Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A homemade trap?

• 04-07-2012 5:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭

Hello

I've always had an interest in hunting. but more of making traps etc. I'm looking to make some traps (How do make a trap?), to see what I catch. I'm not sure what I can use to attract the animal to the trap either.

Any help is appreciated.
    Tagged:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

What do you want to hunt?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

Rabbit, fox, badger. that kinda thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Invincible

Rabbit, fox, badger. that kinda thing.

Badger is protected !!

Right, sorry. I know nothing about hunting. Thats why I made this thread, to get advice from people that know about it.

Foxs mostly.

But I really just want to know how to make a trap and what I can use to attract the fox ect.

Invincible wrote: »
    Badger is protected !!

Thanks for informing me. I was not aware of that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭Mike87

fox

Well if its fox your after you can buy a fox trap. Just put any old roadkill or anything you can find in it and you'll have a few foxes in no time.

THis might seem a bit obvious, but seen as your so new to hunting, do you even know if the place you plan on hunting has any fox knocking about? No point in putting a trap out and nothing within a couple of miles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭Mike87

PM me if you want and I'll sort you out with all you need to know. Just tell me what your animals your after, and whats your budget. We'll get you trapping and snaring in no time at all.

Mike87 wrote: »
    pm me if you want and I'll sort you out with all you need to know. Just tell me what your animals your after, and whats your budget. We'll get you trapping and snaring in no time at all.

Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Invincible

Badger is protected !!

Thanks for informing me. I was not aware of that.

Do the countryside a favour and set some mink traps.

I hate minks:mad:, their the outkast of the rat family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

First things first - Get a gun in order to dispose of whatever you trap humanely.

PM sent. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭homerhop

If you are going trapping look at the basics first, what has a season or what is protected.
    How are you going to go about dispatching what you catch in a quick manner.
    If you are making your own traps there are legal aspects of what are and are not allowed down to how you set them.

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/2003/en/si/0620.html

The lads are not giving you bad attitude but advice, in this day and age we as hunters are under scrutiny all the time and if someone fks up it reflects on the whole hunting community.
    You are starting off on the right foot asking first.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Cut out the arguing, and fighting.

If you cannot be civil to one another then refrain from posting.

Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

I dont know. What should I do?

Before you consider setting a humane trap to catch anything you'll have to be able to check it daily and also have a way of humanely dispatching what you catch.
    For foxes I'm not sure if there is any humane way without a gun.

Mink are another thing to trap. a large thump to the back of the head and its lights out for them.

You wont want to be putting your hands near traps with anything in it either.

garv123 wrote: »
    Before you consider setting a humane trap to catch anything you'll have to be able to check it daily and also have a way of humanely dispatching what you catch.
    For foxes I'm not sure if there is any humane way without a gun.

Mink are another thing to trap. a large thump to the back of the head and its lights out for them.

You wont want to be putting your hands near traps with anything in it either.

I'm just curious, but why does a fox have to be shot, when a mink can be knocked out/killed with a stone?

More a long the lines of a batton with one shot to the back of a head will kill a mink instantly. A fox is way bigger than a mink and ha a much thicker skull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭homerhop

I'm just curious, but why does a fox have to be shot, when a mink can be knocked out/killed with a stone?

cos a mink is a small animal and is easily killed unlike a fox. hunting is also about respecting your quarry, with a humane and fast dispatch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭patdahat

mink would be a good start. FIRST off you need to find someone that will dispatch them for you Usually a member of the local gun club. After that's it get's easier.
    cage about €30 and the easiest pest to trap and if you'r seen to be doing a good job the local gun club could even give you trap's. for the price of them it's not worth making them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭virminhunter

get or make a larson trap and trap magpies, hold the bird with its wings against its body facing you and swing it in a downward motion hitting the back of its head only, off the top of a fence post, its lights out straight away (massive brain hemorrhage) quicker than a gun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭patdahat

mink will not be killed by a stone and you wont be able to hit it on the back of the head in the cage with enough force to kill it, it will have to be done by air rifle or something stronger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭minktrapper

Don't trap all them mink or there will be none left for me.And if you do you will probably be made a saint or something similar.

Could you get the bird stuffed? I think that would be cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭Spannerman7

I got this book years ago and found it good, http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Animal-Traps-Trapping-Book-James-A-Bateman-HB-NEW-0954211774-GDN-/170867527077

Best of luck in your ventures, and deffo learn the law and enjoy yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Stonehall9

I got this book years ago and found it good, http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Animal-Traps-Trapping-Book-James-A-Bateman-HB-NEW-0954211774-GDN-/170867527077

Best of luck in your ventures, and deffo learn the law and enjoy yourself
    You should start with the magpies, given the countryside is full of them at the moment, down here anyway, they are easy dispose of and you will be doin the pheasants a favour,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

:mad:Trying to kill foxes with a baton or mink with a stone to the back of the head????Lads FFS would ye read and think what you are posting in the context that our enemies are possibly reading it too...What would that make us look like to some surbanite who thinks foxy woxy and minnie the mink are soooo cute..
    With descriptions like that you will be done for cruelty to animals as well,and rightly so..Honestly ,if you dont have the right equipment to dispatch safley an animal like a fox or mink there and then,dont trap the damn things.As both are predators if you dont know how to dispose of them properly,there is a good chance of getting bit as well for your efforts!
    Have fun at the casulty getting tetanus jabs for the well derseved fox bites,and possibly anti rabies shots,despite us not having rabies in the ROI,you could never be too sure with wild critters and lax border controls these days.:rolleyes:

@ Bubble wrap, I suggest you go find somone local to you who has experiance in actually hunting and trapping,possibly a local gunclub and go out with them and learn how to do this in the field.You need a pro to show you how to trap as it is an art rather than a science and not somthing easily learned ,least of all from the internet.Ive been trapping and snaring since I was ten and I am 36 years later still terrible at it.:p

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

The op is the only one who said killing a mink with a stone a fox with a batton. everyone else advised against.

I said a mink with a batton with one clean shot to the back of the head, which is an instant death.

garv123 wrote: »
    The op is the only one who said killing a mink with a stone a fox with a batton. everyone else advised against.

I said a mink with a batton with one clean shot to the back of the head, which is an instant death.

Oh ya Sorry. I read that wrong. But as I said, Im new to hunting and I know nothing about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Eddie B

There is a good book on making homemade traps/cages for sale on fourteenacres web site! Meant to be very good if your interested in making your own! But as the lads said, you need to be shown the ropes by an experienced trapper, before going at it yourself! You have a lot to learn!!

Ive been reading through the irish laws on hunting, So I wont be doing any hunting until then.

Also I never mentioned that I have a swiss army knife. Like the one in the link, Could I use this until I get a gun?

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-e_juVBjtJzU/T6rXLi6XUyI/AAAAAAAAAh0/j61nDHTATOk/s1600/swiss-army-knife.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

As other lads have said, the first thing is to familiarise yourself with the hunting laws in this country - below is a usefull link from this forum on hunting laws, seasons and legal quarry etc. in the Republic.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055315625

Cheers for them links and the advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Feel sorry for ya mate I know how ya feel
    Your new to it and want to know bout trappin and get all sorts of sly smart comments bout it it's not fair it'll put you off hunting altogether
    First thing ya done wrong was not readin up on the method of trappin and not readin what to do when you do trap an animal so ya kinda have to admit to being wrong there.
    Next thing is you'd need to talk to someone who is a trapper and get advice on traps etc
    No point in trappin something and not knowin what to do when you get the animal
    Also I wouldn't really class trappin as being hunting
    I certainly wouldn't class myself in same group as trappers
    Most trappers have a purpose for trappin animals course some have ridiculous purposes but most have genuine reasons
    You'd be better of avoiding trapping and start hunting with something else ie gun or ferrets or something else and get feel for hunting don't forget something has t get killed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭Feisar

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Ok,so my next question is ..HOW do you intend to hunt birds,rabbits,etc[and the etc covers alot of ground here too....] with a Swiss army knife???

Let me rephrase this ...How do you percive that you will hunt birds,bunnies and the etc,with your SAK??

The image of a lad running about the woods with a moderator popped into my head first!

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭rabbit assassin

The first thing you have to do is get learning.
    Find out about the law and the lines not to cross- Badgers are a no go, pine martens the same, as are red squirrels. Search every species you can think of and see if they are protected or not.

So when you've that done and plenty of learning done, do some research on legal traps and methods. Snares and cage traps - grand!! spring traps grand :) !! Gin traps = bold, a no no. Theres literally 100's of traps and variations, some completely legal and above board to use, other types will land you a hefty fine and even a prison sentence.

After you've your species and trap method selected its time for more research ! HAHA !

Read up and find out every possible little thing you can about what you want to hunt. eg, Food preferences, habitat, eating habits, breeding seasons, diseases the animal can contract/carry and how to identify, sex identification and how to tell approximate age.

Im sure Ive left an awful lot of stuff out but thats the basics anyway. Theres plenty of places online you can buy rabbit snares, fox snares and traps. You can even buy 1 of whatever and see how its made then you can copy the design and make your own.

Everyone has to start somewhere. Ive never known a life different. I was brought up fishing, shooting and hunting. I am now a full time gamekeeper !! I get paid to do my hobby :D

So lad now its up to you, get learning and the lads on here will always help if they can. Theres always a bitta banter and craic and slagging but its not meant in a harmful way.

RA

Been hunting since I could walk man so I was fortunate enough to learn it as a kid from my father and my other relatives but even to this day you learn something new Every time you hunt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭anthonyos

your best bet is get a rat trap they are easly caught and loads about then move on from there

you just decided to take up hunting one day fair enough that explains why you know nothing ..you need to find somebody to teach you and if your interested in animals get ferrets and go after rabbits and leave the Swiss army knife ideas at home

anthonyos wrote: »
    you just decided to take up hunting one day fair enough that explains why you know nothing ..you need to find somebody to teach you and if your interested in animals get ferrets and go after rabbits and leave the Swiss army knife ideas at home

I just decided it the day I made the thread. Ya, I am interested in animals. Right, Swiss army knife Ideas are out the window. Literally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭daniels.ducks

Yes ferrets would be a good place to start, at least you can try different ways and learn from your mistakes. There is not much room for mistakes in trapping as to catch something you have to be spot on. Maybe if you want to start trapping over ferrets get/make a larson trap. Plenty of video tutorials on how to use them.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Second and final warning.

The amount of sarcastic, insulting, snide, and unhelpful posts would discourage any newcomer from either asking a question or even thinking about taking up the sport.

I have removed all such posts, and replies to those posts. Any further derailment of this thread will be met with infractions. Either post in response to the OP or don't post.

There will not be a further warning.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 506 ✭✭✭moby30

Is it me or are you ignoring all the extremely helpful information that has already been given. Start from the first post and ignore any you see as negative and I reacon you got more advice and help than I think I've ever seen anyone get.

Ferrets are the way to go if your startin out as most hunt with animals so ferrets are best startin out and pretty cheap way to start hunting aswell
    Get a ferret that I already hunting and your already half way there
    If you are around Dublin area I'd bring ya out I have two working ferrets one is a great bolter the other kind of a killer but bolts aswell
    If I can't get a rabbit to bolt with the Jill il put the buck down he'd either kill it or it'll bolt

Ferrets are the way to go if your startin out as most hunt with animals so ferrets are best startin out and pretty cheap way to start hunting aswell
    Get a ferret that I already hunting and your already half way there
    If you are around Dublin area I'd bring ya out I have two working ferrets one is a great bolter the other kind of a killer but bolts aswell
    If I can't get a rabbit to bolt with the Jill il put the buck down he'd either kill it or it'll bolt

Ferrets Il look into that so cheers. That is very kind of you and Id take you up on the offer, If I was bit closer to Dublin, Id take you up on that offer, but im living in Sligo. But thanks very much anyways. :)

look up ferreting videos on youtube i did it for years got rid of the 2 years ago due to time issues but considering getting 2 more im working on a job with an ald fella that ferrets and just talking and reliving the memories about days in the fields have made me think of getting back out there its great sport and a good foundation of your hunting career

anthonyos wrote: »
    look up ferreting videos on youtube i did it for years got rid of the 2 years ago due to time issues but considering getting 2 more im working on a job with an ald fella that ferrets and just talking and reliving the memories about days in the fields have made me think of getting back out there its great sport and a good foundation of your hunting career

Thanks very much for that mate. Is this the type of thing that I would be doing?

Yeah pretty much
    You'll need a ferret finder tho just in case your ferret kills a rabbit you have to dig him out
    That's only downside to it
    Nets i can get off a lad 10 nets for 30 quid
    There's a lad in Galway does good deals aswell he's on donedeal.ie

Yeah pretty much
    You'll need a ferret finder tho just in case your ferret kills a rabbit you have to dig him out
    That's only downside to it
    Nets i can get off a lad 10 nets for 30 quid
    There's a lad in Galway does good deals aswell he's on donedeal.ie

Ferret finder? Is that the electronic handheld thing, that beeps? Cheers for the info mate. But I've nets sorted already. :)