Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Money = Happiness

• 14-03-2012 10:27am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Rabidlamb

People hark on about having spiritual happiness & how their lives are complete.
    All bullcrap, give me a good fat wedge so I can play golf all day, pay for a full-time nanny, 6 months holidays a year, never have to answer a 7am alarm ever again, that's me happy.

Discuss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

The only people who say money doesn't equal happiness are people who have no money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

You'd have to talk to the type of people who play golf all day, so I don't see how you'd be happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

You'd find new things to make you miserable. If you look at Maslow's hierarchy of needs, you'll see that resources (Money) only takes one to the third level. When resources are no longer an issue, you'll find new things you want to attain that you can't (self actualisation, an understanding of the universe etc.). Why else do you think so many rich celebrities end up associated with bull**** religions such as Scientology, Kaballah or fundamentalist Christianity?

450px-Maslow's_Hierarchy_of_Needs.svg.png

That said, give me a few million and I'd happily deal with the new problems! At least you'd get a couple of years of being blissfully happy enjoying your new wealth!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

smash wrote: »
    The only people who say money doesn't equal happiness are people who have no money.

In my experience, the only people who say money doesn't equal happiness are people who have loads of money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Rabidlamb wrote: »
    Discuss.

Golf. One of the most pointless sports on the face of this planet, along with bowls and cricket.

Mo' money, mo' problems. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Sounds like it'd be great for 6 months to a year tops then the arthritis would set in from all the golf, you'd be at the doc more times than you would like for suspicious skin blemishes from 6 months of sunshine and your nanny would be looking for half your cash after you put her up the duff (or worse still your doc says it's not the skin blemishes I'm worried about, I've just never seen this many STD's on one person before).

Still.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Sleepy wrote: »
    You'd find new things to make you miserable.

Too true.

If I won the lotto tonight I'd be over the moon. Frankly, I think i should win it. And I'd be a great lotto winner. Kind, generous, create jobs with it and all.....

But I'm damn sure I'd find other "concerns", real or imaginary to keep me awake at night.

I'm 100% positive money removes one set of concerns, but not all of life's worries and money even brings with it a few more worries (nothing I couldn't or wouldn't love to try and handle though).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭luckyfrank

100k would do me, life changing money, no more debt money in the bank, i wouldnt have a care in the world

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

the people I know who are very wealthy never seem to have the time nor interest to talk to you, they seem preoccupied with how to make even more money, to a stage where money is their vice.. sad life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

The important thing you're leaving out is how do you get this money?

If you win the lottery and fill your day with things that satisfy you: not so bad.

If you have to spend lots of time working at something you don't like, then you're not going to be so happy.

How you get the money is at least as important as the money itself, which is why I'd prefer a minimum-wage job I loved that a high-paying job I hated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

For 6 months then you return to your natural state of happiness/unhappiness. That is the conclusion of some study with those that got a huge windfall eg lotto win, or those that lost their bollox, eg a massive liability or financial collapse.

It appears we all have a quota level of happiness/unhappiness and we meander around those levels.

Me somewhere in the miserable, but I am happy with that, I don't particularly like chirpy happy, breakfast TV presenter type happy optimistic people, they do my head in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

All bullcrap, give me a good fat wedge so I can play golf all day, pay for a full-time nanny, 6 months holidays a year, never have to answer a 7am alarm ever again, that's me happy.
    For a while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

Spiritual/emotional/whatever happiness is important. But you've got to take care of physical needs as well.

I'm all happy about life and the universe most of the time. But I'm a grumpy sod if I'm waiting to be paid so I can buy groceries and drink and cigarettes. Ain't much you can do without money!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

i could definitely turn money into happiness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Bad Panda

the people I know who are very wealthy never seem to have the time nor interest to talk to you, they seem preoccupied with how to make even more money, to a stage where money is their vice.. sad life

That doesn't apply to everyone, so you can't say it's money that's making them that way necessarily. It's certainly a factor in conjunction with their personality.

Love that money! But I just want enough to keep me in holidays twice or three times a year, afford nice things for myself and whoever else...help out the family financially. I don't think I'd be preoccupied with always looking to earn more and more. Just not the way I am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

chin_grin wrote: »
    Golf. One of the most pointless sports on the face of this planet
    Therein lies the attraction. Half a day of doing pointless stuff with a few friends. Win.

Money isn't happiness, possessions are happiness. Steal stuff.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Rabidlamb

I'd have to employ someone to reject to all the begging letters, little Jimmy's last hope etc.
    That would be the only hard part.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Apparently the happiest people are those who've had the good fortune to be born beautiful and stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

Apparently the happiest people are those who've had the good fortune to be born beautiful and stupid.

Yeah Tell me about it:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭rosser44

A good statement I've heard on this subject before is as follows:

"Money can't buy you happiness, but it can buy you a big yacht called happiness"

think that sums it up nicely. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Sorry lads it doesn't. Trust me.

KTRIC wrote: »
    Sorry lads it doesn't. Trust me.
    Here, I'll take your money if you don't want it.

No, I'll keep it thanks. For the past couple of years I haven't been struggling exactly but I've been seriously miserable.

Buy some happy drugs, you can afford it :pac:

LOL, I don't like drugs, even the prescribed ones. Hence my problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

Making money is infinitely more satisfying that just having it.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

I wouldn't live long enough to be unhappy. Die from partying too much!
    Sergeant wrote: »
    Making money is infinitely more satisfying that just having it.
    Interest ;)

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

A lot of people here in Ireland would kill themselves if they won the lotto .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

paddyandy wrote: »
    A lot of people here in Ireland would kill themselves if they won the lotto .

Overdose of happiness?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭neuro-praxis

I've no money. I'm really happy. I'd like some money though. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

I don't think Money= Happiness, but No Money= No Happiness!

Having no money definitely will make you miserable, and the people who say about Ireland in the old days 'Oh we were poor but we were happy' are simpletons and bullsh*tters. I remember having to settle for Gola runners because the parents couldn't afford anything else because they weren't working. I certainly wasn't a happy f*cking camper when people started calling me 'Kenny' after the South Park character.

But having money isn't enough to make you happy. It might solve some of the problems making you unhappy, but it won't solve them all. Sure look at all the f**ked up celebrities. They have plenty of cash but end up topping themselves/ going f**ing mad on drugs. And the amount of Lotto winners who blow all their money? You need a balance in life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭chakotha

token101 wrote: »

Agreed.

Unless you were born and reared in the Amazon or the South Pacific or somewhere like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Wasn't there a great philanthropist/mathematician who came up with a fairly concise equation.

"Mo' money = mo' problems".

P Diddy I think his name was.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Scanlas The 2nd

chakotha wrote: »
    token101 wrote: »

Agreed.

Unless you were born and reared in the Amazon or the South Pacific or somewhere like that.

Modern hunter gathere societies are happy and they have no money. Depression is unheard of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

If you wake up tomorrow and have no more means of income other than interest/dividends on savings or investment, how long would you last?

Money in itself does not equate happiness. It's only pieces of paper or a digital display after all.
    Having sufficient money to provide for your needs and insufficient debts will make you comfortable.

I keep asking myself why I go to work everyday.
    Basically it's to make money but I have no inherent need to earn the money that I do. As in, I have no debts to pay, very few bills and no children to rear.

So why is it that I show up for work everyday?
    It's simply to reach the point where enough money has been accrued that I reach a point where showing up for work becomes a choice. When you reach that level of financial freedom then that's the point where we can equate 'money' with happiness.

Therefore, if I wake up in the morning and go to work it's not because I have to, it's because I choose to.

Personally for me the ultimate goal is to 'work' from September through to March and have enough resources to take time off from April though August.
    Like a school year in effect.

Observing the importance of compound interest and the idea of money makes money is the roadmap to achieving this.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Stiffler2

If I had loads of money I would purchase more money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭AeoNGriM

LOL, I don't like drugs, even the prescribed ones. Hence my problem.

Relax. Take a deep breath. Unless you're problems are family or health related, do something unexpected......let them go.

You don't need to stress and worry about them The most important thing in life? Your health and your happiness.

Take some time to yourself. Buy a nice bit of green and some papers, and smoke yourself up a nice one, and let go of all that stress and worry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

foxyboxer wrote: »
    If you wake up tomorrow and have no more means of income other than interest/dividends on savings or investment, how long would you last?

Money in itself does not equate happiness. It's only pieces of paper or a digital display after all.
    Having sufficient money to provide for your needs and insufficient debts will make you comfortable.

I keep asking myself why I go to work everyday.
    Basically it's to make money but I have no inherent need to earn the money that I do. As in, I have no debts to pay, very few bills and no children to rear.

So why is it that I show up for work everyday?
    It's simply to reach the point where enough money has been accrued that I reach a point where showing up for work becomes a choice. When you reach that level of financial freedom then that's the point where we can equate 'money' with happiness.

Therefore, if I wake up in the morning and go to work it's not because I have to, it's because I choose to.

Personally for me the ultimate goal is to 'work' from September through to March and have enough resources to take time off from April though August.
    Like a school year in effect.

Observing the importance of compound interest and the idea of money makes money is the roadmap to achieving this.

So your still living at home with mammy and daddy and they dont charge you rent and your only bill is for your phone....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

Modern hunter gathere societies are happy and they have no money. Depression is unheard of.

Maybe because they don't use currency? But I'd imagine if Jimmy next door has more wives/goats/hens/nice furs than you, you'd be a bit jealous, leading to depression after a while. And I'd say if they had to hand their over their some of their lot because the family in the next hut is after borrowing too much to pay for their growing herd of cattle, you'd get a f*cking swift poison dart in the neck. It's all relative ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

I always hate people who trot this expression out when you are having financial worries.

Yeah, money may not bring happiness, but worrying from morning to night about how the rent and electricity are going to be paid, where money for the week's groceries is going to come from, is not exactly a barrel of laughs.

At least with money you can work on problems that aren't to do with just struggling to survive.

CJC999 wrote: »
    So your still living at home with mammy and daddy and they dont charge you rent and your only bill is for your phone....

I wish!
    I travel with work mostly so it's hotels and b&b's.
    No mortgage but when I do go home for a weekend it's at the parents house in 'my' room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

There's a saying in German: "Geld macht nicht glücklich, aber auf seidenen Kissen weint es sich besser." What it means is that money doesn't make you happy, but you're better off on a silken pillow when you cry.:):)

I don't think poverty is a great generator of happiness, either. There may be some people who are happy despite it, but very few indeed who are happy because of it.:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

If you have money, you have loads of friends. Once the money is gone, you are left on your own...as my granny always used to say. Apparently, people take advantage of someone who has money :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Babybuff

If I had more money my daughter would be happier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭lividduck

Discuss.
    Whats to discuss? You have it , your are dead right, money , by and large, equals happiness:D

Lars1916 wrote: »
    If you have money, you have loads of friends. Once the money is gone, you are left on your own...as my granny always used to say. Apparently, people take advantage of someone who has money :rolleyes:

A fool and his money is some party. ;)

More money will just amplify what you're already like.

If you're easy going and happy with your lot then you'll be even happier.
    If you're the charitable sort, you're more likely to share it.
    If you're downbeat then you'll be luxuriously miserable.
    If you're stingy then you're anxeity will rise trying to hold onto more of it.
    If you're a dickhead, you'll be a complete nightmare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭jakobgallagher

http://http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-3535764476733084568#
    ^
    This is an interesting little program about a philosopher called Epicurus, he would not agree that money=happiness. Although if I was rich I would use the money to travel the world and I do think that would make me very happy. :D

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

I reckon there's a sweet-spot somewhere (which may differ from person to person) where you have enough cash to not be in debt and can afford most of the things you like, but not so much that your entire life is built around accruing more and more money.

I wouldn't know what to do with the money if I won, say, €11 billion tomorrow. I'd probably give most of it away. If I won €50,000 though I'd be ecstatic :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Its more what money buys you (which is mostly freedom and security) that brings you happiness.

Inherently we humans seek freedom and security. If we can get that without money, we would be happy without the need to acquire money.