Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

beef price tracker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,328 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Mooooo wrote: »
    First paragraph says it all, transparent pricing at time of slaughter. That price should be stated at time of purchase of calf

I suppose this way it'll always be above the "market" price.
    If a price was stated and the market price went above that there would be uproar.

Whatever about the input costs?

This closed loop system controlled by the processor seems to be the way farming is going.
    Any independent farm input suppliers or processors are gradually being hoovered up or put out of business. Independent farmers same thing if there ever was a thing.

I'm a bit meh on the thing. Only benefit might be the market for my few beef calves.....next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,092 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Mooooo wrote: »
    First paragraph says it all, transparent pricing at time of slaughter. That price should be stated at time of purchase of calf

Agriland have a good breakdown of the pricing structure, it’s a good scheme to be fair, the only sticker would be will glanbia put the boot in re inputs with inflated prices, but if they are anyway reasonable it is definitely a winner for a struggling beef farmer who wants some security of price going forward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

The first lad to post a beef price rise will be modded for off topic posting at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,802 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

Any verdict on Glanbia own brand quality beef?

https://www.glanbiaconnect.com/news/glanbia-keepak-twenty20-beef-club

Methane reducing feed additives being used as well.
    It's a bit late in the year announcing unless you were 'in the know'. Most of the spring calved herd have finished and aax and hex sold.

Another nail in the coffin for the suckler cow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,212 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

jaymla627 wrote: »
    Agriland have a good breakdown of the pricing structure, it’s a good scheme to be fair, the only sticker would be will glanbia put the boot in re inputs with inflated prices, but if they are anyway reasonable it is definitely a winner for a struggling beef farmer who wants some security of price going forward

I would not be so sure. Looking at it why is the bonus split in two a club premium and a club protocol. Club protocol is the same as QA 12c/kg so will you qualify for QA as well ???. Why is the club premium variable from 15-25c/kg ???. The seasonality Bonus is only for April, May and June. As well as inputs from Glanbia calves have to be sourced from Glanbia milk suppliers. Will these calves cost a premium or will you be charged a buying fee. They are also looking at a 24 month cut off on age in 5 years time.

If club Protocol is the same as QA a 300 Kg DW animal will make 45-75 euro extra but if you are paying a calf sourcing fee or a premium on calf price that will take some of the good out of it. Not a huge fan of this 35/month either this will trap you in the scheme longterm. Then they are talking about efficiency, using methane reducing feedstuffs, and looking for farmers to increase output. This smells of farmers taking all the risk and increased costs to produce a farm assured product with little or nothing out of it for the farmers involved.

Problem with such schemes is you are tied at slaughter to the processor. They can claw back some of the premium by reducing the base price or by your inability to negotiate on base price. This especially happen's if cattle are scarce and we see it already with AA and HE schemes when the price rises these cattle do not make fancy base prices or flat prices.

Even if I was a Glanbia member I pass this one.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,092 ✭✭✭jaymla627

I would not be so sure. Looking at it why is the bonus split in two a club premium and a club protocol. Club protocol is the same as QA 12c/kg so will you qualify for QA as well ???. Why is the club premium variable from 15-25c/kg ???. The seasonality Bonus is only for April, May and June. As well as inputs from Glanbia calves have to be sourced from Glanbia milk suppliers. Will these calves cost a premium or will you be charged a buying fee. They are also looking at a 24 month cut off on age in 5 years time.

If club Protocol is the same as QA a 300 Kg DW animal will make 45-75 euro extra but if you are paying a calf sourcing fee or a premium on calf price that will take some of the good out of it. Not a huge fan of this 35/month either this will trap you in the scheme longterm. Then they are talking about efficiency, using methane reducing feedstuffs, and looking for farmers to increase output. This smells of farmers taking all the risk and increased costs to produce a farm assured product with little or nothing out of it for the farmers involved.

Problem with such schemes is you are tied at slaughter to the processor. They can claw back some of the premium by reducing the base price or by your inability to negotiate on base price. This especially happen's if cattle are scarce and we see it already with AA and HE schemes when the price rises these cattle do not make fancy base prices or flat prices.

Even if I was a Glanbia member I pass this one.

It’s all explained in Agri-land article the 15-25 cent premium relates to what level base beef price is at, if base beef price is 3.50, a 25 cent top-up is paid, likewise if base beef price is over 3.85, a flat rate of a 15 cent top up is paid regardless of how high base price goes a 15 cent top up is paid....
    Base beef price is also calculated of a basket-price as published in the journal factory league table so I can’t see how they will manage to doctor it to much...
    Regards inputs they’ll roast lads alright unless your a big customer with some pull you’ll be paying a premium of 15-20% on inputs then what you’d source for independently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭I says

It’s all explained in Agri-land article the 15-25 cent premium relates to what level base beef price is at, if base beef price is 3.50, a 25 cent top-up is paid, likewise if base beef price is over 3.85, a flat rate of a 15 cent top up is paid regardless of how high base price goes a 15 cent top up is paid....
    Base beef price is also calculated of a basket-price as published in the journal factory league table so I can’t see how they will manage to doctor it to much...
    Regards inputs they’ll roast lads alright unless your a big customer with some pull you’ll be paying a premium of 15-20% on inputs then what you’d source for independently

3.50 a kg so next year that’s beef fcuked so.
    More market manipulation.

So unless beef is completely fooked you get 15c/kg or 45 euro on a 300kg carcass. Definately a brain fart of a scheme and you would be crazy to consider it. All risk loaded onto the farmer again and jumping through hoops and paying through the nose for 50 euro extra which will be swallowed in extra costs.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,089 ✭✭✭kk.man

If steers are at 3.70 in the factory what would Fresian bullocks make?
    0- and p+ under 30 months less than 4 movements and herd is QA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Jjjack77

kk.man wrote: »
    If steers are at 3.70 in the factory what would Fresian bullocks make?
    0- and p+ under 30 months less than 4 movements and herd is QA.

3.46 o- and 3.40 p plus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

Factory agent rang looking for cows. Is there a scarcity looming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭dzer2

No
    They are giving good weather over Easter Bbq will be on the agenda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,412 ✭✭✭tanko

Get your cows to a mart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 675 ✭✭✭Fine Day

Suppose there have them so cheap & have a market they will always want them. I was told by agent that there is a 3 week queue to get cattle in. Any1 getting the hereford prime off summer bonus texts. Seems like another gimmick of a thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭degetme

Any quotes for p and o grade cows in munster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

degetme wrote: »
    Any quotes for p and o grade cows in munster
    2.70 to 2.90 p over certain weights

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

A market for heavy bulls, over 500kgs, has opened to Algeria and swine fever culling in China is increasing demand for poultry and beef worldwide.

https://www.farmersjournal.ie/beef-and-cattle-prices-to-jump-460867

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭older by the day

Any verdict on Glanbia own brand quality beef?

https://www.glanbiaconnect.com/news/glanbia-keepak-twenty20-beef-club

Methane reducing feed additives being used as well.
    It's a bit late in the year announcing unless you were 'in the know'. Most of the spring calved herd have finished and aax and hex sold.

I wonder is the "twenty" sign Michael creed is holding, is that the profit per head, or the price of the calf that is purchased. I don't know much about Glanbia but compared to the west cork co.op.s they don't seem to making diary farmers too fat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭KAMG

Any word on prices for next week?

Beef kill week starting the 22th April was 30.5K cattle. I presume that we are below 30K now/week. We should see a sharp rise in beef price will we see 4.2/kg for steers by June. The real interesting thing is will the kill remain low for rest of the year. Cumulative kill is up 30K compared to last year 50/50 between young Bulls and Heifers. Taking the fact that we had a strong kill at the end of 2018 are there 50K extra cattle gone out of the system. While bigger processors will have contracted cattle to kill how much of the kill will these supply.

It will all come down to how many cattle come on stream in June.

Slava Ukrainii

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

Buy buy buy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Heard of 1 factory group trying to source cattle for June and July.

orm0nd wrote: »
    Heard of 1 factory group trying to source cattle for June and July.

The big thing will be for lads not to panic sell in mid late June if processors try to drop prices. Remember weight is cheap to put on for next 3 months

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭gerryirl

The big thing will be for lads not to panic sell in mid late June if processors try to drop prices. Remember weight is cheap to put on for next 3 months
    your right . some cattle are so hard to finish under 30 months. I might let a few go over and let them go at there own pace. They are promoting grass fed beef not meal bag fed after all..lol. Give them what they want sure :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,802 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

Heard talk about this €100m from the conference in Ballinasloe last night (saw it online) sounds like it’s going to happen and finishers are getting it. Wonder how it’s going to be split up?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,842 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Cavanjack wrote: »
    Heard talk about this €100m from the conference in Ballinasloe last night (saw it online) sounds like it’s going to happen and finishers are getting it. Wonder how it’s going to be split up?

I guess submit factory dockets?

Any quotes yet for next week?

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,386 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

An truth that finished cattle are scarce? Heard they are mad looking for overaged cattle now.

Heard the same.

blue5000 wrote: »
    Cavanjack wrote: »

I guess submit factory dockets?
    If it goes t finishers it will be paid like a slaughter premium. This will mean that any lad that sold finished cattle in the mart could lose out as well lads that lost out selling store cattle and yearlings throughout the winter will receive nothing.

Contracted finishers and Larry's feedlots will be the big winner. If we take that it will be paid on slughtered cattle from Dec-April inclusive. It will work out about 130 euro/ head. Of course if Larry's own feedlots killed 25k cattle last winter he will get 3.25 million.
    Another great brain fart

Slava Ukrainii

Did ye see Larry's young lad on the Indo giving out about the Dairy cattle coming on stream. You'd love to say 'who's fault is that'.
    I'd also love to debate with him the race to the bottom that the 'big three' are on their pricing to the Supermarkets. These companies have sold beef to the UK supermarkets in some instances below the cost of production to get shelf space and fight off competition. This was done against the back drop of the fifth quarter being the nugget for profit. When the value of this has declined in recent months they have become worried.