If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

In between Grand Slams tennis thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,311 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Tox56 wrote: »
    I think that used to be the case in Britain (England primarily), but he's gained a lot more fans by finally winning a major, his performance in the Wimbledon final, and he has also matured a lot. He still has his moments, but he's nowhere near as petulant on court as he was in the past.

There are people who will never like him, in the UK and elsewhere, but he's a lot more popular now than before.

I agree. He has earned some respect back, that is for sure; and yes, the disliking is mainly fropm English people. But, who could blame them after his comments regarding the English soccer team. Many Scottish people have this dislike for the English, yet they are quite a royalsit bunch for the most part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

walshb wrote: »
    I agree. He has earned some respect back, that is for sure; and yes, the disliking is mainly fropm English people. But, who could blame them after his comments regarding the English soccer team. Many Scottish people have this dislike for the English, yet they are quite a royalsit bunch for the most part.

The England football team comments were a joke (with Tim Henman I think) taken completely out of context, it was often used as a stick to beat him with until the truth emerged.

There's a few Scots don't particularly like the English, and there's a few English don't particularly like the Scots. It's taken a while for him to earn his popularity in England, but I think he's done that.

Many English were still "loyal" to Tim Henman in a way, but over the last few years it's become clear that Murray is a far, far better player capable of achieving a lot more, and they have gradually accepted him. The Wimbledon-Olympics-US Open run he had this year has shown people he isn't a perennial underachiever some thought he would be.

With regards to SPOTY, it's hard to know. Wiggins is probably a more popular personality than Murray (and he's also Engilsh, which helps). But tennis is a far more high profile sport, and the wait for a British Grand Slam winner has been going on a long long time, so I think it's too close to call at the moment.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 24,012 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

Probably sounds a bit obvious to say but I think the Olympics this year will have helped Murray's popularity no end. He wore his kit with pride, he was basically dressed as a Union Jack for a week, he sang the anthem, he draped himself in the flag (rather poorly, but still...)
    When it comes to sports where there is a division of Scotland/England/Wales, it makes perfect sense that you'd support where you're actually from, and everyone loves to beat the English at anything. When it comes to tennis you can only represent GB, and he does it. He lives in Miami a lot of the time, I think he was at an academy in Spain when he was younger, he could quite easily have changed nationalities if the really didn't want to represent GB. He's been rubbish at press for years and it's not surprising that something he said ages ago would be taken out of context and held over him for years.

But anyway, I do think this summer has done him wonders. I never liked him at all until he cried at Wimbledon. It showed a more real side of him which we never really saw before. I'm sure plenty of Brits saw it and felt the same.

All that said though, it being an Olympic year will make it really tough. The likes of Farrah and Ennis aren't going to be in the public eye that much next year, so it's a once only type of thing for them. If he could win the YEC's in London too then he'd have to be a shoe in, although I'm not sure how much attention the general public pay to that.

I think there will be a greater interest this year in the year end championship at the O2 due to Murray now being a slam champion. There should be a greater build up and hype than ever before.

Yes, it'll be nice for the ATP to be able to market 4 different Slam champions for the YEC. Especially since one of them is a home player. That's assuming Rafa is back for this of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭youreadthis

Probably sounds a bit obvious to say but I think the Olympics this year will have helped Murray's popularity no end. He wore his kit with pride, he was basically dressed as a Union Jack for a week, he sang the anthem, he draped himself in the flag (rather poorly, but still...)
    When it comes to sports where there is a division of Scotland/England/Wales, it makes perfect sense that you'd support where you're actually from, and everyone loves to beat the English at anything. When it comes to tennis you can only represent GB, and he does it. He lives in Miami a lot of the time, I think he was at an academy in Spain when he was younger, he could quite easily have changed nationalities if the really didn't want to represent GB. He's been rubbish at press for years and it's not surprising that something he said ages ago would be taken out of context and held over him for years.

But anyway, I do think this summer has done him wonders. I never liked him at all until he cried at Wimbledon. It showed a more real side of him which we never really saw before. I'm sure plenty of Brits saw it and felt the same.

He cried at other events like the AO, or are you one of those part time fans?

It's a silly reason to like someone when you didn't before anyway...

He cried at other events like the AO, or are you one of those part time fans?

It's a silly reason to like someone when you didn't before anyway...

I'm not a part time fan, but I don't watch the finals of tournaments that are on at silly hours in the morning if there's nobody in them that I actually like.

I don't think it's a silly reason to like someone. He's still not my favourite player, and there's many more players I'd cheer for over Murray. I don't pay much attention to players I don't like in their off the court lives and the few times I've seen Murray giving interviews he's seemed dry and grumpy and a bit rude. Hard to warm to basically. His reaction to his Wimbledon loss and his speech afterwards showed a little bit of a human side to him that I hadn't previously seen and it made me like him more as a person. I've heard and seen a lot of people say the same thing about it, so I'm not the only one to have this reaction.

Yes, it'll be nice for the ATP to be able to market 4 different Slam champions for the YEC. Especially since one of them is a home player. That's assuming Rafa is back for this of course.

As far as I know it's the first time since 2003 that 4 men have lifted slams in the one calendar year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭cgpg5

Jeepers you did not take that serious did ya? You're as bad as them

I understand people may find him boring or whatever (he's not paid to entertain but anyway!) but the way he came across in Dunblane the last day was top class and he seems a really lovely guy who gives everything for the cause and loves his tennis. Saw him on an American TV show after he won, he seemed really shy and down to earth. Not trying to sway anyone but he's my fave player anyway

And yes it is amazing that he'll only get second, Rusedski won it by reaching US final! If it was down to popularity like you say would he really be way more favoured than Jess Ennis? He's a lot more popular now and people have really warned to him. The amount of congrats he got by celebs alone and fellow players on twitter was incredible.

He's a shoe in for second. Wiggins will beat him but there's no question Murray'll get more votes than Farah and Ennis.

Of course he should win in my eyes but tbh I doubt Andy cares too much about it. He'll prob win it next year anyway all going well

cgpg5 wrote: »
    Jeepers you did not take that serious did ya? You're as bad as them

No no. Andy wasn't joking, that was the point. Do you believe he was cheering for them?

The reporter said something cheeky and rude like "will you be supporting Scotland in the world cup?" (they hadn't qualified) and in response Andy joked "well I won't be supporting England anyway". taken completely out of context, would've thought anyone with a brain knew that he wasn't being serious.

I'm sure as a man who lives in England and spent so much time there that he would have been wishing them well in the world cup, yes.

For making a simple joke it was disgraceful the way he was treated. He was sent threats and people made disgusting comments to him whenever they passed him at W'don. He has said he's regretted saying it ever since, which proves that it is bloody awful that one cannot tell a joke for fear idiots with no sense of humour will take it seriously

Anyhow the reaction in Britain (yes England too) over the past week or two has been immense. They realise the guy is a British hero and they'll never ever produce a tennis player as good again. He is incredibly popular there, zero question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭Johnmb

According to Henman, he and another guy were talking about England in the Euro/World Cup finals and cheering them on, when Murray walked in the room they started slagging him about Scotland not being there and asked him who would he be following since they'd be following England, he replied whoever England are playing as a way to slag them back. I don't like Murray, but that actually showed a bit of a sense of humour, not a dislike for England. He was being slagged, he joined in the fun and slagged back, what else should he have done?

Andy Murray no sense of humour???

This is a great interview :)

I was very happy for Andy, but no amount of dressing it up will take from the fact that he is generally a sullen kind of guy. At least that is how he comes across most of the time. Yes, he may be working on his PR skills and he may be showing a more human side of late, but he is who he is. SPOTY? Maybe, but if he was more a cheerful and pleasant man I think he would be a favourite for the title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

I think Murray is shy which doesn't help around the camera, but apparently Lendl has a wicked sense of humour, which you obviously wouldn't pick up on if you only saw him on court or watching Murray, where he looks like the most boring man on the planet. It's hard to know someone without actually knowing them, if you see what I mean.

Tox56 wrote: »
    I think Murray is shy which doesn't help around the camera, but apparently Lendl has a wicked sense of humour, which you obviously wouldn't pick up on if you only saw him on court or watching Murray, where he looks like the most boring man on the planet. It's hard to know someone without actually knowing them, if you see what I mean.

I agree, but for the general public who don't know him personally all they can go on is how he comes across when speaking or behaving. He could well be a sound bloke and full of beans and banter and kindness etc. In the public eye he has not come across all that well. That is down to him. He is improving.

James McGee won his match today against an opponent ranked over 200 places higher than him in straight sets. He's into the QF's tomorrow.

A3PyjY2CMAAYsu9.jpg

Not sure how many points are on offer in these events but it's a major step up for him so hopefully he'll keep it up.

Sam Barry also into the SF of his futures event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

James McGee won his match today against an opponent ranked over 200 places higher than him in straight sets. He's into the QF's tomorrow.

A3PyjY2CMAAYsu9.jpg

Not sure how many points are on offer in these events but it's a major step up for him so hopefully he'll keep it up.

Sam Barry also into the SF of his futures event.

McGee sadly lost to Marchenko 6-3, 7-5...but decent tournament for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭RosyLily

WTA Tokyo tournament kicked off. Aga Rad is the defending champion. She got a first round bye and will play Jelena Jankovic in the second after the Serb defeated Yanina Wickmayer in straight sets. Heather Watson got through qualifying and her reward is a match against Sabine Lisicki. Could be a good match; the winner will play Masha.

Quite a tough tournament. Aga will have her work cut out for her if she wants to retain her title.

Tsonga has won the Moselle Open in Metz. He beat Seppi 6-1, 6-2. Monfils had a good run in the tournament; he reached the SFs before falling to Seppi. Martin Klizan captured his maiden ATP title in St. Petersburg. He beat Fabio Fognini in straight sets, 6-2, 6-3.

ATP are in Malaysia and Thailand this week. Tipsy is the top seed in Thailand. Looks like Jamie Murray had a stab at the singles there; he got to the second round of qualifying but he was defeated by top seed Kevin Anderson. Ferrer is tops in Malaysia; he gets a bye into the second round.

Nadal already saying he's not sure if he'll make Aussie Open! Things really not looking good for the guy

Must be awful not having a clue when you'll be able to get back to training.

cgpg5 wrote: »
    Nadal already saying he's not sure if he'll make Aussie Open! Things really not looking good for the guy

Must be awful not having a clue when you'll be able to get back to training.

He's an awful whinge bag though. Complained about the hard courts being too different from tournament to tournament so they homogonised the surfaces as much as they could to keep him (top4) happy. Now he's complaining they're too slow and that's what damages their knees. There's no keeping him happy.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,951 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

Nice to see her tough loss at the US open final hasn't affected her confidence.. surely Tokyo is Vika's to lose? Given how successful her year has been it's hard to believe she hasn't actually won a title since Indian Wells!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭RosyLily

A stellar year for Vika. I thought she didn't look that intense during her match with Vinci earlier but when she found herself in trouble she upped her game. She's a fantastic chance to win Tokyo; she's beaten pretty much everyone else in the draw. Although, Tennis.com mentioned that Vika has bouts of dizziness. Perhaps her year is taking its toll on her body.

Tokyo QFs are tomorrow morning- Azarenka-Kerber, Radwanska-Wozniacki, Errani-Petrova, Sharapova-Stosur.

Also, I noticed that Srebotnik and Peschke aren't playing together at this tournament. Taking a break or done for good?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,951 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

RosyLily wrote: »
    A stellar year for Vika. I thought she didn't look that intense during her match with Vinci earlier but when she found herself in trouble she upped her game. She's a fantastic chance to win Tokyo; she's beaten pretty much everyone else in the draw. Although, Tennis.com mentioned that Vika has bouts of dizziness. Perhaps her year is taking its toll on her body.

Tokyo QFs are tomorrow morning- Azarenka-Kerber, Radwanska-Wozniacki, Errani-Petrova, Sharapova-Stosur.

Also, I noticed that Srebotnik and Peschke aren't playing together at this tournament. Taking a break or done for good?

A fantastic chance indeed, she won't be scared of anyone in the draw, least of all Sharapova.

What do you think are her chances of repeating her 2012 next year?

edit: Sorry I know absolutely nothing about doubles :o

Vika looked like death warmed up during her match today. Not well at all. Will be tough against Kerber if she's not 100% well.

Woz's new outfit is dire. Stella wasn't even trying with this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

Vika looked like death warmed up during her match today. Not well at all. Will be tough against Kerber if she's not 100% well.

Woz's new outfit is dire. Stella wasn't even trying with this one.

Be great to see Kerber win...but watch Vika suddenly be ok again and win...she is good at this trick.

Stevecw wrote: »
    Be great to see Kerber win...but watch Vika suddenly be ok again and win...she is good at this trick.

When she's "injured" yes but she looked like she was on death's door this morning. She'll recover in time to beat Kerber, then be sick again if she has to play Aga but beat her anyway :)

Vika pulled out before her match with Kerber. Not surprised, she really didn't look well yesterday.

Stosur beat Sharapova, Petrova beat Errani, and Aga beat Woz.

Stosur/Petrova and Aga/Kerber in the SF's.

Also, rather amusingly Aga finally lost it with people calling her Aggie and told the on court interviewer that it's Aga, AGGGAAAAA!!!