Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do people dislike Bernard Dunne?

• 29-01-2012 12:28pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭

Seen this somewhere ealse and wanted to see what people taught. There seems to be general dislike of him outside of Dublin? People might say cos he was "Too Dublin" for the rest of the country.The beady eyes the harsh accent, but then so was Steve Collins, and everyone loved him in his day!
    People also say he was cocky/arrogant? But he was no cockier or more arrogant than any other champion boxer in the world.

One thing about him though is after winning the world title he did become a bit of a sell out and was more intersted in getting his face in the media as much as he could insteed of defending his title. He also seemed to also go forr the handy fights and not go outside of Ireland.

So what do people think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

I don't know one person that dislikes him, so don't know where you got that perception from.

and I'm outside Dublin btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Whut?

People don't like Bernard Dunne :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

I don't dislike him, but didn't ever think he was world class. I never liked Collins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,373 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I think he's a likable guy. Who dislikes him as a person?

As a boxer I never rated him high. Just didn't see anything special. Neat boxer, slick, a good amateur career, but as a pro I didn't see anything special. When I analyse his career I see ONE win over a top ten rated opponent. One.

The rest of his wins came against very average, one or two above average, and some quite poor opponents.

If stating this equates to a dislike for Bernard, then I am a bit flummoxed.

What I did see as odd was the ridiculous hype from Peters and RTE and the whole camp when trying to portray some of the fights as top class, world class etc. That was just ridiculous, and may have led to this dislike/annoyance etc.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭lala88

I dont dislike him myself. Just see it somewhere and wanted to know if people had a view on it

lala88 wrote: »
    I dont dislike him myself. Just see it somewhere and wanted to know if people had a view on it

I would think that mostly it's people outside of Dublin. Isn't that the general view anyway. Jealous of us Dubs!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

Only man I ever seem to use his nose as a guard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

I disliked the hype and the image that because he had a belt he was the best in the world. And i admit, shamefully, i'd a wry smile when Poonsawat dealt with him but i don't dislike him. Never met him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭chilipepper

Hey guys just found this forum.
    I always thought bernard was a likeable guy and always gave 100% in the ring, and i respect him for that.
    There is a few people who dont really follow boxing who dislike him just because he is a dub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

corny wrote: »
    I disliked the hype and the image that because he had a belt he was the best in the world. And i admit, shamefully, i'd a wry smile when Poonsawat dealt with him but i don't dislike him. Never met him.

Promoters promote, he was great entertainment and a skilful boxer, as a fight fan I enjoyed every show I went to of his, only 2 I missed where his 2 defeats!!

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

I have to say I like him too

cowzerp wrote: »
    Promoters promote, he was great entertainment and a skilful boxer, as a fight fan I enjoyed every show I went to of his, only 2 I missed where his 2 defeats!!

Great entertainment against guys who were just very poor. I mean, anyone can look good, and entertain under those circumstances. The hype was really laughable if you look at it from a subjective view. Not saying one cannot enjoy, but really the enjoyment/entertainment should be fully analysed. When he stepped up the entertainment was NILL, for me, apart from a great buzz in March 2009 vs. Cordoba. Getting destroyed vs. Kiko and PK was a sad site.

As an analyst and speaker I always found him to be quite good. Nice guy too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

seems like quite an amiable chap to me,most pro boxers by their very mature put themselves across as cocky to the extreme,havnt seen that from Bernard to be fair.

walshb wrote: »
    Great entertainment against guys who were just very poor. I mean, anyone can look good, and entertain under those circumstances. The hype was really laughable if you look at it from a subjective view. Not saying one cannot enjoy, but really the enjoyment/entertainment should be fully analysed. When he stepped up the entertainment was NILL, for me, apart from a great buzz in March 2009 vs. Cordoba. Getting destroyed vs. Kiko and PK was a sad site.

1st off his opposition was ok, not world class like Mcgee would make out but they where not bad-secondly people who went enjoyed it so got entertained and there moneys worth, the thread is why was he disliked, not was he good etc,,, i don't want this to turn into a Dunne's ability thread.

unless thats why you don't like him-overall i think he's liked and the people who dislike him tend to be the bitter Irish type that don't like seen people do well for themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 Don Booker

Good singer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 759 ✭✭✭tryingmybestt

who doesn't like Dunne....never heard this before

he was great for boxing in ireland

his title winning fight was one of the most exciting fights ever with an irish boxer involved....i remember the atmosphere at the o2, unbelievable

he was an excellent amateur and always down to earth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭keane=cock

personally i liked him both as a person and as a boxer.

as for the dislike of him? yeah ive heard a bit of it. but i think it was more a dislike for what they considered an over rated fighter than his personality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭colly10

I don't think i've ever heard of someone disliking him as a person. He always comes across very we'll any time i've seen him being interviewed.
    Some find him overrated but I don't think he has been disliked because of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭barney4001

im surprised at that statement i always thought he was an ok guy,never fancied him to win a world title though a classy boxer but no dig,but he proved me wrong anyway,when he won the title he looked done and dusted but fair play he got up and found the strength from somewhere to win by ko,i had a feeling that Poonsawatt would soon get to Bernard' far to strong a puncher for him
    i think Jimmy Magee is very baised where irish fighters are concerned,if you listened to him Ireland is awash with would be world champions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

All the naysayers were shut up when he beat Cordoba. That was a war, and he fought his heart out to win it. I think Bernard's biggest flaw was his chin was a little suspect, and that it totally outside of his control. His heart was in every fight, but in his 2 losses - his legs gave out, even if every other part of his body wanted to stay in it.

He brought interest in boxing back to Ireland. I liked him. He was a bit cocky - but that's boxing for you. He won't be the first cocky fighter, and certainly won't be the last.

As for rating him - I think he was a very skillful boxer - just lacked power and chin. Stuff you either have or you don't. If he had either of them, he would have gone on to become one of the greatest SBW's.

If one thinks Dunne was disliked as a person/boxer, what does it say about Khan?

barney4001 wrote: »
    im surprised at that statement i always thought he was an ok guy,never fancied him to win a world title though a classy boxer but no dig,but he proved me wrong anyway,when he won the title he looked done and dusted but fair play he got up and found the strength from somewhere to win by ko,i had a feeling that Poonsawatt would soon get to Bernard' far to strong a puncher for him
    i think Jimmy Magee is very baised where irish fighters are concerned,if you listened to him Ireland is awash with would be world champions

Thats very true but thats the same with RTE and any sport Ireland are in.

He was hyped up alot to be fair to him and plus he was always fighting in Ireland so he always had the home crowd! It just seemed to me he never went looking for the big fights. Now id have alot more respect from them then i would Kenny Egan who clearly is happy being the big fish in the small pond

Thats very true but thats the same with RTE and any sport Ireland are in.

He was hyped up alot to be fair to him and plus he was always fighting in Ireland so he always had the home crowd! It just seemed to me he never went looking for the big fights. Now id have alot more respect from them then i would Kenny Egan who clearly is happy being the big fish in the small pond

Egan is an amateur. That small pond is called the world.

Yes but after winning an Olympic medal any boxer whos any bit good should be turning pro. He's 30 years old now so his chance is gone

So from your post do you believe he loses your respect because he chose to stay as an amatuer?

I would analyse Dunne's pro career before making that statement. I wouldn't lose respect for either man, the one who goes pro or the one who stays amateur.

My view is that Egan never would have suited the pro game anyway. Same as Carruth didn't and some other very good amateurs. Sure, Dunne's style wasn't really suited to the pro game either, when you look at it.

So from your post do you believe he loses your respect because he chose to stay as an amatuer?

I would analyse Dunne's pro career before making that statement. I wouldn't lose respect for either man, the one who goes pro or the one who stays amateur.

My view is that Egan never would have suited the pro game anyway. Same as Carruth's didn't and some other very good amateurs. Sure, Dunne's style wasn't really suited to the pro game either, when you look at it.

Is says alot about him if you ask me. Surly thats a boxers aim to turn pro? Carruth did turn pro may not have been a success but at least he took a chance

He took a chance, but really, for what? Money and to make a name. And fair play to him. Egan could have turned pro and met a host of average and less than average fighters and made a few bob. I don't think he stayed amatuer out of any fear or a lack of balls.

egan stayed amateur because he knew he wouldn't make a good professional

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭colly10

Egan was a top class amature, he's just not suited to the pro game though.
    Pro is a different game and a good amature does not necessarily make a good pro.

I can't understand anyone being critical of him, the guy has been at the top of the game for a long time. Even now with his best years behind him Ward is the only one at 81kg that's at his level

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,583 ✭✭✭LeBash

corny wrote: »

So, its actually your fault then. I now dislike you and hold Bernard in the highest place I'd respect.

LeBash wrote: »
    So, its actually your fault then. I now dislike you and hold Bernard in the highest place I'd respect.

I don't know if that's aimed at me or what it means!

Most boxers I know dream of winning the Olympics, pro is a side effect to that.

Kids don't join gyms to be pro boxers, that's for money, glory is what amateur is all about.

• Site Banned Posts: 148 ✭✭franciebellew

I don't dislike him....pheorrrrr!

I d love to beetle the ass of him

Most boxers I know dream of winning the Olympics, pro is a side effect to that.

Kids don't join gyms to be pro boxers, that's for money, glory is what amateur is all about.

Of course they do! Your telling me young lads who join gyms dont dream of being Muhammad Ali? Of course they do. Boxing just as much about fame and money they anything ealse

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 145 ✭✭bordsie

Because he is salt of the earth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

Dunne is a sound fella by all accounts.

What contributed to people's dislike was the fact we were spoonfed nonsense that he was legitimate world class. Not a chance. People may call that good ould "Irish Begrudgery" but its just calling a spade a spade.

Comparisons with Collins are funny, Collins was a warrior, fought some of the very best at his weight.

Dunne was found out against good fighters, let alone Elite fighters.

The "world champion" tag was also a con on the public as it was never highlighted that he didn't hold a legit world title, not a version of a world title, rather a version of the WBA title.

At one stage there was IBF, WBC, WBO and WBA superchamp, regular champ and interim champ. Bernard was WBA interim champ yet people who hadn't a clue were told he was the man.

The man is sound as a bell, but he was a prime example of the phoneyness of the world champ tag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭tysonslovechild

Bernard Dunne had world class boxing skills , what let him down most was he didnt have a world class chin to take him to that next level. he did fight a lot of weak opposition but he also beat a class operator in Ricardo Cordoba. Remember the guys who beat Dunne , kiko and pk were big punchers i have no doubt if Dunnes chin had of stood up to the challenge he beats both. Dunne is a likeable bloke , was a bit cocky at first but the more you saw and heard of him the more you got to like him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

no chin + zero power = no respect from opponets

colly10 wrote: »
    Egan was a top class amature, he's just not suited to the pro game though.
    Pro is a different game and a good amature does not necessarily make a good pro.

I can't understand anyone being critical of him, the guy has been at the top of the game for a long time. Even now with his best years behind him Ward is the only one at 81kg that's at his level

Well Egan proved himself over the years as a top class amateur,and Carruth did not do to bad as a pro

I am sure i read somewhere that Egan was elected as an ambassador for boxing which carried a payment of around 60,000 euro,last year sometime i think it was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

I met Bernard Dunne a few months ago on a night out, i was with a group of lads and he was out with some of his friends. Both himself and his mates were dead on and Dunne himself was modest and unassuming. Struck me as a very ordinary fella who didnt expect any special treatment whatsoever.

Jayob10 wrote: »
    Dunne is a sound fella by all accounts.

What contributed to people's dislike was the fact we were spoonfed nonsense that he was legitimate world class. Not a chance. People may call that good ould "Irish Begrudgery" but its just calling a spade a spade.

Comparisons with Collins are funny, Collins was a warrior, fought some of the very best at his weight.

Dunne was found out against good fighters, let alone Elite fighters.

The "world champion" tag was also a con on the public as it was never highlighted that he didn't hold a legit world title, not a version of a world title, rather a version of the WBA title.

At one stage there was IBF, WBC, WBO and WBA superchamp, regular champ and interim champ. Bernard was WBA interim champ yet people who hadn't a clue were told he was the man.

The man is sound as a bell, but he was a prime example of the phoneyness of the world champ tag

You view whilst it may sound harsh, is spot on. One must separate Dunne the person from Dunne the pro boxer. Never excited me or really impressed me as a pro. Just didn't. And, to the masses who do not follow the sport, this is what RTE and Peter's and the hype machine played on. Most people just heard "world champion" and that was it, they were buying tickets.

Bernard deserves to be praised. But, when one hypes up this praise to a certain level that is when it gets silly. He did a lot with what he had as a a pro.

BTW, put a chin and punch on him, and yes, he would have been a whole lot better, but so would many many many many other pro boxers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,330 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Of course they do! Your telling me young lads who join gyms dont dream of being Muhammad Ali? Of course they do. Boxing just as much about fame and money they anything ealse

And what made Ali famous before he was a world champion, his Olympic gold medal...

Met Dunne once doing a kids charty thing. Nice fella. Only the bitterest of people could dislike him, and their opinion doesn't matter

for the record dunne won the official WBA strap, it wasn't the interim title

he beat a very good champion in cordoaba and participated in espn's fight of the year....entertainment at it's best

anyone who followed dunne's career and attended his fights in the stadium and the o2 will know that the atmosphere at his fights was hard to beat.....he had excellent skills as a boxer, world class skills.....his power and chin let him down when he faced world class opponents, although in dunne's early career in the US he was known as a ko artist

i don't think there's anything wrong with peters and magee hyping dunne....it's this hype that gets the masses following boxing and builds the sport.....before dunne professional boxing in ireland was at a lull....now it's booming again

ppl who don't rate dunne imo musn't appreciate his excellent skills....i think ppl who have actually boxed will appreciate these skills more than the casual fan

dunne was likeable and a 'salt of the earth' type of guy

fair play to him for fighting such a dangerman in his first defence and he showed excellent character coming back from the devastating loss to Kiko

Thats all well and good Bren but people pay to see hyped up fighters all the time and don't have a good night, as a fan i had great nights out at Bernards fights, the atmosphere would be electric and he always fought his heart out, so as a Boxer wheter you rate him or not he was entertaining to a large % of the population.

i think ppl who have actually boxed will appreciate these skills more than the casual fan

Brens his biggest critic and is an Irish Boxing champ, some people just don't like certain styles.

And I have said many times that he is a lovely neat boxer. Never ever claimed otherwise. He just lacks that zip, power, has a poor chin, and pre Cordoba his stamina to me was never great. It improved, I agee on this.

Lovely mover? Yes, lovely boxer? Yes. Good pro? No. When the pace is suited to him, the opponent not a threat, Dunne can look very good. But, when the pace is heavier, the opponent good, and a half decent punch, Dunne really struggled. And, we are not talking about great oppoonents.

Thats all well and good Bren but people pay to see hyped up fighters all the time and don't have a good night, as a fan i had great nights out at Bernards fights, the atmosphere would be electric and he always fought his heart out, so as a Boxer wheter you rate him or not he was entertaining to a large % of the population.

Thousands and thousands of boxers fight theirt hearts out. He did too. I am not rating Bernard on his heart. I rate him on his talent at pro level. If you and others had a good/great night at his fights, that is fine. I am sure the atmosphere was great. I prefer to simply focus on the boxer in the ring when assessing him as a good pro. The atmosphere is something separate. Enjoy it, that is ok.

anyone who beats a very good world champion in a fight of the year IMO can be considered a good pro...

not an all time great but defiitely something to be proud of and a good pro

dunne had top rate boxing skills from the amateurs through the pro's...

he got cold against martinez....it happens

against cordoba it was a 12 round war....great stamina

against poonsawat he was against a terribly strong fighter with a great punch....poonsawat was training in my mates club before the fight and he is supposed to look like a serious banger on the pads, i saw a clip and it definitely looked so....in that fight dunne fought the wrong fight, trying too much in front of the home support....he should have been more cautious for the first 5 rounds...dunnes problem was when he got caught he went to war and fought back too much

Thousands and thousands of boxers fight theirt hearts out. He did too. I am not rating Bernard on his heart. I rate him on his talent at pro level. If you and others had a good/great night at his fights, that is fine. I am sure the atmosphere was great. I prefer to simply focus on the boxer in the ring when assessing him as a good pro. The atmosphere is something separate. Enjoy it, that is ok.

As i said, this thread is about liking him, not about his abilities.

i like him, he is a good guy and has done wonders for the sport and made it mainstream in Ireland again.

I don't know him. But, comes across as likable.

As for abilities, well, I guess that is another thread, but this thread was bound to bring up his abilities and performances etc.