Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ideas on somewhere to bring a girl on a date

• 16-01-2012 11:46am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭

Bringing a girl on a date next week, already went out with her there and was thinking of doing something other than the usual cinema/dinner/pub routine. Only thing is not got a fecking clue what:D Would like something really good cause she's fecking stunning but honestly haven't a scooby what!

Help:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

The saddle

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭Tiocfaidh Armani

The saddle

Well I hope to get there which is why I'm trying to think outside the box (sorry about using annoying office jargon btw lol) here and it's why cost is no object:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

A nice long stroll around Dublin zoo can be nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

This might come under "dinner," but what about cooking a nice meal for her?

It's pretty romantic, and even if the food doesn't turn out fantastically, she'll appreciate the gesture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

Off to the zoo with you.

Or if the weather isn't a problem, out to Howth Head or Killiney Hill (or the equivalent in your local borough).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭POKERKING

Comedy gig, laughter lounge or the likes.its something different and also great icebreaker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Loftus hall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Kilmainham Gaol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Burger King on Grafton street?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

I love the zoo.

Comedy night also a great idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,663 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

Well I hope to get there which is why I'm trying to think outside the box (sorry about using annoying office jargon btw lol) here and it's why cost is no object:D

I hope for your sake that she doesn't frequent boards.ie. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭Plankton1

Defo the zoo! Also could go for coffee/hot chocolate and on the big wheel at the O2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

What day is it on? I would avoid the Zoo as a lot of people really don't like them so could be a total killer.

then again my first date with the missus was to St Michans to prod corpses then onto the museum for more corpses with mutilated nipples, so im probably no use.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

chloroform factory production area

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,434 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Porthouse tapas bar exechequer st or wicklow st for tapas and wine...pure pantysoaker that place!

Kilmainham Gaol

Done that three times think that's enough for me:D
    Burger King on Grafton street?

Whooper burgers have been known to get women wet, good call, Sir:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

You should be trying to think about inside the box

This might come under "dinner," but what about cooking a nice meal for her?

It's pretty romantic, and even if the food doesn't turn out fantastically, she'll appreciate the gesture.

Very good idea there, can't cook much but my lasagne is class:)

Zoo is a decent shout but maybe a bit kiddy, is there anywhere in there where there's a bar that does food? Not been in years.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Stiffler2

Take her for a nice brisk walk up the mountains at midnight.

I'll meet you up there.

Yours Sincerely
    Larry Murphy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭dipper.meath16

Glendalough is quite nice for a good walk if its a nice day, took a girl up there for a date, didnt really think it was her thing, together 3 n a half years now! its rough terrain so dress accordingly, but the scenery n waterfalls are beautiful there, then back to the house and cooked dinner!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

IM0 wrote: »
    chloroform factory production area

Surely you'd like to just bring'em to the wrapping area?

Stiffler2 wrote: »

I'll meet you up there.

Yours Sincerely
    Larry Murphy

I LOL'ed very loudly around the office there, ya b'start:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Any dark alley way is usually ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Gmol

Serious answer How about a boat trip around dublin,
    AH answer Junkie tipping,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Davidth88

Plankton1 wrote: »
    Defo the zoo! Also could go for coffee/hot chocolate and on the big wheel at the O2.

That would be hard , that's gone

+1 on the zoo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

Ice skating! Think it's still on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭coco_lola

You should be trying to think about inside the box

I can't believe it took so long for someone to say that :P

I managed to split my chin open ice skating... I now hate ice skating. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭bicardi19

Horse riding maybe.

in before the bareback jokes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

Stiffler2 wrote: »

I'll meet you up there.

Yours Sincerely
    Larry Murphy

Bring a shovel and black bags or will you bring them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Bring her to the party!!

The party in your pants!

Or, the zoo, a walk up in Howth followed by coffee or lunch.
    Dun Laoghaire too.
    BTW - the wheel at the O2 isn't there anymore, so dont bring her there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

Bray . It'll make you seem normal compared to all the ''people'' living there.

A quick walk along the promenade. Getting slagged by all the little knackers sitting on the railings. A spot of lunch, in a small cafe. Served by some depressed waitress with anger issues. Topped off by a brisk jog to the dart station.

It'll make her so happy (to get home).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

How old are ye OP??

Maybe something like this?
    http://www.dublinsightseeing.ie/ghostbus/index.aspx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

If it is a second date I would recommend a nice quiet pub for a few ice breaking drinks and get into a nice deep conversation. Then after that do the walks and rosemantic things and before you know it you will be mortgaged up, 6 kids, a beer belly and walking around your hobble, unshaven, in a stringed vest covered with bean stains.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Walk
    Cinema
    Pub
    Club
    Drive
    Chill out
    Zoo
    Coffee
    Food
    Shopping

msg11 wrote: »
    Walk
    Cinema
    Pub
    Club
    Drive
    Chill out
    Zoo
    Coffee
    Food
    Shopping

And all in that order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭guitarzero

Malaysia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭Trankton

ZORBING!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Get her tickets to "The Show"..............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

Take her to Dr. Quirkeys fllowed by Coppers. both are high class establishments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Show her the majesty of a moonlight night in Skyrim...........

You'll be in there like swimwear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭seXmym0nkey

Is ice skating still open?

Take her to westmoreland street to feed the beggars

How old are ye OP??

Maybe something like this?
    http://www.dublinsightseeing.ie/ghostbus/index.aspx

I'm 32, she's 27. I can't even watch horror films I'm a pussy when it comes to those sort of things, I think that's a no go she might like me if she sees my pussy side:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,663 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

I'm 32, she's 27. I can't even watch horror films I'm a pussy when it comes to those sort of things, I think that's a no go she might like me if she sees my pussy side:D

then again, she might think you're a tranny!!>>

when i showed my gf my pussy side, she was livid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Somebody said Glendalough already. There are tough and easy walks and the scenery down there is lovely. Plus it isnt too far away from 'town.'

Let her know you are serious about her,

Bring her to meet your parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭EddyC15

Gmol wrote: »
    Serious answer How about a boat trip around dublin,

A boat trip would be my answer too but you have to consider that it is January. Boating in the Summer is cold enough at the best of times, boating in Winter? Just bear it in mind.

If she's the active/outdoorsy type why not take her rock climbing on an indoor rock wall?

If you really want her: the 'your credit card and all the fancy shops and jewellers' trick never fails. 6 grand later, she's yours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

A night in with Chinese or a pizza watching the Inbetweeners box-set.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,789 ✭✭✭Feisar

Head to the Lenox Café for breakfast
    Off to Powerscourt Gardens followed by a trip to the waterfall
    Then back to yours for dinner wine and film - happy days.

Cooking isn't that hard. Just Make the dish twice this week for yourself.

Starter: French Onion Soup
    Main: Smoked Haddock Risotto
    Desert: Creme Brulee

Other ideas:

Dublin Castle
    Wax Museum
    Gigs are always good.
    Going for drinks is great, and it doesn't have to be the usual pints, vodka and cokes. Head to a bar that does really good cocktails e.g. Dylan in Ballsbridge.

Last summer I brought my GF out on a boat on a lake down home. Had a packed lunch on one of the islands. Lovely day rowing about the lake.

Was at a burlesque show last valentines, seriously good night. Made an effort and dressed in tux with tails and waistcoat.

First they came for the socialists...