Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cosmos Blue Rev 5 Toyota MR2 Detailing

• Registered Users Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

END RESULT:

img0650large.jpg

img0655large.jpg

img0660large.jpg

img0649large.jpg

SIDE BY SIDE:

OLD -vs- NEW...slowly getting there :)

img0663large.jpg

Tomorrows Job (weather prevailing) - Top Half Drivers Door....Clayed and ready to go

img0656large.jpg

img0662large.jpg

...............enough for one day...off to the pub for the Match now :D

Hard day at it...paint was in bits as per rest of car..

side by side pic says it all

img0682large.jpg

I made ****e of the small pad...its ripped in places :( ...we had a good run! Running low of Menzerna as well :o

img0707large.jpg

.............more pics to follow!

My weekends will free right up once this has been done. There's a few stonechips on the door, I will sort these once the paint correction has been done.

Done today: Top Half Drivers door, 2 x Popup lights and went over the wing again from the first day as my technique has improved since then and was able to shift a fair few scrapes that were left there.

RDS - Clearcoat - 99% Improvment

BEFORE:

img0667large.jpg

AFTER (Yes! Its still there)

img0686large.jpg

Door - more clearcoat scratching FFS

BEFORE:

img0666large.jpg

AFTER:

img0671largeo.jpg

BEFORE:

img0675largey.jpg

AFTER:

img0679large.jpg

BEFORE:

img0665large.jpg

AFTER:

img0691large.jpg

SIDE By SIDE: Drivers door:

img0680large.jpg

img0681large.jpg

img0683large.jpg

Drivers Wing: (Redo)

img0698large.jpg

img0696large.jpg

CONTD.......

Popup light - covers

BEFORE:

img0705large.jpg

AFTER:

img0709large.jpg

BEFORE:

img0703large.jpg

AFTER:

img0712large.jpg

Another scrape:

BEFORE:

img0701large.jpg

img0700large.jpg

AFTER:

img0706large.jpg

END RESULTS:

img0708large.jpg

img0695large.jpg

img0692large.jpg

img0713large.jpg

img0699large.jpg

Getting there:

img0722large.jpg

Tomorrows work (maybe!)

Bonnet:

img0721large.jpg

img0720large.jpg

1 small pad down I might do the bonnet tomorrow if I feel like somemore detailing..........

• Registered Users Posts: 4,899 ✭✭✭Vexorg

Pretty impressive work there, its great looking through your updates. How much masking tape have you used? :)

Vexorg wrote: »
    Pretty impressive work there, its great looking through your updates. How much masking tape have you used? :)

1 roll gone already! :P, 1 menzerna 250ml nearly gone and 1 pad fecked...:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,224 ✭✭✭barone

well done, i was like you a year ago,got a kestrel da and hadn't a clue, did a old civic and was very happy,now when i look at a car i see potential with faded and scratched paintwork :)

Feckin Irish weather...clayed, taped and as soon as the pad hit the car the rain appears :(

img0733large.jpg

Feckin disaster - rained twice in between buffing, i'm nearly out of Menzerna, my small medium cut pad is proper fucked now

:( ...overall I'd say an 85% improvement...a few bits to go over but happy with the difference in colour...its starting to look

well.

Scratch

BEFORE:

img0734large.jpg

AFTER

img0737large.jpg

Clearcoat scraping

BEFORE:

img0729large.jpg

AFTER:

img0740large.jpg

Small Pad out of action...I used some rope each side to prop up the bonnet as the scratching on the edge was bad..worked very well

img0741large.jpg

Side by Side - Before/After

img0746large.jpg

More clearcoar scratching..eres not a piece of this car unscratched

BEFORE:

img0748large.jpg

img0749large.jpg

AFTER:

img0750large.jpg

img0751large.jpg

Another Side by Side - Before/After

img0752large.jpg

This was the worst part of the bonnet...it was very noticeable without the halogen light...and bugged the shi out of me!

BEFORE:

img0756large.jpg

img0761large.jpg

img0759largef.jpg

CONTD...............

AFTER (Yes it's still there...but only if you look closely):

img0762large.jpg

img0763large.jpg

BEFORE:

img0758large.jpg

AFTER:

img0764large.jpg

Side by Side:
    img0767large.jpg

RDS - Reduced by 50%

BEFORE:

img0728large.jpg

AFTER:

img0790large.jpg

END RESULTS:

img0784large.jpg

img0782large.jpg

img0781large.jpg

Side by Side - Bonnet -vs- Bumper ...the difference says it all.

img0780large.jpg

img0778large.jpg

BEADING - Not quite biblical yet!!!

img0769largey.jpg

Enough done for one weekend.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,730 ✭✭✭E39MSport

Looking forward to the final result incl wheels.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭Curran

Whats on the bonnet for the beading?

Curran wrote: »
    Whats on the bonnet for the beading?

thats just from the menzerna :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭Curran

I was thinking it looked like beading from polish alright! ;)

Now that you say it, have you been washing down the panels after you finish polishing, before adding your LSP? Would suggest you do if you havent been, as the LSP wont last as long with the polish on the panel. Also, when the polish is on the panel, it can sometimes hide very light marks, as they are filled in. Washing the panel with a APC will do the job! ;)

Curran wrote: »

I was thinking it looked like beading from polish alright! ;)

Now that you say it, have you been washing down the panels after you finish polishing, before adding your LSP? Would suggest you do if you havent been, as the LSP wont last as long with the polish on the panel. Also, when the polish is on the panel, it can sometimes hide very light marks, as they are filled in. Washing the panel with a APC will do the job! ;)

Haven't made it to the LSP stage yet..once all the panels are cleared I'll be washing and then finally LSP....still 50% left to do :(

Spent the day detailing nursing a hangover...first and last time I'm ever doing that.. Some difference to the look of the car..feckin nackered.

Heres a taster of whats to come.

From this:

img0833large.jpg

To this:

img0841large.jpg

img0842large.jpg

about 3/4 done at this stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,899 ✭✭✭Vexorg

Nice work.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,843 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

There CANT be any left!!
    It looks new. Its a tribute to your infinite patience.
    Have you any clue as to how many hours you have spent on it, or do you try not to think about such things?

Jimdagym wrote: »
    There CANT be any left!!
    It looks new. Its a tribute to your infinite patience.
    Have you any clue as to how many hours you have spent on it, or do you try not to think about such things?

Cheers :cool:...It will be 50hours I reckon (when done)...but Its a labour of love :cool:

Left to do:

Mirrors
    A Pillar
    bottom half of both sides
    engine cover and sides
    Spoiler
    Rear bumper
    side moldings

As promised...

A tough enough job todo but worth it IMO! Nearly died when I thought I burnt through the clearcoat, thankfully it was only a build up of polish....lesson learned concentration is needed when DAing the car!

Car is completely transformed with the bumper done..my neoghbour came out and told me it was looking well! I've a dilema with the bumper lip, the paint is chipped to feck one side and thinking of wrapping it in carbon fibre..let me know what you thinK?

Plate surround taken off to polish easier (need a new plate as well, old one is bent)

img0795large.jpg

I recommend getting a creeper for the low panels - I already had this..

img0830large.jpgthis

No not an oil change - this was all the dirt that came off the bumper!

img0844largep.jpg

BEFORE:

img0806large.jpg

img0805large.jpg

AFTER:

img0820large.jpg

img0814larger.jpg

Side By Side:

sidelarge.jpg

BEFORE:

img0848large.jpg

AFTER:

img0852large.jpg

BEFORE:

img0799large.jpg

AFTER:

img0876large.jpg

BEFORE:

img0796large.jpg

AFTER:

img0875largef.jpg

BEFORE:

img0824large.jpg

CONTD

AFTER:

img0837large.jpg

BEFORE:

img0828large.jpg

AFTER:

img0831large.jpg

BEFORE:

img0850large.jpg

AFTER:

img0853large.jpg

LIP

SIDE by SIDE:

img0860large.jpg

LIP - badly chipped...I was thinking of wrapping this is carbon fibre as I don't want to shell out for a respray only for the stones to wreck it again

img0863large.jpg

Heres one that was done already:

IMG_3925.jpg

Verdict lads???

BEFORE:

img0833large.jpg

AFTER:

img0841largee.jpg

img0842large.jpg

END RESULTS:

I'm changing these to LED crystal clear ones from MR2-ben...b4ss has them on this 2 and they look great.

img0867large.jpg

img0866large.jpg

img0872large.jpg

ENJOY :)

Fair play, once again. It's a good feeling when you get that far into it. Nice work.

I'd say that's definitely snow foam eligible ;)

E39MSport wrote: »
    Fair play, once again. It's a good feeling when you get that far into it. Nice work.

I'd say that's definitely snow foam eligible ;)

Cheers man, I can finally see light at the end of the tunnel...thanks again for the foam and padding.

I was luckier with my bumper then yours the scratching buffed out nicely :cool:

I've decided since. I'm going to wrap the lip in carbon fibre...worst case scenario I peel it off :pac:

Cheers man, I can finally see light at the end of the tunnel...thanks again for the foam and padding.

I was luckier with my bumper then yours the scratching buffed out nicely :cool:

I've decided since. I'm going to wrap the lip in carbon fibre...worst case scenario I peel it off :pac:

Yeah, the lip is letting it down a bit. Should look good.

Got the carbon fiber vinyl for the splitter today. Unfortunately didn't get much further then looking at it.

img0885rt.jpg

Typical its always the last screw that won't budge. grrr

img0881as.jpg

Noticed a small crack on the base of the lip after removal

img0883nt.jpg

Bit o' isopon both sides should hold her for a while :)

img0884vx.jpg

Might wrap it tomorrow after work.

Some transformation. Keep her lit. Don't think you've posted too many full body shots.

Started the carbon wrapping yesterday...not a flawless job but all the imprefections are only viewable by the field mice under the car :) ...twas a tricky job especially as it was first time and it was a pretty curvy piece. Was up to midnight wrapping the thing!

I decided to drill out the rivets of the brackets to make my life easier...that and some of the rivets and broken anyway.

img0888largeu.jpg

img0889large.jpg

I might be guilty of this bend! I tipped a garage door one way at low speed (no marks on bumper) but it left its mark...pliers straightened it out.

img0892large.jpg

The 'ONE' screw that wouldn't budge during the removal of the lip.

img0893large.jpg

Wrap in progress...thanks to my Girlfriend who helped with the process ;)

img0896large.jpg

Done...

img0899largey.jpg

...Fitted pics coming.

Very Happy with the final result...just in the last half hour..pics aren't great as it was getting dark but I took one of it propped up on boxes before I bolted it on..I like the look anyway, think it suits the car.

Wasn't able to get a flawless wrap but the part everyone sees is perfect...just the fussy field mice running under the car might have something to say :D ....I reckon it will be pebble dashed to bits in 12 months time anyway.

Had to rivert back the old supports...Aldi riverter on the shelf the last 2 years...I knew I would find a use for it someday :D

img0914large.jpg

Side view:

img0917large.jpg

Final Product:

BEFORE:

img0879large.jpg

AFTER:

img0916large.jpg

Up close:

BEFORE:

img0880large.jpg

AFTER: