Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Husky mauls child

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 6,928 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cherry Blossom

so? whats the point? that the 2 people you met didnt know what breed of pup you had?

to be frank with you,your watering the issue here and this post adds nothing to the issue being discussed here.

Pardon? I was replying to post earlier on in the thread. It has everything to do with this thread, it's an example of the mass hysteria this has caused, both people continued the conversation with huskys mauling kids etc. etc. - my pup looks for all the world like any collie breed pup so why would people ask me if it's a husky just because it looks like a grey colour and has blue eyes :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭andreac

Every single dog in existance no matter what it's breed or intended purpose will become frustrated and mentally unstable if it's needs are not met, name any breed and I'll find you a news story where one has mauled a child. Actually to save me the trouble just type *breed* mauls child into google.

I just did this and you are right, name any breed and theres an incident of mauling, small or big dog, even the so called cute and fluffy ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭ducksmalone

Every single dog in existance no matter what it's breed or intended purpose will become frustrated and mentally unstable if it's needs are not met
    again........ the DOG being discussed here is the Huskey!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

your post has nothing got to do with the story! talk about going off in a tangent:rolleyes:

have you listened to the interview on clare fm?

go listen and come back here then with your comments that are relevant to the attack.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭chris_ie

again........ the DOG being discussed here is the Huskey!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

your post has nothing got to do with the story! talk about going off in a tangent:rolleyes:

go listen and come back here then with your comments that are relevant to the attack.

You are avoiding everyone's questions, any particular reason? They are all relevant. As I've said, humans have murdered other humans, therefore does that mean you (as a fellow human) are the same as a murderer and should be treated as such?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 6,928 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cherry Blossom

Except the first dog attack mentioned on this thread didn't involve a husky.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

So what do you want to happen to every other Husky, Malamute etc.. in the country? Answer the question!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,965 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

to be frank with you,your watering the issue here and this post adds nothing to the issue being discussed here.
    To be frank Mr Kettle, I'd like to introduce you to Mr Pot

Yerra,work away people......

ive no more to say at this time,from the people who questioned me as to what i would do with the breed to the people who claim people kill people,all i'll say is,im clearly on my own here so you can bombard and support each other but ye are fooling no one in thinking this breed of dog is safe with humans,especially children.

might talk later but for now,keep posting your defense of this breed,while yer at it,ye might like to post something which even resembles support or best wishes for the poor child mauled in west clare by the now dead Huskey.

just remember,relatives friends and neighbours have access to what ye put in print. say what you mean and mean what you say.

laters

ive no more to say at this time

Had a feeling you'd say that... :rolleyes:

Zulu wrote: »
    To be frank Mr Kettle, I'd like to introduce you to Mr Pot
    the discussion is all the better for your contribution,well thought out comment.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

My dog, an 11-kg mongrel, is eight years old and very fond of children. He loves it when kids from the neighbourhood and nearby park playground, many of whom know him by name, pat him on the head and stroke him.:)

Yet I would never, ever leave a three-year-old child alone with him. In fact, I wouldn't leave the smallest chihuahua alone with a child that young. A dog is always a dog, and we can never know from one minute to the next what incident will occur and what misunderstanding can be sparked in the mind of a dog, no matter how docile it has always been.

I believe that applies to all breeds, although the degree of applicability may vary.

I'm glad that child wasn't killed, but sad that the poor dog will be destroyed. It doesn't deserve to pay the price of its only possession - its life - because the negligence of humans placed it in a position where it reacted to some or other stimulus in an unpredictable way.:(

This article about tigers killing a man in central India is a good bit off-topic I admit, but it demonstrates how even someone who is an expert in dealing with a potentially dangerous animal can get it wrong.

http://www.deccanherald.com/content/243986/tigers-maul-kill-maharashtra-forest.html

The last paragraph of the report is enlightening: "A majority of the deaths occurred due to negligence by the victims who did not adhere to the protocols to be followed while stepping into these forests," he explained.

Perhaps Irish dog-owners could learn a thing or two from the Indians about accepting responsibility for their mistakes and not just blaming the animal and making it pay.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,965 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

You said one thing correctly ducksmalone, no dog is safe with a 3 year old, you just forgot to mention "alone" or "unsupervised".

• Registered Users Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭chris_ie

ducks you are trying to make out that no one on here has any sympathy for the child. Its obvious they do if you would read the posts. Everyone acknowledges that it was a terrible thing to happen. But there is no point in saying that all dogs of the breed that have attacked are the same, that is a ridiculous idea.

You won't answer peoples questions on here because you cannot back up your argument. We all know the child's friends and family have access to boards. I'm pretty sure if they came in here they wouldn't find someone who didn't have sympathy for their child.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,524 ✭✭✭Zapperzy

Yerra,work away people......

ive no more to say at this time,from the people who questioned me as to what i would do with the breed to the people who claim people kill people,all i'll say is,im clearly on my own here so you can bombard and support each other but ye are fooling no one in thinking this breed of dog is safe with humans,especially children.

might talk later but for now,keep posting your defense of this breed,while yer at it,ye might like to post something which even resembles support or best wishes for the poor child mauled in west clare by the now dead Huskey.

just remember,relatives friends and neighbours have access to what ye put in print. say what you mean and mean what you say.

laters

What about the thousands of siberian huskys and malamutes all over Ireland or hundreds of thousands all over the world that do not maul anyone. Are you seriously suggesting that every single husky is a danger to humans and should be killed based on one attack? Do you own a dog or know the first thing about dogs? Are you going to bother responding to this post or my previous post in response to you?

And in case you haven't noticed this is the animals and pets issues forum so naturally enough you'l find that the majority of posters here know a few things about dogs. We're not a bunch of heartless child haters, of course we all feel sorry for the 2 kids and their families involved that goes without saying. To suggest otherwise is incredibly insulting.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Kash

Zapperzy wrote: »
    We're not a bunch of heartless child haters, of course we all feel sorry for the 2 kids and their families involved that goes without saying. To suggest otherwise is incredibly insulting.

I'm not insulted, because the implication is completely nonsensical.

I am however baffled as to how someone can claim that the posters here have no sympathy for the families when almost every poster has expressed their distress at this or the first attack (and dog attacks in general), particularly as the majority of us feel that it was an avoidable tragedy!

Ducks, do try reading the thread before commenting on it, otherwise you are very difficult to take seriously.
    I've even begun reading your posts in the Simpsons "won't somebody think of the children" voice in my head!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Hooked

I've come to the updates in this thread late in the day due to meetings etc... in work.

Firstly - I've two beautiful nieces (2 and 4) and I sympathise whole heatedly with the families and children involved in these attacks. I can't even imagine the mental and physical scars that will follow them for life.

I'm on here for an entirely different reason. To clarify the facts... about the breed and the recent reporting on the breed. Firstly, the child attacked in Limerick was NOT attacked by a Siberian Husky. Lets get that straight.

This second attack - is being sold to the unsuspecting and uneducated public as a crazed Husky mauling a child for the second time. I'm the one who has to cover 10 kilometers in an hour or so with people crossing the road and commenting under their breath that my dog is "one of those Husky type dogs". We put up with enough of it a few weeks back.

I'll tell you what my dog is... He's a well behaved, highly intelligent and active pet that has been painstakingly trained and is exercised for hours at end daily. He is considered (like a child) in every decision I make. Be it holidays, changing the car or something as simple as preparing meals.

He was well researched, costed more than I care to admit and came with 6 generations of papers, IKC registered, vaccinated and microchipped. He has a license AND a pet passport. And I'll be damned if he's going to be tarred with the same brush as a similar looking breed, bought at in the market for 100 euro, left in the yard for days on end and feared by the public because the Red Top Rags can't be arsed reporting the facts. (And I'm not suggesting for one second that the dog in todays paper was treated or bought this way).

Huskies (and mixes/similarly marked dogs) are everywhere lately. Many I'm sure bought on their looks and not on the amount of patience need to train one, yard needed to contain one or idea of whats involved in exercising one.

And if this thread serves just one purpose it should be to clarify the FACTS about the reports in the press and what a fantastic dog a Siberian Husky is... Once properly trained and cared for.

I have a 3 inch scar on my arm, a constant reminder of a childhood accident that feels as real now as the day it happened 20 years ago. I can't begin to imagine how these kids and their families feel at this time. Or how they will feel once home and healed. My sympathy is separate issue to the "Husky" issue.

Any dog is capable of such an attack under certain circumstances. ANY DOG. Remember that when out with your kids this weekend and not just when you see a Husky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭luckyfrank

have my GF's family on complaining to her about my dog over this, the biggest golden rule and i say the same to them is the dog is never allowed with my kids on there own NEVER

Huskies are getting a bad name over this my fella is properly socialised, and i know for a fact he'd never hurt a fly but still id never leave him alone with a child

• Registered Users Posts: 15,827 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

so for the people who wanted to phone and encouraged others to phone clarefm to defend the breed and to the people who thanked posts....... im not sure what i think of you,and to the people who are attacking the Warden........ words fail me,seriously,they do:(

As I am a person who encouraged people to phone Clare FM & criticised, not attacked, the warden I feel that I should reply even if you have stopped listening. It's not just the posters here that criticise the way that this has been handled. Every qualified behaviourist that I have spoken to totally disagrees with the Warden. Now they are qualified people who have studied dog behaviour whereas the Warden is totally unqualified.

The simple option is to just blame the dog - it's hardly able to speak out in it's defence. It's an attractive option because you have a culprit & a death sentence. But you learn nothing & you gain no knowledge as to how to prevent further attacks because you don't know what causes them.

The indisputable fact is that young children should not be left unsupervised with any dog. I was nearly blinded as a child & I still have a scar from a tooth that entered my eye socket. The dog was a cute little terrier. Even as a young child I never blamed the dog - I knew that I had pretended to steal it's food. The dog stayed alive because I admitted to teasing it & neither of us bore a grudge - it would spend hours sleeping on my lap.

None of us know the history of this dog or the previous one. The only evidence that the attacks were unprovoked are the comments of the owners/neighbours etc. If these dogs had been examined by a qualified person then we would know a lot more - it's relatively easy to assess if a dog is showing aggressive tendencies.

It is an unfortunate fact that some owners, who's dogs attack humans, do not consider that it might be their fault. Because the cause is never investigated it is obvious that we don't know who is to blame & this causes speculation. The fact that millions of people, with kids, own dogs & never have a problem is bound to make you wonder why these attacks occurred.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,277 ✭✭✭DamagedTrax

sure they'll just get thrown on the RB list and everything will be hunky-dorey in the world again.. wont it? :confused:

Zapperzy wrote: »
    Are you seriously suggesting that every single husky is a danger to humans and should be killed based on one attack? Do you own a dog or know the first thing about dogs? Are you going to bother responding to this post or my previous post in response to you?

And in case you haven't noticed this is the animals and pets issues forum so naturally enough you'l find that the majority of posters here know a few things about dogs. We're not a bunch of heartless child haters, of course we all feel sorry for the 2 kids and their families involved that goes without saying. To suggest otherwise is incredibly insulting.
    im well aware this is the animal and pet forum,but is that just you being sarcastic telling me that:confused:

Yes i am a dog owner and have children.So who are this we you speak of?am i not one of the we now that i have disclosed to you i am a dog owner? i havent insulted anyone on this thread,on the otherhand,some posters here really could do with lessons in timing,by that i mean the posters who suggested ringing clarefm to educate the masses on the Huskey who mauled the child in Clare,i mean seriously wtf? the only reason someone should be ringing up the station is to inquire about the childs well being and pass on messages of goodwill to the o donohue family,theres a time and a place and that was not the time to be defending a breed of dog that was so close to killing the child.
    Kash wrote: »
    Ducks, do try reading the thread before commenting on it, otherwise you are very difficult to take seriously.
    I've even begun reading your posts in the Simpsons "won't somebody think of the children" voice in my head!
    unnecessary Kash!

i have read the thread from where the Huskey attacked the child in Clare,that has been the only attack i have commented on,as for thinking of the children??? well my thoughts are with the odonohue family.and your thoughts are where?concern yourself with how to repair the now horrible public image that Huskies have instead of making snide,childish comments at me on the internet.

luckyfrank wrote: »
    have my GF's family on complaining to her about my dog over this, the biggest golden rule and i say the same to them is the dog is never allowed with my kids on there own NEVER

Huskies are getting a bad name over this my fella is properly socialised, and i know for a fact he'd never hurt a fly but still id never leave him alone with a child
    Good post Frank,credit to you for your honesty and responsibility.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,524 ✭✭✭Zapperzy

im well aware this is the animal and pet forum,but is that just you being sarcastic telling me that:confused:

Yes i am a dog owner and have children.So who are this we you speak of?am i not one of the we now that i have disclosed to you i am a dog owner? i havent insulted anyone on this thread,on the otherhand,some posters here really could do with lessons in timing,by that i mean the posters who suggested ringing clarefm to educate the masses on the Huskey who mauled the child in Clare,i mean seriously wtf? the only reason someone should be ringing up the station is to inquire about the childs well being and pass on messages of goodwill to the o donohue family,theres a time and a place and that was not the time to be defending a breed of dog that was so close to killing the child.

unnecessary Kash!

i have read the thread from where the Huskey attacked the child in Clare,that has been the only attack i have commented on,as for thinking of the children??? well my thoughts are with the odonohue family.and your thoughts are where?concern yourself with how to repair the now horrible public image that Huskies have instead of making snide,childish comments at me on the internet.

Good post Frank,credit to you for your honesty and responsibility.

You have completely ignored most of my questions, what do you suggest happen to all huskys? You say none of them can be trusted with humans so what do you want to happen to siberian huskys and similar looking breeds? What breed of dog do you own? How would you feel if that breed were to be involved in an attack?

Everyone on here has expressed sympathy towards the children, you won't find anyone on here that believes they deserved it or doesn't feel sympathy towards the child. What were trying to accomplish is that all husky types now don't get tarnished with the same brush, people here have already encountered people crossing the road and suggesting their dog is dangerous just because it looks a certain way. We all also would like to know the exact circumstances surrounding the attack, if these circumstances had been reported or published at least it might have saved a few more children from an attack, but now the dogs are dead and it's just been reported that the normally pleasant family dogs 'turned' (which anybody with extensive experience with dogs will tell you is impossible), so nobody will learn from this and attacks will continue.
    Instead what we now have is people believing that husky type dogs are capable of just flicking a switch and 'turning' so they dump their family pets in the pound, avoid people out walking their huskys and the scumbags in society are further attracted to these dogs because they believe they look hard with a wolf on a lead. How does that prevent further attacks or help these children or their families in any way?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭planetX

,theres a time and a place and that was not the time to be defending a breed of dog that was so close to killing the child.

A breed doesn't kill - an individual does.
    It's not a question of defending the dog, it's about trying to understand why it happened, so it can be prevented from happening again. There is nothing to suggest that one particular breed just spontaneously goes haywire, and if that is suspected should the dog not be studied to find out what's going on. If the attack was a result of mistakes made by the owners shouldn't that be made public so that others can avoid it happening again. Because if all they do is destroy and demonise the animal no-one learns anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 90 ✭✭HerbSimpson

Just want to point out that the child wasn't left unsupervised, she was with with her 21 year old cousin who immediately tried to get the dog away from her. I think it's equally unfair to blame the parents without knowing all the facts as it is to blame the breed.

Ok... i havent logged onto the internet or come on here to have a sparring match with anyone,there are plenty other internetters out there who will behave in tit for tat comments,im not one of them.

If i ignore your questions,thats my right,thats for me,dont bother yourselves bombarding me with the same question as i wont engage with you,thats the way i will use this forum.I will pick what suits me and ignore the rest.

Now your question,what would i do with Huskies and similar dogs? i dont know,i seriously dont know.do i want the breed rid of?in a word no. some people on here made comments that thats what im advocating,its not.
    My main aim here was to highlight the damage this dog,the husky in clare,did to this child.
    This dog was given to the family as the original owners moved away,source: the clarefm interview.

When the childs parents eventually got the dog off the child,the huskey lowered himself in an attack mode and kept trying to get at the child.

How many of ye have actually listened to the interview? i challenge the posters on here to mail clarefm and ask for the podcast,unless there is some other way of listening to it,i dont know:confused:

Plantetx...... might be best if you didnt make comments or raise suspicions about laying fault at the family at such a sensitive time.:mad:if i remember correctly it was a family gathering at the house when the unprovoked attack occurred.

can someone put up the podcast please?or are we allowed to do that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

Why should there be no questions asked of the parents? Regardless of how soon after? Unless we get the full facts we never learn. It's absolutely pointless discussing the matter if all aspects are not discussed including the irresponsible actions of people and allowing their kids play with dogs unsupervised.

BTW I'm not saying that is what happened here. But the majority of cases I have read up on have been a result of unsupervision. Would you allow your kids play with power tools unsupervised or run around a farm yard among machinery? It's all about supervision.

If you walk into hotels in this country just look at how parents head off to the bar and allow their children run around. Some people are just bad a parenting.

planetX wrote: »
    A breed doesn't kill - an individual does.
    It's not a question of defending the dog, it's about trying to understand why it happened, so it can be prevented from happening again. There is nothing to suggest that one particular breed just spontaneously goes haywire, and if that is suspected should the dog not be studied to find out what's going on. If the attack was a result of mistakes made by the owners shouldn't that be made public so that others can avoid it happening again. Because if all they do is destroy and demonise the animal no-one learns anything.
    A shure fair play to you........ you took my comment out of context.

Once more: i was commenting on the people who for the want of better words wanted to defend the breed on clarefm,totally inappropriate timing for me.

What are you suggesting we do with a dog that attacks a child? carry out a chronology of events?check his blood history,gene pool to see if there has been a history before killing the dog?

id have blown the dog to bits with a shotgun within seconds of it happening had i been there,which i wasnt of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

id have blown the dog to bits with a shotgun within seconds of it happening had i been there,which i wasnt of course.

Shoot first ask questions later.

Thought you were finished with this thread?

Bullseye1 wrote: »
    Shoot first ask questions later.
    child mauled by Huskey,shoot immediately if not sooner.

i was asked what type of dog i had earlier........ not saying,its not relevant

MrJoeSoap wrote: »
    Thought you were finished with this thread?
    excuse me? when did i say that?

have you anything to add? or just going to keep taking potshots and personalising this?