Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sherlock confirms that ‘Irish SOPA’ has been signed into law

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭Spoonman75

ottostreet wrote: »
    There's a resign page after going up!

Link?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

There's a resign page after going up!

Linky?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

Spoonman75 wrote: »
    He's just posted a response on his Facebook page to all the outrage he's had to read.

"No abuse please. Try to keep your views polite. Discuss the politician, not the man"

How the hell can furious people be "polite"?

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Sean-Sherlock-TD/185032148201312

Eh, I'm pretty sure Sean Sherlock himself didn't start a page calling for his own resignation!

No he didn't. Somebody else set one up under an hour ago. But that quote I mentioned in my post is on his own Facebook page.

Edit: Oh, my bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,176 ✭✭✭nyarlothothep

That's probably not Sherlock posting himself but one of his underlings.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭curry-muff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Spoonman75 wrote: »

Someone should post that to his wikipedia page.

squod wrote: »
    Someone should post that to his wikipedia page.

Funnily enough, I checked his wikipedia entry this evening to see if anyone had "edited" it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

ehhh...

look

• Registered Users Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭FlyingIrishMan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 947 ✭✭✭zef

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Hilarious. I'm going to pretend you're actually oblivious to what I mean and reiterate that by "Child pornography" I mean "the engagement of children in pornographic acts, recorded (whether via photographic, videographic, or other means) for distribution on the internet".

Child pornography isn't a matter to joke about, so don't even try to.

Despite this, I do not think the bill is a good thing, as it is too invasive, involving tracking ALL data on the internet, and was proposed by the same man as SOPA and PIPA, and was edited to pretty much encapsulate SOPA when it failed.

Now, either make a constructive comment or fuck right off.

I know what child pornography is. I didn't joke about it, I simply made a joke. I can see the difference between the two. If you weren't so busy acting offended then you might have seen that too. I mean, it was fairly fucking obvious.

So get down off your high horse & stop acting like an uppety gobshite.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

Hmm... so this is interesting to me as an American sitting in the US posting on an Irish message board. I am curious how this will impact the growth of Google's and Youtube's corporate presence in Ireland; can this impact jobs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Hmm... so this is interesting to me as an American sitting in the US posting on an Irish message board. I am curious how this will impact the growth of Google's and Youtube's corporate presence in Ireland; can this impact jobs?

It probably depends on how the law is used. I don't think Sherlock has a clue about the possible ramifications for this, which makes him a complete fuckwit who had nothing more in his mind than trying to make a name for himself.

Well, he's done that now, the goo-bag.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,364 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

When we all jump ship can we live with you? It will only be a few thousand at most.

Sound man!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

Keno 92 wrote: »
    When we all jump ship can we live with you? It will only be a few thousand at most.

Sound man!

Sure, I got room for two more peeps and a dog.

• Registered Users Posts: 82 ✭✭V4

How much more can this poxy government crap on us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Hands up who believed the Chinese were over this month to discuss trade and human rights.. Looks like Enda and his langer buddy were getting tips on Internet censorship from the professionals.

• Registered Users Posts: 187 ✭✭Viral Vector

A terrible day for Irish politics, any way this can be revoked (without the involvement of the EU)?

I can't understand why Sherlock, a man of this generation, would severly limit our ICT sector, there must have been some "involvement" with Sherlock and the music and film industries!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,405 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

So how about we riot straight to his house ! I have a feeling he was given a large cash sum to push this through given all the valid objections to this and it still gets passed.

Yeah it should be interesting to you. Consider Ireland as the litmus test for this law. It's here. Watch this space and see how this all pans out. Learn from it and tell as many of your fellow Americans that this is what happens when these types of laws are enacted in a particular country.

Facebook was founded in 2004. YouTube was founded in 2005.

If this law was enacted in those years would you consider making an Irish version of either websites?

I'd spend my time wondering the point of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

MaxSteele wrote: »
    Nice to know we have the EU dictating not only the irish economy, but Irish law and legislation. Sean Sherlock, you wimpy little bureaucratic string of piss.

:mad::mad::mad:

Now now, don't be passing blame, a perfectly sound and acceptable piece of legislation could have been passed to conform to the EUs wishes, this disastrous piece of filth, and the fact it was signed in against the public's wishes, is entirely Sherlock's fault.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Downlinz

The real appalling thing in all this is the lack of coverage given by the mainstream media. Sad really our national media is this corrupt, no doubt Joe Duffy will be talking about Dublin bins again tomorrow instead of something that actually matters.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭curry-muff

His Facebook Page is a good read, lots of lolworthy posts :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 129 ✭✭Rei-chan

Are we actually gonna do anything about this? Some sort of action... So far it's just complaining on the internet.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

100,000 internet signatures in the UK (50 Million or so population, 0.2%) gets a debate on the full opening of papers on Hillsborough in Westminster, all sides agreeing to do their best, even Tory toffs and Nottingham and Manchester MP's, setting sporting and social rivalries aside.

80,000 in this great Republic (4 Million population, 2.0%), gets passed anyway, no heed to the public whatsoever.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 GrafenPills

curry-muff wrote: »
    His Facebook Page is a good read, lots of lolworthy posts :pac:

He will claim his facebook page was hacked soon.
    Giving a a BS story in order to erase those comments. Watch and see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭talkinyite

It was bound to happen really. Web 2.0 is already here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

I find it cringeworthy when I look at his facefriend page and see nothing but 16 year old kids with their guy falks masks thinking they're hilarious with their "meme" generators.
    Half of them dont even make sense and are nothing but irrelevant text on some colouredy background with a face. They dont even know the meaning of memes, let alone have the right to vote. /rant