Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dodgy or dangerous areas to avoid?

• 17-05-2012 8:09am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭

My daughter got offered a place at Trinity a few weeks ago, and will be starting a degree course in September. While she and I have visited Dublin multiple times over the years, neither of us are really familiar. What I do know is that over the last few years street crime seems to have mushroomed - stabbings, etc. in the news all the time. So, what is the reality? - what are the areas to avoid and at what times (i.e. some areas might be OK during the day, but dodgy after dark...)? In particular, what about the areas in the direct vicinity of TCD, and on the routes to/from Trinity Hall - Pearse St., Temple Bar, etc? Note that this is not an invitation for generalizations such as dishing the entire northside...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,956 ✭✭✭Tow

All these areas are on the southside!

Trinity Hall is in a up market area with 3 bed Semi D's going for 7 figure sums in the height of the boom years. She hops on the bus/bike (or walks to Milltown Luas station) goes throught Rathmines and Portobello into town. Renting in Pearse St. should be OK... Renting in Temple Bar is a no no, as you will get no sleep etc. In any event she should have no need to go into Temple Bar unless she goes drinking etc

The reality is if she keeps to her studies and does not spend her time drinking and hanging around with druggies at night she will be fine.

When is the money (including lost growth) Michael Noonan took in the Pension Levy going to be paid back?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 252 ✭✭SNORBEAST

Copper Face Jacks......................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭wexflyer

Tow wrote: »
    All these areas are on the southside!

Er, I think I know that.
    I specifically questioned what areas close to Trinity are like, and I believe Pearse St and Temple Bar are examples of such locations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

There are no areas that you are particularly likely to be attacked or mugged if you go into them. Especially during the day, if you just walk confidently around the place you won't be hassled by anyone.

General rule is to avoid walking around the city at night on your own (especially midweek) with a few drinks on you as your guard is down. The busiest parts of town are out the front gate onto college green and the side gate onto Dawson St, so if she is going to be leaving TCD on her own at night, then the side gate at Dawson St is the way to go.

The other gates are by no means dangerous, but open out into much quieter parts of the city.

In terms of the rest of the city, again a very general rule at night is to keep west of O'Connell St/D'Olier St and east of Capel St/Christchurch. That doesn't mean the rest of the city is dangerous or that this area is inherently safe, but you'll find yourself in less bother if you stick to this, at least until you get familiar with the city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭chainsawman

Rathmines is a perfect place for any students to stay among few southside areas... I was in cabra years ago, tough place to live like finglas and most of northside of the city,Except some areas like Castleknock, but too far to the college.... Dont know about now, that was in the seventies i was living in Cabra... Meant no offence to anyone who lives up in Northside of the city..

She'll be grand OP. There aren't any particularly rough areas she'll be around, but obviously no matter where you go you always have to be careful.

Tell her to always keep a hand on her bag, and not to give money to people. I've only ever heard the odd case of someone being mugged (and I mean over living in Dublin my whole life) as opposed to a good few cases of someone having something stolen without knowing until they looked for it. This is because on nights out lots of girls have their bags on their shoulders wide open, and sometimes leave them at a table to get up and dance. Which is ridiculous.

Don't worry OP, she's a girl in first year. The only thing she's likely to do on her own is shopping, and that will be in safe places. Nights out she'll have mates with her. Getting stabbed is unlikely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭wobbles-grogan

Most of the city center will be perfectly fine, pay attention to the above rule of west of o'connell street, east of christchurch. It will work out well!

Rathmines on the southside is very nice, particuarly for a student (but is a tad on the expensive side). Northside areas i would go for would be drumcondra/santry. You can rent pretty cheap there and drumcondra is only a short walk/cycle to town.

Also, dont be worrying about her, she'll get on perfectly fine! Dublin is quite a safe city, even though it gets a lot of stick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

Hey. First of all, don't worry too much about "street crime" in the news. The newspapers tend to dramatize things - while crime certainly happens, it's not a case that you see it all the time, or that you can't go out at a certain time. I'm 20 (and female) and I've lived here my entire life - I've never seen a stabbing or any sort of attack. Have had no problems since I started college, and I have to walk across town on my own after sports training at night.

Trinity Halls is pretty safe and a very large number of first-years live there so it's unlikely that your daughter will be on her own (safety in numbers). Most of the people I know who lived in Halls have loads more friends on campus than I do and they made those friends quicker. If you're not looking at Halls, most people I know live in Rathmines, Harolds Cross, Temple Bar (I know a couple of people who live there) and flats off Merrion Square. I don't like gross generalisations of places not to go (I'm from Tallaght and it gets a lot of stick even though it's a huuuge place - same population as Limerick! - and most of it's fine.), but make sure you visit a place before renting there.

General advice for walking around town (could apply to most cities): there's a lot to be said for walking confidently and keeping yoru wits about you, as another poster pointed out. Don't go down any laneways or badly-lit streets (there aren't many of those these days mind!). Stay in groups late at night if you can, and don't take any shortcuts that you don't know in advance. Steer clear of anyone who looks particularly drunk (cross the road) and don't walk through a group of skangers (walk around them). Make sure your handbag's closed. Paddy's Day and New Year's Eve are messy, be particularly careful on those days!

But honestly, it's not that bad. Most students get on completely fine, very few of my friends have ever had trouble. The SU usually have a guide to getting around Dublin the diary that they give you at registration too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Groinshot

+1 on rathmines, Lived there for 2 years, and going back for another after living in city centre for a year. As everyone else has said stick with a group if walking in town late at night, other than that Dublin is fine. 3 years in and the worst that has happened to me is a taxi driver taking me the long way home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

As has been stated already, most of the stabbings and virtually all of the gun crime is gang related. It makes for nice headlines but isn't an everyday concern to your average Dub. She will notice some drunks and junkies around but thats the great thing about the idiots - you'll spot them from a distance.
    The Christchurch / O'Connell St. rule seems sensible for anyone finding their way in the big smoke. After 37 years in Dublin (living in the Coombe), I've only been pickpocketed once - and I'm not overly careful my safety.
    Go out in numbers at night and watch each others backs - sensible advice for young kids in any city.

Thanks to everyone for the very useful comments and input. Much appreciated!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭Scrappychimow

The truth is trouble lurks where you least expect it . Hope that helps you sleep at night , nervous nelly.

Was that really necessary? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭Scrappychimow

Was that really necessary? :confused:
    You can't handle the truth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭TrollHammaren

As someone who's from one of those dodgey areas, thanks for not saying "watch out for the knackers!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 planck

Watch out for the knackers!

planck wrote: »

Knackers is bit descriminating words.... Travellers would be a better word.. Not all travellers are bad, there are many lovely people, Like all kinds of Race, there are few bad ones including our race...

You can't handle the truth.

Ok, well if you say so. Whatever :rolleyes:

planck wrote: »

Watch me undermine your prejudices by not stabbing you and swearing at my four-year-old.

Edit: I don't actually have a four-year-old!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

To be honest, there's no real reason a student at Trinity would be wandering into most of the 'dodgy' areas of Dublin to begin with, especially if they're living in Rathmines.
    Knackers is bit descriminating words.... Travellers would be a better word.. Not all travellers are bad, there are many lovely people, Like all kinds of Race, there are few bad ones including our race...

In this context, knacker means scanger, not traveller. To be honest the vast majority of people (in Dublin anyway) mean a scumbag or scanger when they use the word 'knacker', not a traveller. Secondly Irish people are not a 'race', they're a nationality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭Maybe_Memories

In the past year the only bad thing (that I know of) to happen to some TCD students was everyone's phone being stolen in a club. But that was very much a coordinated strike, and more than likely wont happen again. I've been living in Dublin for two years, and that's the worst I've heard happen. I went to Waterford for one night and saw guys getting trashed by bouncers outside clubs.

Dublin is fine. Even at night it's certainly not the worst city in the world, although I certainly don't recommend doing this, I once walked from well up beyond the top of o'connell street, eventually found o'connell street, then walked all the way back to Rathmines at 3 in the morning. I was grand. No hassle from anyone.

Btw, I'm aware it was a very foolish thing to do, but I literally had to choice. I wont go into why. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,635 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ravelleman

Don't worry, the big city isn't really that scary. The same rules for keeping safe apply in most parts of the world. Unless your daughter is a very naive 18 year old, she'll be fine.

Ravelleman wrote: »
    Don't worry, the big city isn't really that scary. The same rules for keeping safe apply in most parts of the world. Unless your daughter is a very naive 18 year old, she'll be fine.

Well, things vary substantially in different parts of the world. In fact, almost nobody walks on the streets in my current neck of the woods, and if you do either the police or neighborhood watch may well be on your case ("walking with intent"). In part that is why I posted my original query.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Brian

Some unusual people in this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

wexflyer wrote: »
    Well, things vary substantially in different parts of the world. In fact, almost nobody walks on the streets in my current neck of the woods, and if you do either the police or neighborhood watch may well be on your case ("walking with intent"). In part that is why I posted my original query.

American from a gated community by any chance ;)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Rathmines is a great place for students, pretty much ideal in my opinion. Lived on Foley street last year, which is up around Connolly station. Dodgy area and plenty of anti-social activity, but was never actually attacked or robbed myself, even at night. Car set on fire outside my apartment and a few kind of serious fights in the alleys around it, but sure it builds character. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,635 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ravelleman

Well, when your daughter 'walks with intent' in Dublin, she'll be fine. And I actually do think that most of the same basic rules for keeping safe apply wherever you are in the world.

Unless your daughter is involved in organised crime I think she'll be safe from most of the violent criminals around Dublin.

Part of the college experience for young people and parents alike is achieving a certain freedom, learning to let go.

And I actually do think that most of the same basic rules for keeping safe apply wherever you are in the world.

And one of the most basic rules is just to learn which areas/times are dangerous and best avoided - because not everywhere is the same. I have never felt threatened at any time or place in Japan, China or Korea. I can't say the same for many European or US cities. Dublin, from my own knowledge is not the best, but neither is it the worst. What is certain, to me at least, is that this a valid issue.
    Part of the college experience for young people and parents alike is achieving a certain freedom, learning to let go.

Very true. But I think we should all alike follow what you yourself asserted were "the same basic rules for keeping safe apply wherever you are in the world."

To be honest, there's no real reason a student at Trinity would be wandering into most of the 'dodgy' areas of Dublin to begin with, especially if they're living in Rathmines.

In this context, knacker means scanger, not traveller. To be honest the vast majority of people (in Dublin anyway) mean a scumbag or scanger when they use the word 'knacker', not a traveller. Secondly Irish people are not a 'race', they're a nationality.

Ok whatever floats your boats.... :D

To be honest, OP, you're getting a lot of really stupid responses with the odd good one; you're right to ask these questions. Rathmines is definitely one of the more student-friendly spots, and Drumcondra is good as long as your daughter isn't walking home there at night on her own.

Most places are fine during the day, but there's a dodgey as fúck student accommodation spot on Railway Street near Connolly Station that I'd avoid like the plague. In around that area is quite dangerous.

If your daughter is going for a night out, as long as she's maintaining basic safety measures (travel in groups, set aside money for a taxi home etc) she'll be fine if she sticks to the stetch along the Camden Street areas. I worked as a bouncer there all throughout my undergrad and that seemed to be the spot with the least amount of trouble - most of the issues were due to people just doing stupid things.

I grew up in a very rough housing estate in Ballyfermot/Cherry Orchard, so I have a fair idea when it comes to rough spots. You're very welcome to send me a PM if you have any questions you feel I could help with.

To be honest, OP, you're getting a lot of really stupid responses with the odd good one; you're right to ask these questions. Rathmines is definitely one of the more student-friendly spots, and Drumcondra is good as long as your daughter isn't walking home there at night on her own.

Most places are fine during the day, but there's a dodgey as fúck student accommodation spot on Railway Street near Connolly Station that I'd avoid like the plague. In around that area is quite dangerous.

If your daughter is going for a night out, as long as she's maintaining basic safety measures (travel in groups, set aside money for a taxi home etc) she'll be fine if she sticks to the stetch along the Camden Street areas. I worked as a bouncer there all throughout my undergrad and that seemed to be the spot with the least amount of trouble - most of the issues were due to people just doing stupid things.

I grew up in a very rough housing estate in Ballyfermot/Cherry Orchard, so I have a fair idea when it comes to rough spots. You're very welcome to send me a PM if you have any questions you feel I could help with.

Hear ,Hear.... Great Post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 butterball2

She just needs to have her wits about her. Unless she is very young for her age I really would not worry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭Chuchoter

I wouldn't worry too much, I've always found Dublin a very safe city as long as you're not a complete idiot. The only places I'm careful are train stations (empty scary places!) and housing estates at night. Obviously then all the general rules apply, try not to walk around alone at night, keep an eye on your bag, be aware of your surroundings and obviously don't get completely locked drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 sazmc

don't worry she'll know from the look of some streets and the people that are on them that they're dodgy and she'll learn fast enough anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

And one of the most basic rules is just to learn which areas/times are dangerous and best avoided - because not everywhere is the same. I have never felt threatened at any time or place in Japan, China or Korea. I can't say the same for many European or US cities. Dublin, from my own knowledge is not the best, but neither is it the worst. What is certain, to me at least, is that this a valid issue.

Dublin's a pretty safe city. I wouldn't start comparing it to Asian cities though, they're a completely different ballgame.
    Very true. But I think we should all alike follow what you yourself asserted were "the same basic rules for keeping safe apply wherever you are in the world."

Most of it is common sense when you move to a new town or city. Don't flash your cash about the place, get a taxi home with a friend after a night out etc... There is street crime but about as much as you'd see in the likes of Birmingham/Manchester/Newcastle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

I actually feel more unsafe in Dublin during the day than at night.

I've walked from Drumcondra to South Circular Road after a night out a few times and never had any trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Steodonn

Come to the northside we promise not you rob you ( maybe )

Most street crime is either very minor stuff or people looking for trouble finding it. Avoid the back lanes and don't walk around alone late a night and she'll be grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 190E2.516

avoid pearse street. its full of junkies and rapists. not a safe place for anyone to be, day or night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭Doug Cartel

190E2.516 wrote: »
    avoid pearse street. its full of junkies and rapists. not a safe place for anyone to be, day or night

It's not exactly crawling with pimps and CHUDS, but there are kids round there who seem to spend most of their time trying to make people feel as threatened/unwelcome as possible. It's not dangerous dangerous, but if you're not familiar with the area, it's worth keeping your eyes open or they'll ruin your day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

It's not exactly crawling with pimps and CHUDS, but there are kids round there who seem to spend most of their time trying to make people feel as threatened/unwelcome as possible. It's not dangerous dangerous, but if you're not familiar with the area, it's worth keeping your eyes open or they'll ruin your day.

If we're going to take that post seriously, I would say it's not remotely dangerous by Dublin standards.

The thing about Pearse St. is that it's right next to TCD, and you get this sudden change as soon as you reach the Padraig Pearse pub and the Lido chipper. All of a sudden you're in an area where the kids randomly push people, throw stuff, and shout at anyone that looks at them funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,761 ✭✭✭Lawliet

The thing about Pearse St. is that it's right next to TCD, and you get this sudden change as soon as you reach the Padraig Pearse pub and the Lido chipper. All of a sudden you're in an area where the kids randomly push people, throw stuff, and shout at anyone that looks at them funny.
    I find that with a lot of places in Dublin; there'll be a decent area and then two minutes down the road you're in scumbag county.

Lawliet wrote: »
    I find that with a lot of places in Dublin; there'll be a decent area and then two minutes down the road you're in scumbag county.

Thanks for that; nothing better than an underprivileged area with known social problems being referred to as "scumbag country".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,761 ✭✭✭Lawliet

Thanks for that; nothing better than an underprivileged area with known social problems being referred to as "scumbag country".
    Bit harsh I know, but having grown up in a disadvantaged area and been the victim of my fair share of antisocial behavior, I'm not the most sympathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭EI_Flyboy

If you really want your daughter to be safe, encourage her to take up a martial art or just enrol her in a self defense course. The vast majority of scumbags haven't the first clue how to fight so even basic knowledge of self defence will put her way ahead of the pack. If she becomes proficient in a martial art she can live wherever she wants with confidence.

EI_Flyboy wrote: »
    If you really want your daughter to be safe, encourage her to take up a martial art or just enrol her in a self defense course. The vast majority of scumbags haven't the first clue how to fight so even basic knowledge of self defence will put her way ahead of the pack. If she becomes proficient in a martial art she can live wherever she wants with confidence.

Anybody know where can I get one of those pictures of Jean-Luc Picard with his face in his hands?

Way to go Mod, very responsible reply!

picard-facepalm.jpg

Yes, that will do nicely.

Seriously though, taking the attitude that because you know karate/krav maga/whatever, you can do whatever you want no worries, is a good way of increasing your chances of getting yourself hurt.

Yes, that will do nicely.

Seriously though, taking the attitude that because you know karate/krav maga/whatever, you can do whatever you want no worries, is a good way of increasing your chances of getting yourself hurt.

I didn't suggest she go out and pick on people herself in some sort of vigilante fashion. I think that the confidence even a small bit of training could give her would make her less of a target as scumbags tend to go for weak targets meaning she wouldn't even have to lift a finger for such training to be beneficial. I'm surprised that as a mod on the martial art forum and no doubt also a practicioner that rather than encouraging someone to take up martial arts, you choose to denegrate the idea. It just seems strange to me that you wouldn't instead recommend a particular martial art as being most effective for general self defence!? :confused:

EI_Flyboy wrote: »
    I think that the confidence even a small bit of training could give her would make her less of a target as scumbags tend to go for weak targets meaning she wouldn't even have to lift a finger for such training to be beneficial.

You ever heard the phrase a little knowledge is a dangerous thing?
    I'm surprised that as a mod on the martial art forum and no doubt also a practicioner that rather than encouraging someone to take up martial arts, you choose to denegrate the idea. It just seems strange to me that you wouldn't instead recommend a particular martial art as being most effective for general self defence!? :confused:
    I'm all for encouraging people to take up martial arts, but if staying safe is your main concern it's so far down the list of things you should be doing.