Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should prostitution be legalised? Or what...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Neewbie_noob

Prostitution should be legalised, and regulated, this will curtail all the illegal immigrants and trafficked ladies from Eastern Europe etc.

Ireland's current system is stupid. Think of the business of prostitution like a pyramid. There is usually one pimp or two at the top, then several prostitutes, then even more customers.

Tackling the customers is an endless arduous task.

Not all prostitutes are trafficked, so not all women are being abused.

In cases where they are part of a brothel where they are being forced to do the job, then the pimp should be heavily punished.

In cases where the woman does it herself without a pimp, then the woman should be punished.

Why do I have a flash back from the LC right now ??

• Registered Users Posts: 365 ✭✭Sponge25

Prostitution should be legalised, and regulated, this will curtail all the illegal immigrants and trafficked ladies from Eastern Europe etc.

Ireland's current system is stupid. Think of the business of prostitution like a pyramid. There is usually one pimp or two at the top, then several prostitutes, then even more customers.

Tackling the customers is an endless arduous task.

Not all prostitutes are trafficked, so not all women are being abused.

In cases where they are part of a brothel where they are being forced to do the job, then the pimp should be heavily punished.

In cases where the woman does it herself without a pimp, then the woman should be punished.

Why do I have a flash back from the LC right now ??

If a pimp is forcing a girl to prostitute he ought to be locked up for life without parole. He is of no use to humanity!

Lads - why can't yas just get a girlfriend? If ya don't want to commit that's one of the downsides. No sex!

Sponge25 wrote: »
    If a pimp is forcing a girl to prostitute he ought to be locked up for life without parole. He is of no use to humanity!

Plus one

Lads - why can't yas just get a girlfriend? If ya don't want to commit that's one of the downsides. No sex!

But if a girl knowingly sells her body why should she get off scot free and the boy be punished??? She is the provider (not the boy and not the pimp).

What if the boy just can't get a girlfriend?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 512 ✭✭✭GaryIrv93

Wouldn't like to see it legalised IMO it's a desperate business idea but then again it is a recession and people need money fast. If it gets legalised then hopefully it would be on the condition of it being closely regulated.

Plus one

But if a girl knowingly sells her body why should she get off scot free and the boy be punished??? She is the provider (not the boy and not the pimp).

What if the boy just can't get a girlfriend?

There's a girl out there for everyone man. If ya can't find a girl; Go to the gym, get toned up a little, lose weight if ya have too. Get a nice haircut, get some nice clothes. Do everything possible to make a girl more attracted to ya. Ask your female friends for tips on how to impress a girl and hold a conversation. When you feel like you're ready, sign up to a dating site or go out and be patient, you'll find a girl sooner or later.

You might mess it up a few times at first but be honest and tell the girl you're a virgin and you've never been with a girl before and she'll take it easy on you and show ya how to do it ;)

Just trust me on this; making love to a cute girl who really loves you and who ya really love is the best feeling in the world. It makes you feel so good everything gets bright and you get lightheaded and ya can't get the grin of your face!:)

Even boys who are attractive and now how to talk to girls go trough patches where they can't find a girl so be patient!

There's a girl out there for everyone man. If ya can't find a girl; Go to the gym, get toned up a little, lose weight if ya have too. Get a nice haircut, get some nice clothes. Do everything possible to make a girl more attracted to ya. Ask your female friends for tips on how to impress a girl and hold a conversation. When you feel like you're ready, sign up to a dating site or go out and be patient, you'll find a girl sooner or later.

You might mess it up a few times at first but be honest and tell the girl you're a virgin and you've never been with a girl before and she'll take it easy on you and show ya how to do it ;)

Just trust me on this; making love to a cute girl who really loves you and who ya really love is the best feeling in the world. It makes you feel so good everything gets bright and you get lightheaded and ya can't get the grin of your face!:)

Even boys who are attractive and now how to talk to girls go trough patches where they can't find a girl so be patient!

Thanks for advice :D but I'm grand in that department myself :cool:

It's not for you in paticular, it's for guys who can't find a girl ;)

There's a girl out there for everyone if ya just put some effort in lads. If you're not willing to put the effort in you'll never get a girl cause a girlfriend is FAR more effort than ya think.

It's alot of effort to keep the misses happy isn't it lads?

haha :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 92 ✭✭Cryogen

I am a firm believer in prostitution, however the prices offered by women in Ireland are not competitive enough to those in the UK

Cryogen wrote: »
    I am a firm believer in prostitution, however the prices offered by women in Ireland are not competitive enough to those in the UK

So you like sleeping with whores? why?

Wouldn't you much rather a beautiful woman who has some respect for herself?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 92 ✭✭Cryogen

So you like sleeping with whores? why?

Wouldn't you much rather a beautiful woman who has some respect for herself?

Gentlemen of my stature in society can have both

Cryogen wrote: »
    Gentlemen of my stature in society can have both

Gentlemen respect woman and don't sleep with whores; You're hardly a gentlemen, sir!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,338 ✭✭✭nozzferrahhtoo

Do ya know how I know anyone who uses a prostitute is filth? Because only a filthy man would sleep with a whore!

So your position is right because you know your position is right. That is basically the rhetoric you are selling here. You just sit there and throw demeaning invective at people and that is essentially your entire argument.
    There's alot of poor girls in the world trafficked to prostitute (even in Ireland!) I have nothing but the utmost sympathy for these girls

If you would stop piling your hateful invective onto the thread for a moment you will likely then notice that people who are perfectly ok with prostitution are not at all ok with slavery and trafficking. We have common cause there.

I am also perfectly ok with the production of clothing, but I am not ok with the child slave labour some clothing companies have used as a cost cutting measure.

It would be foolish to say clothes production is evil because some people used child labour. It is also foolish to say prostitution is wrong because some people use slaves and trafficking too.

You are conflating two issues in an attempt to indict them both with the same crimes and the result is a transparently false rhetoric that you can back up with nothing but invective and hate.
    How on earth anyone can justify being a whore is beyond me?

Thankfully no one has to justify themselves to you. "Innocent until proven guilty" and all that. Unless there are arguments to suggest something is actually WRONG with prostitution then they have no onus to justify themselves to anyone at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

There's a little difference between a guy and girl getting carried away and sleeping together and a girl sleeping with 15 men a day. One had a hot night with a guy the others a whore worth little!
    Do ya know how I know anyone who uses a prostitute is filth? Because only a filthy man would sleep with a whore! That's what prostitutes are, whores.

You make everything sound so black and white. Sometimes sex is good, sometimes its bad. It depends on the person. Some prostitutes are coerced, some choose to do it. The men who use them vary too. It’s a lot more complex than you’d like to think.

Even with regards to casual sex, or a one night stand. Yes sometimes It can be harmless fun, but there are times when people regret it or have a bad experience. It can sometimes result in unwanted pregnancies or people getting hurt. If a lad brings a girl into a toilet who is so drunk she can barely stand, and has sex with her... is that really any more classy than using an escort? I know this is not always the case, but every circumstance varies as does prostitution and the people involved in it.

Do you actually know what percentage of prostitutes in this country are trafficked and what percentage have chosen to do it? Not even Ruhama can answer that one. If you have such sympathy for the prostitutes then which law would you like to see put in place?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭Eliot Rosewater

Weeks ban for Sponge25 for trolling and intentionally abusive.

ER.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭gaffer91

@ T Runner if possible would you be able to respond to my post, here regarding legalising prostitution.

I would also like to ask you several other questions regarding prostitution. I will not try to pigeonhole you into yes/no answers so can you please answer the following questions with as much length or brevity as you see fit.

1. What do you say to this report which states that trafficking is actually on the increase in Sweden?

2. Given that evidence in my previous post and also here (read the conclusion) shows that most prostitutes work of their own free will, do you really think it is right to criminalise a transaction between consenting adults? That someone has a history of physical, sexual or substance abuse should not disqualify them from taking a job, imo.

3. How do you respond to evidence in my previous post that showed how sex workers in NZ are delighted with prostitution being legal? I know you will probably cite Farley's figures again but the fact is given her open bias her entire study must be taken with a massive pinch of salt.

I read that report about the trafficking increasing in Sweden, but its difficult to know which reports are telling the truth. It would be interesting to hear from people who have either worked as prostitutes or used prostitutes. It's all to easy to judge from the outside without having actually paid for, or sold sex.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭9959

Daveysil15 wrote: »
    I read that report about the trafficking increasing in Sweden, but its difficult to know which reports are telling the truth. It would be interesting to hear from people who have either worked as prostitutes or used prostitutes. It's all to easy to judge from the outside without having actually paid for, or sold sex.

I doubt there that there are many Swedish prostitutes reading this, I could be wrong, I suppose there's 'downtime' in every profession.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

Excerpt online today from a BBC interview with Dr Brooke Magnanti, who may be better known as Belle de Jour, who blogged about her own experiences in prostitution.

In it she criticizes the gynocentric focus of many anti-prostitution activists and, relevant to the discussion here, the selective biases employed in the 'research' carried out by so-called anti-prostitution academics.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,561 ✭✭✭enfant terrible

Gunilla Ekberg is a Swedish lawyer. From 2002 to 2006, she was employed at the Ministry of Industry as the Swedish Government's expert on prostitution and trafficking in human beings.

She is an advocate for Sweden's approach to prostitution, in which the john's are prosecuted but the prostitutes are supported by the social services in an effort to move them out of the industry.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gunilla_Ekberg

If she is one of the leading figures behind this approach then i would be very dubious of any of their claims.

Go to 5.31 in this video to see her in action
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-hgxHaSqzn4&feature=relmfu

• Registered Users Posts: 856 ✭✭✭miec

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2237170/Why-Amsterdams-legal-brothels-lesson-Britain-telling-truth-sex-gangs-race.html#ixzz2DFSeLQpr

This article is another strong reason why prostitution should not be legalised and I hope that legislation changes so that the person paying for sex is the one who is charged. It is disgusting that young girls are being groomed and tricked into prostitution so that other men can purchase sex off very young girls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

Interesting article about a study that dismantles the myths about the type of women involved in the the sex industry.
    Female porn stars are psychologically as healthy or healthier than other women, according to a new study, which challenges widely held views about women in the adult entertainment business.

Adult entertainers were found to have higher self-esteem, a better quality of life and body image, and to be more positive, with greater levels of spirituality. They also had higher levels of sexual satisfaction and, perhaps unsurprisingly, many more partners than other women.

The American researchers, who report their findings in the Journal of Sex Research, said they found no evidence to support the "damaged goods hypothesis" that actresses involved in the porn industry come from desperate backgrounds and are less psychologically healthy compared with typical women.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭Procrastastudy

miec wrote: »
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2237170/Why-Amsterdams-legal-brothels-lesson-Britain-telling-truth-sex-gangs-race.html#ixzz2DFSeLQpr

This article is another strong reason why prostitution should not be legalised and I hope that legislation changes so that the person paying for sex is the one who is charged. It is disgusting that young girls are being groomed and tricked into prostitution so that other men can purchase sex off very young girls.

I completely agree - you've just hit the nail on the head for legalising and properly regulating prostitution.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

I completely agree - you've just hit the nail on the head for legalising and properly regulating prostitution.

Indeed. There's nothing more credible in academic circles than a Daily Mail article.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭Procrastastudy

Indeed. There's nothing more credible in academic circles than a Daily Mail article.

I like the way their own journalists cite the fact the the Dutch are reacting to the problem themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,876 ✭✭✭iptba

No mention of male sex workers, or female purchasers ...

http://www.irishexaminer.com/opinion/letters/criminalisation-of-men-who-buy-sex-is-how-to-end-prostitution-217146.html
    Criminalisation of men who buy sex is how to end prostitution

Monday, December 17, 2012

As someone who has studied prostitution and the harm and misery for the women involved, I think it is time that this highly lucrative industry, from which traffickers and prostitution agencies profit, was curbed.

The weight of international research evidence on the harm of all forms of prostitution is overwhelming.

A focus on the men who buy sex is needed, with a view to criminalising the purchase of sex.

Awareness campaigns alone do not work and legislation outlawing the purchase of women is needed to combat prostitution.

This is why I support the campaign against prostitution in Ireland, which is making presentations at the Joint Oireachtas Committee on Justice (Irish Examiner, Dec 12).

Unconditional penalties for men who seek and buy people for sex is the only way to end the criminal prostitution underworld and our tolerance tor it.

Dr Patricia Kelleher
    Allihies
    Beara
    Co Cork

Has this law been implemented yet?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,876 ✭✭✭iptba

Has this law been implemented yet?
    They haven't decided if there will be a new law yet, if that's what you mean.

• Registered Users Posts: 23 SwanSky

How dreadfully depressing it is, as a woman, to see that the majority of people voting in this poll feel women are on this earth to be commodified - just products to be bought and sold.

I wonder how long their theory would hold up if it was their own legs open on a brothels bed.

• Registered Users Posts: 23 SwanSky

iptba wrote: »
    No mention of male sex workers, or female purchasers ...

No mention of the Yeti either. Some things are not worth talking about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

SwanSky wrote: »
    No mention of the Yeti either. Some things are not worth talking about.
    So male prostitutes and female clients are essentially both mythical creatures on a par with the Yeti? Nice.