Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Running Events in Wexford

• 15-01-2011 10:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭

This was very useful last year so why not start a new one for this year?

OK lets start with Athletics Wexford

There's a 10k in Ballycarney outside Enniscorthy 22/01/11 - entry only €5!!!
    The MySport 10k is on in Enniscorthy 13/02/11
    Rosslare 10k is on in Rosslare Strand on 25/04/11 - also being discussed here
    Wexford Half Marathon is on (new course)

Any more? How about copying the list above and adding your extras?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭fitness fan

The Strawberry Half Marathon is on at the end of June I think , not sure if dates are finalised yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭Dilbert75

OK lets start with Athletics Wexford http://www.athleticswexford.com/

There's a 10k in Ballycarney outside Enniscorthy 22/01/11 - entry only €5!!! - http://www.slaneyolympic.com/calendar/?event_id=34
    The MySport 10k is on in Enniscorthy 13/02/11 - http://www.runireland.com/events/2011-02-13/my-sport-enniscorthy-10k
    Rosslare 10k is on in Rosslare Strand on 25/04/11 - http://www.runireland.com/events/2010-04-05/wexford-tri-club-rosslare-10k
    Wexford Half Marathon is on (new course) 22/05/11 http://www.wexfordhalfmarathon.com
    Strawberry Half Marathon is on 26/06/11 - http://www.strawberryhalfmarathon.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Not road, but a mixture of trail and hills, but imra visits Wexford in 3 weeks time for a race on Annagh Hill. Check out the imra.ie site. Just €7.

That be http://imra.ie/events/view/id/819/ ?
    What does mountain running entail? Much like cross-country?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭HeavyRunner

If you are on Facebook being a fan of Athletics Wexford will also give to up-to-date info. Anything that is posted to the Athletics Wexford web-site is picked up on the fan page automatically. Here is the link:- Facebook

Also goes to Twitter at:- Twitter

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Would it be worth a non hill runner giving this a shot?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭DustyBin

Oryx wrote: »
    Would it be worth a non hill runner giving this a shot?

Absolutely Oryx
    I've ran it a few times lately and its tough going alright but sure no bother to a woman like yourself
    If you have some off road shoes wear them, if not just bring a pair of runners that you won't mind getting filthy mucky
    There's a tough climb to start with, but what goes up must come down, and it's great craic bombing along downhill

OK lets start with Athletics Wexford http://www.athleticswexford.com/

There's a 10k in Ballycarney outside Enniscorthy 22/01/11 - entry only €5!!! - http://www.slaneyolympic.com/calendar/?event_id=34
    The MySport 10k is on in Enniscorthy 13/02/11 - http://www.runireland.com/events/201...nniscorthy-10k
    Rosslare 10k is on in Rosslare Strand on 25/04/11 - http://www.runireland.com/events/201...b-rosslare-10k
    Wexford Half Marathon is on (new course) 22/05/11 http://www.wexfordhalfmarathon.com
    Kilmore 10k will be on 10/09/11 - watch http://www.kilmoreathletics.com/10k for updates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭UpHill

Annagh is a really good mix, great views from the top, you couldn't but enjoy it, its what running is all about, muck, forest, hill, rock, track you'll get it all, you'll be wrecked after it but feeling great
    the atmosphere at hill runs is better than road races i think, more old school running

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭misty floyd

Dilbert75 wrote: »
    There's a 10k in Ballycarney outside Enniscorthy 22/01/11 - entry only €5!!!

Brilliant race today. Good craic, good people, good course, nice food and great laugh with the raffle. What more do you want....and €5!!! Well done and thank you Slaney AC! See ya next year.

I can echo that. My Mrs did it, was there myself with the kids. Like Misty Floyd says,€5 to enter, nice route (poss with exception of short incursions on to N11 & N80), well run, sandwiches/goujons/sausages in the Ballycarney Inn afterwards, spot prizes (we each got something!) - what more could you ask? Well done Slaney AC.

Forthcoming events in Wexford:

Athletics Wexford http://www.athleticswexford.com/

Mountain Running:
    Annagh Hill on 06/02/11 - http://imra.ie/events/view/id/819/

Road Races:
    The MySport 10k is on in Enniscorthy 13/02/11 - http://www.runireland.com/events/2011-02-13/my-sport-enniscorthy-10k
    Rosslare 10k is on in Rosslare Strand on 25/04/11 - http://www.runireland.com/events/2010-04-05/wexford-tri-club-rosslare-10k
    Kilmore 10k will be on 10/09/11 - watch http://www.kilmoreathletics.com/10k for updates

As with the 2 previous posters, today was great fun in Ballycarney and the raffle was great fun too instead of the stuffy polite applause everyone was laughing and clapping along. Well done S.O. and Graham and Jane. Will definitely be in Enniscorthy for the MY SPORT 10k

A few photos from Ballycarney now on-line.

PHOTOS

Forthcoming events in Wexford: (Added Wexford road championships)

Athletics Wexford http://www.athleticswexford.com/

Mountain Running:
    Annagh Hill on 06/02/11 - http://imra.ie/events/view/id/819/

Road Races:
    The MySport 10k is on in Enniscorthy 13/02/11 - http://www.runireland.com/events/201...nniscorthy-10k
    Wexford Road Championships - Usually easter week-end. http://athleticswexford.com/index.php?view=details&id=33%3Awexford-road-champioships&option=com_eventlist&Itemid=4
    Rosslare 10k is on in Rosslare Strand on 25/04/11 - http://www.runireland.com/events/201...b-rosslare-10k

So next road race up is the MySport 10k in Enniscorthy. Who's doing it? Just signed up myself.

Dilbert75 wrote: »
    So next road race up is the MySport 10k in Enniscorthy. Who's doing it? Just signed up myself.
    I am in , looking forward to it now !

So anyone going to give the mountain running a shot? I'd be interested to hear what a newbie makes of it - might try one next year.

Here's one that may be of interest. It's not a Wexford event but it is organized by a Wexford man (Andrew Connick). Waterford I.T/Waterford A.C 6km Road Race on 5th March at 2pm. Should be loads of other Wexford athletes taking part.

http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=133504893380987

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭Nialloooo

did the mountain ruunng last year, excellent is all i can say, well run very nice and friendly people and really good for your road running

Good luck to anyone doing Annagh Hill tomorrow - hope the weather clears a little for ye.

Facebook event added for the Kilmore 10k in September at the following link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 freedom13

Doing the 10km run in Enniscorthy this Sunday too, first road race in many years, trying to get used to the road surface as I've mostly been running on grass. I don't know whether my calves or my knees are the sorest....:)Gonna give it a lash anyway, hope theres someone still there by the time I finish..

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

freedom13 wrote: »
    Doing the 10km run in Enniscorthy this Sunday too, first road race in many years, trying to get used to the road surface as I've mostly been running on grass. I don't know whether my calves or my knees are the sorest....:)Gonna give it a lash anyway, hope theres someone still there by the time I finish..
    Good luck with it. Theres a drop into a valley about the 6k mark, which you have to slog out of, the rest is pretty flat. Enjoy. Ill be there, but slow. :)

Oryx wrote: »
    Good luck with it. Theres a drop into a valley about the 6k mark, which you have to slog out of, the rest is pretty flat. Enjoy. Ill be there, but slow. :)

Thanks for the info, looking forward to it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭The Wexican

Does anyone have the route for this race. Still toying with the idea of heading down for the race.

Route for last year here. I'm sure it is the same route this year.

Why not? There's a bit of a dip around half way but its mostly down hill for the second half - nice crowd did it last year too, not too many, not too few.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭eoin ryan

Best of luck to everyone taking part in the My Sport 10km. :)
    It was my fav race last year.
    FYI - They are taking entries on the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭The Wexican

Now that my last chance of a ticket has fell through, think I'll be better off running the roads of Wexford. looking forward to it, especially now I've seen the route. From where it is starting from was fearful there'd be a slog up the Shannon.

Think there will be any hassle with parking?

Parking was ok last year - there's a lot of driveway space on the way up to the GAA club and, if I remember correctly, a car park at some sort of agri-machinery garage just down the road. If you're registering on the day you'll have to be there early anyway, so it should be no problem.

Well done to Slaney Olympic on another well-organised race. Good turnout too. Roads were well-marshalled and there was a nice crowd all the way along. The running hat was a nice little bonus and there was a great feed in the school afterwards. Only downside was the queue for the loo beforehand - especially the ladies (its great to be a man:D).

Testing enough course too - but still managed to chop 4 1/2 minutes off my best time (shows I obviously wasn't trying hard enough the last few times:rolleyes:).

More to the point the course records for both men and women were broken today - sub 30-min for the men, 34 min-odd for the women. I believe it was a couple who won both titles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭UpHill

well organised as usual today by SO, registration very organised and quick. Very good testing course with plenty of marshals, only complaints I could have was with the price, 17 online or 20 on the day, it's been creeping up every year, I know this turned a lot of walkers off, 15 euro max is loads for any 10km in my humble opinion, I know the money is been redirected into the club but races in wexford relative to other counties are way over priced. Also I think they should let walkers off first 30 minutes before hand so that every comes home together, felt sorry for them with 5km to go and a lot of us finishing
    Two small cribs but over all great day and well done to all concerned!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭annieee

UpHill wrote: »
    well organised as usual today by SO, registration very organised and quick. Very good testing course with plenty of marshals, only complaints I could have was with the price, 17 online or 20 on the day, it's been creeping up every year, I know this turned a lot of walkers off, 15 euro max is loads for any 10km in my humble opinion, I know the money is been redirected into the club but races in wexford relative to other counties are way over priced. Also I think they should let walkers off first 30 minutes before hand so that every comes home together, felt sorry for them with 5km to go and a lot of us finishing
    Two small cribs but over all great day and well done to all concerned!

I think the walkers requested that they start with the runners this year. Last year they went ahead early and it was kind of a nuisance to have to run past them, especially when some were walking 2 and 3 abreast. Much better this year.

I think the price went up because of chip timing this year. I agree with you that it's a bit expensive, but i don't mind paying for races that funnel the money back into sports clubs. Rather that than pay over the odds for a private venture.

A thank you to all who helped make the Enniscorthy My Sport 10 km run such a great day yesterday, the weather threatened a little at the start, but gladly it had second thoughts and held up well :). Even my strapped up calf held up for most of it :eek:;). Well thats my first out of the way, roll on the next 10km.

Road Races:

County Wexford Novice road championships, Ferns, 13th March
    County Wexford Masters road championships, Enniscorthy, 3rd April
    County Wexford Senior road championships, Kilmore, 17th April
    Rosslare 10k is on in Rosslare Strand on 25th April - http://www.runireland.com/events/201...b-rosslare-10k
    Wexford Half Marathon is on (new course) 22nd May http://www.wexfordhalfmarathon.com
    Strawberry Half Marathon is on 26th June - http://www.strawberryhalfmarathon.com
    Kilmore 10k will be on 10th September - watch http://www.kilmoreathletics.com/10k for updates

Road Races:

County Wexford Novice road championships, Ferns, 13th March

HR - do you have details on this? The Athletics Wexford website is not being updated. Time, location (I know Ferns is not that big but...), registration, etc.

or the route ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭bewleys berry

well the novice is usually 6k and seeing as it's in Ferns I'd be thinkin they will use the Mick Murphy 4 mile course - if they do use this it would at least mean the start would be moved up to the top of the town instead of having to climb the church hill twice like in that race, but then again why ruin the fun!:D
    will post on here in next couple of days when I hear from the club lads what's happening with course/time etc - but will be great to see a good turnout for this - was very encouraging to see such a large field for it last year in Bridgetown (when it was combined with the vets)

Also here's another race for the list of Wexford road races and what better way to start a St Patricks Day than blow away the cobwebs over 5km :-) http://www.slaneyolympic.com/calendar/?event_id=43

Thanks BB - its for my OH, so the ladies race arrangements and route is the one I'm interested in.

Hi Dilbert, yeah the ladies are gonna be first off and it'll be either a 3k or 2m race (i think championship is supposed to be 3k but gives u an idea for her) and the lads in organising club think it will be from the 2m mark of the Mick Murphy course if u know it or if u have run that race before. The race will be at 2pm and the mens race will be off immeiately after

Don't know the course but the start time is a good place to start. Thanks BB.

HI Guys,
    Any update on sundays route? Heard a roumor there is another route out the carnew road, any truth in this?

I haven't been talking to the guys in the club since Tuesday Niall so i've nothing new, but they were all on for it being the last 6k of the Mick Murphy four mile course (ie - starting up where that race finishes outside ''The Thatch'', doing a lap of the ''v'' in Ferns, going out the Ballycarney road, down the stump lane, back out on the main Enniscorthy road at Lodgewood and back in the main road to finish back at ''The Thatch''.....don't shoot me if they change it for race day though:p

Thanks BB that will do me the finest ;)

Just added in 2 more

County Wexford Novice road championships, TODAY, 2pm in Ferns !

Davy Fortune Memorial Run (5k) - St. Patricks day
    Little Sliabh Bui (Hill run) - Sun 20th Mar
    County Wexford Masters road championships, Enniscorthy, 3rd April
    County Wexford Senior road championships, Kilmore, 17th April
    Rosslare 10k is on in Rosslare Strand on 25th April - http://www.runireland.com/events/201...b-rosslare-10k
    Wexford Half Marathon is on (new course) 22nd May http://www.wexfordhalfmarathon.com
    Strawberry Half Marathon is on 26th June - http://www.strawberryhalfmarathon.com
    Kilmore 10k will be on 10th September - watch http://www.kilmoreathletics.com/10k for updates

The Athletics Wexford website isn't being updated at the moment so for anyone who ran today, or who wants to pass on results, the novice results are below. Link to pictures to follow. Well done everyone who fielded out - great to see such good numbers.

Ladies (2 miles):
    1. Beth Cardiff (Kilmore AC) 12-57
    2. Niamh O' Brien (Menapians) 13-51
    3. Martina Conran (Slaney Olympic) 13-58
    4. Tracey Flanagan (United Striders) 14-06
    5. Yvette Shovlin (St Killians) 14-11
    6. Helen Kearney (St Killians) 14-17
    7. Mag Dunphy (Slaney Olympic) 14-50
    8. Ann Bolger (SBR) 14-51
    9. Lorna Murphy (St Killians) 15-29
    10. Nora Boggan (Menapians) 15-40
    11. Claire Gibbons (SBR) 15-44
    12. Laura Halpin (St Killians) 16-18
    13. Barbara Shortall (Menapians) 16-41
    14. Siobhan Doyle (Menapians) 17-23

Teams (3 to score):
    1. St Killians
    2. Menapians

Mens (4 miles):
    1. Jason Kehoe (St Killians) 23-17
    2. David Leonard (SBR) 23-40
    3. Paul McLoughlin (DMP) 23-43
    4. Jim O' Malley (SBR) 23-44
    5. Niall O' Connor (Slaney Olympic) 23-48
    6. Eugene Doherty (SBR) 24-01
    7. Fergus Murphy (SO) 24-35
    8. Brendan Radford (DMP) 24-48
    9. Declan Kelly (Menapians) 24-59
    10. Fredric Bourdin (Menapians) 25-02
    11. Billy Reck (SO) 25-04
    12. Malo Roban (SO) 25-06
    13. Mick Nolan (SO) 25-17
    14. Pat Hyland (SO) 25-26
    15. David Kirwan (United Striders) 25-33
    16. Paddy O' Leary (US) 25-34
    17. Jaro Sumec (St Pauls) 25-34
    18. Denis O' Brien (SO) 25-54
    19. Brendan Dillon (SO) 26-04
    20. Conor Shovlin (St Killians) 26-04
    21. Chris Kennedy (SO) 26-04
    22. Dermot Foley (Menapians) 26-07
    23. Brendan Kirwan (US) 26-10
    24. Emmett Malone (US) 26-18
    25. Paul Fallon (Kilmore AC) 26-56
    26. Clom Stafford (US) 27-05
    27. Adrian Stafford (Kilmore) 27-32
    28. Paul Browne (SO) 27-55
    29. Stephen Coleman (St Killians) 28-35
    30. Eoin Ryan (DMP) 28-58
    31. David O' Neill (St Pauls) 28-49
    32. Stephen Whelan (Kilmore) 28-57
    33. Lar Doyle (SO) 31-52
    34. Dermot McGuinness (DMP) 33-04
    35. Tom Kearney (SBR) 33-24
    36. Paul Connick (St Pauls) 33-53

Teams (4 to score):
    1. Slaney Olympic
    2. SBR
    3. Slaney Olymic ''B''
    4. DMP
    5. United Striders

Pics of todays race can be found at this link: http://www.flickr.com/photos/54702558@N07/

Thanks ill pass it on to all the Slaney Olympic, Good race, great day for it

I see that the Wexford half-marathon has been taking over totally by the DMP club and all profits from the race are going back in to the club. Nice one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭osnola ibax

I see that the Wexford half-marathon has been taking over totally by the DMP club and all profits from the race are going back in to the club. Nice one.

Intrigued.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Results up on imra site for Sliabh Bhui race. Tom Hogan winning in a record time for the route. Bravo. Good turnout too.