Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Father Ted

• 13-02-2012 12:00am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭

Superb comedy really, hasn't aged at all in the 14 years since the last episode was made. One of the small few shows I can watch time and time again and still get a laugh from.

I'd imagine it was very controversial at the time of its release though.

What's your favourite episode? Personally I like ''Hell'', where the lads go on holiday to the caravan park and end up having to share a caravan with Father Noel Furlong (Graham Norton). Other classics are the episodes where Ted is accused of being racist and ''Kicking Bishop Brennan Up the Arse''.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Bonavox

I liked the one where Mrs Doyle kept offering them tea

Careful now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Speed 3.......the tits on yer wan :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Paully D wrote: »

I'd imagine it was very controversial at the time of its release though.

It wasn't, but thanks for making me feel old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Seomra Mushie

'Flight Into Terror'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

more water..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

If you ever say that to me again, i'll put your head through the wall

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

The one with Brendan Grace in it was good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭whatsamsn

Paully D wrote: »
    ... and still get a laugh from.

It was a great show and still remains a great show :)

But it does look dated. Its the little things. Like an old telecom eireann phonebox being a great example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Never heard of this show. Must check it out on the aul Netflix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,972 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

They're all epic.

Chris the Sheep is special though purely for the scene where Fargo Boyle is outed. Honourable mentions to the over75s and A Song For Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Yeh the caravan one, kick Bishop Brennan and The Mainland episode where they get trapped in the cave and the guest appearance of Richard Wilson.

Theres quite a few Father Ted threads out there now eh!

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

I'm more of a comedy man myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

That Priest who answered mobiles when they were a new thing.

He usually came to grief.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

It wasn't, but thanks for making me feel old.

Bleedin' Frostie! :rolleyes:

*continues playing Streetfighter II*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭Lady von Purple

I always liked Cigarettes, Alcohol and Rollerblading. Also that one with the Lovely Girls competition. Mainly for the line 'It's a long shot Dougal, but I'm going to leave this pen and paper here and hopefully when we wake up in the morning, God will have written down what we should do.'

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

That Priest who answered mobiles when they were a new thing.

He usually came to grief.:D
    Fr. Larry Duff :)

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭marketty

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Chris the Sheep is special though purely for the scene where Fargo Boyle is outed..

****in hell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

It really is terrific. Stands the test of time so well. There's so many good episodes.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,856 ✭✭✭paddy kerins

I got you that film, Reservoir dogs. It's probably not as violent as the ones you usually watch but, sure, give it a go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Just remembered another good one. Where Dougal causes a visiting priest to completely abandon his faith and the guy runs off with a bunch of dope smoking hippies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,947 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Going To America might be my favourite one. It's hard to choose just one though since each episode was nothing short of brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

A song for Europe . . Awesome . .

Also love the phrase that I got to say at my estates family fun day last year (somebody gave me a megaphone) -

"A child is stuck in the tunnel of goats" followed by "the child is now free from the tunnel of goats" . . Shame nobody knew what I was talking about, except the wife . .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭MickySticks

Xavi6 wrote: »
    They're all epic.

Chris the Sheep is special though purely for the scene where Fargo Boyle is outed. Honourable mentions to the over75s and A Song For Europe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

aidan24326 wrote: »
    Just remembered another good one. Where Dougal causes a visiting priest to completely abandon his faith and the guy runs off with a bunch of dope smoking hippies.
    That was when the 3 bishops came to bless the stone :) classic

The 11 yr old is getting the boxset off her dad for her birthday next week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,353 ✭✭✭buyer95

John Doe1 wrote: »

Clearly not, seeing as Father Ted ranks as one of the funniest comedy series ever

John Doe1 wrote: »

Father Stone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,379 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

aidan24326 wrote: »
    The one with Brendan Grace in it was good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

Careful now!

Down with this sort of thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

I genuinely love them all now, but I remember not being to keen on the Father Stone episode at first. However, upon repeated viewings it has really grown on me and is coming close to being my favourite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Owen_S

Would ya believe me own dog did that to me?

I think a better question is what's the worst episode?
    Its such a consistently brilliant show that I can't think of one episode that fell flat, I'll be surprised if anyone can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

I hear you're a racist now, father.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

buyer95 wrote: »
    Clearly not, seeing as Father Ted ranks as one of the funniest comedy series ever
    He's a loyalist unionist, nothing Irish will ever meet his approval. This cracks me up every time:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭EarlERizer

The one with the priests all 'lost' in the lingerie department, classic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭StereoLove

I love the one with all the rabbits :D

"Rats!" "Yes father, we can see them as well" "HAIRY JAPANESE BASTÁRDS!!"

But in general, Father Ted is just a classic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Reamer Fanny

Ride me sideways was another one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Its shyte. First time watching it I giggled a little bit. Now if its on i just go past it. Shyte shyte shyte programme. IMO obviously

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Reamer Fanny

Oasis or Blur?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭policarp

That would an Ecuramentical thingy. . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Having a picnic out on the Burren, clink two wine bottles together and Jack could instantly tell the brand and year

Impressive :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,972 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

seanybiker wrote: »
    Its shyte. First time watching it I giggled a little bit. Now if its on i just go past it. Shyte shyte shyte programme. IMO obviously

Yeah well your opinion's shite...so there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

"The old grey whistle Theft". Absolute genius from start to finish.

"He fuppin will an' all"

"Jacob's creek chardonnay 1995"

"Blur. I mean Oasis."

"No, they just reloaded and shot him again."

"and then the pimps..." etc. Too many classic lines. And classic characters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

I'm actually really disappointed in you hSean. I'm going to blank you from now on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

have to say, i think it's aged pretty badly tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

Every episode is a classic, will never tire of watching the show for as long as I live, comedy at it's best.

New Jack City is definitely a favourite "I wasn't asking for permission" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

can't say I have ever seen it.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,856 ✭✭✭paddy kerins

FatherLen wrote: »
    can't say I have ever seen it.

Not a bishop any more, no Len?