Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

50 thousand dole scroungers?

• 07-02-2012 2:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭

ok there is about 450,000 people unemployed people in the country now, in 2006 there were about 150,000 unemployed so would i be wrong in saying that there are about 300,000 people genuinely unemployed now? (no brainer)

so who were these 150,000 people when things were good? Are these the career scroungers we see people talking about in many posts on boards? I know no country has ever achieved nearly full employment as far as i'm aware, so lets say 2/3's of the were genuine between jobs that would still leave about 50 thousand people with no job. Is it possible we have 50k of career scroungers on our social protection bill? Or there is just never enough jobs for a country our size?

This is all abit what if, but how many people are taking the piss? Is it a small minority or is it the tens of thousands!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

After Hours? Unemployment thread?

Yeah, this should go well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

I am sure the banker scoungers probably cost us more than those 50,000 ;).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

The sun beams down on a brand new day
    No more welfare tax to pay
    Unsightly slums gone up in flashing light
    Jobless millions whisked away
    At last we have more room to play
    All systems go to kill the poor tonight

Gonna
    Kill kill kill kill Kill the poor:Tonight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I scratched my arse just there and my finger is smelly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 322 ✭✭Leo Dowling

Floating in the summer sky?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭MickySticks

It's 2:45 pm OP why aren't you in work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭stateofflux

phew!, for a minute there i thought this was ANOTHER dole thread...wait a minute..............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 323 ✭✭Underdraft

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭micropig

Well I used to run Anglo Irish bank.............now I just play golf??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

Took the day off mate

micropig wrote: »

Here's a billion euro bonus anyways you cheeky scamp you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭MickySticks

davet82 wrote: »
    Took the day off mate
    Pffffttt, no wonder the country's fecked.

Here's a billion euro bonus anyways you cheeky scamp you.

Why thanks and a billion for yourself sir:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

There will always be people who are in between jobs for a few months.

There are also some people who are plain unemployable for various reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

ok there is about 450,000 people unemployed people in the country now, in 2006 there were about 150,000 unemployed so would i be wrong in saying that there are about 300,000 people genuinely unemployed now? (no brainer)

so who were these 150,000 people when things were good? Are these the career scroungers we see people talking about in many posts on boards? I know no country has ever achieved nearly full employment as far as i'm aware, so lets say 2/3's of the were genuine between jobs that would still leave about 50 thousand people with no job. Is it possible we have 50k of career scroungers on our social protection bill? Or there is just never enough jobs for a country our size?

This is all abit what if, but how many people are taking the piss? Is it a small minority or is it the tens of thousands!!

Every possible iteration of a dole thread has been done.

Can we just start straight up pulling the piss in these threads from now on? It's the only way they might offer something good to AH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

s it a small minority or is it the tens of thousands!!
    Tens of thousands is a small minority. Long term unemployment during the boom was around 1-2%, and that includes those on disability. The actual number of lazy wasters is vanishingly small I would say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

Took the day off mate

To calculate the number of dole scroungers!?

Bit much....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

John Doe1 wrote: »
    The sun beams down on a brand new day
    No more welfare tax to pay
    Unsightly slums gone up in flashing light
    Jobless millions whisked away
    At last we have more room to play
    All systems go to kill the poor tonight

Gonna
    Kill kill kill kill Kill the poor:Tonight

Jello for Taoiseach! He'd soon clear up the mess!

To calculate the number of dole scroungers!?

Bit much....

It's ok, here's a billion for researching such an important issue and bringing it to AH:D

Just like the good old days!

I herd da ppl on da dole hav hooks 4 hands and eat chocol8 covered suasages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

How much money could we raise if we forced the 450,000 to each sell one kidney?

If that goes well then we can harvest the rest of their organs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

If Dev could figure out to make money off dole threads the national debt would be sorted by now

Start a taxi driver thread please OP
    We've not had one for a while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭CamperMan

he probably is in work misappropriating company time...:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

According to the latest figures I've just pulled from my arse, 64% of those 150,000 are Travellers and Eastern Europeans (mainly Roma) who claim fraudulently several times in different names so the actual number on the dole is a lot less and I blame Fianna Fail the shower of bastids they've ruined this country and did you mention the HouseHold charge? Yeah well don't because I am absolutely enraged over that aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

hard to believe i know - but there are dole scroungers out there alright. almost definitely. i think. ok it's possible. jaysus i dont know actually.

my head hurts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Its f**king ridiculous, im working five days a week and getting the dole but i can only afford one holiday this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭Jesus Shaves

Took the day off mate

You taking the day off work means revenue will receive less taxes this month.
    And you have the cheek to blame people like me who are scrounging on the dole!

Well i NEVER:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭whatsamsn

LastLaugh made a point :pac:

Because if the 2006 dole figures are correct. You have to consider the eastern euopeans, romanians, africans that were/are? scamming the welfare system (and no i am not a racist)

Sure with the ash clouds cancelling flights in 2010. The social welfare reported that 3,000+ people failed to sign in for that month. Obvious 'welfare tourists' as they call them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

the fact ireland has pubs open before lunchtime and our heroin problem proves that we have a lot of dole scroungers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

ireland has pubs open before lunchtime

For shift workers and tourists maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

the fact ireland has pubs open before lunchtime and our heroin problem proves that we have a lot of dole scroungers

Lol, last thread I opened on this board five minutes ago had you giving out about the lack of free market capitalism in this country, and here you are complaining about markets?

hahahahaha, what a statement:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭patwicklow

micropig wrote: »

ah hi Sean now about that loan you were gonna give me...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Benny_Cake

If someone was to go out and shoot 50000 random people in the face would that make you happy OP?

I'm surprised you have a problem with pubs opening before lunchtime, didn't you identify allowing off-licences to open 24 hours a day as a potential solution to getting us out of the recession?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

450,000 junkies in pubs before lunchtime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

Whatever about scroungers I would estimate the number of unemployable would be in the high 5 figures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

stovelid wrote: »
    For shift workers and tourists maybe?

Jesus, bit Celtic Tiger isn't it? Mr opulence going to the pub before work! La Dee Da! Few tinnies of Dutch before a shift would cost you half the price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

Benny_Cake wrote: »
    I'm surprised you have a problem with pubs opening before lunchtime, didn't you identify allowing off-licences to open 24 hours a day as a potential solution to getting us out of the recession?

Great idea. It's stupid the government can dictate what times you can do stuff. If you can buy fags at 4am you should be able to buy booze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

i dont have a problem with pubs being open before lunch, im just using it as evidence that ireland definitley has dole scroungers, if there wasnt a market, the pub wouldnt be open

That proves nothing - why would you assume that people in bars before lunch are "dole scroungers". They could be tourists, shift workers, or simply on a day off. A lot of pubs don't bother opening until lunchtime or later afternoon outside the cities now, so if there is a market, it's a pretty small one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭kevmol88

The rich have convinced the middle class to blame dutch gold guy. The oldest trick in the book works again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Terrible Joe,all them dole scroungers ruining our econmomy,the gall on them,some of them are even African,and they get 36 free prams and 6 tonne of cheese a month Joe,I heard that from my friends sister's mates cousin Joe so it's definitelt true,layabouts the lot of them,should be made to wipe us,who are paying their wages,arses Joe,on a daily basis too Joe.

If someone was to go out and shoot 50000 random people in the face would that make you happy OP?

just shooting you in the face would make me happy ;)

seriously though i dont really have a problem with the dole scoungers really, sounds like a pretty miserable existance to me anyways.

I was just wondering is it really the epidemic people make out as on many posts on boards. Like a previous poster said 'i pulled some statsitcs out of me arse' there could be 500 or 50k (was a little **** stirring i admit) but ya have to start a thread with a little controversy :p

anyways sorry i started another dole thread, apologies, maybe a dole forum should be created, anyone? :p

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?forumid=861

:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Are these the career scroungers we see people talking about in many posts on boards?

What about people looking to scrounge money off the state to pay for their houses?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=74624189

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

wes wrote: »
    I am sure the banker scoungers probably cost us more than those 50,000 ;).

wanna bet? those 50k (and its probably more to be honest) cost us about 2.4billion a year.

multiply that by their lifetime on the dole, the taxes they are not paying and the other benifits that they get for free and you want be long making up our banking hole.

we are having a banking crisis every 3 or 4 years due to our social budget, yet people keep ignoring this.

What about people looking to scrounge money off the state to pay for their houses?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=74624189

what an idiot, did you even read that thread? A loan off the council which is paid back with interest as a backup plan in case i dont get a approval off a bank, which i did by the way, isnt scrounging

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

lastlaugh wrote: »
    According to the latest figures I've just pulled from my arse, 64% of those 150,000 are Travellers and Eastern Europeans (mainly Roma) who claim fraudulently several times in different names

With a traveller population of around 30 odd thousand, and about 90% of the adults on the dole during the boom, with some undoubtedtly making multiple claims under the identities of deceased/ emigrated relatives of around the same age, your random statistics actually arent massively off the mark.

64% would be 80,000 odd.

Roughly 20,000 of these being unemployed adult travellers.

A significant percentage of them making multiple claims.

Classic :pac: Left wing "pulled out of my arse" piss take turns out more truthful than you would imagine.