Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you drive to/in Dublin?*

• 01-02-2012 5:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

*Obvously applies to people who dont live there.

:p

I ask this because of the people who I know who dont live or have a regular reson to drive there, more and more wouldn't. This includs young/old, male/female, driving a few months/driving years.

Reasons are more traffic, the roads, motorway is too fast, etc etc.

Even went as far as someone who sat on with me when driving to another one of our Islands Citys for the first time, told them I had never driven there before when heading back home, they told me if they had known that, they me they would not have sat on as I had never driven the road before!

I can understand people might be nervous when driving to a different place for the first time, but surly it opens the arguement for more varied driving conditions in the test and lessons. In fairness I had the opertunity to drive on a HQDC during my lessons and in my test, so considered the Motorway to be just the same road but quicker. Had I not that opertunity, I to might have been appreshensive the first time.

My responce to my friend was, a road is a road. You drive according to the ROTR and the conditions.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

I find Dublin generally ok roads and traffic wise. The M50 is pretty grim though. Anything seemingly goes on that road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

I'm happy to drive anywhere in the world.

Dublin is definitely not a challenge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Another way to highlight the incompetency of Irish drivers, especially with Sat Navs anyone who has a licence should be capable of driving anywhere in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭crashplan

I'll drive anywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

Driving in dublin isint any more difficult than driving in a town or village to myself.

the thing is about dublin city is that parking fee and petrol VS. public transport fare.

so very recently myself i've decieded and done is if im in town for a whole day, i will use a bus or luas.

the one great thing i love doing if im driving in dublin city is that the bus lanes - not all are 24hour or all day.

some are open to all traffic between 12 AND 2 so i use them and skip traffic as during those times it not actually a bus lane.

and further proof of this is going into city centre using bus lane from heuston station right down to o connell street with a garda car behind me and nothing done bout it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭lau1247

agree with Cinio, Dublin is not the worst.. i've driven in much more challenging locations

West Dublin, ☀️ 7.83kWp ⚡5.66 kWp South West, ⚡2.18 kWp North East

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,620 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

People (especially women) from the country find drivers in Dublin very aggressive and the Walkinstown Roundabout is to be avoided at all costs.

Have to say myself that if I'm coming back to Dublin along the M7 on a Sunday evening and heading to the southside, I will usually avoid the M50 between the Red Cow and Tallaght because it's completely manic at weekends with lunatics out for a fun drive weaving in and out of lanes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭flyingsnail

I have driven into Dublin plenty of times, The first time was about 3 or 4 months after I passed my test and I didn’t find daunting but I did find it tiring because at the time I didn’t do much other than local driving. Any competent driver should be able to drive anywhere in the country without any problems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

I often get the train up if I am in the mood and slaughter a few pints in The Galway Hooker..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

robbie_998 wrote: »
    Driving in dublin isint any more difficult than driving in a town or village to myself.

We have one major junction in the town that I live in currently.
    It's just a major road crossing with minor road.
    I'd say about 50% of local drivers has absolutely no clue who has the right of way on this junction. When it comes to someone turning right or left there, it's even worse.
    Additionally, I reckon it's over 80% of local drivers who don't use indicators at all (never).

TBH I can't imagine those people driving in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Blut2

Oh dear, if someone finds driving in Dublin scary never let them near the wheel in Paris/Rome/any second world city. Dublin's fairly lacking in signpostage, especially compared to American cities, but otherwise both the roads and the drivers are far less demanding than in many other places.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

-Corkie- wrote: »
    I often get the train up if I am in the mood and slaughter a few pints in The Galway Hooker..
    I think everyone is talking about driving in Dublin not going for a ride Corkie

johnos1984 wrote: »
    I think everyone is talking about driving in Dublin not going for a ride Corkie

:eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mountain

"slaughter a few pints" haven't heard that for a long time!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭Ninap

I regularly drive in Paris and London, but I can see why some people might have a problem in Dublin. The signage is appalling, and traversing the city very confusing if you're not a local. The only place I might hesitate to drive is Tehran. I must have seen about 20 minor accidents in the space of 3 days. Rush hour lasts all day. Everyone drives 30 year old Hilman Hunters and doesn't mind getting them bashed. A three lane motorway usually has 6 lanes of traffic....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,061 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Dublin drivers are usually a bit more relaxed than other Irish cities and town, allowances will be made for wrong lane late indication in traffic, people will generally let you out in traffic, gaps are left even with no yellow box and most people will merge properly. A nod or a wave will go a long way if you are lost and need to change lane.

Of course you will get the odd gobsheen, but that's to be expected everywhere. In my experience there is a bit more leniency and patience in Dublin.

You will get people logging on and harping on about how everyone is "in a rush" and all Dublin drivers are rude and aggressive. But that's simply not the case, it's pub talk.

Edit... Ninap is 100% correct, signage is brutal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

Ninap wrote: »
    I regularly drive in Paris and London, but I can see why some people might have a problem in Dublin. The signage is appalling, and traversing the city very confusing if you're not a local. The only place I might hesitate to drive is Tehran. I must have seen about 20 minor accidents in the space of 3 days. Rush hour lasts all day. Everyone drives 30 year old Hilman Hunters and doesn't mind getting them bashed. A three lane motorway usually has 6 lanes of traffic....

They aren't Hunters, they are brand spanking new Paykans :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭teddansonswig

the thing is about dublin city is that parking fee and petrol VS. public transport fare.

robbie you giving all our secrets away shush!!

mountain wrote: »
    "slaughter a few pints" haven't heard that for a long time!!!

Neither have I unfortunatley....:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭rain on

It would never occur to me not to drive in Dublin, or anywhere in Ireland for that matter. I always figured if the blithering idiots that make up an alarmingly large percentage of the driving population can manage it, so can I.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

John_Rambo wrote: »
    Dublin drivers are usually a bit more relaxed than other Irish cities and town, allowances will be made for wrong lane late indication in traffic, people will generally let you out in traffic, gaps are left even with no yellow box and most people will merge properly. A nod or a wave will go a long way if you are lost and need to change lane.

Of course you will get the odd gobsheen, but that's to be expected everywhere. In my experience there is a bit more leniency and patience in Dublin.

You will get people logging on and harping on about how everyone is "in a rush" and all Dublin drivers are rude and aggressive. But that's simply not the case, it's pub talk.

Edit... Ninap is 100% correct, signage is brutal.

+1. Experienced this trying to get around the round about at the Junction of the N4/South Circular. To get arcross 2/3 lanes of traffic to make a single lane exit was alot of fun.

A friendly glance and nod, good use of indicators, and a display of confience is sometimes all that is needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

It's just fear of the unkown really.

I was in the states last year and was a bit edgy about driving in LA. Was grand although the roads are in sh1te and there's sh1tloads of traffic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

i'd drive anything anywhere...the harder it is, the more I like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

You get the train from Cork to Dublin if you fancy a pint ????

I'd hate to see what you do when you fancy a kebab afterwards!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,620 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

The only place I might hesitate to drive is Tehran. I must have seen about 20 minor accidents in the space of 3 days. Rush hour lasts all day. Everyone drives 30 year old Hilman Hunters and doesn't mind getting them bashed. A three lane motorway usually has 6 lanes of traffic....

Sounds similar to Cairo except there most of the cars are secondhand rejects from Germany, most of them look and smell like they failed the German equivalent of the NCT on emissions. Since the Egyptians drive on the left (relic of Empire) and the cars are all continental LHD models, it makes for 'interesting' driving habits because in most cars the driver can't see the oncoming traffic when he's overtaking!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

Signposting is poor, which doesn't really help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

The day I passed my test I had to drive up to Dublin to go to the Korean Embassy, had to go up again the following day too.

I've also driven in London, all over Korea and in Vietnam. To be honest I don't see the problem with driving in Dublin

If you don't know where you are going, just look ahead and check you mirrors and be sure you don't crash into any one, you'll eventually find your way.

MugMugs wrote: »
    You get the train from Cork to Dublin if you fancy a pint ????

I'd hate to see what you do when you fancy a kebab afterwards!!!

Dart to Howth....:cool:

I drive around the city a good bit but if I was going for a nite out I would train it, better of if something happens the next morning..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Driving around dublin is no different to anywhere else, the only issue is figuring out where the fcuk you're going, and which roads you need to take. Signage is nothing short of dreadful tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

After a recent drive around Cork, I'd say Dublin is a walk in the park by comparrison. The poor standard of driving coupled with a chip on the shoulder, aggresive standard of driving I saw down there makes it a far dodgier place to drive IMO. Although there were far less cars than in Dublin, the entire place was chaos and everybody was in a hurry to get nowhere.

Atleast in Dublin, after years of poor organisation, the place is now fairly well laid out. It all flows well enough. The quantity of traffic might be far greater than in other parts of the country but its because of this very reason that the standard is better. That said, there's nutters everywhere :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

I find that the biggest problem with rural drivers in Dublin is that they are not accustomed to sharing the road with bicycles especially at junctions. Bicycle commuters tend to be a lot rarer in smaller towns and villages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

I enjoy driving in cork. My Garda look a like D reg makes me laugh as people become very well behaved around me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,352 ✭✭✭alias no.9

the one great thing i love doing if im driving in dublin city is that the bus lanes - not all are 24hour or all day.

some are open to all traffic between 12 AND 2 so i use them and skip traffic as during those times it not actually a bus lane.

that's all well and good but just don't go telling everyone else :rolleyes:

I bet you tell everyone about places close to the city centre that you can park for free too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

alias no.9 wrote: »
    that's all well and good but just don't go telling everyone else :rolleyes:

I bet you tell everyone about places close to the city centre that you can park for free too

dont know any :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Fiona

Cant see the fuss about driving into Dublin myself. Follow the signs its rocket science. If you cant think fast and follow directions then you should not be driving! And sat nav. Lazy people read a bloody map!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

I have lived in Cork all my life and I find it harder to drive around there than Dublin. More weird junctions, no right turns and one way traffic in Cork. Not to mentions the confusing rivers, lack of signage and narrow two way street.

Dublin is grand. I have driven Paris, Berlin, London and loads more in the Uk and Europe, but Cork is the worst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭puppetmaster

Dublin Is one of the easiest European citys ive driven in.
    The only reason i could see that people wouldn't drive in it is fear of the unknown living quiet ruraly. But realistically Dublin roads and setup have come a long long way since the "Was that my exit" while holdin onto the door handle on the redcow rdbt moments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭bladebrew

i remember the first time i drove in dublin city centre, i was coming from galway and forgot to take the m50:o, it wasnt as bad as i thought it would be, basically no signage though,
    saab ed and maidhc have a very good point cork it way worse for driving, the city centre in cork is tiny but very confusing if your not used to it,
    and the standard of driving from most people is terrible! only the greeks are worse:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

I drove in dublin for a year just after getting my license. If you can remember how to get around the one way streets along the quays its fine. The big problem for me is that you don't know what other drivers will do at roundabouts. I think that's the major difference between the UK and RoI driver testing. And obviously with more traffic on a roundabout its a bigger problem that people dont know when to signal and change lanes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

mrs crilly wrote: »
    Cant see the fuss about driving into Dublin myself. Follow the signs its rocket science. If you cant think fast and follow directions then you should not be driving! And sat nav. Lazy people read a bloody map!
    The problem is that on the M50 you get a sign miles before your exit telling you that its coming up and you think you missed it. Or, you get a sign to late and you have to squeeze through 3 or 4 lanes to get to the exit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭whydoibother?

I think it's fine. I don't think anywhere in Ireland has the volume of traffic to make driving truly "stressful" - of course exceptions for the elderly, learners, previously traumatised etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Funnily enough, I love driving in Dublin and only get to do it maybe 10 times a year max. Driving the same roads every day is boring, mixing it up with city centre driving keeps you on your toes. You also have more interaction with other drivers in a city which I enjoy. I don't even mind sitting in traffic in Dublin, for some reason I like it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭whydoibother?

Funnily enough, I love driving in Dublin and only get to do it maybe 10 times a year max. Driving the same roads every day is boring, mixing it up with city centre driving keeps you on your toes. You also have more interaction with other drivers in a city which I enjoy. I don't even mind sitting in traffic in Dublin, for some reason I like it!

I don't know if I'd go as far as love personally, but I totally take your point that driving round a city is a lot more interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

See I don't get down enough to make it the daily annoyance that others have to endure. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

corktina wrote: »
    .the harder it is, the more I like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,488 ✭✭✭Ryath

I find Dublin one of the easiest places to drive in yes signage is crap and you really do need to know your way around but drivers in Dublin are generally much better I think. They behave predictably are generally in the correct lanes and use roundabouts and indicators correctly.

I live down the country now and it is definitively much worse for drivers doing stupid things, farmers who will just stop in the middle of the road to look at cattle in the field, indicators what are they for why would I be letting anyone know my business? Roundabouts sure any lane will do. Even a simple thing like a separate lane for turning right in my local town I am constantly behind people who don't go into it then at the last second go to make the turn straddling the two lanes blocking traffic coming behind. This is a bloody cul de sac that only leads to houses and a golf club so it's not like these people don't know where they're going. Sorry rant over :o

I definitely think I'm a better driver for having learned in Dublin and also worked my way up the food chain with 6 years cycling and then 5 years on motorbikes before I ever drove a car in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,546 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

maidhc wrote: »
    I have lived in Cork all my life and I find it harder to drive around there than Dublin. More weird junctions, no right turns and one way traffic in Cork. Not to mentions the confusing rivers, lack of signage and narrow two way street.

Dublin is grand. I have driven Paris, Berlin, London and loads more in the Uk and Europe, but Cork is the worst.

Dublin's a piece of cake. Cork can be a bitch. I had the misfortune few years ago to hit Cork on a day when almost every one-way system was going the other way. About 2001. Water or gas or something. Jesus was that confusing and I knew Cork fairly well. I was a seasoned sales rep doing 1500 miles a week some weeks.

Off-thread, but on the way home that night to the Midlands, after being in Ballincollig, Youghal, Trabolgan then back over to Bantry, I got LOST in Mallow and did THREE circuits of the ****ing town before I could find my way out. Blind tired. Strangely, the same happened to me in Boyle a few months ago! Always better to be driving alone when you have **** for brains moments....

Dublin's mainly a breeze; the drivers have a good common sense- about them. I learnt to drive in Dublin in the 90s on an L-plate 205 XRAD. Fun days! But i'd been driving tractors since a kid and motorbikes in between.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

draffodx wrote: »
    Another way to highlight the incompetency of Irish drivers, especially with Sat Navs anyone who has a licence should be capable of driving anywhere in Ireland.

It would help if the roads had names on them and/or a direction sign on the next junction, which is usually within sight of the junction with a monstrous sign telling you go this way to x.

Every other country I've driven in has names on the roads and proper sign age at junctions.

Why does it have to be so bad and worst accepted here.
    A three lane motorway usually has 6 lanes of traffic....

It's better than here where 3+ lane roads only use 2 lanes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Sure, I'd drive in Paris or even Rome (with a sat nav). Major cities are easier in the sense that traffic is slower generally and as long as you know where you're going it's a piece of cake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Fiona

The problem is that on the M50 you get a sign miles before your exit telling you that its coming up and you think you missed it. Or, you get a sign to late and you have to squeeze through 3 or 4 lanes to get to the exit.

Nah mate thats bollix im sorry! If you missed your turn off you werent concentrating and reading the road ahead you need to brush up on your observation skills. If you need to cross 3 or 4 lanes to get to your exit that means that your driving in the overtaking lane when you shouldnt be! Next excuse