Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

greyhound coursing men, cop on!!

• 03-02-2012 7:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37

well, was out their last week, doing a bit of ferreting with my son who is 9. we were doing well and had the permission to clear some rabbits in some silage fields. their seemed to be a lot of hares about and my whippet x jack russel had fun trying to get near them but she is just a ferreting bitch.
    anyhow, we had 6 rabbits and was about to have a cupa wheN a fella comes racing across the field to us waving his arms about shouting out, out, out!!!!
    he started fecking and blinding accusing me of hare coursing with a lurcher! :mad: i said calm down to him, he had a bloody great hurly in his hand waving it about. i was raging and said, now look it, i am after a few rabbits, what the feck are ya on about?? he said he was the official member of a coursing club in that area and that he had seen my dog running hares, i said i don't go after them but what can i do when the bloody things are everywhere!! i showed him the rabbits and said i was just ferreting, showed him the ferrets as well. he still was not satisfied the basterd and said thats just an escuse!! :confused:
    he was getting fairly hot now, with the hurly, i said you are starting to scare my son and said if he decided to use the fecking thing, i would not be held responsible for my actions!! i rang the farmer and he came straight out to us and took the bollix to aside and he went on his merry way!
    what the feck was that about i said to the farmer, he said the greyhound coursing men are very touchy and very protective of their hares, i said ''their hares'' i thought they were wild!!!???
    Its not right to do that, any greyhound coursing men reading this, ''COP ON TO YOUR SELFS''!!!!! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Farmlife

Fair play to you for keeping your cool, i'll listen to **** from someone all day, but someone waving a hurley in front of my kid...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

What your man done wasn’t right, a quite word would have done, but sure who could blame him for bringing a hurl with him the types of gob****es that are going these days.

But you have to use a small bit of cop on too at the same time. If they are having coursing meet in the next week or two and your dog is tearing around the field chasing hares all over the place, well I couldn’t blame the man for getting a bit excited. Did you not know you were on coursing club land?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Pokes

If it were my land id be telling that coursing club to clear off.At the end of the day you are doing the farmer a service. waving a hurl around in someone face is not on.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,743 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Thread temporarily closed pending review.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo