Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Haywire - ERU ?

• 25-01-2012 2:26pm
    Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 23,275 Mod ✭✭✭✭

New movie in the cinema this week, Haywire. Sort of a female Bourne Identity. However interestingly the movie is partly based in Dublin and involves a long chase through the streets of Dublin with the Gardai.

For a hollywood movie I was impressed that everything seemed to be authentic. With the regular Garda cars and uniforms and even used the wording Garda, rather then police (which I'm sure will confuse US audiences).

Most interestingly the ERU seem to be in it for a few minutes and from at least what I could tell they were kitted out with uniform and equipment, exactly like the ERU have. I was very impressed with the attention to detail.

Of course less believably a little girl beat up two of the ERU lads, however in fairness, in real life the actress is actually a kickboxing and mix martial artist champion ;)

Given how authentic it all looks, I wonder if they just used real Gardai and their equipment to film the scenes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭TheVoodoo

IIRC, there are a few videos on Youtube, shot off camera phones and the like of some of the scenes around Dublin, like Abbey street and one or two others. I can only assume it's the same production, as the cars / gardai in the clips looked very convincing and were well kitted out. I'll try find them, or maybe someone else knows. There was 2 or three of them.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 23,275 Mod ✭✭✭✭bk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

bk wrote: »
    Given how authentic it all looks, I wonder if they just used real Gardai and their equipment to film the scenes?

Are you asking did the actual ERU spend the day filming a movie instead of being available for an armed call or if the yellow jackets doing crowd control are real Gardai? ERU = No. Yellow jackets = yes.

(and the film crew are charged for the Gardai doing crowd control before people start complaining)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

used the wording Garda, rather then police (which I'm sure will confuse US audiences).

First door breach they have Police in thier Breast. Then Garda on the back.
    :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

2807_garda_h_376582t.jpg

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 23,275 Mod ✭✭✭✭bk

Eru wrote: »
    Are you asking did the actual ERU spend the day filming a movie instead of being available for an armed call

Could they not have been off duty ERU officers?

Surely there are different shifts of ERU officers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Are you asking did the actual ERU spend the day filming a movie instead of being available for an armed call or if the yellow jackets doing crowd control are real Gardai? ERU = No. Yellow jackets = yes.

(and the film crew are charged for the Gardai doing crowd control before people start complaining)

They could easily have been doing non-public duty while on a rest day.

MagicSean wrote: »
    They could easily have been doing non-public duty while on a rest day.

When the fck have you ever seen eru doing non public or public duty? in fact, just in general what are you talking about? mules doing crowd control on Abbey Street, how is that non public duty? They are C district members possible on OT which will be paid to them like all OT and charged to the movie crowd in the normal manner. however if the scene was only a short one then I doubt members were brought in on ot

Could they not have been off duty ERU officers?

no, just no because Gardai arent hired out to movie sets in such a manner and eru officers identities are secret.

When the fck have you ever seen eru doing non public or public duty? in fact, just in general what are you talking about

Is there something that would prevent them from doing it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭First Aid Ireland

That Eru guy above is one angry man!

Has anyone looked at the credits for the movies? I assume they'd say who played the parts. very unlikely that they needed to use real gardai any more than they would have used real canadian cops earlier in the movie, I'd imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

Is there something that would prevent them from doing it?

Na nothing to stop them......well apart from the fact their identity is a key secret to the work they do and the safety of their families.

These guys are not the type to flaunter around a movie set for a few days. For anyone else here that has worked with them on jobs ye will know that.

MOD note - to everyone, be careful with what is said about the ERU. Compromising them in anyway will be a perma ban, no acceptions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭Leo Demidov

Exceptions:D:D:D

You mean Steven Seagal is not a real cop then, oh wait, he is!!!
    Sorry ERU, your argument carries no weight here, now move along.:rolleyes:

Imagine the poor Equity members who will spend the rest of their lives trying to convince mammy that they were in Haywire. She'll be there throwing out his bong telling him to get a real job and he'll be like "Mammy, do you know who I am!"

Hooch wrote: »
    Na nothing to stop them......well apart from the fact their identity is a key secret to the work they do and the safety of their families.

These guys are not the type to flaunter around a movie set for a few days. For anyone else here that has worked with them on jobs ye will know that.

MOD note - to everyone, be careful with what is said about the ERU. Compromising them in anyway will be a perma ban, no acceptions.

In the clip they appear to be fully concealed from identification. I haven't seen the film so i don't know how prevelant they are in it but if it is just a few minutes of footage it wouldn't require them to be on a movie set for days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

Dont bother. Its woeful.

wexfjord wrote: »
    Exceptions:D:D:D
    You mean Steven Seagal is not a real cop then, oh wait, he is!!!
    Sorry ERU, your argument carries no weight here, now move along.:rolleyes:

Seagal is a part time deputy in a different country (in fact a different continent)and got the title because he trains the sheriff department in restraint technique. He got the training job because the Sheriff is his friend.

US cops have no restrictions on what occupations they can have and many do security work and carry firearms in their spare time.

If ERU officers were in this movie the credits would have to say who they are AND it would be news that real cops appeared in the movie.

Seriously, does any serving member here believe this could be real ERU either playing the part or doing public duty at it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭warder6161

the last two words spoken in the film are a very apt description of the movie
    " oh sh1t " :mad: waste of entrance fee to the cinema !!

Seagal is a part time deputy in a different country (in fact a different continent)and got the title because he trains the sheriff department in restraint technique. He got the training job because the Sheriff is his friend.

US cops have no restrictions on what occupations they can have and many do security work and carry firearms in their spare time.

If ERU officers were in this movie the credits would have to say who they are AND it would be news that real cops appeared in the movie.

Seriously, does any serving member here believe this could be real ERU either playing the part or doing public duty at it?

I can't see any reason why it couldn't be nor can i see why it appears to upset you so much. It could easily have been arranged and I'm not aware of anything that would prevent it.

For the record I actually don't think it was them but it doesn't change the fact that it could have been.

I suppose we will have to agree to disagree as we would have to discuss Garda internal policy if we wanted to trash it out.

I can't see any reason why it couldn't be nor can i see why it appears to upset you so much. It could easily have been arranged and I'm not aware of anything that would prevent it.

For the record I actually don't think it was them but it doesn't change the fact that it could have been.

I suppose we will have to agree to disagree as we would have to discuss Garda internal policy if we wanted to trash it out.

I just think its a stupid question to be honest, police forces dont hire out their staff like this and considering how tight AGS is about uniforms and TV, etc I cant imagine for one second that they would allow it. I mean, the big man wouldnt even allow a charity calender like the dfb one when asked.

imagine the headlines if there was a few shootings, etc while the eru where filming a movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

I just think its a stupid question to be honest, police forces dont hire out their staff like this and considering how tight AGS is about uniforms and TV, etc I cant imagine for one second that they would allow it. I mean, the big man wouldnt even allow a charity calender like the dfb one when asked.

imagine the headlines if there was a few shootings, etc while the eru where filming a movie.

Are you a member of ERU yourself, given your name? Or does it relate to something else?

As to your points, off-duty ERU would be better placed to deal with a 'few shootings etc' while in the city centre and wearing their personal equipment than if they were at home, at the shops or gym.

The Irish Army was hired out for Braveheart, that's precedent, and possibly some other films and the Gardai were already contracted for crowd control so there is definitely payments going from the film company to AGS.

The real names of the people in the suits do not have to be used, hint: Marilyn Monroe had a different name, and in any case, as pointed out by Magic Sean, we cannot identify them by what's filmed so it might as well be them as not. It could just as easily be argued that it is Brendan Gleeson after 'The Guard' got a transfer as it is not going to be disproved from the information we have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

One little correction on the above, it was the army reserve or in those days the FCA that took part in those movies.

I'm sure a few full timers took part but you can be sure it wasn't the Army Ranger Wing in any of those scenes.

Similarly regular Gardai might have been involved in this movie, but the Emergency Response Unit wouldn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭Leo Demidov

Sorry to have offended your academic integrity but I was being sarcastic, and was in fact backing your point. Whatever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Ziycon

I seriously doubt it was the ERU, look at the videos on youtube of the filming of the scenes in Dublin, the 'SWAT' officers in the movie are highly uncoordinated and stumbling over each other, even tripping while filming!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Mod comment:

Please don't forget it's very difficult to know which way to take some posts because we don't have things like body language or tone of voice to help us understand how the OP intends the comment to be received. It's always better to give the benefit of the doubt to the poster, as it avoids a potential flame war.

End of Mod comment, back on topic please!
    wexfjord wrote: »
    Sorry to have offended your academic integrity but I was being sarcastic, and was in fact backing your point. Whatever!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

Years ago there was a TV drama set in Ireland and made for British TV , it was a fictional work about the kidnapping by the IRA of the wife and daughter of a British millionaire.
    AGS were portrayed as somewhat inept and bumbling - transpired that the majority of the ' extras ' appearing as gardai were in fact detectives :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭Rangi

I was at the filming,at least the part in Dublin. The 'Gards' were just extras,and stuntmen. One of my buildings was in the background,and we were paid a considerable amount of money to leave a door closed for the day,you wouldn't even notice the door,but we got a nice cheque for it!

gina_carano_28.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 972 ✭✭✭Goonerdee

What is the Gardai policy on moonlighting? I remember years ago the Met police launching an investigation after they found out that many coppers were paid extras on the TV show 'The Bill'.

Goonerdee wrote: »
    What is the Gardai policy on moonlighting? I remember years ago the Met police launching an investigation after they found out that many coppers were paid extras on the TV show 'The Bill'.

Gardai can be actors in their spare time but may not use their training, uniform or knowledge as Gardai in doing so. Theres a whole list of what Gardai can and cant do in their spare time.

as for Terrontress, Im not going to even bother answering that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

Gardai can be actors in their spare time but may not use their training, uniform or knowledge as Gardai in doing so. Theres a whole list of what Gardai can and cant do in their spare time.

Answer what? The relevance of your name? I was just interested as your robust responses to speculation made me believe you are some form of stakeholder, or possibly have the desire to be, in the unit.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

Answer what? The relevance of your name? I was just interested as your robust responses to speculation made me believe you are some form of stakeholder, or possibly have the desire to be, in the unit.

Probably a wannabee - it would be quite stupid for a serving eru person to be posting on a public forum with that username. Could also be a cunning double-bluff :-)

I get mixed up between ERU and eroo. I know at least one is a proper copper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭BrianD

Yes allow me to introduce a new concept: Actors playing the role of real people. Mainly so they don't have to use those real people. I can't see why any actor couldn't play the role as shown in the clip. Hardly rocket science.

As for the movie, trailer looked good but from all reports is dreadful. Does anybody know when those scenes were "filmed"?

Also the Irish Army weren't hired out for Braveheart. It was the reserve that was made available. Though apart from having a large number of men available, I can't imagine why.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭King Ludvig

BrianD wrote: »
    Yes allow me to introduce a new concept: Actors playing the role of real people. Mainly so they don't have to use those real people. I can't see why any actor couldn't play the role as shown in the clip. Hardly rocket science.

As for the movie, trailer looked good but from all reports is dreadful. Does anybody know when those scenes were "filmed"?

Also the Irish Army weren't hired out for Braveheart. It was the reserve that was made available. Though apart from having a large number of men available, I can't imagine why.

Yeah the RDF was asked to pass the details on to reserve soldiers, after that it was up to members to get involved if they wanted, they certainly werent 'hired out'. Same goes for Saving Private Ryan and more recently 'Titanic: Blood and Steel' (coming soon to a television near you, featuring yours truely :p) Got talking to a couple of Gardaí and prison officers on set for the titanic series actually.

RDF were requested as they needed people who could 'look soldier-like'!

First of all, let me point out that I was in no way looking to criticise the use of real Gardai and equipment in the movie.

Quite the opposite, I think it is a great way to highlight the great work and capabilities of the Gardai.

The US military do this all the time. They allow their bases, personal and equipment to be frequently used in films as it helps promote their services.

The biggest example is the Transformers movies which were actually filmed on an Airforce Base and Army Missile testing range and involved almost every new toy the US Army and Airforce have including Tanks, Choppers, F16's, F22 Stealth Fighters, CV-22's, CV-130, CV-17 spectre gun-ships. Yes, they were all real and not just CGI:

http://www.popsci.com/military-aviation-amp-space/article/2009-06/depiction-vs-reality-air-force-hardware-transformers-revenge-fallen

If it is good enough for the US military, why not the Gardai too?

In fact if you look at the comments on the youtube video, you will see comments like:

"we dont have a swat team like that tho do we???"

"They funny thing about this is that they have better armed police than the whole of the Garda!"

Is it not good to let the people of Ireland know the real capabilities and great work that the Gardai do?

And there is a lot of evidence that there were real.

The landcruisers seen in the movie are exactly the same make and model and look as those the ERU have been pictured using elsewhere on the internet. Who else in Ireland has such landcruisers with total black tinted windows with Irish License plates?

Also I've checked the credits and non of the people who played Gardai are mentioned anywhere in the credits.

Is it so hard to believe that a movie mostly filmed in Ireland, by an academy award winning director, with big support from the Irish Film Board, couldn't ask and pay the Gardai for some assistance in filming a movie for one day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

Theres actually one minute detail with the landcruisers that makes me think that they are not owned by the Garda ERU, don't think it should be discussed in a Public Forum tbh.

mmcn90 wrote: »
    Theres actually one minute detail with the landcruisers that makes me think that they are not owned by the Garda ERU, don't think it should be discussed in a Public Forum tbh.

If that is the case, then I'll accept it and you are right it shouldn't be discussed on a public forum if it is an operational matter that might have an effect on the safety of a Guard.

Nothing I have spoken about so far isn't anything that isn't already in the public domain.

First of all, let me point out that I was in no way looking to criticise the use of real Gardai and equipment in the movie.

Quite the opposite, I think it is a great way to highlight the great work and capabilities of the Gardai.

The US military do this all the time. They allow their bases, personal and equipment to be frequently used in films as it helps promote their services.

The biggest example is the Transformers movies which were actually filmed on an Airforce Base and Army Missile testing range and involved almost every new toy the US Army and Airforce have including Tanks, Choppers, F16's, F22 Stealth Fighters, CV-22's, CV-130, CV-17 spectre gun-ships. Yes, they were all real and not just CGI:

http://www.popsci.com/military-aviation-amp-space/article/2009-06/depiction-vs-reality-air-force-hardware-transformers-revenge-fallen

In fact if you look at the comments on the youtube video, you will see comments like:

"They funny thing about this is that they have better armed police than the whole of the Garda!"

Is it not good to let the people of Ireland know the real capabilities and great work that the Gardai do?

The landcruisers seen in the movie are exactly the same make and model and look as those the ERU have been pictured using elsewhere on the internet. Who else in Ireland has such landcruisers with total black tinted windows with Irish License plates?

Also I've checked the credits and non of the people who played Gardai are mentioned anywhere in the credits.

Is it so hard to believe that a movie mostly filmed in Ireland, by an academy award winning director, with big support from the Irish Film Board, couldn't ask and pay the Gardai for some assistance in filming a movie for one day?

myself and a mate were talking about this before, when traffic blues came out. Management should agree to a show about public order and crime along the same vein as traffic blues. It would really highlight to the public what Gardai have to deal with day to day and especially on weekend nights.

Busy city centre stations, limerick, cork, dublin and galway. show the general public for what it actually is.

we came to the conclusion that the public isn't ready yet to see what Gardai deal with on a daily basis, and management isn't ready to show it. It is a shame because the public really need to see what goes on in the streets of our cities and towns. Not just speeding tickets and drunk drivers.

source wrote: »
    myself and a mate were talking about this before, when traffic blues came out. Management should agree to a show about public order and crime along the same vein as traffic blues. It would really highlight to the public what Gardai have to deal with day to day and especially on weekend nights.

Busy city centre stations, limerick, cork, dublin and galway. show the general public for what it actually is.

we came to the conclusion that the public isn't ready yet to see what Gardai deal with on a daily basis, and management isn't ready to show it. It is a shame because the public really need to see what goes on in the streets of our cities and towns. Not just speeding tickets and drunk drivers.

Wasn't there a report not too long ago that showed the Gardaí as one of the most secretive police forces?

EDIT: My mistake. It was a comment by a Criminal Law professor

http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/1203/gardai.html

Wasn't there a report not too long ago that showed the Gardaí as one of the most secretive police forces?

EDIT: My mistake. It was a comment by a Criminal Law professor

http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/1203/gardai.html

Yeah I would say it is, and with good reason up to the 80s and even mid 90s. The problem now as I see it is dinosaur management whose mindset is still back dealing with the provos.

These days most criminals know as much as they need and the veil of secrecy tends to just damage public relations in my opinion. Videos like this and the Traffic Blues series help to improve the perception of the Gardaí as a whole. I think the Coppers series in the UK is doing a great job.

Exactly my point, there's no need to hide anymore. With the insular mentality in garda management i dont think i'll ever figure out how traffic blues got cleared.

I'd love a camera crew to be put with the regular units, I just can't see management giving it the go ahead.

Edit: and if they did, you'd be guaranteed it'd be in some sleepy backwater where almost nothing happens.

Exactly my point. A lot of policing is image, perception and psychology.

Unfortunately I think the Gardai fail miserably at this.

I think many ordinary Irish people have a very bad image of the Gardai. They think that all Gardai are unarmed and that they just go around in their bright yellow jackets harassing ordinary citizens and giving speed tickets. That they have no ability (equipment and training) to fight real crime.

IMO The best thing to happen to policing in years is the introduction of the RSU. I'm originally from Cork and I can tell you that peoples respect for the Gardai went up x10 when the RSU, in their well equipped vehicles and tactical uniforms appeared on the streets of Cork.

I heard many people say, "thanks be to god we finally have a well equipped and well trained Gardai protecting us". People felt very happy to see the RSU vehicles cruising around their streets.

It may have not been true, it might have made zero difference to crime stats, but I do know that ordinary people felt much safer and I do wonder if the criminal element felt just a little bit less safe and a little bit more cautious.

That is why I'd love to see the RSU style units on the streets of Dublin. I know there are already lots of armed units on the streets of Dublin, but they aren't very high visibility and most people don't even know they exist. I think the people of Dublin would have a much greater respect for the Gardai if RSU style units appeared on our streets.

Sorry, that was a little bit off topic.

I agree that a show highlighting what the Gardai really have to regularly deal with and the equipment they have would be an eye opener for the public and I think it would go a long way to improving peoples image of the Gardai.

I think it might help the Gardai increase their budget. At the moment unfortunately I think when many people hear of budget cuts, they think "good, less yellow packs issuing speeding tickets". If the public saw the reality of what the Gardai have to deal with and the dangers faced, their might not be such an acceptance of budget cut backs and it might even be reversed.

I think Garda secrecy is their own worst enemy.

BTW I'm not suggesting that the Gardai should turn into the US style shoot first and ask questions later style robocops *, but rather perhaps follow the London police image, which to my mind at least, gives off an air of professional, well trained and equipped, yet still approachable and friendly.

* BBTW I was in Boston for the 9/11 10th anniversary and I was visiting the navel yard where two Boston cops were standing their in full swat tactical gear with M4 carbines. Pretty damn scary, everyone was giving them a wide berth. However I asked if they mind me taking a picture of them and they said no problem, even poised for it looking all mean :) and we ended up chatting for 30 minutes abut all sorts of things. Really nice guys in the end. Told me all about policing in Boston and were very interested to hear what it was like in Ireland. So of course the reality is different then the image.

BBBTW This isn't my opinion of the Guards. I think they are a highly professional force, but unfortunately seem to have to work with one arm tied behind their backs for whatever reason. I'm only expressing what I hear often.

In the States everything is available for sale. Even the cops. When in Georgia over 10 years ago there was a cop in uniform and a patrol car doing security at the pub. Apparently, as they were in a "lethal occupation" they were allowed to do it. he had his hands full with 50 Irish/British taking the p155.

If the movie makers are able to recreate the Garda vehicles and uniforms, there's no need to hire them. It's different for military equipment in movies which are probably as much as a sales pitch for the suppliers as an advert for the armed service. Don't forget that after, Vietnam in the 60's and early 70's and the the Iraq adventures since 1990 it must be a challenge to get recruits.

Slightly OT, I doubt the uniforms were 'recreated' for the film, afaik the Gardai, like a lot of police forces, have some real uniforms which are rented out for film and tv production, on condition they are kept secure and all items are returned.

EDIT: Just to add to this, I found this article which states that uniforms are available from the Garda press office for filming purposes

Slightly OT, I doubt the uniforms were 'recreated' for the film, afaik the Gardai, like a lot of police forces, have some real uniforms which are rented out for film and tv production, on condition they are kept secure and all items are returned.

If so, then I guess maybe that is what happened here. That the Gardai rented out uniforms (including ERU uniforms), walkie talkies, riot shields, helmets, etc. and perhaps even some ERU landcruisers.

I can't believe that a hollywood film would bother trying to "recreate" Gardai uniforms, in particular the ERU uniforms. I'd imagine if they couldn't have rented the ERU uniforms, they would simply have rented the normal US SWAT uniforms widely available from movie props companies.

That is why I originally thought that maybe they hired some off duty Gardai with permission to partake. But this is probably a better explanation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,133 ✭✭✭View Profile

I played the part of a Garda (an extra) in a Hollywood film and I have no link to the force. The costume trailer on the set had loads of Garda uniforms including utility belts and radios.
    The tactical lads in Haywire were most likely actors and their uniforms and equipment were probably general tactical gear and prop weapons.

2010-02-knockout-swat-squad.jpg

V1l2a1ZXa08xbDg=.jpg

I don't know which weapons the ERU use (and im sure its of the utmost secrecy) but the "actors" in Haywire seemed to be using MP7s with optical sights?!

600px-HAywire_mp7_1.jpg

600px-HAywire_mp7_2.jpg

And the film is far from bad. Dublin is seen in an interesting light, especially the roof chase, and it is far more realistic then most recent Hollywood action films.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

I don't know which weapons the ERU use (and im sure its of the utmost secrecy) but the "actors" in Haywire seemed to be using MP7s with optical sights?!

Not sure about the optical sights but yep I've seen many ERU lads with the MP7 at checkpoints.

EDIT: Just to add to this, I found this article which states that uniforms are available from the Garda press office for filming purposes

On a similar line, didn't the Met Police buy all the uniforms from the wardrobe dept of The Bill tv show to prevent them falling into the wrong hands?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭Locust

Not to start nickpickin, well okay, but from seeing 'them' on the news etc i'm sure the ERU wear a different style of helmet - more like a visor? and as someone mentioned in the film their gear says - POLICE on the front and GARDA on the back, in real life its just GARDA - also, the optics sights on the MP7's in the film (Eotechs?) - i'm pretty sure are different to those issued/fitted to Garda MP7's. All small discreps, but leads me to the conclusion they are actors/props and certainly not ERU members...

But hey all that aside - i'm going to see a throw away action movie and chomp popcorn and think it looks good as a portrayal of specialist Gardai running around in the black kit and screeching up in jeeps, well done.

Locust wrote: »
    Not to start nickpickin, well okay, but from seeing 'them' on the news etc i'm sure the ERU wear a different style of helmet - more like a visor? and as someone mentioned in the film their gear says - POLICE on the front and GARDA on the back, in real life its just GARDA - also, the optics sights on the MP7's in the film (Eotechs?) - i'm pretty sure are different to those issued/fitted to Garda MP7's. All small discreps, but leads me to the conclusion they are actors/props and certainly not ERU members...

But hey all that aside - i'm going to see a throw away action movie and chomp popcorn and think it looks good as a portrayal of specialist Gardai running around in the black kit and screeching up in jeeps, well done.

In the movie, as in real life, its says Police on the right breast, Garda on the left, and Garda on the back.