Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DayZ Zombie Mod for Arma 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

Anyone see who disconnected from that gunrunners image? :pac:

We hunt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭shootermacg

Forget most of those other tips, the good thing about spawning is you have nothing to lose.

1) Get your bearings
    2) Sprint all the way to cherno/electro
    3) Look for a building with 2 open doors, use it to lose zombies
    4) Crouch walk to the townhall and the open houses, then the church and when you have a gun the supermarket (don't hang around in the supermarket or church)
    5) Go the the hospital for morphine.
    6) hang around visiting the other buildings until you have what you want (matches, compass, map, water canteen, hatchet and hunting knife essential).
    7) Head north visiting deer stands on the way.
    8) When you hit the airport, kill kill kill....oh, and kill kill ahem.. kill
    9) Rinse and repeat

Do not be afraid to lose your gear, you'll come across someone with lots of gear on your travels, kill them, take alice bad full of goodies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭Funglegunk

Been killed 5 times so far, been playing for two days. Three times by zombies, once shot by a crossbow from afar, once surprised a lad in a gillie suit with an AK of some kind....I however only possessed a hatchet.

Did finally manage to find an AKM with clips, was then killed when I got glitch-stuck into a ladder. Ah well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭Cravez

Forget most of those other tips, the good thing about spawning is you have nothing to lose.

Except for time spent? Generally no one wants keep spawning and dying, so why would you want to sprint into Elektro or Cherno with nothing and be met with dying by either Zeds or by being shot by another? It wouldn't be best for new players. Doable if someone knows their way around the game and the cities like the back of their hand.

It was easy enough to do before since you spawned with a Marakov, now you are almost naked until you find something to defend yourself with. The smaller towns that have enterable houses (still quite dangerous) or heading to the country to find barns/deer stands are the best options for most at the moment, particularly for the less experienced players of the game.

Otherwise, if you do decide to head into the major cities and are empty-handed with a weapon, you'll need alot of patience to make your way through (lots of crawling etc)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,909 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Except for time spent? Generally no one wants keep spawning and dying, so why would you want to sprint into Elektro or Cherno with nothing and be met with dying by either Zeds or by being shot by another? It wouldn't be best for new players. Doable if someone knows their way around the game and the cities like the back of their hand.

It was easy enough to do before since you spawned with a Marakov, now you are almost naked until you find something to defend yourself with. The smaller towns that have enterable houses (still quite dangerous) or heading to the country to find barns/deer stands are the best options for most at the moment, particularly for the less experienced players of the game.

Otherwise, if you do decide to head into the major cities and are empty-handed with a weapon, you'll need alot of patience to make your way through (lots of crawling etc)

Exactly. Doing as shootermacg says is suicide for a new player, not to mention repeating the same process/route being boring as hell. Head to the countryside as I said and get the basics. Get familiar with the map and don't be in a rush to get all the best gear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭SgtBob

One thing I find, which may be a useful hint for a new player. The smaller towns most of the time (In my experience) usually spawn more Z's in a smaller space than the likes of Elektro/Cherno. However the larger towns like Elektro, Cherno, etc have a higher amount of other survivers around them.

So depending on what you are after, you really need to weigh up the choices. Do I try and go to Elektro for a morphine, or will I take a chance of finding one in a deer stand. If you have no gear, you may aswell take a chance in a large town. But when you have some good gear you need to consider the fact that unless you are uber careful and extremely lucky, you will prob die most of the times you enter a big town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Cheers for answer lads.

Does it work well with steam versions of arma 2 and arrowhead?

Or I better off hunting down original install discs with no steam support?

Cheers for answer lads.

Well I'm using the steam version, with no probs.

Steam version of Combined Ops here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭dan_ep82

Cheers for answer lads.

Less issues with the steam version

Spawned in Solnichniy last night and get to scavenging. Poke around a corner and see a guy stand up from getting a hatchet. He turns, sees me and immediately sprints towards me axe in hand!
    Oh shi-!
    Sprint away screaming over direct chat my wishes to see the next sunrise and he stays coming. I eventually lose him in town and continue scavenging, spotting him in the distance every so often. And I sometimes drag some Zeds his way as payback.

Bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,226 ✭✭✭Grumpypants

Any ideas lads, I had it working before but had to re install after adding a new SSD. now it gets stuck on the loading screen every time.

I used 6 updater and launcher so its the new 9444 beta. both arma and OA work seperatley, it says dayz beta on the side and I can join the boards server it downloads the file then I get a black screen and the loading goes to 100% and it stays like that for ever.

Any ideas lads, I had it working before but had to re install after adding a new SSD. now it gets stuck on the loading screen every time.

I used 6 updater and launcher so its the new 9444 beta. both arma and OA work seperatley, it says dayz beta on the side and I can join the boards server it downloads the file then I get a black screen and the loading goes to 100% and it stays like that for ever.

Don't think boards is on 9444 beta yet.

I've often played on boards with a newer patch, but yeah, try a 9444 server.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭Outburst

Hello, can I confirm that you need Arma 2 and operation arrowhead to play this mod? I have Arma 2 (from gamersgate) and was thinking of buying arrowhead from Bohemia store (around 12 eur), rather than buying the whole package again on steam.

Has anyone done this and got the mod working?

Andrew76 wrote: »
    Exactly. Doing as shootermacg says is suicide for a new player, not to mention repeating the same process/route being boring as hell. Head to the countryside as I said and get the basics. Get familiar with the map and don't be in a rush to get all the best gear.

So are you fellers saying don't go into a city?????
    You guys do realize you can run all day with Zeds on your back, even in circles. You guys go sneaking about and I promise you I'll be fully geared up while you are looking for a hatchet in a barn. Even a new player can circle a house until they are sure there are 2 doors, ignoring the zombie train, they have to stop to hit you, so that never happens.

I know if I'm going into a city I'll sprint in, people are less inclined to shoot at you with 10 zombies on your back and it's harder to hit a moving target.

In fact one more word of advice, if you are going to get swarmed it'll most likely be in outlying towns. The reason for this is in a city there are more walls you put between you and the zombie and that's better.

Oh and one more tip, gear up on a less populated server. This is my tried and trusted method and I've done it countless times only getting ganked once or twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭blaa85

Anyone know if the sniper rifle or the binos give off a shimmer? Never noticed it but saw it twice off in the distance yesterday. Was I being stalked or just paranoid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭FlyingIrishMan

Outburst wrote: »
    Hello, can I confirm that you need Arma 2 and operation arrowhead to play this mod? I have Arma 2 (from gamersgate) and was thinking of buying arrowhead from Bohemia store (around 12 eur), rather than buying the whole package again on steam.

If you use the launcher from Armaholic then you can use that to combine the two games into Operation Arrowhead and you can play DayZ from that.

Outburst wrote: »

A mate of mine had OA from steam and already owned arma2 and he got it working. I'll have a chat with him about what he had to do tonight, but it would seem that yes you can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,226 ✭✭✭Grumpypants

SgtBob wrote: »
    Don't think boards is on 9444 beta yet.

For some unknown reason it started working! I had done a reboot since last night and re-installed the anti cheat program.

Went in through Steam and got bad version errors on every werver, launched through 6 launcher and got into the boards server straight away.

went into a shed and "Adrian" shot me even though i had nothing.

Its good to be back :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,475 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

For some unknown reason it started working! I had done a reboot since last night and re-installed the anti cheat program.

Went in through Steam and got bad version errors on every werver, launched through 6 launcher and got into the boards server straight away.

went into a shed and "Adrian" shot me even though i had nothing.

Its good to be back :D

"Adrian"
    Must remember him if I ever see him and shoot on sight..ther's a few other pricks who I'm gonna get as well :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭Cravez

So are you fellers saying don't go into a city?????

Not saying don't, but saying rather that for newer players it's not the best idea for survival, unless they know what they are doing.

There are different entry points in various cities that are easier to get in and grab gear than others. For Cherno I find the best entry point for new players or anyone is entering via the west by the coast. The Supermarket, Firestation, Church and a few small and larger redbrick houses to enter with still a smaller pool of zombies to cover all of these (i.e the same zombies will most likely patrol in or around the same areas without you having to come across alot more zombies). It still has it's risks of being high in PvP activity however.

Everything in the game is a risk, but you're measuring the benefit-to-risk ratio depending on circumstances and generally for myself even iv playing the game for a good while now, generally don't enter the cities if I spawn. I head to the Barns/Deer Stands or maybe the smaller towns if the zombie density isn't big before I plan on entering the cities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,120 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

I've never found anything but bandages/cans of drinks/empties in the deer stands! :/

I often try those edge-of-the-city things to get geared up and go hunting Zs in/around the small towns.

PvP doesn't really interest me (If I wanted that, there are plenty other games to play) but I like avoiding/being chased by/taking out the Zs, and helping people where I can. Was in the supermarket in Zelenogorsk, after being mauled a bit, and shortly after I left I'd heard shooting, and a guy ran into the supermarket, and heard him getting mauled, so snuck in to try to help with my crossbow and one bolt. He recovered, and as I was trying to retrieve the bolt, shot me. :( (Wasn't on the Boards server, that was on the IE2 one)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭therealwillie

nice fire fight in berezino last night, i got 4 of ye but died to feckin zombies breaking my legs twice. ye got most of my team though. why you guys are camping the apartments i'll never know :D came back again but we were pretty badly armed and ye got us all. did the midget get his L85A2 AWS back? :D

I've never found anything but bandages/cans of drinks/empties in the deer stands! :/

Found a CZ in one yesterday. Then started tripping over ammo for it, hadn't seen either in weeks!

More tips:

Break the leftmost window in the hospital, it's the only one that'll break.
    Do not log out in a hospital, the windows do not break from the inside, zombies as far as I can tell can't enter the hospital.

When you get a map, highlight anythings of interest.
    There are more to cities that just the supermarket, church, townhall and inner houses, I've found stanag mags in the outskirts, there are also multi floor apartment blocks.

Want to clear an area of zombies, throw a flare, or run around the area picking up strays and dump em off at a house.

The roof of the townhall has some great stuff.

Approach deer stands from the wooded area.

Revolvers are bad, swap for any other gun if you can.
    Glocks are great, good amount of ammo available and low noise, likewise with ak74 variants.

Once you have a canteen, hatchet, matches, hunting knife you no longer have to pick up food/drink cans, better to kill an animal and cook it and plenty of water fountains around. I carry two canteens and two food items at all times.

Learn how to put stuff in your bag, and do it frequently be aware of the spaces before you try to put stuff in. I lost a silenced m9 because my bag didn't have enough slots for it so it disappeared.

You can visually check the amount of space in your bag by selecting anything on the floor and opening you bag.

... Break the leftmost window in the hospital...

Also, thats what empty tin cans are handy for. Have one in your inventory and hit F til you get to the throw option in the top right, then you aim at the window and hold fire for a couple of seconds to launch it the window.

More tips:
    When you get a map, highlight anythings of interest.

Be aware, everyone else can see markers you put on your map. If you mark things as you find them you'll be drawing a nice line of your movement for others to lay in wait.

I left a lovely marker on a map the other day. :D

Shall not repeat here. :p

What I did was download a jpeg of the map. Then I mark it on my PC with interesting points, etc.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,096 Mod ✭✭✭✭ktulu123

Killed a guy on an ATV up at the northwest. Delighted as he had a barret. Had to leave for a bit and come back and the barret has gone out of my bag :( replaced by my M14 I dropped