Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Traffic Corps.. real gardai or not??

• 07-01-2012 8:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14

Hi, are garda traffic failed Gardai?? i mean, most gardai are hard working and deal with aggressive and violent people on a daily basis ..others investigate complex crimes ..while imo Garda Traffic Corps just prance around shooting fish in a barrel ..worse still they seem to think they are the bees knees and that life as we no it would not exist with out them ..i wonder are they afraid of real work instead of just handing out tickets to little old ladies??

any thoughts welcome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Oh, I'm gonna get my popcorn ready.

I'm gonna assume that this post is because some TC member is after giving you a bollocking or a ticket.

Traffic corps are as important as any other section within AGS as 95% of members of the public deal with gardai only when they're behind the wheel of a car.

More people die on the roads every year than nearly any other single source where AGS have an impact (drugs/murders etc) and it's traffic gardai that have to clean up these crashes so I've no issue with them taking a strong stance if someone's being dangerous.

So yes, Gardai who are in the traffic Corp are REAL gardai they've undergone equal if not more training than "regular" Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭Nertballs

i think you missed the meaning there, the gardaí spend most of the time avoiding trouble :L ah no :L i thought they were real gardaí??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

visionary wrote: »
    I joined boards.ie just so I could moan about getting stopped by the traffic corps.

:rolleyes::D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 553 ✭✭✭ThePower11

Good idea OP lets just disband the traffic corps and let drink drivers, speeder's, insurance dodgers, tax dodgers and drug smugglers do what they like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭Tango Alpha 51

What an insulting post!!!! Hopefully mods will close this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 visionary

from what i hear traffic corps "dont do traffic accidents" ..thats left to the "regular" as u call them, like everything else it seems (i know a few "real" guards). seems to me that traffic corps is just an easy way out ..no paper work or risk of dealing with real criminals

what has traffic got to do with drug smugglers??

Are you deliberately going out of your way to be insulting ?????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 553 ✭✭✭ThePower11

what has traffic got to do with drug smugglers??
    Drug dealers trafficking drugs around the country?

no, just wondering if they actually do as much work as people think ..or do "normal" guards do most of the work ..but "traffic" just get better publicity

i mean "regular" guards work away day in day from what i hear ..traffic seem to get the big campagains on rte ..but are in fact just wasters..

regular guards do all the traffic accidents so far as i no

hi power11 ..but thats not much use if a car has a boot full of drugs while guards giving him ticket for no tax (and not looking in boot)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

[enter HOOCH]

*sh*t goes down*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭angelfire9

Isn't the poster formerly known as NGA a member of TC?

Popcorn at the ready :D:D:D

..cat among the pigeons :)

Where are NGA and Deadwood??????????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭john reilly

wasnt there talk by the new justice minister of closing down T.C and incorporating them back into normal duties. Would be a bad idea as they do a nessecary job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

Do you never watch those BBC police shows? in Wales they changed the name from traffic to scoid because they go after crime committed on the road, not just traffic offenses.

problem imo is that it the guards who begin at the dail (and other places) apply to traffic to get away from that ..imo that because they spent their careers on posts etc that they have no experience dealing with real crimes ... hence when they go to traffic they think their the bees knees ..from my "extensive" research, ..apart from some exceptions, tc dont do traffic accidents, dont respond to calls for help from "normal" guards. ..they catch speeders on 30/40 km in dual carriagways, bus laners etc ..they get the same pay as real guards, with no hassle, no investigations ..if your getting ur ass kicked on main street, traffic will NOT respond to the call.. are they real guards?? ..i say no!! but its only my opinion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,340 ✭✭✭Please Kill Me

hi power11 ..but thats not much use if a car has a boot full of drugs while guards giving him ticket for no tax (and not looking in boot)

LMFAO!! Well put! :D

i think traffic should be enforced mainly by a new body, not tc, on less pay and more productivity ..like the new go safe speed vans ..??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭UDP

problem imo is that it the guards who begin at the dail (and other places) apply to traffic to get away from that ..imo that because they spent their careers on posts etc that they have no experience dealing with real crimes ... hence when they go to traffic they think their the bees knees ..from my "extensive" research, ..apart from some exceptions, tc dont do traffic accidents, dont respond to calls for help from "normal" guards. ..they catch speeders on 30/40 km in dual carriagways, bus laners etc ..they get the same pay as real guards, with no hassle, no investigations ..if your getting ur ass kicked on main street, traffic will NOT respond to the call.. are they real guards?? ..i say no!! but its only my opinion
    Define "real crime" and "real guards".

damage to property, assault on people, violence, thereat of violence

real guard ..who responds and investigates the above..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭bluetop

Maybe hooch can answer all these traffic questions he spends a lot of time on here maybe he is one of these lazy tc that visionary is talking about :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭mcgarrett

The last Garda shot on duty was checking out a suspicious car on the nth Strand Rd, he was attached to..........Traffic :eek:

Those old ladies in balaclavas can be dangerous!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭UDP

damage to property, assault on people, violence, thereat of violence

real guard ..who responds and investigates the above
    What makes them any more of a "real" crime, than a drunk driver causing the death of an innocent bystander? or a person speeding resulting in damage to other people's property, injury and death?

Actually, on the topic of Traffic Corps, I seen a TC marked car parked outside a house at the end of my street the other day. Have never seen this before, so was unsure if the TC car was there because the regular Avensis was in use, or what the story was.

Found it very strange. Are TC starting to deal with non traffic incidents now, too?

If they're planning to disband the traffic corps, I hope they at least keep the battenburg pattern (ie; get rid of the single stripe, and eventually have every AGS vehicle battenburged).

no disrespect to Garda Shelrlock, and i sympathies with him ..but in fairness, he wasnt (as far as i no) responding to an armed incident ..as far as i no (and open to correction) he was performing a traffic stop

hi udp ..normal guards investigate the traffic accidents, and the drunk driver who caused regular damage - thats my point ..normal guards also do traffic ..but traffic dont do normal guard stuff (altho they apparently have no bother doing normal guards)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭bluetop

Actually, on the topic of Traffic Corps, I seen a TC marked car parked outside a house at the end of my street the other day. Have never seen this before, so was unsure if the TC car was there because the regular Avensis was in use, or what the story was.

Maybe they where calling home for tea and biscuits :eek:

Going on your antipathy for traffic corps, you have to be attached to detective branch :D

haha, no im a security guard in burger king, and im fed up watching tc getting free chips all the time lol

Visionary,
    For you information, I have seen TC members stand right beside their regular colleagues at fights. I've also seen the RSU & dog units standing by their colleagues. I've had TC come as back up to me when I needed it on calls. Your "extensive" research is flawed & your continued postings about TC members not being "real" gardai is insulting to all members of An Garda Siochana!!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭Spartan09

http://www.dttas.ie/speech.aspx?Id=35

From the AA roadwatch to the general mainstream media to the politicans who run our country, there is almost universal acclaim for the role of the traffic core in reducting the number of road deaths in Ireland since its inception. The obvious disrespect to members of the traffic core in your posts is evident. At the end of the day your attempted distinction between members of an Garda Siochana who are in traffic core and who are not is largely irrelevant in your feebile attempt to distinguish them from "real" Gardai. I would be confident in my opinion that non traffic core members do not consider traffic core members as any less of a "real" Garda than they are. I wonder is the poster a parent? I am now, it gives you a different perspective on life. To some of the public the NCT is a money making machine by the government and any member of an Garda Siochana who enforces it is not doing "real" Garda work. I've come across cars that are up to 2 years without an NCT. If that car has defective brakes and plows into the back of car containing my child and injures or kills them because its road worthiness was never evaluated or enforced by traffic core then how do you think I or you or any other parent would feel about that?? Traffic core may not be percieved as being as glamorous as other sections of an garda siochana but its effectiveness is a matter for debate by the commissioner and minister for justice etc, they and only then will decide on its fate.

At the end of the day if you dont speed, drink and drive, have tax, insurance, nct, dont talk on the phone then you should never have an issue with traffic core. They enforce the laws made by the politicans you vote for, they dont make them up, if you have issues with how they work then its a matter for government who make the laws they are entrusted with enforcing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Guys, dont reply to the bad troll.

op. Fúck off.

During the 40 odd years that my father was a member of An Garda Siochana he served at many posts & many duties
    He was on the border
    He was a village cop in the back ass of beyond
    He was in the branch
    He was in the Traffic Corps
    He was IC in a large town

Pray tell OP for those 40 odd years between attestation & retirement did my father cease to be a "real cop" when he joined the corps and become "real" again when he was promoted out?? :rolleyes:

What a load of codswallop

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

Whatever became of '' Don't feed the trolls '' :confused:

Delancey wrote: »
    Whatever became of '' Don't feed the trolls '' :confused:

Sorry.... me bad..... I was so hoping NGA or Deadwood would show up :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Paulzx

..but in fairness, he wasnt (as far as i no) responding to an armed incident ..as far as i no (and open to correction) he was performing a traffic stop

I'd say the bullet didn't hurt as much so...

He's not a troll. Trolls are at least subtle in what they are trying to do.

He's more a sort of braindead asshole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

I've seen members of the TC doing non traffic duties loads of times here in Dublin,but anyways why does enforcing the laws of our roads/saving lives not make a member of AGS a ''real guard?''

I live beside the childrens hospital here in Dublin and at rush hour on most evenings I do see members of the traffic corps in cars and on motorbikes putting their lifes on the line weaving in and out of traffic in order to escort a presumably quite ill child in an ambo to hospital,I think they deserve a bit of respect,and don't deserve to be sneered at by ignorant posters on here who more then likely have no idea what they're day to day duties entail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭marketty

haha, no im a security guard in burger king, and im fed up watching tc getting free chips all the time lol

So what you're saying is you couldn't get into templemore?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

I've seen members of the TC doing non traffic duties loads of times here in Dublin,but anyways why does enforcing the laws of our roads/saving lives not make a member of AGS a ''real guard?''

I live beside the childrens hospital here in Dubin and at rush hour on most evenings I do see members of the traffic corps in cars and on motorbikes putting their lifes on the line weaving in and out of traffic in order to escort a presumably quite ill child in an ambo to hospital,I think they deserve a bit of respect,and don't deserve to be sneered at by ignorant posters on here who more then likely have no idea what they're day to day duties entail.

H's a rentacop in BK. Clearly he is an egg spurt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭Techo

There real gardai alright unfortunately.Pity they serve no purpose.Government should send em back on the beat, it's where they're needed most.Know a few real guards and from what I hear, traffic cops are a waste of space and wouldn't know work if it hit them in the face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,562 ✭✭✭kub

angelfire9 wrote: »
    During the 40 odd years that my father was a member of An Garda Siochana he served at many posts & many duties
    He was on the border
    He was a village cop in the back ass of beyond
    He was in the branch
    He was in the Traffic Corps
    He was IC in a large town

Pray tell OP for those 40 odd years between attestation & retirement did my father cease to be a "real cop" when he joined the corps and become "real" again when he was promoted out?? :rolleyes:

What a load of codswallop

Respect to your father and the service which he gave those communities over those 40 years.
    I am just wondering, the list above, is it in the correct order, I mean was he in the Branch and then moved to TC, in that order? Was he promoted to Sarge or something in the process?

kub wrote: »
    Respect to your father and the service which he gave those communities over those 40 years.
    I am just wondering, the list above, is it in the correct order, I mean was he in the Branch and then moved to TC, in that order? Was he promoted to Sarge or something in the process?

For gods sake!!! Have you not been watching "Mattie" :D

kub wrote: »

Pretty much
    Sleepy town > Border Town > Branch in Large Town > Sgt in Traffic Corps > Sgt IC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭Thepredator

People are worse for responding to such antagonising arseholes. Clearly just looking for a reaction!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭CB19Kevo

He is just looking for a reaction, And as for him doing security,That was just a bad joke by him as i cant see anyone hiring someone with such a attitude. TC cover any calls that regular cars respond to depending on there location and the priority and anyone out on the street knows that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭WilcoOut

Traffic Corps are a specialised unit

just like the ERU, SDU, CAB etc

experts in their own right

in other police forces perhaps traffic cops are seen as wasters, not in this jurisdiction though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Galway K9

Spartan09 wrote: »
    http://www.dttas.ie/speech.aspx?Id=35

From the AA roadwatch to the general mainstream media to the politicans who run our country, there is almost universal acclaim for the role of the traffic core in reducting the number of road deaths in Ireland since its inception. The obvious disrespect to members of the traffic core in your posts is evident. At the end of the day your attempted distinction between members of an Garda Siochana who are in traffic core and who are not is largely irrelevant in your feebile attempt to distinguish them from "real" Gardai. I would be confident in my opinion that non traffic core members do not consider traffic core members as any less of a "real" Garda than they are. I wonder is the poster a parent? I am now, it gives you a different perspective on life. To some of the public the NCT is a money making machine by the government and any member of an Garda Siochana who enforces it is not doing "real" Garda work. I've come across cars that are up to 2 years without an NCT. If that car has defective brakes and plows into the back of car containing my child and injures or kills them because its road worthiness was never evaluated or enforced by traffic core then how do you think I or you or any other parent would feel about that?? Traffic core may not be percieved as being as glamorous as other sections of an garda siochana but its effectiveness is a matter for debate by the commissioner and minister for justice etc, they and only then will decide on its fate.

At the end of the day if you dont speed, drink and drive, have tax, insurance, nct, dont talk on the phone then you should never have an issue with traffic core. They enforce the laws made by the politicans you vote for, they dont make them up, if you have issues with how they work then its a matter for government who make the laws they are entrusted with enforcing.

I didn't vote for those politicians lol

cheers for ye,r reply's..