Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Iran concerned over human rights in Ireland.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

I have never heard a bigger case of the pot calling the kettle black in my life! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Iran has a lot of problems but that doesn't preclude them from having an opinion on other countries and their human rights records. If anyone watched the UN meeting today they'd realise just how flippant Ireland appear to be about many of the issues raised by other nations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

"His Excellency Mr Gerard Corr"

What's with that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

For everyone on mobile:
    RACISM IN IRELAND was discussed at the UN Human Rights Council meeting today.
    The 19th session the council was a follow-up hearing on Ireland’s commitments as part of the Universal Periodic Review. The country wishes to become a member of the UN Human Rights Council.
    During the meeting, Iran’s representative welcomed Ireland’s report but said Iran remains concerned over human rights violations in Ireland.
    He said this was in regard to the frequent occasions of racism, xenophobia and discrimination against Muslims and minorities in Ireland. He also alleged there was racial profiling undertaken by police in Ireland.
    Iran’s representative went on to criticise the low living standards in many Irish prisons, such as overcrowding and inadequate santiation.
    Iran recommended that Ireland take measures to tackle racial discrimination and combat more resolutely all forms of racism and xenophobia.
    It also stated that the government should take firm action against perpetrators of these acts by promoting intercultural understanding and tolerance. Iran said Ireland should support Muslim citizens in enabling them to practice their religion.
    Speaking in reply, Ireland’s ambassador to the UN, His Excellency Mr Gerard Corr, stated that there was no objective basis for the allegation that there is frequent discrimination against Muslims or persons belonging to minorities in Ireland.
    He said that the Irish government is committed to ensuring any form of racism is combated and that members of the police force undergo anti-racism training.

Maybe he should take a look at his own country before pointing the finger at us. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Iran can suck a fcuk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Dead right. It's a huge problem. There's no point keeping yer heads in the sand and denying it (which is what will happen in this thread)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

lol!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

haha no. I think this is one thing that is fine right now in Ireland.

Urge to be "racist"....Rising!

Though I suppose nobody would be laughing if the yanks criticised us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

RichieC wrote: »
    Though I suppose nobody would be laughing if the yanks criticised us.

Over racial profiling? I'd say they would!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Keano mouthing off again?

edit: actually, no - they seem to have included a photo of Ahmadinejad for no apparent reason other than that he's the same nationality as the UN representative. Possibly because 'they all look alike'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

To be fair now he's not a million miles off the mark. Our tolerances as a nation for Jonny foreigner are stretched rather thin.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

This coming from a country that punishes adultery and homosexuality with a life sentence or death penalty by stoning...

OldGoat wrote: »
    To be fair now he's not a million miles off the mark. Our tolerances as a nation for Jonny foreigner are stretched rather thin.

Not very true, but even if it was, Iran are hardly ones to talk are they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

I thought Ireland was quite racially tolerant in comparison to a lot of countries.
    Are they saying that if i moved to Iran i wouldn't be targeted for being from a christian country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Ahmadinejad smells

token101 wrote: »
    Not very true, but even if it was, Iran are hardly ones to talk are they?
    Blackening the name of the accuser is no defence. The accusation is that we are racist. It really dosen't matter if the accusation was made by China, Poland, Nigeria, America, Canada, Finland or Andora.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭c-90

erm, we'll build mosques and play extra nice with muslims when you stop trying to make neuclear wepons.... killing homosexuals... women ... emos...

the list could go on for days. for christ sake haha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

The Irish ambassador should have accepted what Iran said and told them what we're doing to combat racism in our society. Iran are right, there's no point in us just denying it's happening and figging crap back at them. We just look as bad as them when we do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

SV wrote: »
    Dead right. It's a huge problem. There's no point keeping yer heads in the sand and denying it (which is what will happen in this thread)

Racism and Xenophobia is a huge problem in Ireland?

Em?

let me ask how is it you came to such a conclusion that Ireland has a huge issue in these areas? because to be honest i dont see it.

Explain this in full ?

Sykk wrote: »
    This coming from a country that punishes adultery and homosexuality with a life sentence or death penalty by stoning...

They put an official moratorium on stoning in 2002.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

well, in fairness we cannot go round spouting about atrocities in other countries and then get all high and mighty when somebody mentions a couple of our MANY MANY faults. Maybe our fat govt will take a bit more notice now, instead of acting as lapdog extradinaire to the french and german, while driving their own people into the depths of despair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

listermint wrote: »

Em?

let me ask how is it you came to such a conclusion that Ireland has a huge issue in these areas? because to be honest i dont see it.

If you're a Muslim then everyone else is a racist. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

If Iran were criticising us over our treatment of homosexuals/women/etc, then it would be a case of pot and kettle. Our treatment of muslims (in general) may be open to debate. Criticising Iran here allows us to overlook what may be a problem, which we shouldn't be doing.

I say 'in general' because Iran's treatment of the Sunni population isn't exactly an example of how to treat minorities.
    c-90 wrote: »
    erm, we'll build mosques and play extra nice with muslims when you stop trying to make neuclear wepons.... killing homosexuals... women ... emos...

the list could go on for days. for christ sake haha.

When did Iran start targetting emos?

Blackening the name of the accuser is no defence. The accusation is that we are racist. It really dosen't matter if the accusation was made by China, Poland, Nigeria, America, Canada, Finland or Andora.

So it's ok for the likes of Iran to tell us we're racist, with no evidence, as they hang gays, stone adulterers, imprison tourists as 'spies', and murder their own people at will as they demonstrate? Right yeah. There's no evidence of any of this!

The prison one is top notch! Evin Prison in Tehran is known as one of the worst on the planet for torture, and they talk about Limerick :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

I'll bet you that it was all of those damn Polish welfare cheats that put him up to it !!

Those damn dirty Roma were probably inciting them to do it.

All of that being said, it has to be the Jews who are secretly behind destroying out credibility!!

It was the culchies !!

It was the jacks !!

The Brits ...the Yanks ....the Aussies...the Kiwis !!

We're not racist ...we're only havin' the craic !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

omahaid wrote: »

What's with that?

Yeah what is with that ?
    Anyone ?

If Iran were criticising us over our treatment of homosexuals/women/etc, then it would be a case of pot and kettle. Our treatment of muslims (in general) may be open to debate. Criticising Iran here allows us to overlook what may be a problem, which we shouldn't be doing.

I say 'in general' because Iran's treatment of the Sunni population isn't exactly an example of how to treat minorities.

When did Iran start targetting emos?

There's gangs in Iraq murdering them at will. It was in the Times the other day. I doubt Iran is very tolerant of them either tbh!

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/world/2012/0313/1224313202277.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭COYW

Em?

Whilst they are problems that need to be dealt with, I don't think they are as big an issue as homophobia. Ireland is very immature when it comes to such topics. An awful lot of work is necessary in terms of education.

COYW wrote: »
    Whilst they are problems that need to be dealt with, I don't think they are as big an issue as homophobia. Ireland is very immature when it comes to such topics. An awful lot of work is necessary in terms of education.

Ireland is immature? The entire island? Do you not see what a stupid f***ing generalisation that is?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,667 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

well, in fairness we cannot go round spouting about atrocities in other countries and then get all high and mighty when somebody mentions a couple of our MANY MANY faults. Maybe our fat govt will take a bit more notice now, instead of acting as lapdog extradinaire to the french and german, while driving their own people into the depths of despair.

Christ on a bike...how on earth did that end up on this thread. Wedging extradinaire.

I'd like to see the U.N's thoughts on every topic in Ireland being turned into glib parsing on our economic failings.

As for racism in Ireland? We're about as close to the utopian ideal as any other country.

As for Iran commenting? That's grand, they're entitled to bang on the tables too, regardless of their own deficiencies.

So it's ok for the likes of Iran to tell us we're racist, with no evidence, as they hang gays, stone adulterers, imprison tourists as 'spies', and murder their own people at will as they demonstrate? Right yeah. There's no evidence of any of this!

The prison one is top notch! Evin Prison in Tehran is known as one of the worst on the planet for torture, and they talk about Limerick :pac:

we never even think of that in the west..

http://storify.com/homophobes/100-homophobes-who-would-kill-their-gay-child

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭nelly17

Ireland historically do not perfoem well in these perodic reviews! its not just Iran who pulls us up on it.

Explain this in full ?
    Do you really need me to do a search for examples and reports of racism in Ireland or will you accept that if I were to put the words "Racism, Ireland, Travelers" I would enough hits to justify my statement.
    I acknowledge that we are becoming more tolerant and here (on Boards.ie) we are a much more tolerant group then the norm but sadly there is a large number of the population that still think "Dey took our jawbs" is a reasonable attitude to hold.
    We abhore the travelers, resent the Poles, hate the Romanians, ignore the Asians. Even our closest neighbour gets a disproportionate number of derogatory references. We seldom have a kind word for the Germans or the French (of late). Our big cousin, the USA is derided on a daily basis.
    As a nation we have a long way to go before we shed our racism, as do most nations, but we have a lot further to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

Iran are entitled to their opinion.

Prisons in Ireland are overcrowded and have been for years.Mountjoy is only now getting toilets in cells.

There is racism in Ireland,no doubt about it.If I got a euro for the amount of times I heard people say 'They took our jobs','The foreigners have the country fcuked' etc.

How many foreigners are after being murdered/attacked in recent years in unprovoked attacks?(Polish lads stabbed in head,Polish lad going to work,Nigerian taxi driver etc etc.

We are far from fcuking perfect.

RichieC wrote: »

Yeah, vermin posting on Twitter is the same thing as the state sponsored murder of homosexuals. Well there's my argument defeated. And who's we? I don't see my name on any of those comments. It's just the lowest form of the human race posting.

Do you really need me to do a search for examples and reports of racism in Ireland or will you accept that if I were to put the words "Racism, Ireland, Travelers" I would enough hits to justify my statement.
    I acknowledge that we are becoming more tolerant and here (on Boards.ie) we are a much more tolerant group then the norm but sadly there is a large number of the population that still think "Dey took our jawbs" is a reasonable attitude to hold.
    We abhore the travelers, resent the Poles, hate the Romanians, ignore the Asians. Even our closest neighbour gets a disproportionate number of derogatory references. We seldom have a kind word for the Germans or the French (of late). Our big cousin, the USA is derided on a daily basis.
    As a nation we have a long way to go before we shed our racism, as do most nations, but we have a lot further to go.

Sorry but im surprised by your broad generalisations (thats what they are)

Anyone can pull out some google links to show an odd example but I dont believe We are a racist Island, nowwhere near the level that you are describing. Its laughable

And no im not saying we are perfect. Every country has tools in it but that doesnt mean you can stereotype everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Bob the Seducer

So then:

November 3rd 2011: Ireland announces intention to close embassy in Iran.
    March 15th 2012: Iran criticises Ireland on human rights violations.

I'd say Iran losing an embassy from a neutral country during a period when they're getting repeatedly threatened by Israel and the U.S. probably annoys them a little.
    omahaid wrote: »

What's with that?

He's an ambassador, I believe "His Excellency" is the standard form of address for someone who holds that position.

Yeah, vermin posting on Twitter is the same thing as the state sponsored murder of homosexuals. Well there's my argument defeated. And who's we? I don't see my name on any of those comments. It's just the lowest form of the human race posting.

Hey, I'm just saying, Hatred is everywhere and these people would gladly see Irans treatment of the gays extended to their own country. Ugandas regime is supported by a Christian right group in the US, the same crowd that are a lot of the money behind the KONY2012 video.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Rabidlamb

Look, this muppet state execute their own citizens for being gay by hanging them out of traffic lights.
    Why do we even give these nutters oxygen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

There's gangs in Iraq murdering them at will. It was in the Times the other day. I doubt Iran is very tolerant of them either tbh!

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/world/2012/0313/1224313202277.html

Jaysus. I thought maybe it was a typo in the post.

Edit: Just seen from your post that it's Iraq, not Iran. Maybe the original poster confused the two countries?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

GAAman wrote: »
    I have never heard a bigger case of the pot calling the kettle black in my life! :eek:

They're called African Americans....RACIST!

Again, all this 'we' stuff. I can only speak for myself, but I've no problems with Poles, Romanians, Asians, Germans, French or the US. I might take issue with people disliking and distrusting travellers being considered racism, but we'll leave that for a different day ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭Nabber

Iran: I got 99 problems but a culchie aint one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭dougieruggie

Ireland is a racist country.

It's mainly a different type of racism, which is much more subtle.

Irish people have this air of superiority in which they believe that they are more educated and intelligent than most Polish and Chinese when usually the reverse is true.

I've seen countless times in my line of work where an Eastern European for example, with by far the highest productivity in the entire company and who solves most of the day to day problems, is on the lowest wage and generally treated like crap. Instead promotion will go to some ditzy blonde who went to the institute, learnt off by rote some text that she didnt really understand, did well in the leaving, went to UCD or Trinity and then got a place in the company through a relative. And she (or he) will be utterly useless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

I think he's 20 years too late to be honest. If he had made these comments in the mid 90s then there would definitely have been some relevance but today I reckon our society on a whole is tolerant to people of all nationality and religion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

Can anybody who is accusing Ireland of being racist point to racist laws on the Irish books? A few anecdotal stories about how some working class friend of yours once said something about the furrineers is not evidence of racism of the State - which is what the UN should be concerned with.

( That said Iran is right about prisons).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

Ireland is a racist country.

It's mainly a different type of racism, which is much more subtle.

Irish people have this air of superiority in which they believe that they are more educated and intelligent than most Polish and Chinese when usually the reverse is true.

If anything, Ireland has an air of complete and utter inferiority, indicated by the reverse is true comment.
    I've seen countless times in my line of work where an Eastern European for example, with by far the highest productivity in the entire company and who solves most of the day to day problems, is on the lowest wage and generally treated like crap. Instead promotion will go to some ditzy blonde who went to the institute, learnt off by rote some text that she didnt really understand, did well in the leaving, went to UCD or Trinity and then got a place in the company through a relative. And she (or he) will be utterly useless

I've seen that happen to me, and other technical and productive people. What you are seeing here is old boyism, or old girlism, and the ability of some people to promote themselves. It's old school tie-ism, don't blame the IRish people, or the State, for actions by some of it's rugby playing elite.

Hoever all countries are like this, and it is only "racist" if it applied to race not class.

Where are the racist laws?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Absolutely true. Ireland has a big history of this from when the Scottish settlers came and met a hostile reception for many centuries. Iran could well be right in what they are saying here. I don't like Iran but sometimes you have to hold the hands up and try to fix the current problems.