Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheap Sat Navs

• 29-01-2012 6:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,908 ✭✭✭✭

Just logged on to halfords.ie and went to sat nav clearance section.

Sat Navs from €6!!

Ordered a garmin with full european and gb/ireland maps for €59.90

Random stores seem to have them but i got sorted with mine for coolock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Clicked on the N Drive Touch XL and one price says €6 but in the product description it's €104

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,908 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

My confirmation came through at €59.90...

Will call the store in the morning to make sure.

Do they have to stand over that price i wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭MickShamrock

I reserved this one for €6. My reservation email hasn't come yet, but I received a text which just gives a ref number. No price.

http://www.halfords.ie/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_storeId_11101_catalogId_15551_productId_729067_langId_-1_categoryId_261853

Any good as a basic Sat Nav?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭pavb2

Bought a Garmin Nuvi 1410 this morning €109, €40 off, nice wide screen.

Halfords Waterford, same reduced price on line. Phew !!!!

Sure you probably couldn't get a map for 6 quid!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

I reserved this one for €6. My reservation email hasn't come yet, but I received a text which just gives a ref number. No price.

http://www.halfords.ie/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_storeId_11101_catalogId_15551_productId_729067_langId_-1_categoryId_261853

Any good as a basic Sat Nav?
    Yeah, reserved the same.

If the Sat Nav is useful, let's hope it's running C.E or something.

Basq wrote: »
    Yeah, reserved the same.

If the Sat Nav is useful, let's hope it's running C.E or something.

Any confirmation email for you yet Basq?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,016 ✭✭✭mad m

If you check stock, they say none in stock....But this is for Dubin...They might be in stock elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭robertpatterson

None in stock anywhere in the ROI according to their website:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Schorpio

None in stock in Cork, Limerick or Tralee either.

EDIT - Kilkenny the only store showing with stock at the mo.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

Thanks OP - got a nice 4310 f0r €59 incl 2 years of maps. Text received, no email yet.

Now to sell my smaller one...

Any confirmation email for you yet Basq?
    Nope.. do they normally e-mail?

Printed confirmation should be sufficient.

Nope.. do they normally e-mail?

Printed confirmation should be sufficient.

Don't know. Just thought they might since they required email address.

Just printing out my confirmation now.

Their site does say:
    If an administrative error has resulted in an incorrect price being displayed, we reserve the right to correct that price and notify you accordingly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭Siobh73

Yeah , I tried reserving all of the up to E60 and none in stock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭rai555

Perhaps with little help of boards :

Generic Error

The store is currently experiencing problems. Try again later.

Try clicking here to return to the page you came from.

We apologise for any inconvenience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

Use Google navigation - the robo-lady mangles Irish place-names so spectacularly, makes me feel as if I'm abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭CH3OH

I'd be very wary of travelling any distance before checking with the store that the product is actually in stock.
    In the past I ordered something online from Halfords that appeared to be the last one in stock. Gave them a ring to make sure it was there before I travelled. Was told that it hadn't been in stock for months, but the stock system said there was one in store. Couldn't be found.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,340 CMod ✭✭✭✭Davy

CH3OH wrote: »
    I'd be very wary of travelling any distance before checking with the store that the product is actually in stock.
    In the past I ordered something online from Halfords that appeared to be the last one in stock. Gave them a ring to make sure it was there before I travelled. Was told that it hadn't been in stock for months, but the stock system said there was one in store. Couldn't be found.

I have had similar experience with halfords. It wasnt even something that we on offer. Staff didn't really care either

I only have a 10 minute walk to check and see if I'm successful in getting a Sat Nav for €6 tomorrow, so no big deal. If you ain't in, you can't win! :pac:

Yeah, I'm driving past it... not sure if I should go in at 9 and be a little late for work.

Or just wait til lunch.

Think I'll wait til lunch as I've to go to PC World next door to it at some stage tomorrow too.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

Collected mine this morning without issue. However they did say that there were reservations made for items that haven't been instore for years so I'd advise patience.

parsi wrote: »
    Collected mine this morning without issue. However they did say that there were reservations made for items that haven't been instore for years so I'd advise patience.
    Yeah, the N Drive Touch model has been discontinued for a long time so not holding out much hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭dowtchaboy

Yeah, I'm driving past it... not sure if I should go in at 9 and be a little late for work.

You work? :eek:

Didn't think you had time between moderating fora and collecting bargains.:)

dowtchaboy wrote: »
    You work? :eek:

Didn't think you had time between moderating fora and collecting bargains.:)
    Fluffy kittens and gumdrops only pay for a certain number of bargains..

.. everything else needs MUNNN-AAYYYYY!

I just got an e-mail confirmation saying my order is ready for collection, so that's reassuring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭Macspower

Got a call today from the Navan store to say my Sat Nav is ready for collection. 39 euro one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Think they are trying to clear out some stock. A friend of mine works there and got me one including a case for peanuts. End of Quarter or end of Financial Year trying to get shot of the things.

I got mine including a new map, vent holder and leather case(downloaded from TomTom) for less than the price an updated map on my 6 year old Sat Nav would have cost.

Mine was a TomTom One V4 with Western European mapping.

I hear the one in Limerick has a Sat Nav with Lifetime maps for €150.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭VirtualWorld

Picked up my 6e sat nav this morning without issue. After reading your comments about people being let down I was already to quote the law of contract, hammer my fists and stamp my feet. Will have to pick a row with someone else now. Damnit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭Digital Satellite TV

Jaysus, that's savage. Just reserving a garmin... 11.90 eur...

http://www.halfords.ie/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_storeId_11101_catalogId_15551_productId_525145_langId_-1_categoryId_261853

again, savage.

addition.... None available in ROI

Easy sell stuff for nothing if you don't have it:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭Digital Satellite TV

Just to add for any other culchies in the Midlands... Tried all the cheap ones up to 20-odd bucks and none are available in stores in the Midlands region....

easy come, easy go!
    Jaysus, that's savage. Just reserving a garmin... 11.90 eur...

http://www.halfords.ie/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_storeId_11101_catalogId_15551_productId_525145_langId_-1_categoryId_261853

again, savage.

addition.... None available in ROI

Easy sell stuff for nothing if you don't have it:mad:

BOOM!

photo_2_13.jpg

Thanks again to the OP!

Got the same one Basq. No problem at all. Salesperson said they flew off the shelves. I also got convinced to buy a case for it which was only 3 Euro.

Thanks again OP! Great find.

I also got convinced to buy a case for it which was only 3 Euro.
    I got one too but was charged a fiver..

.. ah well, can't complain!

Well done lads.....unfortunately i didn't get mine:(

Got 3 texts to say it was in stock and ready to collect but when i rang i was told it was out of stock!!

Ordered another one to collect in tallaght so here's hoping.

If not i'll get the mother on the case in the north and hopefully i'll get something for the summer holidays this year.

mfceiling wrote: »
    Well done lads.....unfortunately i didn't get mine:(

Got 3 texts to say it was in stock and ready to collect but when i rang i was told it was out of stock!!

Ordered another one to collect in tallaght so here's hoping.

If not i'll get the mother on the case in the north and hopefully i'll get something for the summer holidays this year.

Hard luck! I got a text last night confirming, then two texts this morning and a voicemail from the store letting me know it was ready for collection!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Lanigamadan

Thanks OP - I picked up a Tom Tom One for €20 plus the now obligatory case (for €2)!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭podge3

Anyone in the Carlow region looking for a €6 sat nav?

I have 2 of these reserved in the Carlow store but I can't make it to the store today and the reservations expire tonight.

Anyone in the area interested in collecting both units and keeping one for themselves? I will Paypal the cost of the other plus postage to me in Tipperary.

PM me if anyone is interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭n1ck

Sold out everywhere. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭ecomac

podge3 wrote: »
    Anyone in the Carlow region looking for a €6 sat nav?

I have 2 of these reserved in the Carlow store but I can't make it to the store today and the reservations expire tonight.

Anyone in the area interested in collecting both units and keeping one for themselves? I will Paypal the cost of the other plus postage to me in Tipperary.

PM me if anyone is interested.

PM Sent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Mylow

I reserved 2 of these for collection in Sligo. I was hoping to get courier friend to collect them.

Anyone in Sligo want one of these, and post the other to me. I can send money via paypal or bank.

They cost €90 each.

Mylow wrote: »
    I reserved 2 of these for collection in Sligo. I was hoping to get courier friend to collect them.

Anyone in Sligo want one of these, and post the other to me. I can send money via paypal or bank.

They cost €90 each.
    Are you sure that both are available for collection?

As previously mentioned, I had 2 reserved in Carlow. When I rang to confirm, I was informed that it was "ONE PER CUSTOMER" :mad:

So they had kindly cancelled one of the sat navs :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 uchinal2010

I have a 6 Euro Navigon gps ready for collection in Wexford. anybody wants to exchange this with the one in dublin stores? I don't mind if its little bit expensive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭andreac

Does anyone know if any are available before i go checking each one?? Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,626 ✭✭✭davehey79

what model and where are you looking to collect ? as far as i can remember from searching earlier Navan has nothing in stock same as Longford branch until you get up to the 60euro and above models

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 uchinal2010

I have a 6 Euro Navigon gps ready for collection in Wexford. anybody wants to exchange this with the one in dublin stores? I don't mind if its little bit expensive

sorry its gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭andreac

Was hoping for a cheap one, but the cheapest im finding is 34 in Coolock. Might leave it for now. Thanks anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Mylow

podge3 wrote: »
    Are you sure that both are available for collection?

As previously mentioned, I had 2 reserved in Carlow. When I rang to confirm, I was informed that it was "ONE PER CUSTOMER" :mad:

So they had kindly cancelled one of the sat navs :rolleyes:

Yes they have both, confirmed with store.

Hmmm...:mad::mad:

I was wondering where the lady on the phone pulled the "one per customer" rule from.

I wonder where my second sat nav is now :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Paulo_B

They cost €90 each.

I also have 2 reserved in the Sligo store. Guy called Philip is being very helpful and holding them for a few extra days. They don't accept payment over the phone so trying to find another way to pay & collect them. The idea of driving over 5 hours is not to appealing. :confused: