Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Moving into a new house and confused about what box to get

• 12-01-2012 4:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭

Hi lads,

My sister is moving into a new house and currently has no tv subscription or satellite.

Does anyone know which option is the best if you are starting from scratch. i have done a bit of background information but not entirely sure which product is the best.

I was reading about freesat and about saorview combo box but i am not too sure which is best.

She would also need a dish to be installed.

Does anyone know what it should cost roughly to get the best box on the market?

All advice appreciated, I did have a read of a few previous threads but to be honest they have started to confuse me because everyone is talking about different things.

What is the best combo box on the market at the moment and how much do they cost roughly to buy and get installed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,852 ✭✭✭✭The Cush

if she doesn't want to pay a sub Saorview (Irish channels) and Freesat (UK channels) are good options.

Satellite dish and Freesat receiver for Freesat, aerial and Saorview receiver or TV for Saorview.

http://www.saorview.ie/products-retailers/saorview-approved-product-listings/
    http://www.tvtrade.ie/satellite-receivers/freesat.html

There are combi/combo satellite terrestrial receivers available, do a search here on the boards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 kacaksireland

Opticum is has good combi boxes and free to air with record functions.Just dont buy cheap Ferguson they ar crap.
    Here is some ideas
    http://www.hdsatservice.com/HD-Satellite-Receivers.html
    Also tvtrade has good prices
    Hope this helps

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,351 ✭✭✭Ronnie Raygun

Make the most of your time here Kacaks, I don't see you lasting too long...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭t c

If you live in Dublin I have found Sat World very helpful.
    Also see http://satworld.ie/product-info.php?Combo_HD_UK_Irish_System_Installed-pid211.html

Cheers.

TC

Make the most of your time here Kacaks, I don't see you lasting too long...
    I think you have some problems.Deal with them:eek:

t c wrote: »
    If you live in Dublin I have found Sat World very helpful.
    Also see http://satworld.ie/product-info.php?Combo_HD_UK_Irish_System_Installed-pid211.html

Cheers.

TC

SatWorld is very expensive www.tvtrade.ie has on of the best prices in Ireland shipping only 7.5e.Also on www.adverts.ie you can get more better deals on combi boxes.

The op was looking for installation also.

They may be a bit more expensive, but it is a shop that you can call into and browse and get advice, which I like to do. Also, I do not think that the Ariva HD Combo at €94.99 (€98.56 in TV Trade including VAT) is overly expensive.

If someone wants an all-in price I think they will have to pay a little bit more. But if you know what you want, of course you can get it a bit cheaper. Also, I think Sat Planet is probably better value than TV Trade, a Triax 110cm dish for €59.99, great value. Like everything, if you shop around you will get certain things cheaper in one place and others in the next.

Also, I got Sat World to call to me in Shankill to align my Triax with 4 LNB's as I was having trouble getting 26E. The set up 28, 26, 19 and 13E for €65. Expensive????

TC

Buy the Buy, I have no connections with Sat World or Sat Planet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭marco2068

did you need a slimline lnb to get 26?

No, but a squeeze.
    If you follow this thread http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056416102 or in the thread "search this thread" option put in 26E and all the relevant info will be there with pictures etc.

Cheers.

TC

The op was looking for installation also.

They may be a bit more expensive, but it is a shop that you can call into and browse and get advice, which I like to do. Also, I do not think that the Ariva HD Combo at €94.99 (€98.56 in TV Trade including VAT) is overly expensive.

If someone wants an all-in price I think they will have to pay a little bit more. But if you know what you want, of course you can get it a bit cheaper. Also, I think Sat Planet is probably better value than TV Trade, a Triax 110cm dish for €59.99, great value. Like everything, if you shop around you will get certain things cheaper in one place and others in the next.

Also, I got Sat World to call to me in Shankill to align my Triax with 4 LNB's as I was having trouble getting 26E. The set up 28, 26, 19 and 13E for €65. Expensive????

TC

Buy the Buy, I have no connections with Sat World or Sat Planet.

Well its a bit to much for satellite adjustment.I do adjustment only for 30e as well as install!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,351 ✭✭✭Ronnie Raygun

I'm not the smartass tit coming on here just trying to sell stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Compton

Well its a bit to much for satellite adjustment.I do adjustment only for 30e as well as install!!!!!!!!!
    Yeah but you're on the dole and don't pay tax, and for some reason think its ok the talk about illegal activities on your website. NICE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭FRIENDO

Trhiggy83 wrote: »
    Hi lads,

My sister is moving into a new house and currently has no tv subscription or satellite.

Does anyone know which option is the best if you are starting from scratch. i have done a bit of background information but not entirely sure which product is the best.

I was reading about freesat and about saorview combo box but i am not too sure which is best.

She would also need a dish to be installed.

Does anyone know what it should cost roughly to get the best box on the market?

All advice appreciated, I did have a read of a few previous threads but to be honest they have started to confuse me because everyone is talking about different things.

What is the best combo box on the market at the moment and how much do they cost roughly to buy and get installed.

Hi Trhiggy83,

If I was starting from scratch I would get a Saorview approved TV (You would need an aerial installed)
    I would get a Freesat set top box (You would need a satellite installed)

If your Sister already has a tv without Saorview, a combo could be an option. (Both satellite and aerial)

Plenty of info on all above prices on attached link, both supply only, DIY or Installed.
    http://www.satellite.ie/index.html

Hope this helps.

Do you have Public liability Insurance ?
    Have you undergone Health and Safety training for the job at hand ?
    Do you have Appropriate equipment for the job undertaken ?
    Are you Trained in the Installation of Satellite and or Terrestrial reception equipment ?
    Do you Have a registered Business or Company ?

I would also require a character reference before I hire somebody to do a job.

Thank you.

I have to agree with the above, for the price you charge you wouldnt be able to afford public liabilty insurance alone. how people let you near their house is beyond me.

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 3,585 Mod ✭✭✭✭St Senan

kacaksireland welcome to boards.ie Have you read the rules. That online shop you are linking to in all of your posts is not a registered retailer for saorview so the saorview name and logo should not be used by the OWNER of that site

scaller wrote: »
    kacaksireland welcome to boards.ie Have you read the rules. That online shop you are linking to in all of your posts is not a registered retailer for saorview so the saorview name and logo should not be used by the OWNER of that site
    Thats all you noticed? what about the fact that he sells sky subscriptions on it? :D:rolleyes:

shblob wrote: »
    Thats all you noticed? what about the fact that he sells sky subscriptions on it? :D:rolleyes:

I Just noticed what your on about now I had to go to the sites blog to view it.
    :eek::eek::eek:. A brave man to be advertising that.

FRIENDO wrote: »
    Do you have Public liability Insurance ?
    Have you undergone Health and Safety training for the job at hand ?
    Do you have Appropriate equipment for the job undertaken ?
    Are you Trained in the Installation of Satellite and or Terrestrial reception equipment ?
    Do you Have a registered Business or Company ?

I would also require a character reference before I hire somebody to do a job.

Thank you.

I dont think any of satellite installer has all that package!And then you want job to be done for as cheap as possible!I dont thinks so.

So you're basically saying you're extremely dodgy?

Well that a bit to much!
    Who sell what any adds about that?
    Probably you sell that if you know anything about that?
    All websites full with Card share look around you.....

Cardshare is illegal and it is not allowed to be discussed here on Boards.ie.
    Have you read the rules. Also that website is not Approved retailer to sell Saorview.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭seaniefr

Well that a bit to much!
    Who sell what any adds about that?
    Probably you sell that if you know anything about that?
    All websites full with Card share look around you.....

So tell us a little more about yourselves do you have a trading name, company name- i see no phone numbers on your website............. i have bought stuff from TVTrade & collected it in person i can vouch for them and no i don't work for them.
    A simple name check on Solocheck.ie will show up other companies so where's yours?

Cardshare is illegal and it is not allowed to be discussed here on Boards.ie.
    Have you read the rules. Also that website is not Approved retailer to sell Saorview.

So why you advertise it here?
    And mention about selling sky subsription?You are :confused: !!!
    Its not you business!Nobody sell saorview.Check again its didital tv....

Im not in the trade at all but genuinely feel sorry for the proper installers and businesses that have to put up with these sort of cowboys.

So why you advertise it here?
    And mention about selling sky subsription?You are :confused: !!!
    Its not you business!Nobody sell saorview.Check again its didital tv....

I dont advertise here. i dont sell sky here. And it is RTE's Business that the site you are promoting are using the Saorview logo to sell non Saorview approved receivers. And card sharing is Illegal and is not allowed to be discussed here so i will advise you to remove or Edit your post please before you get in trouble.

Im not in the trade at all but genuinely feel sorry for the proper installers and businesses that have to put up with these sort of cowboys.

Those proper web sites what you talking about are rip offs!!!
    And they are the same as everybody else!
    Dont be sealy you think they go out to do the job and give receipt for they work.Everything is cash in hand.
    You should know it better!

kacaksireland you are going to get in trouble with your posts. You are Pimping a site that is Illegally selling card sharing equipment and the site using a Saorview logo belonging to RTE to sell non approved receivers. .

Scaller stop selling Sky cardsharing and stop advertising it!

Read this who doesnt no things around

TV aerial / receiver installers will play a key role in ensuring the successful roll out of the SAORVIEW service in the next 18 months.

The aerial installation trade in Ireland is unregulated at present. SAORVIEW is not in a position to establish the competence of any aerial installer. However, SAORVIEW is working with a number of trade bodies with competence in this area who undertake vetting and registration of their members. The following organisations are recognised by SAORVIEW and are listed on our website. These organisations will be able to provide consumers with a list of registered members in their area.
    And there is only 7 official saorview approved company's who are saorview approved installers.And i can write a least 8 who are not!
    But i am not kind of person like some of here.
    So what about them!!!

Dont be sealy you think they go out to do the job and give receipt for they work.Everything is cash in hand.

Strangely enough I know a few people and companies who pay tax in order for you to get your dole money every friday.

Read this who doesnt no things around

TV aerial / receiver installers will play a key role in ensuring the successful roll out of the SAORVIEW service in the next 18 months.

The aerial installation trade in Ireland is unregulated at present. SAORVIEW is not in a position to establish the competence of any aerial installer. However, SAORVIEW is working with a number of trade bodies with competence in this area who undertake vetting and registration of their members. The following organisations are recognised by SAORVIEW and are listed on our website. These organisations will be able to provide consumers with a list of registered members in their area.
    And there is only 7 official saorview approved company's who are saorview approved installers.And i can write a least 8 who are not!
    But i am not kind of person like some of here.
    So what about them!!!

What planet are you from?????

Talk about moving off the subject!!!!!!!!!

The poor op is probably totally confused and thinks that free tv of any sort is illegal :confused::confused::confused:

are there ever mods on these forums?

Strangely enough I know a few people and companies who pay tax in order for you to get your dole money every friday.

Yes they pay tax but 15% of what they sell.And i am not on dole you Irish potato i have 2 jobs and i pay tax for bought of them!And if you mention the dole i think you are that person who gets it cus i even dont know which days you take your dole out!Potato head....

Potatoe head. How insulting, shows your true lack of education.

Yes they pay tax but 15% of what they sell.And i am not on dole you Irish potato i have 2 jobs and i pay tax for bought of them!And if you mention the dole i think you are that person who gets it cus i even dont know which days you take your dole out!Potato head....[/Quote

So if you have 2 jobs where do you get the time to be on this or doing cash jobs?
    Are you defrauding your employer by browsing the web on their time? And drop the potato head comment........not nice

Talk about moving off the subject!!!!!!!!!

The poor op is probably totally confused and thinks that free tv of any sort is illegal :confused::confused::confused:

Yes all he want is to get best free to air box in his house:)
    Any any of us are helping the lad just stup** coments....

seaniefr wrote: »

Yes they pay tax but 15% of what they sell.And i am not on dole you Irish potato i have 2 jobs and i pay tax for bought of them!And if you mention the dole i think you are that person who gets it cus i even dont know which days you take your dole out!Potato head....[/Quote

So if you have 2 jobs where do you get the time to be on this or doing cash jobs?
    Are you defrauding your employer by browsing the web on their time? And drop the potato head comment........not nice
    And to what government do you pay tax?
    The tax rate you quote for that website is 15% yet it advertises installation work here where the full vat rate is 23% for goods. I think you have done an outstanding job on promoting yourself here and also ensured that everyone on this site gets to see you for the racist that you are. Bravo!!!!!

Its not nice to put your nose in other peoples business.

Iam here to help people not ask them where they get money for living!

It doesnt meter.

Just stop sending post about all this crap///....#

Its not nice to put your nose in other peoples business.

Iam here to help people not ask them where they get money for living!

It doesnt meter.

Just stop sending post about all this crap///....#[/Quote

And to what government do you pay tax?
    The tax rate you quote for that website is 15% yet it advertises installation work here where the full vat rate is 23% for goods. I think you have done an outstanding job on promoting yourself here and also ensured that everyone on this site gets to see you for the racist that you are. Bravo!!!!!

15% they only declare

kacaksireland you really need to read the rules before posting here http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=295325

I dont think any of satellite installer has all that package!And then you want job to be done for as cheap as possible!I dont thinks so.

WRONG
    Please find the three organisations recognised by Saorview

http://www.isaa.tv/isaamap.htm

http://www.cai.org.uk/component/content/article/474
    http://www.nationalguild.ie/

Cash in Hand, I believe the following link may be of some help.
    http://www.revenue.ie/en/contact/investigations-prosecutions-division.html

He closed his boards.ie account and spent the rest of the night removing the Saorview logos and the card sharing details from his website. http://www.hdsatservice.com/Digital-TV-Installation.html. He forgot to edit his adverts.ie account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Trhiggy83

Hi Trhiggy83,

If I was starting from scratch I would get a Saorview approved TV (You would need an aerial installed)

If your Sister already has a tv without Saorview, a combo could be an option. (Both satellite and aerial)

Plenty of info on all above prices on attached link, both supply only, DIY or Installed.

Hope this helps.

Cheers for the replies lads, i see ye got a little bit sidetracked.

My sister does have a new tv but not too sure if it is a saorview approved to be honest.

Pardon my ignorance her but if you have a saorview approved tv, does this mean i dont need a saorview box but would still need an aerial :confused: sorry this may be a stupid question.

I know she will need the satellite for the freesat

Thanks in advance :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,285 ✭✭✭Peter Rhea

No need for a box if the tv can decode the signal; it doesn't necessarily have to be Saorview approved.

Post the make & model here & we'll try to tell you what's what.

Trhiggy83 wrote: »
    Hi Trhiggy83,

Hope this helps.

Cheers for the replies lads, i see ye got a little bit sidetracked.

My sister does have a new tv but not too sure if it is a saorview approved to be honest.

Pardon my ignorance her but if you have a saorview approved tv, does this mean i dont need a saorview box but would still need an aerial :confused: sorry this may be a stupid question.

I know she will need the satellite for the freesat

Thanks in advance :pac:
    She could get One of those combination boxes that combine an Arial and cable from a satellite dish if it's an old ( not Saorview compatible) tv I have a 50" plasma that I bought in Currys but won't take Saorview I got a Triax Hd 537 combo box from tvtrade it worked ou fine got all the free to air satellite channels and Saorview channels & digital it seems to be working away grand and I didn't have to replace the tv which would have left a serious hole in my budget

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Nice to see this thread eventually get back on topic.If the tv is new it should be saorview compatible,try a €2 aerial and get the tv to scan for all available digital channels.If you pick up 3e,RTE jr etc then you have saorview.All you need then is a freesat set up for UK tv and you're away.

After all the bickering on this thread I'm surprised the op just didn't ring Sky after reading some of the posts here.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,285 ✭✭✭Peter Rhea

zerks wrote: »
    If the tv is new it should be saorview compatible,try a €2 aerial and get the tv to scan for all available digital channels.If you pick up 3e,RTE jr etc then you have saorview.

And by implication, if the crappy €2 aerial doesn't pick up anything (very likely), the tv won't work with Saorview? Pretty daft suggestion.