Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SIERRA VAN !!!!

• 26-02-2012 2:16pm
    Registered Users Posts: 895 ✭✭✭

well lads it has finally arrived , after months of speculation and head scratching and with a huge thank you to declan rafter ( black magic ) i am now the proud owner of what is believed to be the only sierra van in exsistance , now i know the sceptics among you will say " ah sure thats just a feckin estate with panels instead of glass " !!!!! but you'r wrong , from what we can gather from the first owners they wanted a mid size van from ford and something " a bit different " ,the local ford dealers here tried to sell them an escort van and a small transit but it wasnt what they were after so after a lot of searching they came up with this solution ,three of these vans were produced in-house by ford as an experimental demo vehicle to see if they would take off ,as you will see in the pictures it has a proper bulk head divider and a full flat floor , they were shipped to ford in cork and this one was delivered to sligo in january of 91 and subsequently bought by barton smiths of sligo , the other two vans dissapeared , maybe shipped back to england because they didnt sell , who knows , just ask yourself this " have you ever seen one " ???? the van has led a bit of a chequered past up until now and the most up to date info we can get on it is that she ended up in the hands of a sheep farmer ( hence the big pile of ****e in the back of it ) dizzy.png but again thanks to declan, he was aproached and a deal was done , it suffered a snapped timing belt in 2003 and it has been off the road since , dumped in a field !!! so enough talk, here are the pics i took of her last night as she was being delivered .

sierravan003.jpg
    sierravan004.jpg
    sierravan005.jpg
    sierravan006.jpg
    sierravan007.jpg
    sierravan008.jpg
    sierravan009.jpg
    sierravan010.jpg
    sierravan011.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 417 ✭✭quattro777

There were some on the continent, a guy who sells Ford spares imported 2 to the UK.
    6917654723_14678b460b_b.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭jimmyw

Thanks for that, I have just brought up my dinner:eek:.

Whos to say the farmer was not using it himself:D.Yuk!Yuk! That is a completely horrible mess. You are brave to be taking on this.I hope you got it for free!!.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭Redrocket

you've got your work cutout for you to get her back to glory, lovely piece of ford history tho!

• Registered Users Posts: 959 ✭✭✭manta mad

as redrocket says ,very nice bit of irish ford history you got ! :cool:

and you have your work cut out ,but it will be well worth it when you get it finished !

keep us posted on your progress please !

• Registered Users Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Odd yoke. Comes up as fuel type Gas?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,031 ✭✭✭Silvera

Nice find! Never heard of a Sierra Van before?!

You have a big task ahead of you, however the shell looks solid enough - the rest..seats, trim, engine, etc - shouldnt be too hard to source/replace.

Best of luck with it!
    Keep us updated.

...nice reg too '91-SO-111'
    ...the '1' is appropriate, being the only '1' of it's kind in Ireland!

• Registered Users Posts: 323 ✭✭a_v525

try to save the sierra van sticker, I doubt you'd be able to get your hands on another one if they were really 3 of a kind

• Registered Users Posts: 69 ✭✭Gene Hunt

Alot of work there....but I find it very hard to believe the conversion was done by Ford, that spot welding done around the rear back window is sh## to say the least but would be a nice van when done and I'm looking forward to the finished product:)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

The Sierra Van was sold in Holland, with fully closed off rear windows, not like the one in the pic above, but as they also needed the roof conversion for tax reasons I would think its possible the window conversions were done by a coachbuilder. The bulkhead on that Sierra doesn't look like its from Ford but its rare nonetheless and deserves to be saved, best of luck with it.

Pic here is of a Dutch Sierra Van, note the fully integrated panels on the windows.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/triggerscarstuff/6916303433/

Gene Hunt wrote: »
    Alot of work there....but I find it very hard to believe the conversion was done by Ford, that spot welding done around the rear back window is sh## to say the least

I agree here, it seems to have been an estate converted to a van at some stage in its life, but i really cant see ford having done it as a trial of just three cars. The sticker on the back could have been done by any sticker company.
    There wouldnt be any problem doing that to an estate and changing the tax from private to commercial at any stage of its life. Then it will show as commercial on the records.

Although, the rear lower bulkheads do look very similar on the irish and dutch vans, i will say that!

Post some pics of the inside of the blanked out windows and more of the loadbed when you get the crap cleaned out of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,264 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

That panel with the dodgy welds could have come from anywhere. Assuming that the history as described in the OP is correct, that rear door could have been replaced at any time due to damage and a botch done to replace the glass as a van door would not have been available.

Even that dutch car linked above has glass in one side for some reason.

• Registered Users Posts: 848 ✭✭✭gn3dr

I agree here, it seems to have been an estate converted to a van at some stage in its life, but i really cant see ford having done it as a trial of just three cars. The sticker on the back could have been done by any sticker company.
    There wouldnt be any problem doing that to an estate and changing the tax from private to commercial at any stage of its life. Then it will show as commercial on the records.

Although, the rear lower bulkheads do look very similar on the irish and dutch vans, i will say that!

Post some pics of the inside of the blanked out windows and more of the loadbed when you get the crap cleaned out of it.

I mentioned this in another forum where this was posted - but I remember seeing at least two more of these back in the 90's - a red one on Cork and I think a blue one in Killarney. I also have a vague memory of seeing a brown one somewhere in Irleand. None looked homemade - all looked factory like this one.

• Registered Users Posts: 182 ✭✭selfdiy

Good luck with the project. interesting to see what it looks like when cleaned out.
    I hope you got a large luck penny returned on that deal!

• Registered Users Posts: 683 ✭✭✭GSBellew

Interestingly there are no weights stamped on the ford chassis weight plate.

What is on the other rusty plate on the slam panel? Coach builders weight plate?

The lack of any weights on the ford plate would suggest it was either an incomplete chassis for a coach builder to convert to a hearse / ambulance etc or indeed a pre-production / experimental chassis.

• Registered Users Posts: 493 ✭✭68deville

nearly certain an 92 Wx red/maroon Sierra van was sold new by Bolands
    was a regular on the roads in the South east!

• Registered Users Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Raytown Rocks

And I thought you meant this??
    Ah well

• Registered Users Posts: 568 ✭✭✭kuro2k

gn3dr wrote: »
    I mentioned this in another forum where this was posted - but I remember seeing at least two more of these back in the 90's - a red one on Cork and I think a blue one in Killarney. I also have a vague memory of seeing a brown one somewhere in Irleand. None looked homemade - all looked factory like this one.

I used to see a white one alot around western road in Cork, last time i saw it was probably around 98/99

• Registered Users Posts: 183 ✭✭tinyjiney

Shouldnt a van have only two doors and no c pillar......
    Looks like an estate /van to me....

Well, whatever it is, full marks to greendragon for rescuing such a shed. And it was literally a shed....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭G Luxel

gn3dr wrote: »
    - a red one on Cork and..... .

the red car you mention could be or was operated by Cork Corporation and had a white stripe with coat of arms on the door. I think it was used by the water department. It was red and exactly the same layout in spec as the OPs car. This car was registered in 1991.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Capri

At last - vindicated !!

I'd seen a Sierra van in Dublin years ago but couldn't dig up any info on it so I was beginning to think that the ol brain was playing tricks.

Now i can stop taking the pills , and hit the pils :D:D

Next is to find the Pontiac Parisienne c.68, that I remember sitting in in Ranelagh years ago :eek:

http://www.pontiacuk.com/id75.html

• Registered Users Posts: 84 ✭✭tony.aspergers

Could have been converted by NVD at Kilrane, Rosslare, upon entry into Ireland, they did such conversions right up till the beginning of last year....

• Registered Users Posts: 895 ✭✭✭greendragon3

bit of an update lads , spent all day yesterday shoveling pooh.gif and taking off a lot of bits off the van to see what the actual shell itself was like , turns out its not too bad at all despite twenty years of dog and sheep piss rotting away into the carpet and the sound proofing , it came out in chunks instead of one piece !!!! bit of a nightmare getting out the seats and the rear door was siezed shut but plenty of WD40 and brute force shifted her , we found and managed to remove five rats nests from the back of the dash , id say there is more in there just have to get the dash out first !!!!!! we also had to take out the rear floor because the amount of pooh.gif gathered under here was unreal and we would have not been able to clean it properly other wise , anyway after a lot of stripping we got it o where it was ready for a blast of the power hose , its in the shed now drying out and we will start the body work soon , couple of sills and maybe a passenger floor might do the trick , fingers crossed , here are some more pics .
    sierravanand25113511001-1.jpg
    sierravanand25113511002-1.jpg
    sierravanand25113511007-1.jpg
    sierravanand25113511009-1.jpg
    sierravanand25113511011-1.jpg
    sierravanand25113511012-1.jpg
    sierravanand25113511015-1.jpg
    sierravanand25113511016-1.jpg
    sierravanand25113511017-1.jpg
    sierravanand25113511018-1.jpg
    sierravanand25113511023.jpg
    sierravanand25113511025.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭jimmyw

Jeez, you are a brave brave person:D.What a horrible job to be doing.I hope you reap the rewards from it.

Christ almighty what a manky yoke!!
    Looks good with a wash though, im amazed theres still a floor in it!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 536 ✭✭✭ahal

Christ almighty what a manky yoke!!
    Looks good with a wash though, im amazed theres still a floor in it!

Given how acidic wee wee is, it's held up surprisingly well. I think you'll need the Lord on your side with this ... and a giant quantity of Kurust :pac:

On the plus side, turning a project like this around has got to be all the sweeter :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,558 ✭✭✭Blue850

Yuck... seriously though don't let anyone near that van without gloves on, rat pi$$ is deadly. I lost a cousin to Weils disease.

Weils disease

• Registered Users Posts: 551 ✭✭✭trevorbrady

What a brave undertaking and given the starting point, the end result will be all the better.
    Keep us posted :)

• Registered Users Posts: 64,793 ✭✭✭✭unkel

What a brave undertaking and given the starting point, the end result will be all the better.
    Keep us posted :)

Must be the durtiest resto in history :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Bitten & Hisses

Yourself and the guy restoring the rotten P&T van seem to be cut from the same cloth!