Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

3 questions

• 26-03-2012 11:28am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭

1) I grilled a chicken, didn't use oils or anything, to bring to lunch with me. I chopped it up and put it in a lunchbox with pasta. I then put the box in the fridge. Should I let the chicken, cool first before putting in the fridge?

2) Anyone have any special recipes for boiling an egg?

3) What are the best type of nuts to eat, and what brand would you recommend for me when I go to Tesco lateR?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

whatislife wrote: »
    1) I grilled a chicken, didn't use oils or anything, to bring to lunch with me. I chopped it up and put it in a lunchbox with pasta. I then put the box in the fridge. Should I let the chicken, cool first before putting in the fridge?
    Never put hot food in the fridge, it's an easy way of getting food poisoning.
    2) Anyone have any special recipes for boiling an egg?
    Soft - boiled boil water then put egg for 4 min
    hard - just put egg in water and bring to boil for a few mins
    3) What are the best type of nuts to eat, and what brand would you recommend for me when I go to Tesco lateR?
    Depends on why you want to eat nuts, if it's for a healthy snack nuts during weight/fat loss are meh.(my opinion on the meh)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭whatislife

Never put hot food in the fridge, it's an easy way of getting food poisoning. - ****, really?

Soft - boiled boil water then put egg for 4 min
    hard - just put egg in water and bring to boil for a few mins

Depends on why you want to eat nuts, if it's for a healthy snack nuts during weight/fat loss are meh.(my opinion on the meh)- For protein purposes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,025 ✭✭✭mad m

Some of the lads on here have a great recipe for an oat/whey/ egg pancake, that you can make and take to work for lunch.

Check this out,

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056582674

Its Mellors recipe....

Yeah let the chicken fully cool down before putting it in fridge, or leave out over night then add it into your pasta...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Tekken

Sorry to hijack this op but I didn't know where else to ask the question.

Iv bee told eggs are Brilliant for protein etc.
    But how many can you safely eat a day i.e what is a healthy number of eggs per day.

Should I take out the yolk or use all of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,064 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Depends on why you want to eat nuts, if it's for a healthy snack nuts during weight/fat loss are meh.(my opinion on the meh)- For protein purposes!
    Nuts aren't a very good protein source.
    A decent fat source, but not protein.
    Tekken wrote: »
    Sorry to hijack this op but I didn't know where else to ask the question.

Iv bee told eggs are Brilliant for protein etc.
    But how many can you safely eat a day i.e what is a healthy number of eggs per day.

Should I take out the yolk or use all of it.

As many as you want. Eat the yoke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

I don't eat nuts as snacks as I will take a bit extra without noticing and before I know it I've ate 400 calories of nuts instead of 200 and have hardly ate anything at all,
    for 200 cals I have a quorn sausage 50, pumpkin rye cracker 50, cream cheese 50 and an apple 50 ish, mmm its lovely and like a whole little meal.

Nuts are good fats though! Eggs are grand, not much you can do with a boiled egg I'd imagine though.

I wouldn't fret about the how many eggs but on the other hand I wouldnt treat it as an unlimited food source, there is such a thing as eating too many eggs isn't there I'd imagine but maybe not as much for bulking up. Yurt no egg fear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 elizabethmary

too many eggs = wind and hives

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

Hives? That's unusual or at least I've never heard of anyone getting hives from eating eggs.

On a slightly side note I bought 12 good free range eggs for 2.30, they were half price because they were going to go off next week, eating loads of eggs this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

Are you allergic to them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 elizabethmary

maybe its an old wives tale but we were always told that too many eggs would give you hives.and when we were little and got itchy eggs were blamed.

Me, I LOVE eggs, I have my owns hens and eggs are sooooo yummy.