If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Haywire - ERU ?

• 25-01-2012 03:26PM
    Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 23,632 Mod ✭✭✭✭

New movie in the cinema this week, Haywire. Sort of a female Bourne Identity. However interestingly the movie is partly based in Dublin and involves a long chase through the streets of Dublin with the Gardai.

For a hollywood movie I was impressed that everything seemed to be authentic. With the regular Garda cars and uniforms and even used the wording Garda, rather then police (which I'm sure will confuse US audiences).

Most interestingly the ERU seem to be in it for a few minutes and from at least what I could tell they were kitted out with uniform and equipment, exactly like the ERU have. I was very impressed with the attention to detail.

Of course less believably a little girl beat up two of the ERU lads, however in fairness, in real life the actress is actually a kickboxing and mix martial artist champion ;)

Given how authentic it all looks, I wonder if they just used real Gardai and their equipment to film the scenes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭TheVoodoo

IIRC, there are a few videos on Youtube, shot off camera phones and the like of some of the scenes around Dublin, like Abbey street and one or two others. I can only assume it's the same production, as the cars / gardai in the clips looked very convincing and were well kitted out. I'll try find them, or maybe someone else knows. There was 2 or three of them.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 23,632 Mod ✭✭✭✭bk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

bk wrote: »
    Given how authentic it all looks, I wonder if they just used real Gardai and their equipment to film the scenes?

Are you asking did the actual ERU spend the day filming a movie instead of being available for an armed call or if the yellow jackets doing crowd control are real Gardai? ERU = No. Yellow jackets = yes.

(and the film crew are charged for the Gardai doing crowd control before people start complaining)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

used the wording Garda, rather then police (which I'm sure will confuse US audiences).

First door breach they have Police in thier Breast. Then Garda on the back.
    :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,698 ✭✭✭tricky D

2807_garda_h_376582t.jpg

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 23,632 Mod ✭✭✭✭bk

Eru wrote: »
    Are you asking did the actual ERU spend the day filming a movie instead of being available for an armed call

Could they not have been off duty ERU officers?

Surely there are different shifts of ERU officers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Are you asking did the actual ERU spend the day filming a movie instead of being available for an armed call or if the yellow jackets doing crowd control are real Gardai? ERU = No. Yellow jackets = yes.

(and the film crew are charged for the Gardai doing crowd control before people start complaining)

They could easily have been doing non-public duty while on a rest day.

MagicSean wrote: »
    They could easily have been doing non-public duty while on a rest day.

When the fck have you ever seen eru doing non public or public duty? in fact, just in general what are you talking about? mules doing crowd control on Abbey Street, how is that non public duty? They are C district members possible on OT which will be paid to them like all OT and charged to the movie crowd in the normal manner. however if the scene was only a short one then I doubt members were brought in on ot

Could they not have been off duty ERU officers?

no, just no because Gardai arent hired out to movie sets in such a manner and eru officers identities are secret.

When the fck have you ever seen eru doing non public or public duty? in fact, just in general what are you talking about

Is there something that would prevent them from doing it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭First Aid Ireland

That Eru guy above is one angry man!

Has anyone looked at the credits for the movies? I assume they'd say who played the parts. very unlikely that they needed to use real gardai any more than they would have used real canadian cops earlier in the movie, I'd imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

Is there something that would prevent them from doing it?

Na nothing to stop them......well apart from the fact their identity is a key secret to the work they do and the safety of their families.

These guys are not the type to flaunter around a movie set for a few days. For anyone else here that has worked with them on jobs ye will know that.

MOD note - to everyone, be careful with what is said about the ERU. Compromising them in anyway will be a perma ban, no acceptions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭Leo Demidov

Exceptions:D:D:D

You mean Steven Seagal is not a real cop then, oh wait, he is!!!
    Sorry ERU, your argument carries no weight here, now move along.:rolleyes:

Imagine the poor Equity members who will spend the rest of their lives trying to convince mammy that they were in Haywire. She'll be there throwing out his bong telling him to get a real job and he'll be like "Mammy, do you know who I am!"

Hooch wrote: »
    Na nothing to stop them......well apart from the fact their identity is a key secret to the work they do and the safety of their families.

These guys are not the type to flaunter around a movie set for a few days. For anyone else here that has worked with them on jobs ye will know that.

MOD note - to everyone, be careful with what is said about the ERU. Compromising them in anyway will be a perma ban, no acceptions.

In the clip they appear to be fully concealed from identification. I haven't seen the film so i don't know how prevelant they are in it but if it is just a few minutes of footage it wouldn't require them to be on a movie set for days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

Dont bother. Its woeful.

wexfjord wrote: »
    Exceptions:D:D:D
    You mean Steven Seagal is not a real cop then, oh wait, he is!!!
    Sorry ERU, your argument carries no weight here, now move along.:rolleyes:

Seagal is a part time deputy in a different country (in fact a different continent)and got the title because he trains the sheriff department in restraint technique. He got the training job because the Sheriff is his friend.

US cops have no restrictions on what occupations they can have and many do security work and carry firearms in their spare time.

If ERU officers were in this movie the credits would have to say who they are AND it would be news that real cops appeared in the movie.

Seriously, does any serving member here believe this could be real ERU either playing the part or doing public duty at it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭warder6161

the last two words spoken in the film are a very apt description of the movie
    " oh sh1t " :mad: waste of entrance fee to the cinema !!

Seagal is a part time deputy in a different country (in fact a different continent)and got the title because he trains the sheriff department in restraint technique. He got the training job because the Sheriff is his friend.

US cops have no restrictions on what occupations they can have and many do security work and carry firearms in their spare time.

If ERU officers were in this movie the credits would have to say who they are AND it would be news that real cops appeared in the movie.

Seriously, does any serving member here believe this could be real ERU either playing the part or doing public duty at it?

I can't see any reason why it couldn't be nor can i see why it appears to upset you so much. It could easily have been arranged and I'm not aware of anything that would prevent it.

For the record I actually don't think it was them but it doesn't change the fact that it could have been.

I suppose we will have to agree to disagree as we would have to discuss Garda internal policy if we wanted to trash it out.

I can't see any reason why it couldn't be nor can i see why it appears to upset you so much. It could easily have been arranged and I'm not aware of anything that would prevent it.

For the record I actually don't think it was them but it doesn't change the fact that it could have been.

I suppose we will have to agree to disagree as we would have to discuss Garda internal policy if we wanted to trash it out.

I just think its a stupid question to be honest, police forces dont hire out their staff like this and considering how tight AGS is about uniforms and TV, etc I cant imagine for one second that they would allow it. I mean, the big man wouldnt even allow a charity calender like the dfb one when asked.

imagine the headlines if there was a few shootings, etc while the eru where filming a movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭Terrontress

I just think its a stupid question to be honest, police forces dont hire out their staff like this and considering how tight AGS is about uniforms and TV, etc I cant imagine for one second that they would allow it. I mean, the big man wouldnt even allow a charity calender like the dfb one when asked.

imagine the headlines if there was a few shootings, etc while the eru where filming a movie.

Are you a member of ERU yourself, given your name? Or does it relate to something else?

As to your points, off-duty ERU would be better placed to deal with a 'few shootings etc' while in the city centre and wearing their personal equipment than if they were at home, at the shops or gym.

The Irish Army was hired out for Braveheart, that's precedent, and possibly some other films and the Gardai were already contracted for crowd control so there is definitely payments going from the film company to AGS.

The real names of the people in the suits do not have to be used, hint: Marilyn Monroe had a different name, and in any case, as pointed out by Magic Sean, we cannot identify them by what's filmed so it might as well be them as not. It could just as easily be argued that it is Brendan Gleeson after 'The Guard' got a transfer as it is not going to be disproved from the information we have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,354 ✭✭✭source

One little correction on the above, it was the army reserve or in those days the FCA that took part in those movies.

I'm sure a few full timers took part but you can be sure it wasn't the Army Ranger Wing in any of those scenes.

Similarly regular Gardai might have been involved in this movie, but the Emergency Response Unit wouldn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭Leo Demidov

Sorry to have offended your academic integrity but I was being sarcastic, and was in fact backing your point. Whatever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,991 ✭✭✭Ziycon

I seriously doubt it was the ERU, look at the videos on youtube of the filming of the scenes in Dublin, the 'SWAT' officers in the movie are highly uncoordinated and stumbling over each other, even tripping while filming!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,897 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Mod comment:

Please don't forget it's very difficult to know which way to take some posts because we don't have things like body language or tone of voice to help us understand how the OP intends the comment to be received. It's always better to give the benefit of the doubt to the poster, as it avoids a potential flame war.

End of Mod comment, back on topic please!
    wexfjord wrote: »
    Sorry to have offended your academic integrity but I was being sarcastic, and was in fact backing your point. Whatever!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

Years ago there was a TV drama set in Ireland and made for British TV , it was a fictional work about the kidnapping by the IRA of the wife and daughter of a British millionaire.
    AGS were portrayed as somewhat inept and bumbling - transpired that the majority of the ' extras ' appearing as gardai were in fact detectives :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭Rangi

I was at the filming,at least the part in Dublin. The 'Gards' were just extras,and stuntmen. One of my buildings was in the background,and we were paid a considerable amount of money to leave a door closed for the day,you wouldn't even notice the door,but we got a nice cheque for it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

gina_carano_28.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 972 ✭✭✭Goonerdee

What is the Gardai policy on moonlighting? I remember years ago the Met police launching an investigation after they found out that many coppers were paid extras on the TV show 'The Bill'.

Goonerdee wrote: »
    What is the Gardai policy on moonlighting? I remember years ago the Met police launching an investigation after they found out that many coppers were paid extras on the TV show 'The Bill'.

Gardai can be actors in their spare time but may not use their training, uniform or knowledge as Gardai in doing so. Theres a whole list of what Gardai can and cant do in their spare time.

as for Terrontress, Im not going to even bother answering that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭Terrontress

Gardai can be actors in their spare time but may not use their training, uniform or knowledge as Gardai in doing so. Theres a whole list of what Gardai can and cant do in their spare time.

Answer what? The relevance of your name? I was just interested as your robust responses to speculation made me believe you are some form of stakeholder, or possibly have the desire to be, in the unit.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

Answer what? The relevance of your name? I was just interested as your robust responses to speculation made me believe you are some form of stakeholder, or possibly have the desire to be, in the unit.

Probably a wannabee - it would be quite stupid for a serving eru person to be posting on a public forum with that username. Could also be a cunning double-bluff :-)