Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stuff Irish People Like

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Stay in the pub well after we stop serving

Have ye no homes to go to???

• Registered Users Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭thirtythirty

Good uppy downy walks

:pac: You win this thread

• Registered Users Posts: 688 ✭✭✭maxfresh

king crisps or tayto sandwiches

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Stay in the pub well after we stop serving

Have ye no homes to go to???

My local barman using a line from Blues Brothers.

'You don't have to go home but you can't stay here.'

• Registered Users Posts: 231 ✭✭MissMoppet

Football Special.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Fightin' on the street after the dishco.

Lying in bed till 4pm after a night on the town, then getting up putting the same clothes on again and heading for 'the cure'

The cure...the first pint is hard but everyone after than is pure heaven.

A durty big fry the morning after.

Ridin young wans.

Textin while in mass.

Talkin on the phone while driving.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Feisar

Scruffles wrote: »
    collecting turf to run the cooker/oven [the countryfolks].

Turf is reared, not collected.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭rain on

Pot o' tae, a hang sangwich an' a pink shnack

Road bowling

• Registered Users Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

Beating England in sport. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭rain on

Getting out the gap

Bateing off for lunch.

"Where are you going?"
    "Just bateing off downtown for the hour"

I say it all the time
    MissMoppet wrote: »
    Football Special.

What's this? :):confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 10,514 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

SomeFool wrote: »
    Beating England in sport. :)

While supporting English clubs.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,463 ✭✭✭Antomus Prime

smash wrote: »
    going to "the video store" to rent DVD's.

digital VIDEO disc :cool:

Crisp Sambos
    BBQ/Drink session when the sun peaks out from the clouds
    Copying Americans
    Doing laps at closing time in a niteclub looking for the women not fortunate enough to hook up with the sober/clear minded dudes....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭summerskin

digital VIDEO disc :cool:

Crisp Sambos
    BBQ/Drink session when the sun peaks out from the clouds
    Copying Americans
    Doing laps at closing time in a niteclub looking for the women not fortunate enough to hook up with the sober/clear minded dudes....

digital versatile disc....

oh, nissan micras. the farmers couldn't drive home drunk without them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Ripping people off...

• Registered Users Posts: 353 ✭✭bradyle

summerskin wrote: »

What farmers do you know that drive nissan micras?

They're for the grannies...and little boy racers who cant afford decent cars so buy these and put hideous body kits on them hoping no one will notice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭al28283

I enjoy weekends

• Registered Users Posts: 2,463 ✭✭✭Antomus Prime

summerskin wrote: »
    digital versatile disc....

They lied to me.................. I'LL KILL THEM ALL!!!!!!!!!!!

.........it was a joke, I always here the older folk calling them video disks, maybe not as obvious a joke as I thought

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Explosions in the Sky

Gyalist wrote: »
    Banana sandwiches.

Never seen anyone anywhere eating that before.
    I used to have them as kid :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Bad Panda

smash wrote: »
    And going to "the pictures" to see movies and going to "the video store" to rent DVD's.

They also like Coddle

I've always said 'video store' :o

But anyway..eh tea and complaining - and not doing anything about what they're complaining about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I still call the building in Limerick the ANCO building :o

FÁS is what the young 'uns say nowadays

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭summerskin

bradyle wrote: »
    What farmers do you know that drive nissan micras?

They're for the grannies...and little boy racers who cant afford decent cars so buy these and put hideous body kits on them hoping no one will notice

the landcruiser is the main car(for going to mass or into the town), but many of the farmers i know have their little micra or starlet as a runabout for when they get tanked. usually has one headlight out and no NCT to complete the effect.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,257 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

and unfunny comedies.

There's gonna be a paddlin'

• Registered Users Posts: 177 ✭✭grumula

mikemac1 wrote: »
    I still call the building in Limerick the ANCO building :o

FÁS is what the young 'uns say nowadays

d'ye still call brown thomas todds an' all?

gettin' scuttered in poor mans kilkee
    red or brown sauce sangajis
    sendin' muck savage kids to school with milk in a whiskey bottle and 8 sangajis made entirely out of end slices (somehow)
    packet and tripe (drisheen for the cork folk)
    walkin' 5 abreast on the path, and expectin' the one person coming towards you to move
    pound shops
    ballybunion
    things that england did five years ago
    tits in a GAA jersey
    existentialism
    next doors washing line

• Registered Users Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Borat_Sagdiyev

My local barman using a line from Blues Brothers.

'You don't have to go home but you can't stay here.'

Mine said "Come on now lads, all aboard for Tokyo" ?!

Irish people like "a nice bit of ham".

Also, watching one of their own inter county players ( both Football and Hurling ) "lamp" an opposition player yet bawling at the first sign of the opposition doing the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭clintondaly

Geographical allegiance to tea bag brands

Any examples

Cork for Barrys
    Rest of Ireland is Lyons

Does that sum it up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭SisterAnn

Wearing anoraks, white shirts, and slipon shoes whilst keeping hands in your pockets.
    Staring at cars that you don't recognize.
    Collecting money outside churches.
    Wrapping used county-coloured fertilizer bags around telegraph poles.
    Setting up stop and go systems so that an uneven road can be made vaguely even with a coat of tar and loose chippings.
    Proclaiming that things are gas and imploring regalers of humourous stories to shtop.
    Keeping Jack Russell dogs.
    Parking haphazardly (using hazard lights though) outside large funerals, hurling finals, and village convenience stores in the minutes leading up to a Lotto draw.
    Making raised beds in the middle of the front lawn using old tractor tyres, and supplemented with some vintage gloss-painted farm machinery.
    Having the tae after the angelus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Giving out about Ireland and then ready to smack heads when someone from out foregin does it.