Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***Motors Chat Thread*** Round 1

• Registered Users Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

gollywog wrote: »
    Cheers man :)
    Just home from a very "spirited" drive....
    That gearbox is a peach and i love how it sounds at high revs :)

I hope you're not saying that you love how the gearbox sounds at high revs :eek::eek::eek:

No, love how the gearbox works and how the car sounds flat out :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

I hope you're not saying that you love how the gearbox sounds at high revs :eek::eek::eek:

first it was the "shade" of red in the pic now its the gearbox what will it be next? :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

first it was the "shade" of red in the pic now its the gearbox what will it be next? :pac:

LOL :D

It's not a "shade" of red, it's PINK!!! And it'll be whatever gollywog wants it to be next!

Well man, what is it? The Tartan seats? :pac:

It's not a "shade" of red, it's PINK!!! And it'll be whatever gollywog wants it to be next!

Sorry MM,
    i dont understand?
    What do you mean?! Tartan seats are growing on me now too, to my surprise!

I don't think its pink. I believe its the shade of the salmon on the wall behind the car. That is creating this optical illusion. :)

Not at all. But one thing I would change is the OY on the number plate to "YO". Now that would be cool.

I don't think its pink. I believe its the shade of the salmon on the wall behind the car. That is creating this optical illusion. :)

Not at all. But one thing I would change is the OY on the number plate to "YO". Now that would be cool.

Well whatever colour it is, I absolutely love the thing and couldn't be happier with it tbh :)
    I'm nothing near the level of enthusiast as most guys here, either in motoring knowledge or experience, but I love driving, it makes me happy like not much else can, and I'm gonna enjoy my pink go kart! :)

Jaysus it's hard to get under your skin haha

Fair play to you, driving is all about enjoyment. Some people just get enjoyment from knowledge and experience but if you're getting enjoyment out of driving, you're doing it right and the rest might follow in due course.

Ha ha is that what was going on then?! ;)
    I'm trying to learn as much as I can when im going along, and since I've been on this forum I think I've learned alot but can't beat being out for a spin just havin fun :)

Exactly, I didn't know how to say it. But that's it exactly MM.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,033 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

Im sure the tartans are ok, the recaros in the ST are too narrow for my arse :(

Jimbob 83 wrote: »

I hope I get to experience that feeling sometime down the line. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭Northern Monkey

I hope I get to experience that feeling sometime down the line. :)

Jimbob's not so narrow arse:confused: :pac::pac::pac::pac:

Ya the seats are really comfortable actually, and they look better in person than photos. But they are pretty narrow also, I fit snug into them but i dont think they would be too forgiving to the wider person!! :o

• Registered Users Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

how much interest in mps m8? still have it at 10500? how long is it for sale now m8?

I have a guy taking it for a test drive tomorrow possibly, thankfully he's genuine and sound compared to the idiots I had to put up with at the start!

Apart from that, Not much by way of genuine phone calls. It currently has 2127 views on DoneDeal and 296 views on Carzone but that doesn't show anything really.

Still at 10500 and it's been for sale since July 2nd.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

I have a guy taking it for a test drive tomorrow possibly, thankfully he's genuine and sound compared to the idiots I had to put up with at the start!

Apart from that, Not much by way of genuine phone calls. It currently has 2127 views on DoneDeal and 296 views on Carzone but that doesn't show anything really.

Still at 10500 and it's been for sale since July 2nd.

well fingers crossed. how much did it costed you so far? with ads and petrol money? or no test drivers so far?

Fingers, arms, legs, toes, hairs crossed! Hah

e40 for Carzone, e5 for DoneDeal and no test drives at all. Tomorrow will be the first one.

Fingers, arms, legs, toes, hairs crossed! Hah

e40 for Carzone, e5 for DoneDeal and no test drives at all. Tomorrow will be the first one.

Well best of luck anyway, hope he sees how awesome it is :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

this actually happened a week or two ago but it really only got under my skin yesterday.

on of my parents while i was parked at home folded in one of my mirrors (which are power folding) and now it doesn't ****ing work :mad: it was ok for a while but now its given up the ghost and its clearly related.

i mean when they felt the large resistance to the mirror not wanting to fold, why must they have forced it :( when good courtesy goes bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 73,384 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Normally folding them in wont break them, they're designed to fold either way.

Is the motor making any noise when it's trying to fold?

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Normally folding them in wont break them, they're designed to fold either way.

Is the motor making any noise when it's trying to fold?

i triede pushing in the passenger side (good) one just to get a feel for it and it really didn't want to move, but it'd make sense if you were right.

it just blips so to speak, motor turns for around a second, the mirror does a little twitch and thats it. fortunately i dont think finding a second hand glanza mirror will be difficult :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭franksm

Is there a reset/learning mode for them, the way there is for auto-up/down windows ?

If the car's battery had been replaced, there's a procedure for having the various functions relearned. On my car, you have to show the mirrors manually how much to dip when reverse-gear is selected. Once set, it'll do so automatically thereafter.

Andy, it may just be a case of it having to be realigned in cogs or something like that. It's not working now anyway so if I were you I'd take it off, take it apart and have a look. Chances are that when you put it back together, it'll work fine again.

Have you looked into this on the owner's club?

Like MM said it's just been fprced off the cogs, nothing is broken

Andy, it may just be a case of it having to be realigned in cogs or something like that. It's not working now anyway so if I were you I'd take it off, take it apart and have a look. Chances are that when you put it back together, it'll work fine again.

Have you looked into this on the owner's club?

oh yeah, this forum an toyotaownersclub are basically the only 2 forums i view :) €20 will buy a second hand one, probably in the same colour or i can just switch the casing. Im going to take a look at it now just encase its something glaringly obvious first :pac:

just a fecking annoyance, i'd rather be washing it :D

andyseadog wrote: »
    oh yeah, this forum an toyotaownersclub are basically the only 2 forums i view :) €20 will buy a second hand one, probably in the same colour or i can just switch the casing. Im going to take a look at it now just encase its something glaringly obvious first :pac:

just a fecking annoyance, i'd rather be washing it :D

Nothing stopping you washing it is there?!
    gollywog wrote: »
    Well best of luck anyway, hope he sees how awesome it is :)

...and how unpink-like it is too :P

I use an O2 modem with a 15GB monthly limit and brother somehow managed to use 4.4GB in 2 hours the last night, i think it's time for a password change

PORNHUB!!

Nothing stopping you washing it is there?!

seeing as you asked :p

well these clouds did appear, to try and put me off

5mg4t5.jpg

but i said feck it, washed it and gave it a mist of demon shine and ran for it and now its beading nicely in the rain :)

2lmb4vc.jpg

the mirror remains unchecked and unfixed :pac:

Jimbob's not so narrow arse:confused: :pac::pac::pac::pac:

NAW! my own not so narrow arse on the seats of a ST. But that will be down the line. I always wanted a lime green ST.