Garda Traffic Corps.. real gardai or not??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 visionary

haha, no im a security guard in burger king, and im fed up watching tc getting free chips all the time lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭Tango Alpha 51

Visionary,
    For you information, I have seen TC members stand right beside their regular colleagues at fights. I've also seen the RSU & dog units standing by their colleagues. I've had TC come as back up to me when I needed it on calls. Your "extensive" research is flawed & your continued postings about TC members not being "real" gardai is insulting to all members of An Garda Siochana!!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭Spartan09

http://www.dttas.ie/speech.aspx?Id=35

From the AA roadwatch to the general mainstream media to the politicans who run our country, there is almost universal acclaim for the role of the traffic core in reducting the number of road deaths in Ireland since its inception. The obvious disrespect to members of the traffic core in your posts is evident. At the end of the day your attempted distinction between members of an Garda Siochana who are in traffic core and who are not is largely irrelevant in your feebile attempt to distinguish them from "real" Gardai. I would be confident in my opinion that non traffic core members do not consider traffic core members as any less of a "real" Garda than they are. I wonder is the poster a parent? I am now, it gives you a different perspective on life. To some of the public the NCT is a money making machine by the government and any member of an Garda Siochana who enforces it is not doing "real" Garda work. I've come across cars that are up to 2 years without an NCT. If that car has defective brakes and plows into the back of car containing my child and injures or kills them because its road worthiness was never evaluated or enforced by traffic core then how do you think I or you or any other parent would feel about that?? Traffic core may not be percieved as being as glamorous as other sections of an garda siochana but its effectiveness is a matter for debate by the commissioner and minister for justice etc, they and only then will decide on its fate.

At the end of the day if you dont speed, drink and drive, have tax, insurance, nct, dont talk on the phone then you should never have an issue with traffic core. They enforce the laws made by the politicans you vote for, they dont make them up, if you have issues with how they work then its a matter for government who make the laws they are entrusted with enforcing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Guys, dont reply to the bad troll.

op. Fúck off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭angelfire9

During the 40 odd years that my father was a member of An Garda Siochana he served at many posts & many duties
    He was on the border
    He was a village cop in the back ass of beyond
    He was in the branch
    He was in the Traffic Corps
    He was IC in a large town

Pray tell OP for those 40 odd years between attestation & retirement did my father cease to be a "real cop" when he joined the corps and become "real" again when he was promoted out?? :rolleyes:

What a load of codswallop

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

Whatever became of '' Don't feed the trolls '' :confused:

Delancey wrote: »
    Whatever became of '' Don't feed the trolls '' :confused:

Sorry.... me bad..... I was so hoping NGA or Deadwood would show up :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭Paulzx

visionary wrote: »
    ..but in fairness, he wasnt (as far as i no) responding to an armed incident ..as far as i no (and open to correction) he was performing a traffic stop

I'd say the bullet didn't hurt as much so...

He's not a troll. Trolls are at least subtle in what they are trying to do.

He's more a sort of braindead asshole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

I've seen members of the TC doing non traffic duties loads of times here in Dublin,but anyways why does enforcing the laws of our roads/saving lives not make a member of AGS a ''real guard?''

I live beside the childrens hospital here in Dublin and at rush hour on most evenings I do see members of the traffic corps in cars and on motorbikes putting their lifes on the line weaving in and out of traffic in order to escort a presumably quite ill child in an ambo to hospital,I think they deserve a bit of respect,and don't deserve to be sneered at by ignorant posters on here who more then likely have no idea what they're day to day duties entail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭marketty

visionary wrote: »
    haha, no im a security guard in burger king, and im fed up watching tc getting free chips all the time lol

So what you're saying is you couldn't get into templemore?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

I've seen members of the TC doing non traffic duties loads of times here in Dublin,but anyways why does enforcing the laws of our roads/saving lives not make a member of AGS a ''real guard?''

I live beside the childrens hospital here in Dubin and at rush hour on most evenings I do see members of the traffic corps in cars and on motorbikes putting their lifes on the line weaving in and out of traffic in order to escort a presumably quite ill child in an ambo to hospital,I think they deserve a bit of respect,and don't deserve to be sneered at by ignorant posters on here who more then likely have no idea what they're day to day duties entail.

H's a rentacop in BK. Clearly he is an egg spurt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭Techo

There real gardai alright unfortunately.Pity they serve no purpose.Government should send em back on the beat, it's where they're needed most.Know a few real guards and from what I hear, traffic cops are a waste of space and wouldn't know work if it hit them in the face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,585 ✭✭✭kub

angelfire9 wrote: »
    During the 40 odd years that my father was a member of An Garda Siochana he served at many posts & many duties
    He was on the border
    He was a village cop in the back ass of beyond
    He was in the branch
    He was in the Traffic Corps
    He was IC in a large town

Pray tell OP for those 40 odd years between attestation & retirement did my father cease to be a "real cop" when he joined the corps and become "real" again when he was promoted out?? :rolleyes:

What a load of codswallop

Respect to your father and the service which he gave those communities over those 40 years.
    I am just wondering, the list above, is it in the correct order, I mean was he in the Branch and then moved to TC, in that order? Was he promoted to Sarge or something in the process?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 375 ✭✭mcgarrett

kub wrote: »
    Respect to your father and the service which he gave those communities over those 40 years.
    I am just wondering, the list above, is it in the correct order, I mean was he in the Branch and then moved to TC, in that order? Was he promoted to Sarge or something in the process?

For gods sake!!! Have you not been watching "Mattie" :D

kub wrote: »

Pretty much
    Sleepy town > Border Town > Branch in Large Town > Sgt in Traffic Corps > Sgt IC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭Thepredator

People are worse for responding to such antagonising arseholes. Clearly just looking for a reaction!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭CB19Kevo

He is just looking for a reaction, And as for him doing security,That was just a bad joke by him as i cant see anyone hiring someone with such a attitude. TC cover any calls that regular cars respond to depending on there location and the priority and anyone out on the street knows that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭WilcoOut

Traffic Corps are a specialised unit

just like the ERU, SDU, CAB etc

experts in their own right

in other police forces perhaps traffic cops are seen as wasters, not in this jurisdiction though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Galway K9

Spartan09 wrote: »
    http://www.dttas.ie/speech.aspx?Id=35

From the AA roadwatch to the general mainstream media to the politicans who run our country, there is almost universal acclaim for the role of the traffic core in reducting the number of road deaths in Ireland since its inception. The obvious disrespect to members of the traffic core in your posts is evident. At the end of the day your attempted distinction between members of an Garda Siochana who are in traffic core and who are not is largely irrelevant in your feebile attempt to distinguish them from "real" Gardai. I would be confident in my opinion that non traffic core members do not consider traffic core members as any less of a "real" Garda than they are. I wonder is the poster a parent? I am now, it gives you a different perspective on life. To some of the public the NCT is a money making machine by the government and any member of an Garda Siochana who enforces it is not doing "real" Garda work. I've come across cars that are up to 2 years without an NCT. If that car has defective brakes and plows into the back of car containing my child and injures or kills them because its road worthiness was never evaluated or enforced by traffic core then how do you think I or you or any other parent would feel about that?? Traffic core may not be percieved as being as glamorous as other sections of an garda siochana but its effectiveness is a matter for debate by the commissioner and minister for justice etc, they and only then will decide on its fate.

At the end of the day if you dont speed, drink and drive, have tax, insurance, nct, dont talk on the phone then you should never have an issue with traffic core. They enforce the laws made by the politicans you vote for, they dont make them up, if you have issues with how they work then its a matter for government who make the laws they are entrusted with enforcing.

I didn't vote for those politicians lol

cheers for ye,r reply's..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭FGR

As mentioned 95% of the people interact with Gardaí on the side of the road.

Disband the TC and visible presence of Gardaí would collapse. Why? Because the TC is dedicated to maintaining that presence and dealing with matters pertaining to that presence. The regular might deal with traffic accidents but who goes around to set up diversions on complex rural roadways while that accident is being investigated?

The regular can be taken up by shoplifters, assaults, domestics so who would be there as the enforcement/deterrent to stop the drunken idiot at the wheel who could run a family off the road? Same goes for organising and maintaining/containing people at large events. You think Oxygen is bad enough as it is during the summer imagine it without the Traffic Corps keeping things moving..!

Oh, also. I'm sure you must have seen the countless media images where Traffic members are clearly seen having to assist at point duties at Leinster House and other venues. The availability of extra uniforms is essential especially in rural areas..!

IMO traffic is needed. And I'm saying this as a member of the Regular who can't get the time to do the things that need to be done on public roadways.

..thanks for your invaluable contribution "thepredator" your going to have to learn some tolerance of "assholes" if you eventually wish to become a emt ..ur going to meet plenty of em :)

im sorry for wasting most of yer time with this "social experiment" of mine :) but im the member of a regular unit too, and have been for a few good years

..im aware the people who are already on their high horses will shout "wasting forum time" cos of this post ..but im happy and actually surprised to see so many people defending AGS ..i work inner city and its always so negative!

as for the NCT, yea i think its a money spinner ..its going up 10% by the way, from €50 to 55 ...i suppose thats going to save lives too ..just like people who fail cos they IRL is not on the number plate lol

As for traffic ..my opinion stands (and its only my opinion and i dont expect you to agree, thats democracy :) but as far as Tangos are concerned, they add no value to my work ..they dont assist me, they dont do traffic calls, my only chance of meeting them is by them doing 32 in a 30km going home after a a hard days work of being assaulted and spat at ..sound for your devotion to duty lads, but if u are "Traffic before Garda" like you say u are ..then stay the f**k out out of my "Garda" Station ..Divisional Traffic IMO are sound, "T", im sure a few are but the ones who are, but the rest IMO ...and as it has been pointed out ..they are the face of the organisation!

sorry for my little rant, but i am a (self praise) hard working garda, who loves the job and hasnt taken a sick day in 9 years ..im unhappy with TC cos i feel they dont pull their weight ..they always seem to lay down the law and the stupid things, but if the **** is hitting the fan theyr gone ..GS is supposed to be one big family, but i honestly feel "TC" are the the outsiders

im delighted with the response i got here defending AGS ..and as for the high horse brigade ..remember you only started callin me an asshole after i said i worked in burger king ..perhaps u should do some inner reflection on that one.. :)

oh and by the way ..no i didnt get penalty points or a rollikin from TC, this has been building slowly but surely over a few years ..and i dont give a tuppence if u dont like my rant, its my rant after all and ur probably smelly so toss off :)

..oh and lighten up, its only a forum :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

I must say I did enjoy read this thread. The replies were very entertaining to be honest however I didn't try to defend the TC......I don't think there is any need. Those of us who are in the job can see the waiting list to get in. Those of you with a brain can see traffic collision stats and decide if TC helped in anyway yourselves.

I really really REALLY enjoyed infracting your ass for trolling in Post one and simply banning your ass in the end for a month.

I know its only the first month of the year but I really think this thread will make it into the "Langer" hall of fame for ES threads of 2012.........

So......first ban in the main ES forum of 2012......do I get a box of chocolates or a toaster or something?????

O......and what are you....12 or so?? Your grammar is terrible and seriously......"9 years in AGS" and using text speak????