Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***Motors Chat Thread*** Round 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Vectra is from fermoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Vectra is from fermoy

He's back!
    I thought you'd fallen into a trench in France:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Vectra is from fermoy

We all have our problems :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Vectra is from fermoy

Ah, so I did sow him I guess. I bet he did not noticed me. Some pesky red plastic toy! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

ST is back!! :D

Need new tyres though, anyone any recommendations? I think Turanza's are hard to beat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Welcome back 166man! :)

RJ due back too. Also we haven't seen Saab Ed since 'that thread'. :(

All good posters.

MCMLXXV wrote: »

He's on his holliers in De Volvo, isnt he?

Welcome back 166man! :)

All good posters.

sorry, but that thread by Saab Ed was really high at the "stupid chart". i would expect such thread from a newby or troll, but not from old member. i was quite sure he was just taking a piss and trolling...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Antares wrote: »
    He's on his holliers in De Volvo, isnt he?

Due back today too AFAIK. ;) - EDIT: sorry, you were talking about Ed!
    sorry, but that thread by Saab Ed was really high at the "stupid chart". i would expect such thread from a newby or troll, but not from old member. i was quite sure he was just taking a piss and trolling...

I don't think the thread itself was stupid but the OP certainly could have phrased it better. I don't think he meant any offense and he's a good poster.

Anyhow, I guess here is not the place to debate that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

draffodx wrote: »
    ST is back!! :D

Need new tyres though, anyone any recommendations? I think Turanza's are hard to beat?

Kumhos are a very good trye also. I have them on my car and they perform excellently in the wet and dry then again my yoke is 4WD so that might have a bit to do with it but they are certainly grippier than the tyres that were on it before that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

I hear toyo's are a good tyre, any truth to this?

Due back today too AFAIK. ;) - EDIT: sorry, you were talking about Ed!
    sorry, but that thread by Saab Ed

Ah the penny drops.

Jap Cars Thread?

I'd purged that from my mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

Odometer Contradiction Yes
    Reading You Entered None (Enter Reading Now)

Our database shows an odometer discrepancy. Motorcheck sources independent odometer readings from the Irish National Mileage Register and UK Mileage Register. As our database shows an odometer discrepancy we recommend caution. Some of the questions you should ask at this point include: Does this vehicle have a full service history stamped in its service book? Can the seller verify the odometer reading with an independent source?

For additional information on odometer discrepancies please read the FAQ's on our website here or contact us directly on 01-8839230.

We can also provide a thorough physical inspection with a qualified Motorcheck engineer before proceeding.

Just enter the registration number and click 'Get Report' to purchase a Pre-Purchase Inspection.
    Previous Readings Mileage Source
    28/06/2011 61,155 Kms (38,000 Mls) INMR
    10/06/2011 61,155 Kms (38,000 Mls) INMR
    28/02/2011 65,000 Kms (40,389 Mls) INMR

Dota-2-General4.gif

So she is clocked lad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Er, how many checks have you done? Ie that cost money...?

A discrepancy of less than 4000 kilometers? Hardly worthwhile, an admin error I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

You get 20percent off motorcheck if insured with axa.

draffodx wrote: »
    A discrepancy of less than 4000 kilometers? Hardly worthwhile, an admin error I'd say.

4000kms and 4-5 months timewise, the stage in which the 2nd and 3rd owners had the car before it was sold to previous owner

Jimbob 83 wrote: »
    4000kms and 4-5 months timewise, the stage in which the 2nd and 3rd owners had the car before it was sold to previous owner

Ah OK yeh I get ya, so it could have put up a rake of miles in those 5 months! sickner :(

dgt wrote: »
    Er, how many checks have you done? Ie that cost money...?

You would have to see the full report to suss it tbh, 1 owner for 1st 3 years then 42k miles 2nd owner buys it passed on to 3rd in 2-3 months then when 4th owner buys it its down to exactly 38,000 miles on the on the clock.

I feel bad for the current owner, nice fella :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Jimbob 83 wrote: »
    You would have to see the full report to suss it tbh, 1 owner for 1st 3 years then 42k miles 2nd owner buys it passed on to 3rd in 2-3 months then when 4th owner buys it its down to exactly 38,000 miles on the on the clock.

I feel bad for the current owner, nice fella :(

The middle-man strikes again :mad: :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Theres something amiss there 65000 is a very round figure. There's no way some one would buy a low mileage car, drive it then clock it back to a lower mileage then when they had it.

Way i see it is first owner had it 3 years at end of 3 years in early 2011 it had 41300 or so miles second guy or maybe third guy bought it did a heap of miles in a 4-6 month period knew he had to sell to get a daysul and wanted to get as much for it as he could, clocked it and then sold it to current owner.

Im the only person to have motorchecked that car so the current owner either wasnt aware of it or didnt think it was worth doing as the car is prisine and has a spec of extras that would make you dribble tbh.

Anyway im steering clear as it would be impossible to sell 1-2 years down the road with that report if i was switching to something more sensible.

God i hope the other 1 owner low milage one isn't the same or i wasted the guts of €100 yesterday on fuel tolls and food and €70 on motorchecks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,472 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Who is recording these odometer readings?

During servicing/NCT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

Anyone heading to mondello this wknd?
    Think I'm heading up Sunday myself :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    I`ll be in Formula Vee car number 12 :)

Ah deadly, I'll bring my pom poms & cheer! Hahaha
    One of the lads coming with used to race in the Vees

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

The Astra is lowered on a pro kit springs already, fitting vxr dampers when they arrive, would they make any difference on ride height?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

While I was away, quite a bit happened around the 166man house, I decided to keep the 156 and suck up the costs as I got more hours from work. Absolutely delighted, then the car below is brought home...:D

213664.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

So I was doing a bit of Wiki' hopping and I found out that there's a Nissan Tiida with a 1.6 turbo. It's got 188bhp, what pensioner needs 188bhp in a Tiida?