strange stuff years ago for free, he sent it over himself because I was just so excited about him, should actually get a photo of it sometime.

For free? ah here, I'm not that good. Fair play to you, that's amazing! Just goes to show, enthusiasm leads to free stuff :D
    I nearly threw my laptop out the window when I tried the RTM release :o

Your laptop is clearly an inferior product :pac:
    O1s1n I am literally vomiting with joy and disgust right now! Well ****ing done my good man! That it ****ing amazing!

Wait till they arrive and then ask the seller how they came to get them, could be an interesting story!

Emailing sellers to end bidding early though, you shame all all us ebay snipers! :P

Thanks dude! I've been beaming with joy from it over the last couple of days :)

Heh, I know what you mean, it's a bit of a gamble emailing sellers like that- you always have that niggle of 'what if it only ended at half the price?!'

Sometimes though, when you see a once off, once in 5 years of waiting item, you just have to go in all guns blazing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

Awesome story o1s1n! Definitely post a few pics when they arrive
    DinoRex wrote: »
    Unfortunately I wasn't invited to any Windows 8 parties.

Is that a real thing?

Also that's not a party. If it were a party the two women would be doing shots of tequila from each others breast then making out hard.

Is that a real thing?

If it's mind boggingly lame then you know it's a genuine Microsoft video.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Great story o1s1n well done! Don't know how you managed to get a thing done in work with that on your mind.

Would the page have sold for more than the 100 and the seller didn't realise what he had? Are they genuinely valuable like?

Never heard of that artist chap but make sure you throw up some pics when you get them. Fascinated to see what they look like.

Made my first game today. 3 lives to guess the random number. It's **** but a start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭Jack burton

Ok, I'll start doing up some concept art, what the title of our big game?

"5th Dimension Adventures in Neo Tokyo" sounds good

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,619 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Ok, I'll start doing up some concept art, what the title of our big game?

"5th Dimension Adventures in Neo Tokyo" sounds good

You don't want to do a Capcom on it, so you should skip straight to "5th Dimension Adventures in Neo Tokyo 2: Hyper Edition"

Master of the Universe

Andrew76 wrote: »
    Great story o1s1n well done! Don't know how you managed to get a thing done in work with that on your mind.

Would the page have sold for more than the 100 and the seller didn't realise what he had? Are they genuinely valuable like?

Never heard of that artist chap but make sure you throw up some pics when you get them. Fascinated to see what they look like.

His stuff is so uncommon on ebay that there really is no way of knowing what they would have sold for. All the last seller told me regarding the other one that I missed out on was that he got a really high offer that he was in no way expecting.

The one I won previous to that I did the same as this way, sent the seller an email asking if they'd let it go for a ton.

Really popular 2000AD artist's pages can sell for a lot of money. I saw a Simon Bisley ABC Warriors listed recently enough for about 750 sterling (and sell) - A Carlos Ezquerra Dredd cover from the early 80s sold recently for over 1500 sterling.

This guy's stuff isn't as easily accessible as the above. It was really shocking stuff in the 80s (I remember my mam taking one of his comics from me, look at it in absolute horror and refusing to give it back!)

He died of MS a couple of years ago and there was a documentary made by channel 4 about his last few years of life, so I think folk are beginning to appreciate what he did...

As someone who has worked in a lot of pen and ink, getting a closeup look at his art in person just can't be beat. There is so much detail going on a big A3 page than you can see on a little A4 black and white comic book reproduction.