Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What food for Springer spaniel

• 29-06-2012 8:22am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭

Hi lads, my springer is 6mths old now and i have him on redmills puppy food (nuts) 28% protien. id say i have around 2wks left in the bag. Can anyone recommend any type to get. also would you need to put him on somthing else when the seasons in and then back to somthing different when season is over?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭Stevegeraghty

Brilly's choice, savage food, great service and free delivery to your door

http://brillyschoicedogfood.com/

I'd say I won't be the only one to recommend them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭blackstairsboy

There is a lot of good quality dry dog foods available. I think it is mostly personal preference. I like Arkwrights reasonably priced and always available. Key is not to chop and change different brands as this will affect the dogs digestive system.
    One bit of advice I would give is to try and start feeding your dogs fresh meat and offcuts from an early age. This is the best food for a working dog. I try to feed meat as much as I can and only supplement with nuts when I need to. If your looking for stamina for the season its hard to beat the meat. Dogs need a diet of about 90% protein and then 10% carbohydrates. If you feed only nuts with 28% protein this is far from the ideal diet for the dog. This is what I have learned and I can put you onto someone who posts on here and is an expert in diet for dogs if you like. Just send me a pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭doyle61

I use chudleys working crunch. Found it the best value and top quality food I've used so far. Floods in Newbridge stock it @18.50 for a 15kg bag. Whatever food you end up using stick to it and don't chop and change from food to food

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

lads i would like to try that brillys choice on my springer as i hearing great reports bout here and from lads i know,quick question do they do c.o,d.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭AL 555

lads i would like to try that brillys choice on my springer as i hearing great reports bout here and from lads i know,quick question do they do c.o,d.:confused:

Give Declan a ring on Monday (087) 958 7227
    He does C.O.D...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭Boiled-egg

Thinking of trying Brilly's Choice Complete Maintenance Beef 21%. What do ye think. It's for a 10 month springer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭fiestaman

Im going to get a bag this week from Brillys and give it a go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

fiestaman wrote: »
    Im going to get a bag this week from Brillys and give it a go.

Brillys food it savage but ya only want to be giving a mug full or two don't be filling the bowl every day

well lads, i took the leap and got a bag off brillys choice muesli to try the springer,so fingers crossed ,thanks al555 for the contact no,that lad declan pure sound no b,s or spiel he is the type of lad that lets the feed to the talking an judgeing by lads here its highly recamended,so il give my findings on it in due course;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

well lads, i took the leap and got a bag off brillys choice muesli to try the springer,so fingers crossed ,thanks al555 for the contact no,that lad declan pure sound no b,s or spiel he is the type of lad that lets the feed to the talking an judgeing by lads here its highly recamended,so il give my findings on it in due course;)

Been honest I wouldn feed muesli mix to a pig never mind a dog , all I get is loads of sog ****s and I personally don't think they get the gud out of it , but the nuts are class

opinion duely noted trigger ,had her on nuts but found they just didnt tick her boxes:( they were just pure scutter, but she wont be just feed soley on the muesli, il be feeding meat off cuts as well,just i was given some of the muesli by brillys from a hunting sidekick who feeds his springers on for a year now and he rates it highly,i said il try it,she seems to favour it over the nuts:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 johnperch

hi lads ive tried all nut types and hav to say brilly is great i give the museli and the springers and the wire haired german are in great order even the jack russell tim loves them but as one of the lads said dont give to much cos pile on the condition and dec is your man he is bang on guy

i have bein told the same by afew other lads i shoot with that muesli is the way to go,have tried most all make of nuts didnt find them any good so i keep her on the muesli

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Hunterjohnb

Why not supplement the food with a tin of sardines of mackerel in oil? A fresh mackerel boiled would be good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭chrisdolan11

so i looked up the brillys choice can anyone tell me whats the actual meat content in it all it says is 21% protein not the percentage meat content which is more important i.m.o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭E. Fudd

Why not supplement the food with a tin of sardines of mackerel in oil? A fresh mackerel boiled would be good.

A fresh mackerel frozen then defrosted and fed raw, head and all would be even better.

I'm currently feeding my bitch raw lambs hearts,and dog mince from the butchers supplemented with "real nature" nuts.

will have loads of makeral in 3 wks time;) hopefully goin sea fishing for the first time,so fingers crossed :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭E. Fudd

will have loads of makeral in 3 wks time;) hopefully goin sea fishing for the first time,so fingers crossed :D:D:D

Make sure and freeze them first. Kills all parasites, which, if present, dogs have no defence against.

no bother there efudd,giving them trout as it is, thawed out first of course!! thanks for the advice anywho;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭Cork24

Hearts, Tongue go to your Local slaughter house i pays 10euro per Heart.

gets 2 days out of one, when i catch some Rabbits he gets some of them. if all else fails
    royal canin dry nuts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

Cork24 wrote: »
    Hearts, Tongue go to your Local slaughter house i pays 10euro per Heart.

gets 2 days out of one, when i catch some Rabbits he gets some of them. if all else fails
    royal canin dry nuts

10euro a heart! thats a desperate price, 5 where i work

Wat type of heart for 5 euro

I gets ox hearts their huge

Wat type of heart for 5 euro

I gets ox hearts their huge

ox, where in cork are you

I gets them Up by North Mon School

you should try lamb aswell i feed them, should be buying them for 50 cent to 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭blackstairsboy

so i looked up the brillys choice can anyone tell me whats the actual meat content in it all it says is 21% protein not the percentage meat content which is more important i.m.o

Meat is protein. So if it is saying there is 21% protein you could say it is 21% meat. However I highly doubt this because protein can also be sourced from other foodstuffs such as eggs and tons of others. I doubt that the nuts protein content is made up solely of meat I would imagine a whole host of ingredients make it up. The nuts are then bulked out with on needed carbohydrates.

Basically I would say very little actual meat goes into the vast majority of dog nut brands. Definitely not enough that a dog should be getting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭Boiled-egg

Lads the brillys choice muesli, is there any particular way of serving, ( is it served wet or dry). ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭EastTyrone

My dog does not eat normal working doig nuts, instead all he will take is pedro :confused: is there any good working dog food out there that is the same context as pedro? lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭kermitpwee

EastTyrone wrote: »
    My dog does not eat normal working doig nuts, instead all he will take is pedro :confused: is there any good working dog food out there that is the same context as pedro? lol

Pedro is very poor food, any dog will eat the new food if he is starved into it. Its sounds cruel but it works. If he is not eating then he is not hungry.

im feeding brillys choice now and my setter who is a fussy eater is mad for it, i mix in a tin or mackerel every second of third day she laps it up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭oats 2

how much per are the brillys choice a bag

depends on what feed, ie, brillys choice beef,chicken or brillys choice museli,i feed my dog the museli which is 18euro abag and she loves it ive noticed a great improvement in her coat ,she has alot more energy, not that she didnt before, i also give her scraps and makeral along with the museli,but i would feed only a cup full of museli every so often as it is very rich in oil any ways,lots of lads here recamend differant types of feeds which suits there dogs ,at the end of the day its whatever is good for u but most importantly for ur dog;):D

oats 2 wrote: »
    how much per are the brillys choice a bag

http://brillyschoicedogfood.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Robotack

I'm also going to be giving Brillys a try. The puppy for now as both of mine are under 6months.

I'm wondering though, do you find much difference between the complete beef nuts and the muesli?

I rang Brilly's and he said that the Complete Beef is only a maintenance food and there's not enough in it for a dog that's active or working. He recommended the muesli.

i was recomended brillys musili by an auld timer who switched his springers to it when brillys first came on the scene, and by lads posting good reviews and that a buddy of mine gave me abit to try, but as iv said before on here i tryed every type of nuts from pedigree, pedro to even the lidel/aldi muck:o:o but not the expensive royal canine brand,she just wasnt gettin anything out of it and fed up cleaning up sh1te round the yard now i have feck all cleaning up with on the musli:)as for the difference between the muesli and the nuts i think its that the muesli conditions them better and is slow releasing enrgy,and not as heavy on them now i stand corrected there are lads here better and more knowlageable then me here,i just find the muesli better for my springer,personally:);)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭Alchemist2

I know that in the UK all ingredients that make up dried dogfood have to be fit for human consumption i have seen it made and its actually really interesting... dunno if that law applies to here though

:eek:fit for human consumption??:Di was wondering why i thought what little hair i have left on me head has a fair shine ;) and im in fine fettle of late, the missus must be substuting me alpine with brillys:D:D id love to know it was the case here with dried dogfoods here?,now if i can just stop scrathing behind me ear with me foot il be fine:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭kermitpwee

i was recomended brillys musili by an auld timer who switched his springers to it when brillys first came on the scene, and by lads posting good reviews and that a buddy of mine gave me abit to try, but as iv said before on here i tryed every type of nuts from pedigree, pedro to even the lidel/aldi muck:o:o but not the expensive royal canine brand,she just wasnt gettin anything out of it and fed up cleaning up sh1te round the yard now i have feck all cleaning up with on the musli:)as for the difference between the muesli and the nuts i think its that the muesli conditions them better and is slow releasing enrgy,and not as heavy on them now i stand corrected there are lads here better and more knowlageable then me here,i just find the muesli better for my springer,personally:);)

I wont comment on brillys as i never tried it but Royal canin is the greatest load of ****e of all time, its a total marketing gimick. It worse than a 10 euro bag of dog food tbh. It is a disaster for a working dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭oats 2

feeding dogs lot of rabbits lately.along wit pedro.definatly going to try different nuts cause had dogs in bad condition last year. convinced really
    tat all this dried food is not the rite diet.going to locate a freezer also
    an freeze some deer.plenty of exercise is as important as food from the 1st sep also for stamina in november.
    is it vital to ave pups on puppy food till 6 months.????they are eating meat as well.how often should i worm them?also is the parazol wormer good enough.?
    wats best flea treatment for pups?
    sorry about all the questions
    thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Clinty

I fed my dog massbrook nuts on their own but jus taught he was a bit light now i try supplement it with either pigeon breast rabbit duck mince boiled tinned sardines or mackerel as much as possible and the difference in definition muscle stamina and power is unreal lads when I have to feed him nuts on their own some nights he just turns his nose up them now that in itself speaks a thousand words of what he rally wants and needs

well i would uasully dose the springer every 3mths for worms,parozol wormer im not formiliar with tbh the father in law uasually drops up the worm dose for my dogs im not sure of make,but it does the trick,i dont know about when you,d take pups off puppy fed we used to take any pups we had years ago off puppy feed between 6-8 mths old but that was with jack russells tho, i could do with a refesher course on pups myself!:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

frontline , for fleas and lice

oats 2 wrote: »
    feeding dogs lot of rabbits lately.along wit pedro.definatly going to try different nuts cause had dogs in bad condition last year. convinced really
    tat all this dried food is not the rite diet.going to locate a freezer also
    an freeze some deer.plenty of exercise is as important as food from the 1st sep also for stamina in november.
    is it vital to ave pups on puppy food till 6 months.????they are eating meat as well.how often should i worm them?also is the parazol wormer good enough.?
    wats best flea treatment for pups?
    sorry about all the questions
    thanks

I'm only using Drontal wormers. I hear good reports all round and I've found them fine. Up to 6 months I'd be worming every 2 to 3 weeks. They can get a bad dose very quickly at that age.

The food companies will tell you to keep the pup on puppy for til 12 months. It's not much more expensive so that's what I'll do to give them the best start. A vet recently advised me to go 75% puppy / 25% adult food for my (then) 9 week old (now 12 wks) GSP as he's so big. She says she wants him to grow at a controlled rate for the good of his joints etc. Anyone ever hear of that before? I never did!

As for fleas, up to 12 weeks, my 2x pups had the odd dip into the wheelbarrow with Johnsons baby shampoo. It's the best you can do as the treatments are for 12 weeks & over. I never personally used any of the "spot on the neck" ones... are they any good lads??

I just wonder how those spot treatments can work if the dog is through rivers etc. I just use a medicated flea shampoo when they start to stink and it's working OK for me.

Oh, and are any of you using Brilly's puppy nuts?? Any good??

I'm hearing good things about the muesli but I'm 6 months away from adult food!

Robotack wrote: »
    As for fleas, up to 12 weeks, my 2x pups had the odd dip into the wheelbarrow with Johnsons baby shampoo. It's the best you can do as the treatments are for 12 weeks & over. I never personally used any of the "spot on the neck" ones... are they any good lads??

I just wonder how those spot treatments can work if the dog is through rivers etc. I just use a medicated flea shampoo when they start to stink and it's working OK for me.

The spot on goes into the blood stream and works from there, just don't get the wet for a couple of hours after you put it on, get it from a vet to,don't bother with the tesco or other cheap stuff, you may as well put your cash on his neck and hope for the best

heres how frontline works stephen http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KRB_0Vr2I50

Interesting, not the way the vet explained it to me! I feel dooped :D

frontline your dogs yourself the vet will rape you

Definitely!

Do you find it works? I've been just giving them the odd dip in flea shampoo and it's keeping them smelling clean as well as keeping the fleas away. Although I'll be doing that less in colder weather etc. so an easier option might be good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭EastTyrone

whats the best way to feed rabbits to dogs? freeze them let them trhaw then raw? or cook them? how many would i give a big springer?