If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Chargers Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

HigginsJ wrote: »
    So whats the story with Fluker? Giants picked him up on a 1 year $3 million deal. Any chance he could develop into a starter (we're desperate!!)

He played right Tackle when he came in first and surprisingly did OK. In fact he outplayed the other O linemen taken ahead of him in his rookie year, there were 5 picked ahead of him!!. But that was as good as it got. He's regressed every year since. He is a huge human being and has gotten slower and slower, and not just physically. He was moved inside to Guard where the organisation thought his inability to move might be mitigated against, but he was as bad there.

He's a good guy though.. you won't hear of any locker room trouble with him. Just wish he could play about 30lbs lighter and so maybe be quicker on his feet made of concrete.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

In terms of the weight issue, is there a reason he is not playing 30lb lighter? Is it an attitude issue that he won't lose the weight?

HigginsJ wrote: »
    In terms of the weight issue, is there a reason he is not playing 30lb lighter? Is it an attitude issue that he won't lose the weight?

His attitude appears good.. but he was tweeting about how his new training regime had him in unreal shape before the 2016 season and he ended up only losing about 3lbs.. It was a running joke at the time, so perhaps he struggles to get the weight off even if he is supposedly working real hard. He is such a massive human being who moves v slowly.

Having said all that the strength and conditioning people in SD have been hopeless the last few yrs and there was little accountability from the moron of a HC that they had. A change in scenery might do him the world of good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

Leslie91 wrote: »
    His attitude appears good.. but he was tweeting about how his new training regime had him in unreal shape before the 2016 season and he ended up only losing about 3lbs.. It was a running joke at the time, so perhaps he struggles to get the weight off even if he is supposedly working real hard. He is such a massive human being who moves v slowly.

Having said all that the strength and conditioning people in SD have been hopeless the last few yrs and there was little accountability from the moron of a HC that they had. A change in scenery might do him the world of good.

Ok, I'll hold out some hope so, we badly need help on the o-line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Ronaldinho

tripperman wrote: »
    Tom Telesco must have been feeling unwell because IMO he just overpaid Russell Okung, I don't think he's much better than King Dunlap

The second coming of Jared Gaither

Ronaldinho wrote: »
    The second coming of Jared Gaither

Ah he's not that bad surely...... but let's hope he is mwahahahahaha. #FUSpanos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Ed.

Chargers replica jerseys (#17, who else) are reduced to €65 in Elverys in Dundrum

Ed. wrote: »
    Chargers replica jerseys (#17, who else) are reduced to €65 in Elverys in Dundrum

That's mad!!..... to think there is a Charger jersey on sale in Dundrum. I wonder how many more have been offloaded out of SD stores to Europe.....

http://www.elverys.ie/elverys/en/Elverys/Sports/American-Sports/NFL/Nike-Chargers-Rivers-Home-Jersey-Navy/p/000000000001066602_NAVY

Still rep'ing SD I see..............

#FUSpanos

#not1morecent

I see Kaepernick's is 50% off....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Ed.

Leslie91 wrote: »
    That's mad!!..... to think there is a Charger jersey on sale in Dundrum. I wonder how many more have been offloaded out of SD stores to Europe.....

http://www.elverys.ie/elverys/en/Elverys/Sports/American-Sports/NFL/Nike-Chargers-Rivers-Home-Jersey-Navy/p/000000000001066602_NAVY

Still rep'ing SD I see..............

#FUSpanos

#not1morecent

Elverys are an official NFL retailer and I got my Chargers jersey there in the post Christmas sale. Would have preferred #99 Bosa but it would be special order to the States for that. Quite a few #17's left too in different sizes

Even with the 'full price' of €85 the jerseys are cheaper in Elverys than from UK retailers like USA Sport or American Football UK. Thanks Brexit

Ed. wrote: »
    Elverys are an official NFL retailer and I got my Chargers jersey there in the post Christmas sale. Would have preferred #99 Bosa but it would be special order to the States for that. Quite a few #17's left too in different sizes

Even with the 'full price' of €85 the jerseys are cheaper in Elverys than from UK retailers like USA Sport or American Football UK. Thanks Brexit

Saw a lad with a Chargers cap at a recent Shamrock Rovers game... In the past I'd have said howya/struck up a convo but no more....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭setanta74

setanta74 wrote: »
    Soundings coming from San Diego and the NFL not good. Looks like we may not be in San Diego much longer. San Diego is a big part of the reason I follow the chargers. Don't know if I would have the stomach for the LA Chargers..maybe I would..just dunno.

I posted this in december 2015. To be honest not much has changed. I still don't know how I'm feeling about the Chargers in LA. At this stage I am 50:50 about staying behind the franchise. Maybe its time to go neutral and just enjoy it all.

Convince me to keep going someone :(....Damo?

I posted this in december 2015. To be honest not much has changed. I still don't know how I'm feeling about the Chargers in LA. At this stage I am 50:50 about staying behind the franchise. Maybe its time to go neutral and just enjoy it all.

Convince me to keep going someone :(....Damo?

I certainly can't convince you D.... I am 80:20 leaving them and the NFL behind... I can't see for a second how I can support this organisation after what that w%$*&r did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭Justin10

Rivers to Gates off a playaction.. A thing of beauty each Sunday.

I just cannot cheer against these players, we have so many exciting young players, and fantastic vets. I have no time for the owners but I won't cheer against them players, not for one second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭OAOB

Rochey18 wrote: »
    Rivers to Gates off a playaction.. A thing of beauty each Sunday.

I just cannot cheer against these players, we have so many exciting young players, and fantastic vets. I have no time for the owners but I won't cheer against them players, not for one second.

I'm not cheering against the players, couldn't if i wanted to but i'm not cheering for the Chargers anymore.
    I have very little interest in football since the move but i'm naturally more interested in Chargers news than other team. Will see how i feel come Sept when football is back, maybe i'll get back into it, maybe i'll support someone else, right now i don't know. What i do know is i'll never support Spanos so while that family are associated then the Chargers are spoiled for me

OAOB wrote: »
    I'm not cheering against the players, couldn't if i wanted to but i'm not cheering for the Chargers anymore.
    I have very little interest in football since the move but i'm naturally more interested in Chargers news than other team. Will see how i feel come Sept when football is back, maybe i'll get back into it, maybe i'll support someone else, right now i don't know. What i do know is i'll never support Spanos so while that family are associated then the Chargers are spoiled for me

I feel the exact same way... I hope the likes of Keenan Allen and Verrett and others have magnificent careers but I only wish the worst for the Spanos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭setanta74

God its even worse than I thought. So sad to see some of you feeling like this. Im the same. Hope to feel a bit more enthused by August.
    Will certainly watch more college ball this year.

God its even worse than I thought. So sad to see some of you feeling like this. Im the same. Hope to feel a bit more enthused by August.
    Will certainly watch more college ball this year.

Yep this is what that greedy b$%£%rd has done.... we had a great little community on here and that chicken sh1t has blown it all up...

Even Mark Davis has the bollox to talk to the Oakland fans. F Spanos and all his family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭OAOB

Just signed up to the boards mock draft, have always loved the draft so hoping this might re-invigorate me. If nothing else it'll help me familiarise myself with the new players coming in

Been a while lads..............

F the Spanos family.

Anyone think it's time we drafted a QB?

I'm still on the fence but I like Watson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭tripperman

Well guy's been awhile as Leslie said, not much happening in the way of important news, bosa is skipping voluntary workouts, I also believe River's and a few others are absent, not a big deal imo, some player's might be better doing there on training regime this time of year,

we get the schedule on Friday at 1a.m. for the season, wouldn't be surprised if we're starting against the Patriots this season,

Next week is draft week and I can't help but get excited for some reason even in the midst of relocation, looking back at all the Ramsey talk from last year and comparing it to this year, I'm starting to think all the talk of Malik Hooker talk is a smoke screen, safety is our biggest need followed by Oline, edge rusher and CB imo,

QB I like mahomes, but not enough to take him in the first, Davis Webb, or the kid out of Pittsburgh Peterman in the third, or a late flyer on CJ Bertrand out of Iowa,

they can get a stud safety in round two or three this year, the likes of Budda Baker, Josh Jones, are guy's that will be available in the second round to help improve the secondary,

CB sure we have Verrett and hayward, but who's the nickel corner, we need depth here big time, and luckily this draft is full of starting calibre CBs,

So tonight's the night.

Adams, Hooker, Thomas or Williams I'm happy out.

Rochey18 wrote: »
    So tonight's the night.

Adams, Hooker, Thomas or Williams I'm happy out.

Adams, Allen or Thomas would be great at 7, if we trade back to mid teen's Forrest lamp would be good to improve the oline,

Mike Williams good pick the sort of receiver Phillip likes, was sure it was going to be Jonathan Allen

More of the same from Telesco... imho.

Defense wins Championships and he's drafted at best the second best wideout with pick #7!!!, when all of these guys were on the board;

Lattimore
    Barnett
    Allen
    Foster

Incredible that a trade down option did not materialise too... look at what the other teams got for their trade downs... daylight robbery for at best decent QBs.

I reckon the Cards reached on Reddick. And I could pick at least one corner better than Humphrey (Skins), Jackson (Titans), Conley (Raiders).

The list of players still available is amazing - Kevin King, Lamp, McDowell, Kizer, Baker.......... the list goes on.

Contrast Telescos sub par performance with what John Lynch did in his first day on the job of draft...

Not only did he reportedly convince multiple teams that they needed to deal with him at No. 2 overall to get quarterback Mitch Trubisky, but he only had to move down one spot to pick up two extra third-round picks and a fourth-rounder from the Chicago Bears -- and he still landed Solomon Thomas, one of the highest-rated prospects in the class. Lynch used the fourth-round pick acquired from the Bears to move back into the first round and draft linebacker Reuben Foster at No. 31 overall. The 49ers added two top-five talents in Thomas and Foster, with NFL Network's Daniel Jeremiah calling Foster the best pick in the draft. Lynch, for his part, said Thomas and Foster were two of the top three players on his board.

FU Spanos you perennial loser.

Some interesting options out there for the second round pick still, I think Forrest Lamp might be gone by our pick also Cam Robinson and Budda Baker,

Marcus Maye or josh jones will be there, or Tim Williams from Alabama, we really need a safety and interior offensive lineman tonight or a another cb to add depth,

NO QB PLEASE TT

Delighted with Forrest Lamp and Dan Feeney in round two and three last night, imo there both day one starters for us beside Matt Slauson, they are an upgrade on Franklin and Fluker from last year, really good to see Phillip getting good young talent to protect him and open lanes for Gordon, interesting to see what happens with Max Tuerk

We save over 6 million in cap space if we cut Franklin by 1st of June. Could see that happening with us brining in defensive cover in free agency.

Draft in the books now, some great additions some great depth, and some just development player's to,

Round one,
    Clemson Wide Receiver Mike Williams,
    This pick has grown on me great talent that creates separation with his strength, big target for Phillip to look to for the contested 50/50 balls when in redzone, I'd think this pick is more about concerns about Keenans injuries then a lack of faith in Tyrell Williams ability,

Round 2
    Western Kentucky Guard Forrest Lamp,
    Love this pick thought he would be gone in round one, on night two I was sure he would be taking before our pick, he was a tackle in college, but TT said they plan to play him at guard, he's a great run blocker with a nasty streak

Round 3
    Indiana Guard Dan Feeney,
    Really like this pick, only allowed two sacks in his whole college career, great pass blocker and run blocker, has a nasty streak in him and was said to be a leader in his team who lead by example,

Round 4
    Miami Safety Rayshawn Jenkins,
    Solid pick that has upside he's a fast hard hitting safety, (sound familiar Addae), but he's not as reckless and can actually make picks and finish tackles with out injuring himself, think he's injury cover for Addae as he can't play a full season since he's to reckless,

Round 5
    Iowa CB/ Safety Desmond king
    Really love this pick, he was a player I seen mocked in the second round, he's not got top end speed to play CB, but he's great at reading the QBs eye's to get to make play's on the ball, solid tackler in run support, he would be a great ball hawk Safety with good coaching, think he's going to work in to Lowerys role slowly, but he's an improvement in time,

Round 6
    Utah Tackle Sam Tevi,
    Don't know anything about him other then what I read or heard about him when he was picked, he's former DT who's only playing on the offensive line two years, practice squad at best, really thought the would go QB Brad Kaya from Miami,

Round 7
    Notre Dame DE Isaac Rochelle
    Don't know much about him, but from what I read he's supposed to be a steal this late, as he's versatile that he can slip inside on a four man front, not a good pass rusher, but solid run stuffer, I had hoped for Pittsburgh DE Ejuan Price as he had far more college production,

Undrafted Free Agents that have been signed so far,

Clemson Wide Receiver Artavis Scott,
    Missouri tight end Sean Culkin,
    Florida Atlantic center Dillon Deboer,
    BYU cornerback Michael Davis,
    Western State running back Austin Ekeler,
    South Florida linebacker Nigel Harris,
    Georgia Southern kicker Younghoe Koo,
    Kansas State linebacker Mike Moore,
    Notre Dame linebacker James Onwualu,
    Rutgers wide receiver Andre Patton,
    Kansas cornerback Brandon Stewart,
    Wake Forest cornerback Brad Watson,
    Ohio State wide receiver Dontre Wilson,
    South Carolina tackle Mason Zandi,
    Jacksonville State QB Eli Jenkins

The only one I know anything about is Scott from Clemson as he was a team mate of Mike Williams and I seen him when watching some tape of Mike before the draft, he's a solid receiver not very fast, might be able to make the roster as a returner at first, could push Dontrell Inman for the last WR spot on the depth chart,