Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Troops in Contact: The Rionegro Initiative August 17th-19th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,011 ✭✭✭sliabh

We have decided that LARP players (individuals, not directly part of the factions or units, who are generally unarmed, working to individual character descriptions) will be able to book and attend for free. If you are a LARPer you can contact me for information on Character Profiles we have, or to discuss something you want to try yourself.

We had planned to have 2 players as the Faction Commanders. In a change from that plan the roles will be taken by 2 Embedded Marshals.

For the Republicanos I am going to take the reins. We have another Embedded Marshal lined up to do the role with the Patriotas, but for game reasons we can't reveal who it is until the day. Consider it a piece of intel to be found out by reconnaissance, or interrogation...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭422nd

Paypal Reference number needed on the registration Form is the receipt number, right? :confused:

422nd wrote: »
    Paypal Reference number needed on the registration Form is the receipt number, right? :confused:
    There should be a mixed number-letter thing that looks like: 1GH730939D434823F

This is the PayPal reference number. But if you are interested in a LARP role no payment is needed. Just put "LARP" in the field.

sliabh wrote: »
    There should be a mixed number-letter thing that looks like: 1GH730939D434823F

This is the PayPal reference number. But if you are interested in a LARP role no payment is needed. Just put "LARP" in the field.

Right well I have a problem so because I only have the receipt number which is all digits, no letters. :confused:

And I decided to sign up for the 25th, light infantry.

Not to worry. I have a few that are in all numeric format. Stick that in and we will figure it out!

Alright, that's done. Thanks for the help. :)

422nd wrote: »
    Alright, that's done. Thanks for the help. :)

No worries. Don't forget to register for the private Republicano faction forum on the MilSim site. It has unit and faction briefings, deployment schedules and general discussions from players.

When you have an account there send me a PM with the details I will give you access.

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭AtticRebel

Are there any squad leader positions still available in any of the factions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,791 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

AtticRebel wrote: »
    Are there any squad leader positions still available in any of the factions?

To the best of my knowledge the 38th SWG has no squad leaders selected yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,269 ✭✭✭stigmau5

are there spaces still left for the heavies

stigmau5 wrote: »
    are there spaces still left for the heavies

No the heavies are full. The only units with spaces are the 25th Light infantry and the 38th SWG. Alternatively you can sign up as a civilian/larp player.

himmmmmm choices ill have too look up the 25th Light infantry and the 38th SWG

• Registered Users Posts: 107 ✭✭Borderlands

Limited places left guys. The 38th Heavy Weapons Specialists included however! Unit description can be found here http://www.troops-in-contact.com/factions/republican/

Also a reminder for those who have inquired. If you do not have paypal you still must complete a registration form.

Cheers.
    550980_369663446438711_48997524_n.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭AtticRebel

this question may have been asked already but what are the rules on mag's? i ask because i have a FAMAS and finding middies is tricky are the same rules in place from last on that front? cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,439 ✭✭✭✭thermo

hobby airsoft had famas mags i think maybe try them?
    this year high caps are not allowed to be used by any teams/factions.

If you need to cancel or can't make the event then please let us know by emailing info@bellurganpark.ie

We want to make sure units are balanced, and we can see about re-offering tickets.

We have had a lot of late bookings so the state of play now with bookings and unit availability is:
    Patriotas
    GdA: Full
    Heavies: Full
    PMCs: Full

Republicanos
    Hunters: Full
    25th Light Infantry: Full
    38th Special Weapons Group: >50% gone

Astroga Non-aligned
    ARM Cartel: Full

LARP: Available

We are checking on cancellations so see if we have some tickets available for already full units. There will be more information here in a day or two.

heading on hols the following week so money would be tight so do ye need civilians as me and my friend will come up

stigmau5 wrote: »
    heading on hols the following week so money would be tight so do ye need civilians as me and my friend will come up
    We have a number of roles for LARP players.

We will need to get you a character. PM me and we can have a discussion on whether you want a suggestion, or you have something in mind.

will do pmed :)

• Registered Users Posts: 42 auscam

Could one of them character be the press.?

auscam wrote: »
    Could one of them character be the press.?
    We have one photographer working on this look:
    war12.jpg

But we can try and organise a second one. You interested?

Alternatively we have some other character descriptions to hand.

We have one photographer working on this look:
    war12.jpg

But we can try and organise a second one. You interested?

Alternatively we have some other character descriptions to hand.

Yes mate as mark and paul have giving me the go ahead to come down and get some real photos and video. but i alway wear descams or British Desert camo and a pink hi-vis vest just for a Laugh.

auscam wrote: »
    Yes mate as mark and paul have giving me the go ahead to come down and get some real photos and video. but i alway wear descams or British Desert camo and a pink hi-vis vest just for a Laugh.
    In that case you are not really LARPing then are you? :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,404 ✭✭✭ricka

Hobbyairsoft Will Be Running An Onsite Shop At Rionegro Again This Year

Bio BB's, Mags, Batteries, co2, Gas and much more will be available Onsite.

If you need anything specific, please send us a PM or email us at info@hobbyairsoft.ie

Packing for Rionegro this year.

Red beret with the white star of Rionegro, Kalashnikov AKM, and suitcase with $1.2m in cash.
    polaroid.jpg

I think I have all I need...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

Best if luck to everyone going to this event, great to see the support and following it has developed, rather depressed I cannot go again this year.

It's wet season in Rionegro, so be prepared for some damp weather. The early forecast from Met Eireann Rionegro is:
    FRIDAY AND NEXT WEEKEND: The changeable weather will continue on Friday and into next weekend, with showers or longer spells of rain, together with good dry and bright periods. It is likely to be quite warm in many parts of the country with afternoon temperatures in the low twenties.

Have some dry clothes and socks. I don't want anyone going home with trench foot!

• Registered Users Posts: 84 ✭✭RummyMc

In preparation for the weekend all of my rifles and pistol have decided to break down in some way or another. Off to a great start!
    Going to have alot of work to do on thursday!

• Registered Users Posts: 32 BigGunner

Ya my back-up aeg decided to eat itself over weekend:confused:

mine are all good!! can't wait!!

Just think "welcome to Rionegro" and not welcome to Tijuana.

Two pieces of news today. First there will be a chip van on site from Saturday evening until Sunday morning.

ATGM_IR_vid.jpg

Second, we need volunteers in each faction to be Anti-Tank Guided Missile (ATGM) Specialists, and Forward Observers (FO) for off site mortar platoons.

The ATGM systems (that's one of our launchers pictured above) can be used to take out vehicles, and suppress bunkers or other high value targets. Mortar fire missions can be used to suppress enemy positions or even to provide support to hard pressed defenders.

We will need at least one 3 man ATGM crew, and about 3 FOs per faction.

More details and information on how to volunteer can be found in the closed faction forums (which I presume all players have registered for already)? :)

Thanks to everyone who has booked. The event is pretty much full now with about 160 players signed up for the weekend. Other than LARP players (where will will take bookings up to the weekend) we are about to close all registrations.

However, because of cancellations, and as we want to round out a few units we have a few more tickets we can allocate. Exactly which units are available is given below. As these are the last tickets we will handle them a little differently:
    • These positions must be booked by Thursday 14:00 at the latest.
    • The booking form will be updated with the new units, and people can select an alternate as well. We will confirm by email on Thursday what unit they have.
    • Payment will be in full, in cash, on Saturday

The remaining tickets are:
    Patriota
    • 2 x ESS PMCs
    • 1 x Heavies
    • 3 x Grupo de Asistencia

Republicano
    • 2 x Hunter
    • 2 x 25th Presidential Light Infantry

These tickets are available now.

Some more information on Mortars and ATGMs.

We need a couple more volunteers for Forward Observer and ATGM specialists in each faction. This is something you would do from time to time in addition to being a rifle man.
    http://forum.milsimdublin.net/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=230

Right, bags packed for Rionegro. Last minute props and documents ready.

Weather checked (Friday night showers, Saturday dry and warm, Sunday warm and the odd shower).

Final booking numbers checked (north of 160).

Inbox cleared of player queries.

I think we are just about set. The organising team are looking forward to what should be a great weekend of airsofting.

See you in Rionegro from tomorrow.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

Best of luck with it folks, have a friend's stag party to attend tomorrow, so no can do for me. As soon as I hear a date for next year, I'm booking it in the diary though!

Shiminay wrote: »
    Best of luck with it folks, have a friend's stag party to attend tomorrow, so no can do for me. As soon as I hear a date for next year, I'm booking it in the diary though!

bring them along....................

just home, what an epic weekend. thanks to all involved. :cool:

broke up aint the word :) why did the arm village have to be so far away from the car park :P

Fantastic weekend, very enjoyable. Thanks to all the organisers, players and others involved in a great game. Too knackered to type out all the class moments now. Brought a camera but basically forgot about it. The few I took.

Rionegro008.jpg

Rionegro012.jpg

Rionegro014.jpg

Rionegro015.jpg

Rionegro016.jpg

Rionegro017.jpg

Rionegro018.jpg

Rionegro019.jpg

Rionegro020.jpg

Rionegro021.jpg

Rionegro023.jpg

Rionegro025.jpg

Rionegro026.jpg

Rionegro029.jpg

Rionegro030.jpg

Just out of the shower, and off for beer and food now. I am too shagged to say much. But you won't be able to shut me up for days when I do have sleep.

Right now I just want to say, the Republicanos don't do sneaking around in the night like thieves. When they come for you, they come in force, in broad day light, and they will kick your ****ing doors!

Personally I feel amazingly chuffed that today's (successful) attack on the Patriota base was probably the biggest set-piece Irish Airsoft has seen - there were over 110 players involved in that battle. But more importantly it involved successfully coordinating 4 separate units to come together in a combined assault (infantry, vehicles, and mortars) on a strongly defended and fortified position at a designated time.

That's about as far from a weekend skirmish as you can get.

My hat (red beret, featuring the white star of Rionegro) is off to all who took part. That was bloody epic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭Nuke1973

Absolutely epic weekend,

think I shall have to retire my (orange)tiger stripe cowboy hat now. For some inexplicable reason it just seemed to attract bb's :)

Thanks Paul & Mark and everyone at Bellurgan, Sliabh, marshals, and all the players for everything that made the weekend awesome.

I am so sore it's not even funny but already looking forward to the next installment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,137 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Copied from airsofter.ie forum

Absolutely in bits. Eaten alive and have no energy from all the midgeys and mossy bits :)

The game
    Excellent story, was well thought out and planned and ran very well. There was so much going on all over the site but it never seemed bloated and all seemed well integrated into the overall game.

The team
    ESS were brilliant. A good bunch of lads that were very sociable, very well drilled and just a great bunch to be apart off. The Sligo Tigers and the others integrated well seemlessly. Was really enjoyable to be apart off. Unfortunately I found myself having to pace myself alot more then I'd usually do, but it was the smart play and I still enjoyed it

The players
    Cant say a bad thing. Honor, fair play, sportsmanship and atmosphere. There was good conversation and social interation with anyone I came across, players called their hits and there was many occasions of when there was some dubious of 50/50 decisions, they was really mature decisions made between players, marshalls didn't even need to get involved. I'm always nervy about what the overall vibe of player will arrive, and this weekend we got top quality players

Site and organisation
    The site is brilliant and was more developed then last year, really adds atmosphere and you can nearly feel your in this kinda backend country. The organisation was top notch and the amount of marshall cover was excellent for consulting on some game questions

Overall, just an amazing weekend. Keep it up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,137 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Links to photos greatly appreciated :D

I am trying to see can I set up one central hub for pictures and videos. It will probably not work, but in the mean time I am gathering the links I can find. So far I have:

Like last year there were just so many incidents, events and happenings (walking into the village with 2 Russian women as my bodyguards, pulling a grenade from my pocket with no pin in it as a negotiating tactic, the Heavy who single handedly took out our base by crawling up 100m and knife killing everyone in the dark, me and two other guys in full combat gear herding loose cattle back into a field) that it is hard to describe all that went on.

I am going to take away three amazing moments though. Ones I don't think you would ever get at any usual airsoft game:
    • The protest by 20 villagers at the checkpoint. The players were ready for an armed attack, they didn't know how to handle this. They were doing okay - formed a line to keep people back and firing over their heads, when someone dropped a grenade. Suddenly there was a dozen people (civvies and soldiers) on the ground, screaming for medics. The guys from the international brigade on the checkpoint fortifications reacted by opening up. I turned around to see about a dozen unarmed protesters running full pelt back down the road and getting shot in the back. Oh dear. We gave the players something totally different there, something they never expected, and it was interesting to see how they handled it.*
    • The huge set piece attack on the Patriota base on Sunday. We actually managed to get 4 groups of airsofters to carry out a combined arms assault on a well defended and fortified position. There were 60+ in the attack, and 40+ on defence. And not a complaint from anyone. It game me my "D-Day" moment. A distraction attack on the far side of the camp got the Heavies attention. Once it was under way we called in a mortar strike and raced up a 4WD with about 6 lads inside it and one crazy Russian hanging onto the swinging back door by one hand. The other 30-40 of us then had to run across the open field and up the hill towards the enemy who were scattered around the tents and behind the ditch. I was totally exposed, firing firing from the hip, not sure how many people were behind me, hearing players on my left and right get hit, and wondering would some unknown Patriota decide I was his target and nail me before I could make it to cover. I have never experienced anything like it.**
    • After I died in the attack I put on the marshal bib and watched the fun. There at the Landrover I saw Alex Quigley put in an epic performance. My Republicanos had gone past him assuming everyone at the vehicle was dead and not checking inside. He hopped out and started shooting them in the back. He had so many targets and so little time he didn't stop to reload. Instead he just dropped the gun he was holding, and picked up another from the pile his fallen comrades had left scattered around him. He went through three AEGs and two pistols before he was shot.

Epic. Absolutely Epic.

* If any video footage survives of this regrettable "incident" expect war crimes arrest warrants to be issued by the ICC for the Unit Commander and Faction Commander who were supposed to be in charge that day.
    ** To my surprise I made it to the TSAirsoft Landrover which was surrounded by "dead" Heavies and had BBs pinging off it from everywhere. After a mag change (my only one of the game) I moved up to try and make it to the gate when I was killed outright by a mortar bomb.

I was not playing myself but i had total ball thumbsup.gif and on a personal note with my camera i was reading the wrong counter so i got few less photos and video than i
    thought (180ish)
    And just to add that was one of the best and well run event i have ever been at. BIG around of applause to all of your hard work that has gone in to this.

Heres a link to the photos the videos will be up loaded soon.

Rionegro18.jpg

http://s306.photobucket.com/albums/nn247/auscam/The%20Rionegro%20Initiative/