Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***Motors Chat Thread*** Round 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

gollywog wrote: »
    Yes and i spent 35 euro on a motor check too. Ragin, definitely going to own one when I find the right one, DSG box is amazing :)

What was wrong with it?

Without going into too much detail, it was just a pretty rough example in my opinion, couple of dents, paint was in bad condition, paint in the sill flaking off pretty badly, quarter panel had been resprayed and there was over spray, there was a weird noise when turning the steering wheel, and the interior was habby, alot of wear on the steering wheel, shifter and paddles for a car with 110km.my car has 116 k MILES and my leather steering wheel is near perfect....

Jimbob 83 wrote: »
    Yes and i spent 35 euro on a motor check too. Ragin, definitely going to own one when I find the right one, DSG box is amazing :)

Most i saw were muck and alot with cracked leather too :(

I was gonna spend €65 on 3x checks this evening but i broke a tooth today and im in a foul mood so will do it tomorrow :(

Firstly bad luck with the tooth man, that sucks... :(
    And I have a feeling it's goin to hard find one that's not thrashed for decent money :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

I know what one of you could buy instead and have a totally hassle-free experience :D

Ha i just couldn't stress that far right now I'm afraid! :( any interest yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

I just want to let everyone know, I will be taking a break from boards for a week starting tomorrow.(well today, technically ) I've some mental heath/ issues (a bit of depression), so I will be back in a week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

I just want to let everyone know, I will be taking a break from boards for a week starting tomorrow.(well today, technically ) I've some mental heath/ issues (a bit of depression), so I will be back in a week.

Sorry to hear...get well soon.

Get well soon mate :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Ha i just couldn't stress that far right now I'm afraid! :( any interest yet?

Trust me, you wouldn't regret stretching if you did ;)

I have a guy ringing me tomorrow to say whether or not he's interested for sure.

Ah no man, get better soon! I know what you're going through ;)

Thanks lads.

No bother, been there myself a few years ago along with alcohol addiction and things seem hopeless at times, but take it from me BW, things will get better :) your welcome to pm me anytime if you like :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Fair play BW, take it easy for the week.

Came out of the pub earlier on, group of lads were standing beside me car, one of them sitting on the front wing, The cheek of some people, asked him would he mind not sitting on my car and he jumped up all apologies in fairness.

Got it home and is destroyed in handprints and arsecheek smudges. :mad:

I have a guy ringing me tomorrow to say whether or not he's interested for sure.

Hopefully he buys so!

No bother, been there myself a few years ago along with alcohol addiction and things seem hopeless at times, but take it from me BW, things will get better :) your welcome to pm me anytime if you like :)

Cheers, I see how this week goes and work from there.

Sound :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,472 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Get well soon. Look after yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Hope the week does you well, BW.
    I had a rough patch a few years ago, ended up in therapy and all.
    Admitting there's something that needs to be delt with is a huge step.
    You'll feel better soon. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Ah no lad, thats a pity to hear that :(

You aren't alone in this, there are many services to help you through it. Talk to people about it.

Here is a thread on Depression

Here is a thread on what I had to go through earlier this year

Don't be afraid to talk about it, I learned that talking about these things helps you immensely

Get well soon and wishing a speedy recovery :)

Thanks again everyone. I really appreciate it.

@CianRyan and gollywog - glad ye got through it lads fair play.

and Sorry to the mods for this off topic-ness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

CianRyan wrote: »
    Admitting there's something that needs to be delt with is a huge step.
    dgt wrote: »
    Don't be afraid to talk about it, I learned that talking about these things helps you immensely

two good bits of advice to begin with there! hope all is well BW (even though you porbably wont see this message now)

been there, done that with depression, not nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

also, would there be any scrap value in a set of 4 14" alloy wheels?

i see a set for sale that i want to buy for the tyres and it woud sweeten the deal if i could sell them on again and get a couple of euro back in scrap :pac: they are too tasteless to ever re-sell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

andyseadog wrote: »

i see a set for sale that i want to buy for the tyres and it woud sweeten the deal if i could sell them on again and get a couple of euro back in scrap :pac: they are too tasteless to ever re-sell.

you'd be surprised the sh!te some people would find to be tasteful, stick em on donedeal for 80 quid.

Or, im not sure but, I got either 10 or 15e a wheel off the scrap man a while back, they were 16s though, and all buckled to shite so couldnt sell them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

For anybody interested I'm still annoying NCPS :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

andyseadog wrote: »

Depends what's in them... My advice is not to bother down here, they give feck all for scrap. Head oop north for far better prices...
    you'd be surprised the sh!te some people would find to be tasteful, stick em on donedeal for 80 quid.

Or, im not sure but, I got either 10 or 15e a wheel off the scrap man a while back, they were 16s though, and all buckled to shite so couldnt sell them

I had a set of Corolla rims, nice 5 spokers. Had them advertised for €40 for the set. I had the 2 year and no one rang or bought. Recently gave up and traded them for bits for the 406...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Gary ITR wrote: »

its a shame that thread was closed :(

i would love to know every single dirty detail of it m8!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

Monday can't come quick enough, jacked and want to view ST's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

Feck sake...white bag of timber in the overtaking lane M50 just after ballymun exit...garda had the blue lights in the hard shoulder so I adjusted my speed and managed to avoid it..

...one of the lads a while back wrecked his MR2 going into a stray ladder on the motorway at 120kmph :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

Haha about to do my motorcheck on 3 car's and then THIS comes along :(

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3627953

View2-12938225.jpeg

Sad-Face.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Minister Boyce

Jimbob 83 wrote: »
    Haha about to do my motorcheck on 3 car's and then THIS comes along :(

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3627953

View2-12938225.jpeg

Sad-Face.jpg

Well the tv add does say that you can buy most things on dd;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Southside Motorfactors have a pretty basic one thats cheap enough

• Subscribers Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭conzy

Gary ITR wrote: »

Saw this the other day and thought of you Gary

350c2.jpg

They must be all worked up over the hardship your giving them! :D