Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Art

• 02-05-2012 8:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭

Am I the only one who can't stand all this modern "art" shíte? It all looks like crap to me, and yet it sells for thousands and thousands of dollars in modern art museums.

This is art.

This is fúcking amazing art.

Meanwhile this..... is a sheep in a box. Seriously. A sheep in a fúcking box. Are you having a laugh?!?!

And it seems to be just enjoyed by hipsters and extraordinarily wealthy tossers who sit there staring at a canvas covered in scribbles, that if you did in art class in school they'd think you were retarded and send you to the special class. And they stroke their chins and say it's "an amazing piece that really speaks to you" or some shít like that.
    I'm gonna take a shít in my shoe and give it a hippy name and sell it to some toffee-nosed wanker for a million quid.

So am I right, and it's all crap? Or am I just an un-cultured bollox?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Uncultured bollox alert. Its perfectly obvious the sheep has a bigger dick than the Italian dude. I have an M.A. in Fine Art and am champagne buddies with Damien Hirst.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Dean09 wrote: »

Looks like an advert for johnnie walker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

I totally agree.

Art

Not art

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

You uncultured swine :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

Totally agree. but then no doubt people that don't see that tripe as art will be called uncultured, and crass etc etc...

That Damian Hurst guy has to be a real life troll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

A sheep in a glass box is still better than contemporary performance arts like this shite -

May be NSFW

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I9lmvX00TLY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

The problem with art is that it's subjective. I personally find lots of high-profile modern art to be nonsense (though there is some good stuff out there), but it's hard to say that some works are objectively good or bad.

Because of that, pretty much anything goes nowadays as there aren't the rigid definitions of what counts as art that there used to be (and rightly so). Therefore art that shocks or artists who develop a reputation get all of the recognition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

The problem with art is that it's subjective. I personally find lots of high-profile modern art to be nonsense (though there is some good stuff out there), but it's hard to say that some works are objectively good or bad.

Because of that, pretty much anything goes nowadays as there aren't the rigid definitions of what counts as art that there used to be (and rightly so). Therefore art that shocks or artists who develop a reputation get all of the recognition.
    Subjective as in sh1te?

Where To wrote: »
    Subjective as in sh1te?

Yes, if that's your opinion :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭Palytoxin

A sheep in a glass box is still better than contemporary performance arts like this shite -
    What the fúck is that shíte, and why doesn't the camera stay on yer one instead of the audience?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

I too like things and stuffs:

Art - my Fav

GTFO

Palytoxin wrote: »
    What the fúck is that shíte, and why doesn't the camera stay on yer one instead of the audience?

All I know is that there's a distinct lack of explosions.

Wow, at 4;00 things go NSFW in a very large way.

I kinda wouldn't mind all the modern ****e, if the artists actually gave some interpretation of it. or do they?

otherwise I'm gonna sit on my bed for three days and call it art. then shout GIMME MONEY at people.
    Guill wrote: »
    I too like things and stuffs:

Art - my Fav

GTFO

your first link there is broken.

Works for me...

Yes, if that's your opinion :).

There's such a thing as an unquestionably bad movie, an unquestionably bad piece of music, an unquestionably bad book (:pac:) - I don't know why art is always put on an intellectual pedestal whereupon a piece of art can't just be dreadful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

otherwise I'm gonna sit on my bed for three days and call it art. then shout GIMME MONEY at people.

:D I like it!

However you may then be known as a 'piss artist' rather than just an 'artist'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

That's probably my most hated video of all time. The first time I saw that video I instantly wanted to kill everybody in that room.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 5,555 ✭✭✭tSubh Dearg

Works for me...

First link is broken for me too. Says internal server error.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭SteoL

Am I the only one who can't stand all this modern "art" shíte? It all looks like crap to me, and yet it sells for thousands and thousands of dollars in modern art museums.

This is art.

Meanwhile this..... is a sheep in a box. Seriously. A sheep in a fúcking box. Are you having a laugh?!?!

And it seems to be just enjoyed by hipsters and extraordinarily wealthy tossers who sit there staring at a canvas covered in scribbles, that if you did in art class in school they'd think you were retarded and send you to the special class. And they stroke their chins and say it's "an amazing piece that really speaks to you" or some shít like that.
    I'm gonna take a shít in my shoe and give it a hippy name and sell it to some toffee-nosed wanker for a million quid.

So am I right, and it's all crap? Or am I just an un-cultured bollox?

That second pic of the cliffs is fucking deadly. Yeah I can be left scratching my head at some of the things that pass for art in recent years.

kfallon wrote: »
    :D I like it!

However you may then be known as a 'piss artist' rather than just an 'artist'

hmmm

*adds empty bottle to list*

I didn't watch it long enough the first time to see that, why is this shizz called art :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Look.. art...

dogs-playing-poker.jpg

no disputing that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭bfocusd

most art is difficult to understand, but im sure historical pieces didn't go down so well back in the day, they would have been out of the box.

The main reason I love art is because it's every where, their is a very strong link between art and architecture, in particular buildings in the 1920s designed almost 100years before it became a trend, many buildings influenced by modernism.

Even though it's a sheep in a box, there will be aspects of that used in other forms of design, buildings, advertising, fashion, it's all linked only subtlety.

I still wouldn't buy the sheep in a box though..

Works for me...
    Works fine for me too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Chorcai

What you're talking about is Contempory Art. Modern Art was from 1860s to the 1970's.

Some of the examples used so far isn't even Contempory but Post-modern Art.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

I find it funny how **** artists use the phrase 'but look it's working because it's stimulating debate / discussion' when people point out to them how **** they are as artists and as people.

It's not art. It's **** and the only debate here is the level of ****ness you have attained.

Most of these hacks have nothing to offer society.

You could be right.. it definitely wouldn't go down well if you worked in a baked beans packaging plant.. it flies in the face of every instructional video ever produced for the baked beans packaging industry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

That's probably my most hated video of all time. The first time I saw that video I instantly wanted to kill everybody in that room.

same here, every pretentious hipster cunt in that room needs a shotgun blast to the face

I kinda wouldn't mind all the modern ****e, if the artists actually gave some interpretation of it. or do they?

your first link there is broken.

Not too often from what I can tell, and that's part of the problem.
    People can have their own interpretations of art which can be different from what the artist and are perfectly legitimate, but I still prefer a work of art which had a clear artistic vision behind it, even if I see it differently from how the artist intended.

The problem is that I think some modern artists create art without any clear vision or intended meaning behind it, as they think "well, the meaning's all up to the audience anyway, so it doesn't really matter what I think," which leads to a lot of the nonsense produced in the modern art world.
    Superbus wrote: »
    There's such a thing as an unquestionably bad movie, an unquestionably bad piece of music, an unquestionably bad book (:pac:) - I don't know why art is always put on an intellectual pedestal whereupon a piece of art can't just be dreadful.

I personally agree that all those things are terrible in my opinion, but I can't agree that they're unquestionably bad.

I'd say they're generally regarded as being poor, but if someone liked them (and a lot of people liked The Da Vinci Code!), then for them they're good works of art.

I do agree that there isn't the same tendency to negatively criticise works of art in the painting/performance art/conceptual art world compared to criticism of other artforms like cinema/literature etc.
    I don't think we need to start saying things are objectively bad or that they're not art, but it would help to have prominent voices saying "I think that's a load of bollocks! It's just a bed!" Maybe that doesn't seem to happen because it's more of a tight-knit scene, who knows?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

I think some people get the definition of art mixed up and think anything with a pencil, colours and paper or in this case a sheep in a box is "art". The definition of art is the expression or application of human creative skill and imagination. Films, books and music can all be considered art if they fit the definition ascribed to art.

Art is not something which remains static. For instance something like Hamlet is unrecognizable when compared with Endgame by Beckett. Both extraordinary pieces of art in two very different periods of time. You cannot expect painters to still be producing the same renaissance style work which was produced hundreds of years ago as it has to connect with modern life and life is all about flux.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭Yeah Yeah Yeah

This is REAL art, not that pretentious *****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

There's such a thing as an unquestionably bad movie,

that's one of the greatest masterpieces of modern cinema, what the ruttin' hell is wrong with you? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Chorcai

May be NSFW

All very Martha Rosler
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3zSA9Rm2PZA

Semiotics of the Kitchen - 1975

I'd appreciate it if ye would critique my contemporary art, and try to guess the name :D
    http://imgur.com/IGeIQ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,023 ✭✭✭✭klose

Art history was hands down my favourite subject in school, loved it. The diversity and changes over the centuries are amazing and will always stand the test of time.
    I hope this bollocks contempory stuff is quickly moved on from and dosent clog the history books.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭girl2

I know nothing about art. And on that basis, I will give my total unqualified opinion.

I think the whole nonsense of splatters of paint on a canvas is the biggest load of bollox I ever seen. I could do that myself....but I couldnt justify calling myself an artist and taking away from those true artists who are genuinely gifted.

Palytoxin wrote: »
    I'd appreciate it if ye would critique my contemporary art, and try to guess the name :D
    http://imgur.com/IGeIQ

Is it, like a representation of how society has become a satanic and moldy loaf of bread? You can really feel the anguish of the artist in the repeated curved lines writhing inside the loaf itself. It's like he sees no real direction in which we can go. Doomed to become trapped within ourselves before finally we explode and see our own self hatred decimate all that surrounds us.

I think it's called floffybobkins

Look.. art...

dogs-playing-poker.jpg

no disputing that.

Dogs? Playing poker????

Links234 wrote: »
    There's such a thing as an unquestionably bad movie,

that's one of the greatest masterpieces of modern cinema, what the ruttin' hell is wrong with you? :eek:

I agree, but is there a similar cult following for 'so bad it's good' art (taking art to be what one would find in an art museum)?

Is it, like a representation of how society has become a satanic and moldy loaf of bread? You can really feel the anguish of the artist in the repeated curved lines writhing inside the loaf itself. It's like he sees no real direction in which we can go. Doomed to become trapped within ourselves before finally we explode and see our own self hatred decimate all that surrounds us.

I think it's called floffybobkins
    That was the most beautiful thing I've ever read, I really feel I can now take my career to the next level, exhibit my work, maybe even open my own gallery some day, it will be renamed "floffybobkins" in your honour kind sir :)

(Its actually a pile of steaming dog shíte though:pac:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

This is a bit like putting up a link to Mozart and saying this is music and a link to Justin Beiber and saying this is not music, the art industry is fúcked up so to work in the industry you end up with a lot of work that is over theorised and panders to elitist audiences, the "good art" posted here is amateur or traditional and I don't see that as a bad thing but it is kind of sad because a lot of imo good art and artist's careers die out within a few years of leaving college because they dont have a bunch of hipster friends or a gallery to sell their work abroad, and then there is the college system I think when I got to year 4 and was pushed to make industry standard work is when I started being told I can't do that to most things, constantly being pushed to make work that is not true to my practice and to think about my audience.. what audience. The ones who come for the free wine or the ones who want something nice for their living rooms.

That art that your man does on tg4 is better than most of the modern art I've seen, you know yer man that tells the clouds to sit down:)

Domo230 wrote: »
    In defence of the art, it makes a statement that only is really understood by those who have extensively studied art (not saying I have) and so can come across as silly to those who have not.

An example of this is how I appreciate fine level design in video games as I have designed some myself and I do notice how certain parts are making statements about games. Most people would never notice any of this stuff but I do because I am knowledgable in that area.

I imagine art is quite similar.

So if an "artist" pisses on a banana and puts it in an envelope, we just don't understand it? And we're the crazy ones?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭St.Spodo

May be NSFW

Honest to jaysus, I actually don't know what was going on in that video. Bizarre people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 788 ✭✭✭marty1985

It used to be art for God's sake. Then it was art for man's sake. The it was art for art's sake. And now there's no art for God's sake!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,397 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

Potentially yes.

If they have a reason behind it and want to make a statement by doing so then why not?

I mean this is art because the person who created it had a statement about it and had the experience and knowledge to create that statement (hence it's value).

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Malevich.black-square.jpg

If any of us were to create the same thing then it wouldn't be worth the canvas it was painted on.

I can't say I agree. For me art is about having talent and ability - can be in painting, design, sculpture, etc but also some creativity and originality.

There are loads of people out there who can reproduce famous paintings so clearly have ability but perhaps lack creativity.

I like plenty of modern art, but I have a general rule of thumb. If it resembles something that junior infants are doing in schools around the country, then it's not art for me. It just seems like the artist ran out of ideas and thought, I know I'll just draw a square and tell everyone it's about man's struggle to adapt to the modern world, and some idiot in a gallery will lap it up and buy it for an over inflated price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

Potentially yes.

If they have a reason behind it and want to make a statement by doing so then why not?

I mean this is art because the person who created it had a statement about it and had the experience and knowledge to create that statement (hence it's value).

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Malevich.black-square.jpg

If any of us were to create the same thing then it wouldn't be worth the canvas it was painted on.

That's a black square - basically what you said there is that it's not what you create but who you are and who you know who'll back you up on yr bs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭Deus Ex Machina

i. Run a hot bath, complete with scented bubble bath, and light some candles.

ii. Pour a snifter of Courvoisier and slip beneath the bubbles, taking in the scent as the cognac breathes.

iii. Sip the cognac and slip deeper into the warmth so that the water is up to your shoulders.

iv. Once the drink is gone you can sink lower into the water and take in the scent of the bath once more.

v. Finish the bath with a cold shower and dry yourself thoroughly with a fluffy towel.

vi. Place hot water bottle at the end of your bed and allow the heat to radiate throughout.

vii. Look out bedroom window for a few minutes, watching the rain spatter against the glass and on the road outside.

viii. Slip into bed and enjoy the warmth for a moment.

ix. Select your book and lie back enjoying it as sleep slowly approaches.

x. As your eyes get heavy turn off the lights and recline fully, listening to the rain on the window.

xi. Sleep.

You're welcome.