Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***Motors Chat Thread*** Round 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

Saw that gti today, complete waste of time... Ad said immaculate, was far from it. What a waste of time and money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Would you look at this abomination :eek:

I kind of like it in a I would never pay money for it kind of way...... kind of....:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    That`s exactly why I am always honest when I am selling a car. Dont want to be wasting everybody`s time. The negative thing is people then offer you peanuts as you list the faults :mad:

Well if you list faults upfront it removes the bargaining power "at the car" later!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

cisk wrote: »
    Well think i have seen it all now. Came onto the M50 at Sandyford heading Northbound at 6pm yesterday.

As i merge onto the motorway and drive 1k i notice all 3 lanes are bunched up. To my shock is see that there is a Transit van Towing a similar sized van with some rope IN THE MIDDLE LANE!:eek:

It was extremely dangerous cars were bunching up behind it, then lane 3 was similar as people tried to get into it. Lane 1 was no better. I gave the the fecker a load of my horn going past.:pac:

I once seen an Alemiera and a Transit stopped in the second overtaking lane, thought they had crashed but nope, as traffic crawled by both vehicles could be heard running and there was 3 lads sitting on the bonnet of the car having a fag and a chat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    gollywog wrote: »
    Saw that gti today, complete waste of time... Ad said immaculate, was far from it. What a waste of time and money

That`s exactly why I am always honest when I am selling a car. Dont want to be wasting everybody`s time. The negative thing is people then offer you peanuts as you list the faults :mad:

Yes and i spent 35 euro on a motor check too. Ragin, definitely going to own one when I find the right one, DSG box is amazing :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Yes and i spent 35 euro on a motor check too. Ragin, definitely going to own one when I find the right one, DSG box is amazing :)

What was wrong with it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

draffodx wrote: »
    I once seen an Alemiera and a Transit stopped in the second overtaking lane, thought they had crashed but nope, as traffic crawled by both vehicles could be heard running and there was 3 lads sitting on the bonnet of the car having a fag and a chat!

A what?! :pac:

Ah jaysus, another nice car gone to the dogs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Was able to drive down a dirt road with grass down the centre to a lake earlier today... I had my doubts but it made it :)

Means its not low enough :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

Most i saw were muck and alot with cracked leather too :(

I was gonna spend €65 on 3x checks this evening but i broke a tooth today and im in a foul mood so will do it tomorrow :(

CianRyan wrote: »
    Ah jaysus, another nice car gone to the dogs.

Will ya quit? :( Like its a levin, its a nissan skyline in the 2f2f movie. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

Will ya quit? :( Like its a levin, its a nissan skyline in the 2f2f movie. :rolleyes:

Its a Trueno actually :rolleyes:

Whats wrong with levins/truenos?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

brain-thunderbirds3-200x298.jpg

Its a Trueno actually :rolleyes:

Whats wrong with levins/truenos?

Well SORRY!

Not a thing. I'm just saying that paint job looked somewhat original on the skyline in 2Fast2Furious. Just my opinion.

I always thought Levins looked crap tbh and the Trueno looks like something a dog did.

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    brain-thunderbirds3-200x298.jpg

Thunderbirds are go! :D

Jimbob 83 wrote: »
    I always thought Levins looked crap tbh and the Trueno looks like something a dog did.

Opinions differ I suppose, that trueno looks terrible, but in 'normal' non-molested examples the only difference between a levin and a trueno is front bumper and lights :confused:

That R34 was hideous. Those early movies had some horrible looking cars.

I like AE111's, especially in red or blue. I'd definitely consider one if or when I buy a new car.

Opinions differ I suppose, that trueno looks terrible, but in 'normal' non-molested examples the only difference between a levin and a trueno is front bumper and lights :confused:

It's enough of a difference tbh

I like AE111's, especially in red or blue. I'd definitely consider one if or when I buy a new car.

If you hadn't guessed :pac: I had one for a few years, but twas robbed :(

But id highly recommend them, absolutely brilliant car imo.

Hard to find a clean one now though

That R34 was hideous. Those early movies had some horrible looking cars.

Imo, the R34 wasn't the worst.

For example. I used to think this was cool. :o

http://fc08.deviantart.net/fs16/i/2007/123/c/a/Hulk_Car_by_tech3000.jpg

Trueno
    home+page+front.jpg

Levin
    1237847865450_f.jpg

Trueno is nicer in my humble opinion :o

Both put me to sleep personally, maybe it's the image they have gained from the gobsheens im used to seeing in the drivers seats.

Jimbob 83 wrote: »
    Both put me to sleep personally, maybe it's the image they have gained from the gobsheens im used to seeing in the drivers seats.

A gobsheen can get into any make/model but I do hear you :(

Plenty of enthusiasts around though, and some really nice examples that are not driven by d!ckwads, theres a fairly well subscribed owners club about too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭locohobo

Hey up you guys..Hope ye dont mind me jumping in here..
    Got a Q about Ford Focus.
    Am driving 04 1.8 TDDI......
    Can anyone tell me is it a timing belt or chain ??
    My mech says belt but guy sold it to me said chain..
    90k miles on it now should I change it soonish???

TY guys..

If you hadn't guessed :pac: I had one for a few years, but twas robbed :(

But id highly recommend them, absolutely brilliant car imo.

Hard to find a clean one now though

Ouch! That's my biggest fear with cars like these, living in Tallaght doesn't help this. :(

I hear you on that clean part, I think I'd be looking at importing one if I was to get one. Might be lucky and find a nice one already over here. :)
    Imo, the R34 wasn't the worst.

For example. I used to think this was cool. :o

http://fc08.deviantart.net/fs16/i/2007/123/c/a/Hulk_Car_by_tech3000.jpg

Uuuugh, the Tokyo Drift yoke!
    The 350Z was alright in that movie, everything else was pretty terrible looking.
    I guess the Mustang was nice but that wasn't modified.

locohobo wrote: »
    Hey up you guys..Hope ye dont mind me jumping in here..
    Got a Q about Ford Focus.
    Am driving 04 1.8 TDDI......
    Can anyone tell me is it a timing belt or chain ??
    My mech says belt but guy sold it to me said chain..
    90k miles on it now should I change it soonish???

TY guys..

http://www.google.ie/#hl=en&sclient=psy-ab&q=04+1.8+tddi+timing&oq=04+1.8+tddi+timing&gs_l=hp.3...1344.5706.0.5971.18.18.0.0.0.0.307.2325.3j14j0j1.18.0...0.0...1c.FLHRUL6lzOs&pbx=1&bav=on.2,or.r_gc.r_pw.r_qf.,cf.osb&fp=79ff5e69f7a9d4b0&biw=1366&bih=664

Belt it seems :)

Ouch! That's my biggest fear with cars like these, living in Tallaght doesn't help this. :(

I hear you on that clean part, I think I'd be looking at importing one if I was to get one. Might be lucky and find a nice one already over here. :)

Importing at the minute is a non mover, base prices are more in Japan than they are here then you have local tax, transport, shipping, vat, vrt etc, not worth it at all.

There's still clean ones but the ones on donedeal for 1.5-2k are not them unfortunately, you have to pay for quality in any of that class of import, they've all pretty much been in the country 6+years and many have seen plenty of hardship and lack of maintenance.

No comment on anything from fast&spurious films :pac:

Uuuugh, the Tokyo Drift yoke!
    The 350Z was alright in that movie, everything else was pretty terrible looking.
    I guess the Mustang was nice but that wasn't modified.

Very true.