Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bad Experience

• 20-01-2012 5:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭

Got out for an hour this evening hunting pheasant but found nothing. I guess its that time of year! Anyway I was out shooting some gun club rough land over weekend with the dogs and other gun club members hunting fox's. Some of the lads approached a side of the cover from a road I am not familiar with - I could see their vehicles parked up and wondered how they got there. Anyway where I was hunting today isn't far from that spot so decided to see if I could find the road they had approached from.

Yep, I found it and then continued on my way down a road that I wasn't familiar with which I thought would bring me onto the way home. Turns out it was a dead end road. I looked behind me through the rear view mirror and I could see another vehicle approaching me. The vehicle came right up behind me and a guy jumped out of his car and approached my window took one look at me and said - "I hope you're not going shooting down here". I told him I wasn't and that I'd lost my way a little and was unsure how to get back on the road home. He looked down and noticed by cartridge belt, looked in the back and saw the dog and you could see the rage in his face build. He went on into a rant "F"ing and blinding at me. He was calling me a liar and all sorts :(. I told him why I was there and he wasn't believing a single word of it..... Anyway I kept the cool and waited for him to finish. I told him I was being honest and had no reason to lie (even though it didn't look good for me), he then cooled a little and he told me that he'd had problems recently with lads shooting around his horses. I could understand his point of view but he didn't half give it to me! He then got back in his car and backed out. I then went on my way.

Just goes to show that lads not shooting on permissions and running around everywhere can cause lots of problems for hunting lads and the sport in general. I felt guilty even though I had no reason to lie or had nothing to hide even though I was acting lawfully.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

Is this road on your gunclub grounds?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭sincere113

We can shoot lands on the right side of the road. I continued down the road a mile or so and landed in trouble. But all the area is within the town limits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Same sh1t going on here. Allegedly some local fellas brought out some not so local fellas shooting. I don't know if they had permission to be where they were but from previous knowledge I wouldn't be surprised if they didn't. Long story short, they shot near a shed containing horses in foal, and the owner was on hand. Words were exchanged and the law was involved.

I don't know if the situation has been resolved as yet but I do know there are a lot more cars around with blue lights than before :rolleyes:

That kind of carry on just makes life hard for everyone else who's out and about. To the law it's a problem they don't need so I wouldn't be surprised if a few get hassle over it, and knowing how these things go it'll probably be a few that hadn't a thing to do with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

sincere113 wrote: »
    We can shoot lands on the right side of the road. I continued down the road a mile or so and landed in trouble. But all the area is within the town limits.

You were in your car on public road and he was losing his cool with you?
    He had no right to get out of the car and give you a bollocking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

same story around dundalk slightly different reasons but the same result. lads out without permission casing grief for land owners will get tptb backs up to the detriment of those with permission
    farm up the road here has withdrawn all permission cos of a few lads shooting round his mares

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭sincere113

garv123 wrote: »
    You were in your car on public road and he was losing his cool with you?
    He had no right to get out of the car and give you a bollocking

You are right garv123, but I didn't want the situation to esculate and I wanted to show him that all hunters are not aggresive by arguing with him. It was obvious that he wasn't afraid to argue and shout the odds. I look at it like this - "If this esculates and he goes running to the guards about lads shooting without permission then I could have guns taken while they investigate, even though I did nor done anything wrong". I think better to play it cool than get hot like him and have no guns for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

Can't really blame the man,he found an unknown person with all the hunting gear on,the dog in the back and you tell him you lost your way LoL. I'd say the fellos head is wrecked with people annoying his livestock and just vented on u when he found u there.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

I think better to play it cool than get hot like him and have no guns for a while.
    You played it right. Well done to you.

We have no idea what this man has had to deal with before, and his tirade could be because the first time(s) he approached someone doing the same thing they could have been up to something or gave him a load of verbals.

Fair play to you for keeping the head.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Hunter21

In this situation if your the innocent party, back your case up by telling the landowner you are willing to help his case. Ask for his contact number and you will report any folk that you see stepping out of line or you know they are on land without permission. We hunters can help other country folk too, especially farmers who give us our sporting grounds. If the landowner has a no shooting policy on all his land then that makes your job easier and poachers will be caught!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭robbie mars

As land keeper says there is a lot going on around dundalk at the mo lads are coming from all parts to shoot where they have no permission a deer farmer is on the war path because one of his sika had eleven 22 rounds in him when he was shot so there's a lot of trouble brewing there Is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭kakashka

Not a swipe or anything like it and understand your situation-i think it's always better to know exactly where you are and do some homework
    On another note,i have seen time and time again-ppl bringing a "Friend" out for a shot-friend returns without permission with his own friend-trouble..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭pugw

F*ck him, if your house gets broken into it doesnt give you the right to abuse/accuse the driver of the next slow moving car you see on your road, it would be a different story if you were out of the car or something like that! Fair enough some idiot probably did something stupid but he had no cause abusing you! Fair play For keeping your cool! Horses are the biggest worry when im out, they can take off running at the sound of a shot half a mile away!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Longranger

Very true. Also, the last thing you need is the vets bill when a pregnant frightend mare drops the foal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

pugw wrote: »
    F*ck him, if your house gets broken into it doesnt give you the right to abuse/accuse the driver of the next slow moving car you see on your road, it would be a different story if you were out of the car or something like that! Fair enough some idiot probably did something stupid but he had no cause abusing you! Fair play For keeping your cool! Horses are the biggest worry when im out, they can take off running at the sound of a shot half a mile away!
    Yea but if you go up to the driver and he has a crowbar and the tools to break in would u not question him to what he was doing around ur area? Same way the op had a cartridge belt and a dog and was in the area of a place that idiots were shooting on with no permission. As I said u can't blame the fello for going off on the op but he kept his cool and explained his reason for being there , which was the only thing he could do in that instance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

You are right garv123, but I didn't want the situation to esculate and I wanted to show him that all hunters are not aggresive by arguing with him. It was obvious that he wasn't afraid to argue and shout the odds. I look at it like this - "If this esculates and he goes running to the guards about lads shooting without permission then I could have guns taken while they investigate, even though I did nor done anything wrong". I think better to play it cool than get hot like him and have no guns for a while.

You've committed no offences as far as I can see on the condition that you were on a public road and not on a private lane. You're authorised to have the gun and cartridges in your possession by virtue of your licence and you were not shooting on his land. Depending on the other man's behaviour and what exactly he was saying it could well be he could have a few questions to answer if Gardai got involved.

But anyway, fair play for not letting the situation escalate and more than likely that'll be the end of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭kemen

quick question, if the land OWNER signs the land up to be used as gun club shooting ground, can a person that leases the ground stop you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

i would have thought it would depend on what stock he has on it , if he has in lamb ewes or mares on it he might not like lads with guns and dogs

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

kemen wrote: »
    quick question, if the land OWNER signs the land up to be used as gun club shooting ground, can a person that leases the ground stop you?

I'm not 100% on such laws, but all leases come in the form of a contract. How that looks i do not know, but sporting rights would be covered under the lease.

If not then the sporting rights would remain with the land OWNER as opposed to the person leasing. So if a land OWNER gave a club/person(s) sporting rights then signed up to a lease, and the renter did not want the gun club/person(s) shooting the lands s/he would most likely stipulate this fact in the lease agreement, and then would have the authority to revoke any permissions.

Thats simply an educated guess.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Ezridax wrote: »
    I'm not 100% on such laws, but all leases come in the form of a contract. How that looks i do not know, but sporting rights would be covered under the lease.

If not then the sporting rights would remain with the land OWNER as opposed to the person leasing. So if a land OWNER gave a club/person(s) sporting rights then signed up to a lease, and the renter did not want the gun club/person(s) shooting the lands s/he would most likely stipulate this fact in the lease agreement, and then would have the authority to revoke any permissions.

Thats simply an educated guess.

That's really one for the legaly well versed among us; I think you're right in saying that it depends what's stipulated in the lease but what if nothing refering to sporting rights is noted in the lease or the lease is not a written contract but a verbal agreement ?

Do sporting rights by default fall under normal benefits that transfer to the person leasing the land or are they by default retained by the owner ? Answer on a postcard to the usual address please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭lofty95

i know im straying a little but one of the problem is is there is to many horses in the country at the minute, half the gunclub ground i shoot has horses on it and typically they are on it all year round another product of the celtic tiger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭browning 12 bore

farmers are getting together must be cause i got the head ate off me the other evening as i was coming out of one field that was going to be ploughed any way jeeps closed me in and accused me of tearing around grass fields in the jeep and there was nearly going to be a boxing match he got very serious with me as well but i kept the cool as well he was fxxxx and blinding out of him and his brother they were unreal to me but i eventually calmed the two of them down and they were telling me that lads were up on his land where he was growing for silage and the whole field was tore up the very same as some one went in with a dunne buggy so now he is on the war path and i have to text hime every time i go in on his land so he knows its me cause he has neighours watching the fields now so god help any one that goes in that place now