Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

is road rage in ireland getting worse?

• 06-07-2012 1:25pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭christmas2012

I heard on the radio just now there are road rage incidents where people get out of their car and punch the head off other drivers for overtaking..One guy produced a real gun to the driver who overtook him..

I heard a good few cases now at least 3 or 4 so far,ive also read about the case in roscommon where a woman was beaten up and punched and thrown around the place by a man who was overtaken by her in a car..There was another incident where a miss ireland 2011 contestant got punched in a road rage incident.

My question is do you think its becoming more common,and why,or is it just more reported?

There was a case where a man got 12 years for killing another man in a road rage incident as seen here:http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2012/0423/breaking23.html

http://www.herald.ie/entertainment/around-town/miss-ireland-finalist-punched-in-face-in-roadrage-attack-2846689.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

My question is do you think its becoming more common,and why,or is it just more reported?
    The only people in a position to answer that are the Gardaí?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

More than likely, talking as someone who was pulled out of a car at traffic lights and headbutted once along with other altercations. Bad manners is a lot of it, one party being too thick to show some courtesy to the other.

Since then, I've taken a very, very dim view of people who do that to other motorists. I hope they get what they deserve, each and every one of them, a slow and painful illness :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

ive seen it before, mostly verbal but no matter what you do in life theirs bound to be arguments and or fights...

just shocking that its taken this long to get this issue directly into the limelight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭Sids Not

dgt wrote: »
    More than likely, talking as someone who was pulled out of a car at traffic lights and headbutted once along with other altercations. Bad manners is a lot of it, one party being too thick to show some courtesy to the other. :)

What, i'm wondering did you do to deserve that.......???
    Anan1 wrote: »
    The only people in a position to answer that are the Gardaí?

Not all incidents are reported......

Sids Not wrote: »
    Not all incidents are reported......
    True but, unlike us, they might at least have some clue.

What, i'm wondering did you do to deserve that.......???

The asshole in question couldn't overtake me on an regional road. Had 4 other people in his car and was probably showing off, I'll be the big fella etc. Just to try and gain one miserable place. What a disgrace of a human. I hope, I really hope he meets a very sticky end someday.

I don't wish things like that but I'll make an exception there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Veloce

I don't know if it's getting worse but I don't think it's getting any better. I had a Dublin bus driver have a go at me last Wednesday on Baggot Street. He f**king and blinding at me even with passengers on board. Even making a w*nking gesture at me. In hindsight it was sort of funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 989 ✭✭✭piperh

Guilty.... i suppose as i did get out and hand the driver in the car behind beeping my teenage learner son because son wouldn't drive into a junction box a highway code book and tell him he obviously needs to read it as he doesn't realise its an offense to block a box junction if you can't pass through it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭mikeecho

piperh wrote: »
    Guilty.... i suppose as i did get out and hand the driver in the car behind beeping my teenage learner son because son wouldn't drive into a junction box a highway code book and tell him he obviously needs to read it as he doesn't realise its an offense to block a box junction if you can't pass through it ;)

unless you are making a right turn

http://www.2pass.co.uk/boxjunction.htm#.T_cqX3C9bnk
    UK site.. but same rules apple here

mikeecho wrote: »
    piperh wrote: »

I thought this thread was about road rage and not road rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 989 ✭✭✭piperh

mikeecho wrote: »

Yes i know but we weren't if we were we'd have been indicating ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

Road rage isn't getting worse - bad driving is.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭christmas2012

Ive encountered some bad driving in my times on the road,just driving there earlier i noticed there was a lot of overtaking,some passing and speeding like hell on one laneways into oncoming traffic,its madness..Its the one thing that irks me when on the road..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,396 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Never get out of your car!! cant believe how may men and women on joe duffy said "so i got to have a word with him/her,and the abuse i got back", just a matter of time before you get out to the wrong person,
    if your in the cars stay in it, lock your doors, ita alot harder kicking the crap out of person whos locked in the car.

For me its better to put on a CD and cool off,no point in getting annoyed or acting on it,i wouldnt,and i wouldnt want it done to me either,but i have seen some life endangering moves that could have easily had me in a pile up of a crash,its not easy,but i find if you slow down and cruise,you have more chance of the hazard sorting itself out by the time you get to it..
    Worse thing you can do is speed into a hazard,ive seen people do that,all in their own world,rushing home for tea or late for work..

More than likely, talking as someone who was pulled out of a car at traffic lights and headbutted once along with other altercations. Bad manners is a lot of it, one party being too thick to show some courtesy to the other.

Since then, I've taken a very, very dim view of people who do that to other motorists. I hope they get what they deserve, each and every one of them, a slow and painful illness :)
    The asshole in question couldn't overtake me on an regional road. Had 4 other people in his car and was probably showing off, I'll be the big fella etc. Just to try and gain one miserable place. What a disgrace of a human. I hope, I really hope he meets a very sticky end someday.

I don't wish things like that but I'll make an exception there

... usually takes two to tango....
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=78716736
    Anyone that tries to do that to me finds out I don't give in, I don't tolerate that crap. One asshole tried cutting in front of me on a roundabout, he ended up beached on the traffic island. Served him right

RoverJames wrote: »

Very good :D but, I don't agree with getting out and pulling someone out of a car

Which I can say, my attitude problem stems from that incident ;)

You conveniently forgot the rest

I didn't run them off the road. It was their own ignorance, focusing on the place that they had their eye on as opposed to what was infront of them that led to them being beached on an island... Plenty of time to back off and meekly join the queue. Too busy trying to gain the place, hurrying to go nowhere...

Very good :D but, I don't agree with getting out and pulling someone out of a car....

Nor I but if you don't go fishing you won't catch a fish :)

Which I can say, my attitude problem stems from that incident ;)...

You should really have learned something else from the incident tbh imo.

forget the rest of what?
    Just saw your edit, as I said, it takes two to tango, they were wrong and you were wrong, they could have hit a child and not a traffic island, personally I wouldn't like to try and rationalise that one by saying they could have backed off etc etc bla bla.

I sure did, don't underestimate what people can do. But we have those mornings where we just don't think. You know the mornings, tired, raining, running a bit late for work/college, dealing with Monday morning drivers... There's only so much one can take. I'm sure you are no exception too :)

forget the rest of what?

The story. I don't go out actively seeking trouble

Hard to marry that with "other altercations" though :)
    Altercations are easily avoided.

Very true.

I am still a young fella with a cavalier attitude. With time, I'll grow out of that

I think people should be tested for their attitude aswell as the actual mechanical driving of the car,as there are plenty of young people and older people who have passed their tests but end up on the road with the wrong attitude (like for example general impatience,thinking thier the centre of the world,speeding into hazards,or getting in a road rage incidents,getting out of the car to punch someone,all things that are not on,not good manners on the road)..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

I have to say that over the years I have mellowed a bit, slow driver in the right hand lane, no worries, people blocking junctions, he'll soon move on, obnoxious parking, not my problem and so on.
    Having said that I am also no longer on the road for a living, so not so much pressure to get anywhere.
    But I also have to admit that roundabouts still drive me crazy, in particular people who pass out an entire queue of traffic in the wrong lane and bully their way in at the last second.
    That's when the red mist descends. It just infuriates me no end. If a person stood in front of me, gave me the finger and told me to get fcuked, I wouldn't annoy me half as much. Many a rant has been written about that by me, but I realise that I will need to just get over it, however much it annoys me. So I promise to take a deep breath in the future and no longer squeeze them out as I race them through the roundabout. Will have to grow up sometime.

/logs onto Amazon to purchase new age meditative whale song CD's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭spacecookie555

I was on a very thin country road a few months ago and I was going the speeding limit and there was this van behind me and he was right up my arse and kept trying to force me into the ditch so he could pass me out, he was beeping and flashing his lights and driving from side to side, I was terrified and also very angry, the road was not wide enough for him to pass me out, this went on for a while until we got to a junction and he passed me and forced me out of the way in the MIDDLE of the junction!! :o
    I was so upset but then the most amazing thing happened, the van had no back window and couldnt see behind him and who happened to have witnessed the whole thing but the guards!! They then passed me out and pulled him over, the last I saw they were roaring at him as he got out of his van. Ah most satisfying driving experience ever! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭Sids Not

I was on a very thin country road a few months ago and I was going the speeding limit and there was this van behind me and he was right up my arse and kept trying to force me into the ditch so he could pass me out, he was beeping and flashing his lights and driving from side to side, I was terrified and also very angry, the road was not wide enough for him to pass me out, this went on for a while until we got to a junction and he passed me and forced me out of the way in the MIDDLE of the junction!! :o
    I was so upset but then the most amazing thing happened, the van had no back window and couldnt see behind him and who happened to have witnessed the whole thing but the guards!! They then passed me out and pulled him over, the last I saw they were roaring at him as he got out of his van. Ah most satisfying driving experience ever! :D

Sooo many questions about your little story..where to begin..
    1..to force you into the ditch he'd need to be along side you.....:confused:
    2..you were terrified...why not pull into a gateway and let him pass..
    3..you were very angry....that answers no.2
    4..this went on for a while...sounds like you were enjoying the event a bit too..
    5..you were upset...that he passed you..??
    6..the Gardai pulled him in...whoo...happy days..?
    7..most satisfying driving experience ever.....road rage caused by you....:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭miller50841

Veloce wrote: »
    I don't know if it's getting worse but I don't think it's getting any better. I had a Dublin bus driver have a go at me last Wednesday on Baggot Street. He f**king and blinding at me even with passengers on board. Even making a w*nking gesture at me. In hindsight it was sort of funny.
    Would I be right in saying you cut in on bus, didnt indicate, pulled out, hit brakes very hard or something along the lines of that... a car is a lot different to driving a large vehicle like a bus or truck. The braking systems alone are totally different and what seems to you like normal braking/ slowing down when your traveling on a bus can feel like the driver has hit the brakes hard just try see the situation from the other side. I understand we are all human and make mistakes but everyone has a line and people can have very bad days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

4..this went on for a while...sounds like you were enjoying the event a bit too..
    7..most satisfying driving experience ever.....road rage caused by you....:rolleyes:

where you the guy driving the van then?

Would I be right in saying you cut in on bus, didnt indicate, pulled out, hit brakes very hard or something along the lines of that... a car is a lot different to driving a large vehicle like a bus or truck. The braking systems alone are totally different and what seems to you like normal braking/ slowing down when your traveling on a bus can feel like the driver has hit the brakes hard just try see the situation from the other side. I understand we are all human and make mistakes but everyone has a line and people can have very bad days.

No none of the above. The bus driver either was not paying attention or misjudged my position on the road. I asked the driver did he not see my indicator and all he did was give me the wa*ker gesture after f*cking and blinding.

How about thread rage in Ireland?;)

Very good :D but, I don't agree with getting out and pulling someone out of a car....

Nor I but if you don't go fishing you won't catch a fish :)

Which I can say, my attitude problem stems from that incident ;)...

forget the rest of what?
    Just saw your edit, as I said, it takes two to tango, they were wrong and you were wrong, they could have hit a child and not a traffic island, personally I wouldn't like to try and rationalise that one by saying they could have backed off etc etc bla bla.

You should really get a hobby, or get out more often.

... because i have a decent memory and can use a search function ? :rolleyes:

No none of the above. The bus driver either was not paying attention or misjudged my position on the road. I asked the driver did he not see my indicator and all he did was give me the wa*ker gesture after f*cking and blinding.

Good judge of character that bus driver :pac:
    Indicating and right of way are not the same thing btw ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Getting overtaken must hurt people's egos or something. :confused:

Personally, I get angry when drivers don't indicate on roundabouts, or if they are turning off at a crossroad and brake brake brake and then indicate at the last second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

I had a bad evening on Thursday.
    First incident, some prick of a van driver skips the whole queue of traffic at the Inchicore off-ramp sound bound and then sits in the outside lane indicating and trying to bully his way in. I gave him about 10 seconds and then leaned on the horn til the stupid bastard managed to merge.

Then I had someone else skip a large queue of traffic (which I'd sat in) and try to bully their way in ahead of me. I stuck to my guns and just ploughed straight ahead, so he had to stop and try to merge again.

I'm not proud of my reactions in either case but people bullying other cars or trying to skip queues at the expense of others does my nut in.

Where was I headed? MMA class, to let off some aggression and steam. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

I remember waiting for a filter light to turn right once. Some asshole in a van behind me was blarring the horn waving making "wanker" signs etc. I couldn't move off as the pedestrian light was green.

Was actually a bit scared him or his passenger would get out but thankfully the light went green & I could drive off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,909 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I hope you reported him? Noone should have to take that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,909 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I notice this as well, coming into a town when the speed limit goes down you will have a guy stuck in your boot even though you are just obeying the law.

Good judge of character that bus driver :pac:
    Indicating and right of way are not the same thing btw ;)

Thank you virtual Garda ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,858 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

I had a fella throw coins at me on the M50 the other day, as he was not happy with me overtaking cars at 100kmh in the 100kmh zone (and yes, I was actively overtaking and moved in as soon as I could without the need to slow down)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,352 ✭✭✭Mar4ix

havent seen many offense on roads, probably not putting myself in such situation, play along traffic, ive seen few times, when whole traffic moves 80 in 70 km/h zone, there always will be somebody, who stick on 70, or even 60 , causing bad overtakes, keeping my mouth shut, as my little daughter no need hear, what i think about them.

Just cant understand some people reaction on overtake, happened twice ... once on M50, good 4 years ago, in 6am , was goin to work, and there was olld fella, goin in to right lane on 100km/h(that time was 120 speed limit on m50), than i slowly overtake him from left side, pull back in to right lane, and carried on, when that driver turn high beams on.... i dont know what he was thinking , but certainly not slow me down.
    second time, but late evening, also old man, was goin slow on one of back roads, ... bit tight alright, but there was good half mile empty road on front of us, so i overtook, and he turn hi beams.... what is for ? kind aggression ? making me blind, and id hit somebody, if goes on road ? thats stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

I think some people in this country need lessons in road edicate, just because someone beeps their horn does not mean they are been aggressive to you, they may be just letting you know they are there or the light has changed. Just because someone has overtaken you does not mean they are aggressive or trying to challenge you, nobody should be insulted by been overtaken.

I think some people in this country need lessons in road edicate, just because someone beeps their horn does not mean they are been aggressive to you, they may be just letting you know they are there
    I'd say fully 90% of male drivers can't grasp this simple fact. Women don't seem to be as bad in this respect.

Popcorn-02-Stephen-Colbert.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

I was stuck in traffic on the NCR in Dublin on a sunny morning a few weeks back wearing dark sunglasses,next a guy gets out of his car from the left of me and bangs at the window..
    I thought he was going ask me directions or something but no i got"What the fcuk are you staring at you ugly ****...ill wrap that fcuking steering wheel round your neck if you look at me again!!!!".....
    Then back to his car he goes......:eek:

pebbles21 wrote: »
    I was stuck in traffic on the NCR in Dublin on a sunny morning a few weeks back wearing dark sunglasses,next a guy gets out of his car from the left of me and bangs at the window..
    I thought he was going ask me directions or something but no i got"What the fcuk are you staring at you ugly ****...ill wrap that fcuking steering wheel round your neck if you look at me again!!!!".....

Wow, he was having a bad day by the looks of it, what a nutter!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

Eeeeehhhh sorry about that, nicked myself shaving while on the phone, causing me to spill my coffee and get a speeding ticket.

not actually me only joking...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

Wow, he was having a bad day by the looks of it, what a nutter!

Thats what i thought....obvious mental and paranoia problems,thought it was best not to say anything back.

Absolutely. You can't win anything in a situation like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

I passed a guy 10 k under the limit the other day on a wide straight quiet road and he flashed his lights at me...made me feel like putting his lights out, but he put them out himself...:D

I agree with the guy who said it was about bad driving more than road rage increasing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

He said he was driving at the speed limit. How did he cause the road rage?