Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***Motors Chat Thread*** Round 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

dgt wrote: »
    I have particurarly poor hearing at times (thanks to a screaming child on a plane my hearing is permanently damaged in one ear) and people with poor english are difficult to understand at times for me...

Like a couple earlier today that came up to me looking for "odd job" hair gel? Baguettes? Bad guy from Goldfinger? No they were looking for hot dogs....

Nothing funnier than the hard boyos in hoodies, hoods up, trackies, swaggerin about.... With mammy and trolley, awww bless the lil gangsta :pac::pac::pac:

oh man i'm the very same (without the damaged ear :o), when you dont hear someone the first time and you say sorry they are fine with it, but if you have to ask them a second time they just turn into fecking monsters, generally if i have to ask someone more than twice what they want, i just spare myself by saying "one second and i'l get that for you" and never return :P mainly because you can tell they are getting hot headed at you and imo €11.50 an hour isn't worth getting my head chewed by some fecker who cant be bothered to learn english.

the young gangstas are alive and well in Arklow, we have a double iPad display with working examples hooked up to the stores wi-fi and the same crowd of young lads are in every night hoods up, 5 or 6 of them huddled around the iPads. they even have their own photos and games stored on them :pac: putting off any real perspective customers. They never huddle around the Kindle display next to it for some reason, they might end up learning something :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

andyseadog wrote: »
    oh man i'm the very same (without the damaged ear :o), when you dont hear someone the first time and you say sorry they are fine with it, but if you have to ask them a second time they just turn into fecking monsters, generally if i have to ask someone more than twice what they want, i just spare myself by saying "one second and i'l get that for you" and never return :P mainly because you can tell they are getting hot headed at you and imo €11.50 an hour isn't worth getting my head chewed by some fecker who cant be bothered to learn english.

the young gangstas are alive and well in Arklow, we have a double iPad display with working examples hooked up to the stores wi-fi and the same crowd of young lads are in every night hoods up, 5 or 6 of them huddled around the iPads. they even have their own photos and games stored on them :pac: putting off any real perspective customers. They never huddle around the Kindle display next to it for some reason, they might end up learning something :P

Hot headed after even asking them to repeat again... Some strop off!!!

At least you get paid, how does a 40 hour week and no pay sound.... :( work experience for college... I'm being trained in SBO and home help might get a job at the end :)

Then theres the stuck up teeny boppers that think they are the celebrities of Ireland, sooooo stuck up.... Why are they doing their shopping inTescos when there's an M&S nearby for the upmarkety image?!

dgt wrote: »
    Hot headed after even asking them to repeat again... Some strop off!!!

At least you get paid, how does a 40 hour week and no pay sound.... :( work experience for college... I'm being trained in SBO and home help might get a job at the end :)

Then theres the stuck up teeny boppers that think they are the celebrities of Ireland, sooooo stuck up.... Why are they doing their shopping inTescos when there's an M&S nearby for the upmarkety image?!

I used to do SBO, its handy out, very tedious and boring mind but it's handy! are you in a big shop?

I only do 20 hours tops and i'm saving it all for my college reg fees, like a years college in ireland costs a minimum of 6k non adjascent (:mad:) so i have no money anyway :P and i dont even know if im getting back into college yet, waiting for round one offers on monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

You two should hookup on facebook or something....:pac::pac::pac:

166man wrote: »

opposites attract and all, he wouldn't go jap, i wouldn't go euro.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

166man wrote: »

I was considering posting that. But then I came to your post. :(:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

I was considering posting that. But then I came to your post. :(:pac:

potkettle_small.jpg

MugMugs wrote: »
    potkettle_small.jpg

Thats racist!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,919 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Thats racist!

You come from a country that lives and breathes on racism so you should be well used to it by now :P

Well, I was never fond of racism, never will be, but each to their own and all that... :rolleyes:

EDIT: have you any thing to add to the convirsation mugs? apart from a "thanks"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

i know some of you dont like opels that much but you'd have to feel sorry for Burg #620. Owner had it a few weeks only, never put the handbrake on properly and it rolled off the back of a ferry.

IMAG0447.jpg

IMAG0441.jpg

IMAG0445.jpg

IMAG0440.jpg

IMAG0442.jpg

IMAG0443.jpg

its in Mcbrides scrap yard if anyone is interested in parts.

EDIT: have you any thing to add to the convirsation mugs? apart from a "thanks"?

Nothing motoring related no.

As for your racist accusation..........
    Background of my "racist" post. Apologies welcome. :)

Nothing motoring related no.

As for your racist accusation..........
    Background of my "racist" post. Apologies welcome. :)

Fair enough, I apologize so.

Welcome back Mugs! I wasn't fond of that Antares character, very racist so he was! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 AlanFurl

Hi All,

As opposed to starting a new thread I thought I'd ask here first.
    I am looking at a car and decided to get a Motorcheck report on it - came up with a massive difference on the Odometer reading, 40k miles (advertised) versus 120k miles (report)!

Haven't raised this with the garage just yet, as I'd like to do a bit more digging - my question is, is it possible to obtain the NCT history of a car? They record mileage, right?

Thanks!

IMAG0443.jpg

Parts? That things a CAT B at least!!!

AlanFurl wrote: »
    my question is, is it possible to obtain the NCT history of a car? They record mileage, right?

Thanks!

Yes but The NCT won't give it to you.

You'd have to ask the Garage for the paper trail.

when i said parts, i meant seats....possibly :p it was underwater for 10days. roof is fecked from crane lift.

The front badge.... Maybe...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

when i said parts, i meant seats....possibly :p it was underwater for 10days. roof is fecked from crane lift.

was it even worth taking out?

I assume that the ferry wasn't very far out if they bothered recovering her?

Terrible waste nonetheless. :(

was it even worth taking out?

Generally not however the auld Environmental peoples are getting a bit sticky about leaving vehicles in the coastal regions nowadays.

Edit: Wee Daniel had a bit of a problem this week. A truck delivering blocks to his new home fell into the sea..... Insurer said uneconomical to recover... Let's see how long that stance lasts :)

truck_1090884t.jpg

the owner must be some gowl :D the exhaust and wheels are sold thats all i know. its funny that theres a full opc exhaust for sale on donedeal though at the moment....
    and there is/was burg alloys on it too

the owner must be some gowl :D the exhaust and wheels are sold thats all i know. its funny that theres a full opc exhaust for sale on donedeal though at the moment....
    and there is/was burg alloys on it too

I'd love to know if the catalytic converter was damaged by the seawater. Also, how long would the whole exhaust last before it started to rust after being immersed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

this is annoying me.

google can't give a straight answer

driving down the n4 towards heuston station at the big junction there's the yellow box on the pole

speed camera or red light camera ?

think I was going past it a ill too fast last week but not sure if flashed. only a red glow (probably my brakes)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

andyseadog wrote: »
    Dunnes stores can feck off, we're open 24 hours and are just generally better :D

That would be great if 24 hour stores were actually open at 1am!!

Very few actually do the full 24 hours!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭cgal093

Brother picked up a 01 Octavia VRS for €1500, tried to get him to swap for the Range Rover but he said no :(

Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

cgal093 wrote: »
    Brother picked up a 01 Octavia VRS for €1500, tried to get him to swap for the Range Rover but he said no :(

Lol

VRS you say? sounds nice!

Plenty of power and err... a fairly large boot :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭cgal093

VRS you say? sounds nice!

Plenty of power and err... a fairly large boot :p

Yup, VRS :cool:

7802616758_fa9649bd24_c.jpg
    Excuse the ****ty pic, better ones in the Post a pic of your car thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

i know some of you dont like opels that much but you'd have to feel sorry for Burg #620. Owner had it a few weeks only, never put the handbrake on properly and it rolled off the back of a ferry.

IMAG0447.jpg

IMAG0441.jpg

IMAG0445.jpg

IMAG0440.jpg

IMAG0442.jpg

IMAG0443.jpg

MM would have a field day cleaning that yoke...

I shall be keeping an eye out on done deal for a "Minty Astra VXR - never damaged in perfect condition etc". :D