If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

What food for Springer spaniel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭oats 2

how much per are the brillys choice a bag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

depends on what feed, ie, brillys choice beef,chicken or brillys choice museli,i feed my dog the museli which is 18euro abag and she loves it ive noticed a great improvement in her coat ,she has alot more energy, not that she didnt before, i also give her scraps and makeral along with the museli,but i would feed only a cup full of museli every so often as it is very rich in oil any ways,lots of lads here recamend differant types of feeds which suits there dogs ,at the end of the day its whatever is good for u but most importantly for ur dog;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

oats 2 wrote: »
    how much per are the brillys choice a bag

http://brillyschoicedogfood.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Robotack

I'm also going to be giving Brillys a try. The puppy for now as both of mine are under 6months.

I'm wondering though, do you find much difference between the complete beef nuts and the muesli?

I rang Brilly's and he said that the Complete Beef is only a maintenance food and there's not enough in it for a dog that's active or working. He recommended the muesli.

i was recomended brillys musili by an auld timer who switched his springers to it when brillys first came on the scene, and by lads posting good reviews and that a buddy of mine gave me abit to try, but as iv said before on here i tryed every type of nuts from pedigree, pedro to even the lidel/aldi muck:o:o but not the expensive royal canine brand,she just wasnt gettin anything out of it and fed up cleaning up sh1te round the yard now i have feck all cleaning up with on the musli:)as for the difference between the muesli and the nuts i think its that the muesli conditions them better and is slow releasing enrgy,and not as heavy on them now i stand corrected there are lads here better and more knowlageable then me here,i just find the muesli better for my springer,personally:);)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭Alchemist2

I know that in the UK all ingredients that make up dried dogfood have to be fit for human consumption i have seen it made and its actually really interesting... dunno if that law applies to here though

:eek:fit for human consumption??:Di was wondering why i thought what little hair i have left on me head has a fair shine ;) and im in fine fettle of late, the missus must be substuting me alpine with brillys:D:D id love to know it was the case here with dried dogfoods here?,now if i can just stop scrathing behind me ear with me foot il be fine:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,703 ✭✭✭kermitpwee

i was recomended brillys musili by an auld timer who switched his springers to it when brillys first came on the scene, and by lads posting good reviews and that a buddy of mine gave me abit to try, but as iv said before on here i tryed every type of nuts from pedigree, pedro to even the lidel/aldi muck:o:o but not the expensive royal canine brand,she just wasnt gettin anything out of it and fed up cleaning up sh1te round the yard now i have feck all cleaning up with on the musli:)as for the difference between the muesli and the nuts i think its that the muesli conditions them better and is slow releasing enrgy,and not as heavy on them now i stand corrected there are lads here better and more knowlageable then me here,i just find the muesli better for my springer,personally:);)

I wont comment on brillys as i never tried it but Royal canin is the greatest load of ****e of all time, its a total marketing gimick. It worse than a 10 euro bag of dog food tbh. It is a disaster for a working dog.

feeding dogs lot of rabbits lately.along wit pedro.definatly going to try different nuts cause had dogs in bad condition last year. convinced really
    tat all this dried food is not the rite diet.going to locate a freezer also
    an freeze some deer.plenty of exercise is as important as food from the 1st sep also for stamina in november.
    is it vital to ave pups on puppy food till 6 months.????they are eating meat as well.how often should i worm them?also is the parazol wormer good enough.?
    wats best flea treatment for pups?
    sorry about all the questions
    thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Clinty

I fed my dog massbrook nuts on their own but jus taught he was a bit light now i try supplement it with either pigeon breast rabbit duck mince boiled tinned sardines or mackerel as much as possible and the difference in definition muscle stamina and power is unreal lads when I have to feed him nuts on their own some nights he just turns his nose up them now that in itself speaks a thousand words of what he rally wants and needs

well i would uasully dose the springer every 3mths for worms,parozol wormer im not formiliar with tbh the father in law uasually drops up the worm dose for my dogs im not sure of make,but it does the trick,i dont know about when you,d take pups off puppy fed we used to take any pups we had years ago off puppy feed between 6-8 mths old but that was with jack russells tho, i could do with a refesher course on pups myself!:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

frontline , for fleas and lice

oats 2 wrote: »
    feeding dogs lot of rabbits lately.along wit pedro.definatly going to try different nuts cause had dogs in bad condition last year. convinced really
    tat all this dried food is not the rite diet.going to locate a freezer also
    an freeze some deer.plenty of exercise is as important as food from the 1st sep also for stamina in november.
    is it vital to ave pups on puppy food till 6 months.????they are eating meat as well.how often should i worm them?also is the parazol wormer good enough.?
    wats best flea treatment for pups?
    sorry about all the questions
    thanks

I'm only using Drontal wormers. I hear good reports all round and I've found them fine. Up to 6 months I'd be worming every 2 to 3 weeks. They can get a bad dose very quickly at that age.

The food companies will tell you to keep the pup on puppy for til 12 months. It's not much more expensive so that's what I'll do to give them the best start. A vet recently advised me to go 75% puppy / 25% adult food for my (then) 9 week old (now 12 wks) GSP as he's so big. She says she wants him to grow at a controlled rate for the good of his joints etc. Anyone ever hear of that before? I never did!

As for fleas, up to 12 weeks, my 2x pups had the odd dip into the wheelbarrow with Johnsons baby shampoo. It's the best you can do as the treatments are for 12 weeks & over. I never personally used any of the "spot on the neck" ones... are they any good lads??

I just wonder how those spot treatments can work if the dog is through rivers etc. I just use a medicated flea shampoo when they start to stink and it's working OK for me.

Oh, and are any of you using Brilly's puppy nuts?? Any good??

I'm hearing good things about the muesli but I'm 6 months away from adult food!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭Stevegeraghty

Robotack wrote: »
    As for fleas, up to 12 weeks, my 2x pups had the odd dip into the wheelbarrow with Johnsons baby shampoo. It's the best you can do as the treatments are for 12 weeks & over. I never personally used any of the "spot on the neck" ones... are they any good lads??

I just wonder how those spot treatments can work if the dog is through rivers etc. I just use a medicated flea shampoo when they start to stink and it's working OK for me.

The spot on goes into the blood stream and works from there, just don't get the wet for a couple of hours after you put it on, get it from a vet to,don't bother with the tesco or other cheap stuff, you may as well put your cash on his neck and hope for the best

heres how frontline works stephen http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KRB_0Vr2I50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭Stevegeraghty

heres how frontline works stephen http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KRB_0Vr2I50

Interesting, not the way the vet explained it to me! I feel dooped :D

frontline your dogs yourself the vet will rape you

Definitely!

Do you find it works? I've been just giving them the odd dip in flea shampoo and it's keeping them smelling clean as well as keeping the fleas away. Although I'll be doing that less in colder weather etc. so an easier option might be good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭EastTyrone

whats the best way to feed rabbits to dogs? freeze them let them trhaw then raw? or cook them? how many would i give a big springer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭Shoot2kill

Ivermectin injection for cattle. 1ml per 50kg. I give the springers a shot of that under the skin (with the dosage adjusted to there weight obviously) Its does them for worms, fleas, ticks, mange mites etc. It lasts for 5-6 wks in there system & is cheap as chips too.

Once I've used that 2 or 3 times I'd switch & gets a bit of cydectin pour-on for cattle off a buddy, it does all of what the above will do at a dose rate of 1ml per 10kg & lasts for 10 wks in their system. (And its water resistant once dried!!) Its made up of a pruduct called Moxidectin which is more or less the very same as what frontline is made up of which is Fiprinol.

I never spend big money on any of the "normal" flea products. Thats stuff is grand if you have one or two dogs but when you get into bigger numbers costs start to rise. I find having a mate who's a vet very heplful in these matters. ;)

raw is best not cooked cause takes away some best nutrients.some say the freezer first to kill parasites or someit
    but i often feed em fresh an freeze any surplus. i give full rabbit to adult springers for day then nuts for next couple days.
    depends on supply.notice that if you give em meat every day they dont eat it quick enogh an its gets stale