Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DayZ Zombie Mod for Arma 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Zatoichi

Mrdata. wrote: »
    Is the server dark for everyone? Bit strange at 4 pm.

Most of the EU servers used to have the proper day/night cycle, but you just end up playing in nothing but darkness all the time because most people play in the evenings.

Darkness is fun, but I'm enjoying the daylight gameplay atm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭dazftw

Sometimes it just happens for no reason, I've logged out many times completely safe, not hurt, but then when I log in I have the timer for 5mins.

Got that last night at the Airfield. Got stuck on a rock so I logged out and back in. Egg timer came up and I was shot before it ran out :mad:

Network with your people: https://www.builtinireland.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭Techniques07

dazftw wrote: »
    Got that last night at the Airfield. Got stuck on a rock so I logged out and back in. Egg timer came up and I was shot before it ran out :mad:

This happened to me several times yesterday. I'd log out for a bit or change servers to meet up with mates and I'd pass out as soon as I connected even though I was perfectly healthy. I was wondering if it was something to do with using the Six Launcher because it never happened using the Beta Patch.

It only happens on some servers. Pretty annoying but I don't really mind starting again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭FlyingIrishMan

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4ReYGsPw6VE&feature=g-u-u

This is amazing. Damn I want helicopters so bad..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

How long does night time last for ? I cant find a thing its so dark and i just keep getting killed by zombies as i cant find a weapon, How ever i did find a fuel tank,Ammo and one mint condition can of cola but then i died.

Found a chopper for the first time on the Boards server the other day, it was just left in a field. If anyone seen a huge fire in the woods between Balota and Cherno Thursday, that was the result...

A crashed one though, repairable, flyable ones aren't on the boards server yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭_vti

so...much...want...

A crashed one though, repairable, flyable ones aren't on the boards server yet.

I'd have to disagree with you there, I was flying one Thursday night. I had just been shot by some knob and respawned by the coast. I was running into the nearest town when I see the helicopter sitting in a field. I freaked out and ran towards it hoping it was working, and sure enough it was! I got in (had no idea how to fly it) and eventually took off.

I slowly edged towards cherno but I had hover turned on and that was stopping me from moving at speed. When I figured out how to turn it off I still had my finger on W and quickly spun out of control and into the trees past Balota. I have video of when I went back there when I repawned cause it was up in flames.

This all happened on the Boards.ie server.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭_vti

Are you sure it was on the boards server?

Our config file doesnt allow helicopters (only a few servers are allowed due to a huge amount of lag generated by aerial vehicles)

Yes 100% I was on the boards server. No idea why it was there so but it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

That is very very strange, yet fills me with hope!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭shootermacg

PDW or Glock?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

Depends on which has the most ammo.
    I rate them both similarly. (poor, but better than Makarov)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,335 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

The makarov is fine, you just have to aim for the head, the zombies pause quite a bit while running so its easy enough, or just kill them before they see you. Also its quieter than rifles or shotguns so you don't attract loads of zombies. I spent an hour and a half in cherno yesterday with nothing but a makarov, killed 30 zeds until I eventually found an ak and then got killed by another survivor outside the supermarket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭shootermacg

Apparently the glock and g9 are low noise the pdw and makarov are moderate.
    A mate has the glock and he can take out a zed without alerting any nearby, whereas the pdw has a bigger mag, so more ammo per slot, although the glock has 17 so it's not too shabby either.

The makarov's aim is supposed to be pretty bad, although I thought it was fine.

Anyway I picked up 2 pdws so have one in my pack, also picked up an ak74 cobra today too, much better than the AKM as far as sound goes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 584 ✭✭✭dizzywizlw

Can only join servers remotely, takes 5 mins to get to loading screen, then stays at loading screen.

Well this was a waste of £15...:(

I dunno if the players Matthew and Wazza post on here. Fair play for not disconnecting though lads. I heard ye shooting from ages away and came to investigate and took ye both out. My heart was beating so fast I didn't know whether to ambush ye or not but ye stopped just in the tree line so I went for it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭desaparecidos

God damn it. God damn it to hell.

Worse than zombies or humans is the game engine. "Feel" off a ladder and broke all my bones. Back to scratch again. All that running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭FrostyJack

Just back from my first raid in Berezino, tried to get into hospital for ten minutes nearly lost everything. Tried throwing a bottle through it, then wasted all my pistol mags shooting it and then tried the hatchet. Eventually I changed the window I was trying and the hatchet did the job. Got 2 blood packs and 2 morphine injectors in case I run into any friendlies that need help. Was going to supermarket but heard shots so didn't risk it having read all the horror stories on here. Been to 3 supermarkets already and still can't find any matches, only item I have never got.

I have an M249 SAW with 3 full magazines of ammo.
    I don't want it, so if somebody offers me something else I'll gladly do a swap.
    Mainly interested in an M4A1, preferably CCO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Sound of Silence

dizzywizlw wrote: »
    Can only join servers remotely, takes 5 mins to get to loading screen, then stays at loading screen.

Well this was a waste of £15...:(

Make sure that you're using the correct Beta Drivers for the Boards server.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Zatoichi

I have an M249 SAW with 3 full magazines of ammo.
    I don't want it, so if somebody offers me something else I'll gladly do a swap.
    Mainly interested in an M4A1, preferably CCO.

From the heli site near Pobeda Dam? I didn't want it either. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 758 ✭✭✭platinums

disconnector,, just now 1.05-6, guess he was spooked when he realised there was a bush shooting at him, still i was looking forward to a fire fight, and when i cam out of the bush he had stood still then the ****er got beamed up. .. or something. cause he just vanished. poor show

I really don't get the whole disconnecting thing, it is probably the sadest thing I have ever heard in any game and I have played most of them. Camping in COD or sweep throw in Street Fighter seem almost straight compared to it. You get killed, so what you start again. I hate the PVP aspect of this but I deal with it. I would love a single player version of this game.

FrostyJack wrote: »
    I hate the PVP aspect of this but I deal with it. I would love a single player version of this game.

That sounds like a piss easy and boring game. PVP is the majority of the fun, zombies aren't difficult at all.

Yeah you are right, bar the ridiculous glitching the zombies can do i.e. see you from space etc, in Arma, the AI can mess you up no problem is a lot harder than PVP, maybe they are not tactically as good but once you are spotted, you are dead. Nazi Zombies is hard enough without other people involved. The game is fine as it is as long as clowns don't disconnect or jump to other servers to kill you. I do not for a second believe it is a psychological experiment for a second, the idea of that is so stupid. It is a game, I doubt anyone would shoot on sight in real life like they do in the game (I know some would), it is a game end of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 758 ✭✭✭platinums

There was a singleplayer, offline version of the game , untill Rocket kicked up a storm and blocked it.. Here

platinums wrote: »
    There was a singleplayer, offline version of the game , untill Rocket kicked up a storm and blocked it.. Here

He blocked it because the guy who created the single player version wouldn't do anything Rocket asked and because hackers were using the single player version to test their hacks before bringing it on to servers.