If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Chargers Thread

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11 Joe Mixon

Good draft for The Chargers. The No.1 rated WR in Williams (although I think Corey Davis is better) too bad he was already gone. Great pick in the 2nd round to get Forrest Lamp. I thought he was the best OT in the draft, expected him to go in the first round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭Justin10

What a great looking draft. great that we didn't make a trade to move up and get Lamp.

King is an absolute steal, love that pick.

Some interesting UDFA as always.

Great draft, and I feel it puts us in a much better situation then where we finished up last season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

I think Williams was a poor pick at #7. TT made up for it by having Lamp and Feeney fall into his lap ie. not by design, he got lucky. The day 3 picks were shockingly bad imho. Jenkins was picked when Carl Lawson was there.

King was decent value where he was picked but he is sloooooooooooooow. He better not play on the outside... he will be #toast.

The last 2 picks were a joke. Sam Tevi a former DT now shoe horned into O line. Bucky Hodges should have been that pick. Even Brad Kaaya might have been a better option!. Tevi will not make the 53.

Rochell is a 2 down player with zero pass rushing ability.. so he fits right in with the rest of our D linemen Bosa excluded. Rochell has UDFA written all over him...

So F Spanos..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭tripperman

Tre Boston announced on Twitter that he's signing for the chargers, decent improvement on Dwight Lowery imo possible Lowery gets cut before the season,

Been a great 24 hours as Mike Williams, Forrest Lamp, Desmond king, Sam Tevi and Isaac Rochelle all signed there rookie contracts, only Dan Feeney and Rayshawn Jenkins left to sign

Just wondering where all you lads have gone to to talk about those bastard Chargers? since this thread has seemingly died a death...

So glad to see Mike Williams screw them over. Said it on 3rd May but that was a shocker of a pick. FU Spanos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,381 ✭✭✭Guffy

4th - 1st?

Guffy wrote: »
    4th - 1st?

Liverpool FC you mean!!? of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,381 ✭✭✭Guffy

If they can stay healthier this year i honestly think 8 or 9 wins will win them the division. Of the 4 they certainly have the perceived easier schedule and they also have the talent. Rivers is set up for a career year too looking at the quality around him.

I'm still hear Leslie, just been very busy, really looking forward to camp and Preseason

Seemed a big crowd at camp today.

Williams hopefully can contribute this year, real pity for a young guy to start with such an injury.

Signing Cardale is interesting, more so that we had interest in him at the draft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,579 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

I caught my first report from chargers training camp on the NFL network earlier. It's very strange hearing LA chargers instead on San Diego chargers. That's going to take a getting used to. The reporter Alex Flanagan was finishing her report and even she took a pause before saying LA.

I still think it's the wrong move but it's done now.

Well guy's first pre-season game Monday morning, training camp has been a mixed bag so far from injuries, to player's excelling expectations and other's disappointing and then a scuffle with the rams yesterday,
    Injuries
    Forrest Lamp is going to be a big loss with his knee injury, we don't seem to get much luck with oline injuries, Mike Williams back injury is a big concern, at least he is back running but he's along way from seeing the field if at all this season,
    Great to see keenan make a good recovery he has been impressive with his movement so early in training camp, Jason is coming along slowly but should be OK for week one of the Season,

Tyrell has been taking his play up another notch according to reports DJ and Mooch where very impressed when they were in camp watching last week, Chris mccain seems to have found himself a good spot in Gus's system been getting into the backfield quite a bit according to reports,
    Joshua perry is struggling again, even bottom of the depth chart behind some guy that used be a wr,
    Looking forward to seeing the game against the seahawks, see how thing's take shape on the oline and at cb behind verrett and Hayward

King and Feeney did well.

1st strings played well and fluid, same can't be said for for second strings.

Well guy's anyone else watching the game's,

first thing Commissioner was there to see the eagles fans out number the chargers at home, this will really put alarm bells going with how bad this move has been,

0-4 and could be 2-2, but after last night we deserve 0-4, our tackling is atrocious never seen so many missed and broken tackles, Ingram has been great, bosa hasn't had the flashy numbers mainly he's getting double teamed, safety play is poor, Hayward came back to his old self last night,

Play calling and game planning on offense is terrible, it's all been left to rivers to carry the load, which isn't a good thing with an average oline, oline is holding up a bit better in pass protection, but run blocking ain't good enough, ekler td was more on his agility and vision,

Looking ahead with away games to giants and raiders followed by the visit of the Broncos and a trip to the patriots, I'm fearing 0-8, sure giants are struggling to but I feel that they at least have a strong home field advantage and a good secondary to hold our pass game,

Verrett injured for the year again shows up a major miss in not taking a corner early in the draft, yes Desmond king is playing well and Trevor Williams also, but if anyone else gets injured your looking at Craig Mager stepping up which is a dream for the opposing qb,

What's everyone else's opinions

Howdy Tripper, fair play for continuing to watch, I am not. I do still listen to the lightning round lads podcast to keep in touch a bit but refuse to watch/pay for gamepass etc.

I'm delighted to hear how much of a disaster it has been on and off the field for those greedy greeks and their mafia bros in the NFL.

Laughed my hole off at the pick in the draft by little John when that guy was (1) a total reach and (2) not a position of need. They just can't seem to get out of their own way at every turn.

I wonder if they do completely suck the rest of the way and have a shot at a new QB next yr will they pick the wrong guy again.... they probably will.

Until they are back in SD without the greeks, where they belong they are dead to me.

Oh and how's that "leader of men" Lynn doing then........ clearly another bottom of the barrel hire by those cheapskates. No wonder Sean McDermott (will be a great HC imho) wouldn't touch them with a barge pole.
    tripperman wrote: »
    Well guy's anyone else watching the game's,

first thing Commissioner was there to see the eagles fans out number the chargers at home, this will really put alarm bells going with how bad this move has been,

0-4 and could be 2-2, but after last night we deserve 0-4, our tackling is atrocious never seen so many missed and broken tackles, Ingram has been great, bosa hasn't had the flashy numbers mainly he's getting double teamed, safety play is poor, Hayward came back to his old self last night,

Play calling and game planning on offense is terrible, it's all been left to rivers to carry the load, which isn't a good thing with an average oline, oline is holding up a bit better in pass protection, but run blocking ain't good enough, ekler td was more on his agility and vision,

Looking ahead with away games to giants and raiders followed by the visit of the Broncos and a trip to the patriots, I'm fearing 0-8, sure giants are struggling to but I feel that they at least have a strong home field advantage and a good secondary to hold our pass game,

Verrett injured for the year again shows up a major miss in not taking a corner early in the draft, yes Desmond king is playing well and Trevor Williams also, but if anyone else gets injured your looking at Craig Mager stepping up which is a dream for the opposing qb,

What's everyone else's opinions

Greetings lads...... just wondering have y'all gone somewhere else to talk about the team owned by the greedy Greeks or are yee not talking about them no more like me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭OAOB

Hey guys. I've kept a half eye on the teams progress this year but I wouldn't say I'm supporting them. Not cheering for or against them tbh.

The move seems to be a bit of a disaster as LA haven't embraced them at all (no surprise there). Haven't watched enough games to know if they're improving. They seem to be suffering a lot of injuries on the Oline which is unfortunate considering it's probably their weakest position to begin with.

Delighted to see that Gates got the TE TD record

I've been watching them a good bit.. Best team talent wise in a long time.

Next 4 games are massive, need Gordon and our dline to step up.

I think we've a good chance of getting a wildcard spot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭Molly

Still supporting, still being crushed by hilarious losses. Went to the game against the pats, tyrell touching the white line before catching a would be TD, hilarious phantom pick pay to wipe off a Benjamin TD and the worst punt return ever. Still got to see an 87 yard run for a TD though. I wish they would use the passing game a bit more though. Excited for the game on Sunday.

Wow, that had to be one of the worst loses I can remember.

Defence again played so well but our offence just didn't perform. Play calling this year from Whiz is head scratching.

Rochey18 wrote: »
    Wow, that had to be one of the worst loses I can remember.

Defence again played so well but our offence just didn't perform. Play calling this year from Whiz is head scratching.

I see a team being 'Chargered' is becoming a thing ie. finding a new crazy way to lose week after week. Sign of a poor team with v poor coaching = Whiz & Lynn. Oh and Rivers needs to pack his bags and retire at seasons end. He needs to be/get away from this cluster****.

#freetacos

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Can believe you guys blew it :(

I tuned in for the fumble recovery and then switched off, not sure how the WR then let the Ramsey pull the ball off him

I watched the game last night and once we got the ball around the two minute warning I knew there was trouble, I got that annoyed at how we lost I actually couldn't watch the late game's,

Ken whiz is on the hotseat right now the offensive play calling is awful,

Well last night was brilliant, we tore the cowboys apart in Dallas on Thanksgiving.

We look like a playoff team and with our remaining schedule I think we can get there.

Please God we can stay healthy and give it a real crack.

Well it was a good weekend for us, seeing us turn up and perform on the big stage on thanksgiving in Gerry world, it was a good performance, but still a few areas need improving there's no hiding it, our run game isn't just getting as many yards as we need to help Philip out, yes Philip can do it on his own, but a good run game can help him even further, Defensively run defense is still a little concerning(maybe I'm still scared by the game's earlier in the season),

Good to see Keenan back to his olde self, Dan Feeney has really come on leaps and bounds, looks like the young guard we have been needing for years, Desmond king is been outstanding delighted he got a pick 6, get some big game attention for all his hard work, Trevor Williams is looking like a decent cb bargain find now, possible could be his spot next season with all Jason's injuries,

Our pass rush is unreal they never give up, bosa and Ingram are the top duo imo for years to come, McCain has done well rotating in alongside them, pity Jerry hasn't been fit to get more involved,

Bills beating the chiefs to put us and the raiders within a game is great, with the schedule not looking to bad we still have a chance to fight it out,

Killer end to our season... Really would of loved a crack at the AFC.

This off season hopefully we sign up Gus Bradley, he doesn't appear to have any head coaching roles lined up so we just need to pay the man.

Exciting young team to look forward to next year with the bonus of what looks like to be a game in London this year.

Good news keeps coming, Gus signed up to a 3 year deal and seems the Chargers are coming to London

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 HomerS

Good news keeps coming, Gus signed up to a 3 year deal and seems the Chargers are coming to London

Great news alright, looking forward to see Rivers and the gang play live.
    Hopefully they play a Thursday night of the previous game week to give them a few extra days to get over jet lag.

Planning to goto London but won't attend game. Instead a bunch of us #FSpanos ex Charger fans are gonna meet and cuss them out & drink some beer.

Ah great news to see Gus resigned, should help keep the momentum that's building going next season,

Great to see them in Wembley next season, hoping to get tickets for it and rock up in powder blue Gordon jersey