Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why Australia and Canada ?

• 07-03-2012 8:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭

Was listening to Joe Duffy on the way home in the Car and there was people going on about these Expos in Dublin and Cork and the massive queues.

Two things stood.

1. The expo seemed like an opportunity to rip people off, basically just get a tenner a head and make some money out of people wanting to leave the Country.

2. There seems to be a total mania around heading to Australia and Canada, I didn't hear anyone once mention that they couldn't find a job in the UK, France, Germany, The Netherlands, Malta, Switzerland, Austria, Czech Republic (to name a few). English speaking jobs too.

I moved abroad myself back in 2007, not due to any financial or job reason, but just to get out and see whats out there. (Granted it was a change not being called a complete and utter moron on a regular basis for not buying a house)

TBH I see here as home now, I like my Neighbours, the lifestyle is great, the services are great, the Tax is high but i've found now working in different countries no matter what you earn the cost of living makes it all even.

So why move so far away from Ireland if its thats upsetting to be so far away from 'home' ?

It almost seems like the 'buying a house mania' has been replaced with a 'getting to Canada and Australia mania'

Even heard one lady on the show talking about there being no future in Ireland and moving to Australia for 'stability' when the Australians that i've met (Came to Europe) think the cost of living there has gone through the roof and the country is screwed if China stops buying raw materials since the arse will fall out of the mining industry which is essentially the reason for the economic boom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

Because **** Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

There is supposedly lots of jobs out in British Columbia at the moment. My brothers in Canada at the moment and he couldn't work for a while as it was too cold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 564 ✭✭✭2ygb4cmqetsjhx

In europe you need brains to survive. Most of the people I know who went to Australia are a bit thick and have no hope of learning French, Dutch, German etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

2 reasons. There are companies trying to get people to work in these countries. And secondly, they speak English. The vast majority of people in Ireland will have a huge problem getting well-paid work in the Czech Republic. Where abouts did you move to?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

In europe you need brains to survive. Most of the people I know who went to Australia are a bit thick and have no hope of learning French, Dutch, German etc

Lucky for them they moved to Australia, and not France, the Netherlands or Germany so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Because Europe and the Eurozone is in the shítter and will be for a long time. Oz and Canada are booming and they speaka d english. They are also more culturally similar to Ireland, i.e you dont get funny looks for ordering a pint of alcohol with your meals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,204 ✭✭✭FoxT

Canada & Australia are English speaking.
    Economically Canada seems excellent while Australia seems strong for now at least. Many of the people in Ireland who are out of work now are connected with the building trade, which is in a slump all across Europe - ( though there may be exceptions to this?) - so where else should they consider going?

I have a lot of sympathy for these people - heard one guy on the radio this morning was queuing since 1:30am to get in to the expo. The thousands queuing clearly are people who want to work, make a life for themselves & get off the dole.

Fair play to them I say.

OP if you have better ideas I am sure there are many who would be keen to hear them.

-FoxT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

I don't know about australia or canada and i'm not particularly interested in them but one place I'd hate to live in again is Holland. Overcrowded place full of restrictive laws and regulation, nosy people, tiny expensive houses, begrudgers (certainly not a uniquely irish thing)

Every country I go to has a serious amount of things wrong with it. People moving are enticed by the 'greener fields'. Unless someone offers me a high paying job in one of those places I can't see the point of going

If I was to express what I truly feel about this post I'd be banned.It is a sweeping statement that implies that people looking for work in English - speaking countries are thick.

I'll confine myself to saying that it is one of the more offensive posts I've read in quite a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

sorry stopped caring after i read joe duffy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

FoxT .... why queue for an expo though ...and simply get as much money as possible, do as much research online and go .... no point in paying money to chat to someone at a stand when they cant give you guarantees of a job....if people are desperate enough to leave the country and can afford to do it .... then ... best of luck - hope it all works out.

my sister emmigrated 2yrs ago to canada - she had a job here but gave it up to move to Canada and try find something better.... she may not have a better job now - but she is enjoying life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

eth0 wrote: »
    I don't know about australia or canada and i'm not particularly interested in them but one place I'd hate to live in again is Holland. Overcrowded place full of restrictive laws and regulation, nosy people, tiny expensive houses, begrudgers (certainly not a uniquely irish thing)

Every country I go to has a serious amount of things wrong with it. People moving are enticed by the 'greener fields'. Unless someone offers me a high paying job in one of those places I can't see the point of going

experience? travel? say you've lived in another country for a while? because its not Ireland? I'm looking at going to Canada this year just to get out of Ireland for a year or two.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

FoxT wrote: »

I'll confine myself to saying that it is one of the more offensive posts I've read in quite a while.

Not even offensive, just pure stupid!

Might head to Canada in a year or two myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

2 reasons. There are companies trying to get people to work in these countries. And secondly, they speak English. The vast majority of people in Ireland will have a huge problem getting well-paid work in the Czech Republic. Where abouts did you move to?

Moved to the Netherlands, now living in the South and Working over the Border in Germany.

I'd think the opposite, especially if your highly skilled or willing to contract.

E.G:
    http://jobs.trovit.co.uk/jobs/contract-z%C3%BCrich

Or one of the European Offices (Their looking for a bunch of people) :
    http://www.epo.org/about-us/jobs/vacancies/examiners.html

Last I heard they only paid 3.5% Internal Tax and can buy a car BPM (VRT) free.

Plus a sh*t load of other benefits.
    Agricola wrote: »
    Because Europe and the Eurozone is in the shítter and will be for a long time. Oz and Canada are booming and they speaka d english. They are also more culturally similar to Ireland, i.e you dont get funny looks for ordering a pint of alcohol with your meals.

Me ar$e. I'd say the Germans (The Bavarians at least) drink more beer than the Irish do.

I suspect you were living 'above the rivers'
    Myself I can't stand the Randstad for all the reasons you just pointed out.

Friends of mine just bought a house for very decent money with a massive garden and enough space for 2 cars, a Caravan, chickens and all sorts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Well for one the countries are fully English speaking so there's no barrier there. That makes it a lot easier to look for a job than in European countries that may have English speaking jobs but not that many.

Because of the language then the culture is quite similar. Not hard to make friends with the locals at all, and you don't feel so homesick or foreign.

People who find it "upsetting " to be so far away from Ireland don't move away so. Plenty of unemployed people who choose to stay in Ireland because it is their home. But some don't mind going away.

PCPhoto wrote: »
    FoxT .... why queue for an expo though ...and simply get as much money as possible, do as much research online and go .... no point in paying money to chat to someone at a stand when they cant give you guarantees of a job....if people are desperate enough to leave the country and can afford to do it .... then ... best of luck - hope it all works out.

my sister emmigrated 2yrs ago to canada - she had a job here but gave it up to move to Canada and try find something better.... she may not have a better job now - but she is enjoying life.

I expect that many of these people are trying to gather as much information as they can. I am sure that many are using online resources, contacting people they know who have aready moved abroad etc.

I have not attended these expos myself so cant say if they were worthwhile or not - but if I was in that position - I would have attended the expo also, as well as doing the other research.

Part of me feels that the expos may have been opportunistic or perhaps even exploitative - many so-called expos are - but not having attended I cant really comment.

krudler wrote: »
    experience? travel? say you've lived in another country for a while? because its not Ireland? I'm looking at going to Canada this year just to get out of Ireland for a year or two.

Overrated.

"Just to get out of ireland" - More of the greener fields, self hating paddy carry on.

I have nothing against going travelling, just the obession with it and why it has to be for years at a time in to the one place? In order for Irish people to want to go to a place it must be at least 5 hours flight away, english speaking, full of Irish already and it has to be a place that's perceived to be as "bigger and better" than Ireland. 100 well paid jobs in the backarse of Russia or some other remote obscure place? nobody would get off their arse for those.

Moved to the Netherlands, now living in the South and Working over the Border in Germany.

I'd think the opposite, especially if your highly skilled or willing to contract.

E.G:
    http://jobs.trovit.co.uk/jobs/contract-z%C3%BCrich

Do you really think these thousands of people are Sybase experts, Java FX analysts, & SQL developers?

You've been away a good while, I'd say.

Overrated.

"Just to get out of ireland" - More of the greener fields, self hating paddy carry on.

I have nothing against going travelling, just the obession with it and why it has to be for years at a time in to the one place? In order for Irish people to want to go to a place it must be at least 5 hours flight away, english speaking, full of Irish already and it has to be a place that's perceived to be as "bigger and better" than Ireland. 100 well paid jobs in the backarse of Russia or some other remote obscure place? nobody would get off their arse for those.

Why would anyone want to go to the backarse of Russia? :confused: Travelling is about being sociable. You go to Canada or Australia and you can work but also you're in a developed country that's well populated and you can make friends and have a good time. People like to go for long periods of time so they can fully immerse themselves in a new culture while working and earning money.

Also they are going for a long time now because they can get work there, not in Ireland.

I'm in a part of Canada with very few Irish immigrants, even though all the Canadians claim to be Irish!

Overrated.

unless you've done it you cant really say that. and if you want to experience whats its like to live in the back arse of Russia you could just go to Mayo.

krudler wrote: »
    unless you've done it you cant really say that. and if you want to experience whats its like to live in the back arse of Russia you could just go to Mayo.

Bah. All these far off 'exotic' places are more like Mayo than people like to let on

Can't think of one good reason to get excited over Canada or Australia if its at all possible for me to find a half decent job over here

FoxT wrote: »
    Do you really think these thousands of people are Sybase experts, Java FX analysts, & SQL developers?

You've been away a good while, I'd say.

Well if you read what I posted:
    I moved abroad myself back in 2007

And if you bothered to read the other link:

Technical fields

We currently have job opportunities in various technical fields and EPO locations. Just click on the links below for more detailed information about vacancies in each technical field.

Applied thermodynamics
    Audio video media
    Civil engineering
    Computers
    Electronics
    Industrial chemistry
    Lighting/vehicle lighting/electromechanics
    Measuring and testing
    Mechanical engineering
    Medical technology
    Telecom

Everything I heard they were banging on about highly qualified people not able to find jobs?

Yeh, High Tech and Highly educated I would say theres a good few highly qualified people in various areas in Ireland

Bah. All these far off 'exotic' places are more like Mayo than people like to let on

Can't think of one good reason to get excited over Canada or Australia if its at all possible for me to find a half decent job over here

have ever been to canada? or the states? if it was easier to get into america to work I'd be there now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Well if you read what I posted:

And if you bothered to read the other link:

Everything I heard they were banging on about highly qualified people not able to find jobs?

Yeh, High Tech and Highly educated I would say theres a good few highly qualified people in various areas in Ireland

At the moment, any large economy will have opportunities for those that are highly qualified - even Ireland has construction opportunities for the highest skill levels. The problem is that many on our live register are not highly qualified. Many were early school leavers that found employment in manufacturing, construction and consumer services and have no formal qualifications. Emigration will be highly difficult for those people as there is no shortage of shop assistants in Canada.

Over half of our unemployed are over a year on the dole. What I don't understand is this apparent sudden rush for the boat. Surely if you were going to leave, you'd have left at this stage?

It almost appears to be a right-of-passage (Canada and Australia), or for want of a better word, a bandwagon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭n900guy

EURES says 1,357,414 current vacancies. No visa required, 1-2 hrs max from Dublin or Cork airport.

People go to the ass end of Australia or Canada because they want to earn bigger money working in rural areas. They coudl get a job in Ireland, but want the celtic tiger incomes. For now, that is Australia. In 3 years, it may be China. This justification that it's language of "culture" (balony IMO) will wear thin once the booms in Canada and Aus/NZ blow open.

People are going because they want to do little work like for as much money as posisble, just like the developer/morkeshing industries in ireland did for the celtic tiger years. You can go to Aus, exploit the temporarily strong Aus currency, keep celtic tigering it by getting plastered and plastering some walls. Win win.

It almost appears to be a right-of-passage (Canada and Australia), or for want of a better word, a bandwagon.

It would be alright. Seems much more pressure to go to some place for a few years to act the maggot and come back gloating about your diverse cultural experiences (getting high with a bunch of canadian slappers in a dingey flat and having 'the craic' with the Irish lads at the local bar and giving the barman a few of the 10 $1 notes he gave you as change) than in any other country. This isn't so much the case in other countries I find, there is no pressing need to go to some other place because their own is "good enough", other places are interesting but not a necessity to visit.
    Why would anyone want to go to the backarse of Russia? :confused: Travelling is about being sociable. You go to Canada or Australia and you can work but also you're in a developed country that's well populated and you can make friends and have a good time. People like to go for long periods of time so they can fully immerse themselves in a new culture while working and earning money.

Also they are going for a long time now because they can get work there, not in Ireland.

I'm in a part of Canada with very few Irish immigrants, even though all the Canadians claim to be Irish!

The backarse of russia to me seems more interesting than some other western country, sure don't we get enough of their culture already in the form of TV and everything else? Make friends you might see once or twice after your visa runs out or never.. brilliant.

The work does seem to be the only valid reason to go over.

@krudler, have been to the States, don't see what draws people to the place or what in the f*ck makes people think it's in any way better than Ireland

I'm not even working in Canada. I'm in college here. I came on a scholarship to do intercultural research.

But I love it and I wouldn't mind staying here if I got a job when I finish. Seeing something on tv and living it are totally different things. And every province in Canada has a different culture and atmosphere to it, you just can't get that thing without visiting. Travelling is my passion. I love visiting new places and having new experiences. You can see a photo of a place 1000 times but it never compares to the real thing.

If you are interested in going to Russia, thats fine! But there's nothing wrong with people wanted to experience life in Canada or Australia. Yes they are similar and speak English, but there are many aspects of the culture that are great.

And if you make friends you don't keep in touch with, then that's one person's problem. I lived in the states 3 years ago. Spoke to best friend from there just today, because we make the effort. Will I ever see her again? Who knows, but we still keep in contact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

Because in Australia I earn 2k a week after tax doing literally **** all. I fix roads over here and its like working for the council.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,334 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

I live in the Czech Republic. There are three industries which are crying out for people with native English: teaching English, IT and customer support.

The money is good in relation to the cost of living here and the place is nice. I wouldn't dismiss a place just because they don't speak English. If anything, there could be more opportunities there than in other English-speaking countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

Australia --> Sunshine.

Canada --> A thousand tiny cultural units that make up a great sum of reasons to check it out, just as we have a few that should make other people want to come here, though given our passive-aggressive, wolf-pack thug mentality (obvious generalism), we have slightly less.
    Yes, I know scum exists in Canadialand. But less of it, and less of a miserable, curmudgeonly attitude from the average "grass isn't greener" naysayers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

I work in Architecture. I now live in Australia because when the company I was working for went into liquidation I decided to go traveling and during that trip I visited an old flatmate in Melbourne and loved the place. I found a job here that pays reasonably well and have a very good lifestyle. I'm not an idiot but due to being dyslexic I never really liked languages in school and therefore outside of English have only very limited German and living there did not appeal to me.

I chose to come and stay in Australia because I could find work in my profession in a country where I could speek the language and already knew people. If I hadn’t lost my job I don’t think I would be living here now but due to the lack of jobs in Architecture in Ireland and England I don’t see myself returning any time soon.

I have a good life here but it wasn’t handed to me. I arrived with nothing except my backpack and a limited amount of money and have built a life for myself without dependence on handouts from any government. The roads aren’t paved with gold at all here and it was hard finding a job to start with. I do not even slightly regret coming or staying here. Some people in this thread act like people who decide to emigrate half way around the world do it because they are to stupid or lazy to find good jobs in Europe. This is a moronic idea to have. I love Ireland and the friends and family I left behind and it is difficult to know they are so far away. I didn’t make the decision to stay here lightly but I do believe it was the best thing for me to do in order to improve my own life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

The amount of hype about emigration is insane. Really it is.

I was in Australia for 5 weeks earlier, I was in Adelaide, Melbourne, Brisbane, Gold Coast, Byron Bay, Canberra, Sydney, and met like a total of about 5 Irish people over there MAX (excluding friends).

I don't know the exact immigration figures but I believe permanent numbers are about 4000 a year from Ireland, and about 2000 to Canada. So in all, not really a lot. Certainly not this "mass exodus" the media would lead you to believe.

The way Irish people talk it seems everybody's dog and brother is immigrating blah blah blah.

Also I don't think Ireland is really is as bad as people make out, I mean when I came back from Australia I admit I quite liked seeing all the green fields and feeling the cool air again. Maybe that's just me. Remember Ireland has had one of the highest living standards in the world recently. Plenty of people want to immigrate here. We have a low crime rate and some of the friendliest people in the world. It's a pretty safe place to grow up too.

Now that's not to say if somebody offered me a job to Australia I wouldn't take it, but it would be based on economic conditions, wage earning potential and potential social life. Not because Ireland is sooooo awful and being sucked into the hype about some dreamy Home and Away lifestyle (because it's nothing like that!).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭NakedNNettles

Why would anyone want to go to the backarse of Russia? :confused:
    !

Money, major oil and gas industry....oh yeah! lots of lovely money.

When I left Ireland I never looked at it as emmigration or travelling, been coming and going now for best part of 7-8 years. Of all the countries I have lived and worked I have to say Ireland has one hell of a negative attitude problem. I blame the media, constantly bringing the whole country down with their bad vibes.

Life's good outside Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭NakedNNettles

Gnobe wrote: »
    The amount of hype about emigration is insane. Really it is.

Just the media man, switch off all that rubbish, primetime, news, frontline, joe duffy whatever......end up giving a lad cancer or some sh*t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

Even heard one lady on the show talking about there being no future in Ireland and moving to Australia for 'stability' when the Australians that i've met (Came to Europe) think the cost of living there has gone through the roof and the country is screwed if China stops buying raw materials since the arse will fall out of the mining industry which is essentially the reason for the economic boom.

And why would China bother to stop buying them?

If there is one thing Ive realised is that most Australians are completely clueless about their own economy. On one hand they rant about how increasing taxes will chase away the Chinese resource buyers, on the other they rant and rave about the Chinese buying massive plots of farmland for commercial farming as if they are going to steal all Australias food and have the country starve.

Why do people want to emigrate to Australia? Probably because you can often make more per week here being a site dogsbody wheeling rubble away than people with somewhat fancier job titles earn back home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

. Seems much more pressure to go to some place for a few years to act the maggot and come back gloating about your diverse cultural experiences (getting high with a bunch of canadian slappers in a dingey flat and having 'the craic' with the Irish lads at the local bar and giving the barman a few of the 10 $1 notes he gave you as change) than in any other country.

Drugs? Cheap drink? Easy women?

Sorry, but you seem to talk like this is somehow a bad way to spend your 20s.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I'm not even working in Canada. I'm in college here. I came on a scholarship to do intercultural research.

And yet you called Canada "fully English-speaking". You get an F! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

People are heading to these spots for very good reasons, economy and lifestyle being top of the list, and it's not an easy ride for most people no matter what their travel intentions are.

I hate this stereotype that exists of your typical Irish emigrant, steps off the plane and straight down to the local, or arsing around Bondi beach in a GAA jersey, not a care in the world, pissing away the years just for the hell of it.

I'm in Toronto and I can vouch for the lifestyle and the opportunities that I simply wouldn't have back home, but I'm still a foreigner, I landed here with absolutely zero contacts, no-one to look out for me and in a sense had to start from scratch in terms of proving myself in my chosen industry. It took me months to get on my feet and then further months of hard slog to get the level of responsibility and respect that I had in my job back home.

That's without even mentioning the cultural barriers you can face every day, the difference in humour (which is profound!), daily nuances and Irish phrases, mannerisms etc that you've never even noticed about yourself that all of a sudden you have to re-think and edit to suit a Canadian audience.

So yes, the economy is comparatively strong, there's lower unemployment and provided you can get the work, you can enjoy a more fulfilling lifestyle, plus it's predominantly English-speaking, so people are jumping on the bandwagon. But it's still emigration as anyone knows it - it's still leaving your homeland and leaving everything you know behind, losing the safety net of family and friends, in search of something better, or at least a more productive way to weather the storm. It's not easy, and no matter how sheep-like a decision it was for anyone who took off to Oz or Canada, they will face adversity and challenges like they've possibly never had to deal with before.

Well for one the countries are fully English speaking so there's no barrier there. That makes it a lot easier to look for a job than in European countries that may have English speaking jobs but not that many.

Because of the language then the culture is quite similar. Not hard to make friends with the locals at all, and you don't feel so homesick or foreign.

People who find it "upsetting " to be so far away from Ireland don't move away so. Plenty of unemployed people who choose to stay in Ireland because it is their home. But some don't mind going away.

I would not say that speaking the same Language makes your Culture similar, its much more complicated than that due to many factors.

E.G.
    Religious Political Influence.
    The Weather.
    The size of the country.
    The density of the Population.
    The view of that Country on the Country your coming from.

I mean if that was the case then why not just find a job in the UK ?
    And why would China bother to stop buying them?

If there is one thing Ive realised is that most Australians are completely clueless about their own economy. On one hand they rant about how increasing taxes will chase away the Chinese resource buyers, on the other they rant and rave about the Chinese buying massive plots of farmland for commercial farming as if they are going to steal all Australias food and have the country starve.

Why do people want to emigrate to Australia? Probably because you can often make more per week here being a site dogsbody wheeling rubble away than people with somewhat fancier job titles earn back home.

Well if your worried about the Stability of Ireland/Europe and it did all go Pete Tong the first ones to feel it would be China. There would a massive drop in demand for Chinese Manufactured goods. If you don't manufacture then you don't need as much in the way of raw materials.

Hence Australia would be the second to feel it since the Raw material exports would drop by a massive amount.

It would not destroy the economy, but the huge amount of Jobs created by China would disappear.

Was thinking about it yesterday and its not really an argument, more of an observation.

The trend from my perspective is that its 'very sad' that people are being torn away from their family and being forced to travel to Australia and Canada.

Theres two sides.

I recognise that people are finding it tough now since their income has either dropped siginificantly or disappeared to Dole levels altogether. How ever I don't understand why you would do something so high risk (large investment with Visas, moving costs, no support network with family and friends) to earn an extra bit of cash.

There are the people that see no future in the country and I think these people have been caught up in the 'mania'. People were always leaving Ireland and heading off to other countries, its why Irish bars are like a dose of Herpes on the world.

I would recommend to anyone that if you move to another country then try not to bring Ireland with you and Integrate, and by that I do not mean go drinking and meet people.

Get to know your Neighbours, try to organise events, learn about the History, the Culture, the Differences between different areas of the country (Politically and Culturally)

The biggest thing is 'going home' too often, i've seen so many Irish living over here with practically no life because they travel home almost every second weekend.

But saying that, It's probably as much of a Culture shock for someone moving from Cork to Dublin as it is for someone moving from Dublin to Amsterdam.

Lots of options there, lots of English speaking jobs close to home (From my front door to Dublin Airport is about 2 1/2 hours) its a curse and a blessing that the Dutch speak such good English.

And if your up for it then move someplace where theres an English speaking Job and then learn the local language, most companies in Germany where the Business language is English give free German lessons and help with relocation, integration and it alot of cases they even pay for an International School for your kids.

By all means move, but IMO if being close to home is that important to you then look for jobs closer to home, money does not make you happy, you only have so many years in your lifetime.

If you want to go to Australia or Canada then go with the premise of wanting to experience Australia or Canada.

If you want to be able to drive/fly home then find a job in Europe.
    There is no visa requirement.
    Your covered health insurance wise for 6 months when you get there.
    You can get back home very easily if it doesn't work out.
    You can search for a Job and easily attend interviews without having to go. all balls in with Telephone/Skype interviews and just turning up.
    You can scope out an area before you choose where to live.
    There are systems in place within the EU for European Citizens to live easily in the EU.

Just a thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

, they speak English. The vast majority of people in Ireland will have a huge problem getting well-paid work in the Czech Republic. Where abouts did you move to?

funny that it didn't stop Eastern Europeans coming to Ireland and getting jobs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

That Work Abroad Expo was the biggest load of nonsense ever! 12,000 people and 250 job offers? That's woeful! Most of the stuff you could find out with a Google search and a bit of cop on. Queueing for hours to pay 10 quid in to talk to USIT who will ride you all the way to the bank for a visa is utter stupidity.

Lots of people do go to the UK, but it's a lot less harsh because a lot of people commute and come home every second weekend. In Australia, you might see your parents in person once a year if you're very lucky. I can see why people would choose Canada and Australia purely because it's English speaking; but there's an established network of contacts a lot of the time for people. Plus there's a very similar, if not almost identical, Western culture in both countries. Not everyone is going for a cultural experience, they just want to live a normal life where they can live comfortably rather than scraping by in this place. Why would you want to go somewhere where you'd have to learn a new language if it wasn't necessary and you didn't want to? How long would it take you to learn a new language from scratch where you could comfortably converse in a work environment? 6 months-1 year at least.
    I came on a scholarship to do intercultural research.

Intercultural research? Jesus it's not the Amazon jungles you're headed to! What a load of bluff! You have a career in politics ahead of you! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

Riskymove wrote: »
    funny that it didn't stop Eastern Europeans coming to Ireland and getting jobs

They didn't have an alternative. We do. We can go to English speaking countries, they'd struggle to find a Polish/Latvian/Lituanian/Estonian speaking country outside of those places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 792 ✭✭✭parc

That's really interesting that you say that. Always thought Holland would be a great place to live, though saying that I've never stayed there for a long period of time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

Agricola wrote: »
    down the shítter?
    the jobs office in Germany at this moment has 803,518 open job positions.
    http://jobboerse.arbeitsagentur.de/vamJB/startseite.html?kgr=as&aa=1&m=1&vorschlagsfunktionaktiv=true

and no booze with your meals?
    Alcohol is such a part of german life that beer is in staff canteens and theres even beer machines beside the production lines of BMW (although the latter is on the way out)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

I would recommend to anyone that if you move to another country then try not to bring Ireland with you and Integrate, and by that I do not mean go drinking and meet people.

intergrate? the irish? fat chance

the irish are way too clanish to intergrate, no matter what place in the world they go to they always.."stick to their own"

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

down the shítter?
    http://jobboerse.arbeitsagentur.de/vamJB/startseite.html?kgr=as&aa=1&m=1&vorschlagsfunktionaktiv=true

Geschichtswissenschaften is right up my ally!

parc wrote: »
    That's really interesting that you say that. Always thought Holland would be a great place to live, though saying that I've never stayed there for a long period of time

eth0 is right in a way, I lived in the Randstad (The Hague) for 2 years, its got all sorts of problems mainly due to the population density.

On the surface it looks like and open and free thinking easy to live place.
    Scratch the surface and is a bureaucratic pain in the hole with slight overtones of racism and everyone is in a rush, nobody talks to each other.

Moved to the South a few years back now and its worlds apart, we know quite a few of our Neighbours, there's various neighbourhood events every year. We can drive for 25 minutes and were over the border in Belgium, lots of things to see and do, loads of large forrests to bring the dog.

Theres a park around 300 meters from our house, even a small petting farm with Goats, Chickens, Pigs etc for kids.

Amsterdam, The Hague, Utrecht etc are great to visit, but totally different to live in. If I want to its a 1hr 35min train ride that goes every thirty minutes from Eindhoven to Amsterdam. :D

When I go back to Ireland the difference is unreal, the size of housing estates that have little in the way of amenities is shocking, every house has 2-5 cars parked outside and the most that would be there is a Spar with an Offie and a Chinese Takeaway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

down the shítter?
    bugger, i though I had managed to get a link in english to that list of jobs 3 times longer than the number of unemployed in Ireland.
    Ye will have to change lingo yourselves.
    Geschichtswissenschaften is right up my ally!
    That translates as "facial science" so im not sure what job you are looking for (or being offered!!)

Anyhow, Munich is so battered by the "recession" that property prices and rents have never been higher and companies like the one I work for have never been busier. And I think BMW had their highest profit in their history last quarter as did the other auto companies.

But obviouly. Going to the other end of the world is a far better proposition for an emmigrant than looking a little closer to a place that you can get a 60euro ryanair flight to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭bicardi19

Jeez, I don't know OP, maybe you think its a better idea for them all to stay here on the dole.

bicardi19 wrote: »
    Jeez, I don't know OP, maybe you think its a better idea for them all to stay here on the dole.

I didn't say that at all. :confused: