If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Bangernomics car of the week/day - Part II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,377 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

BX 19 wrote: »
    Fresh NCT, Nissan V6 smoooooooothness. Lovely colour too.

Full-14624829.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3979304

I'd never get insurance for the flipping thing but I agree with you she'd be a great buy for the right person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,471 ✭✭✭alias no.9

Cheap alfa 145 a fun car 13 months NCT and will tax for 6 months €1350, not a bad little car cheap enough to run and easy to insure.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4296917

cracking little car but way overpriced, good luck with sale ;)

alias no.9 wrote: »
    cracking little car but way overpriced, good luck with sale ;)

Price down to €1100 now so someone was listening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭RidleyRider

Telling ye it was the dude who posted it here first was doing a bit of free advertising:P

Can you blame him??

I'm delighted I found this thread, I have to pick up a wee thing at the end of January for €1000 - €2000 that'll last me a year or two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Jayop wrote: »
    Can you blame him??

I'm delighted I found this thread, I have to pick up a wee thing at the end of January for €1000 - €2000 that'll last me a year or two.

Mileage? Fuel? Max tax? Body type?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭RidleyRider

dgt wrote: »
    Mileage? Fuel? Max tax? Body type?

All that came into dgt's mind was 'Challenge accepted'

Not too bothered really, just a steady yoke.

Mileage as low as I can get for the money, I'm realistic, but I wouldn't want over 120k
    Prefer a diesel but a 1.4 or 1.6 petrol would do, not putting up big miliage
    same for tax, small engine petrol or 1.6/1.8 diesel
    anything but a 3 door really.

Mileage as low as I can get for the money, I'm realistic, but I wouldn't want over 120k

NCT Jan 14, 750

Far from perfect bodywise
    Full-16131824.jpeg

NCT till March, 750

Full-16204278.jpeg

NCT till Oct, 1750

Guessing ex Garda
    Full-15805551.jpeg

NCTtill Jan 14, 890

Full-16206780.jpeg

NCT till Jan 14, 1250

A diesel car, but the regulars can guess what it is..... Hence no picture! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭Barry Barry

Anything diesel in your price range will most likely have astronomical mileage. You could get a petrol easily enough with sub 120k though.

If you want a diesel,
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4297422

If you want a petrol,
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4210842

No mention of an NCT stopped me putting that one up ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,536 ✭✭✭✭L-M

I thought the tax bands capped out at 3 litres?

Ya, there's under and over... presume its a 2997 cc or what ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

dgt, how did you miss this !!! I even checked back a pile of posts to make sure you hadn't popped it up already.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4297287

The Primera's we're the direction I was looking. They sound like a box of hammers trundling up the road, but for the money you can pick them up at it's hard to complain.

That wee 307 looks like a decent motor. I worked with renault so I wouldn't have the same hang ups a lot of people would have about French cars.

Thanks lads, gave me plenty to think about, and when I get a few bob together at the end of January I'll be back begging for advise!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,785 ✭✭✭rocky

I thought the tax bands capped out at 3 litres?

Yes but the 730 is just under I think...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BMW_M60

2997cc

Saab Ed wrote: »
    dgt, how did you miss this !!! I even checked back a pile of posts to make sure you hadn't popped it up already.

Is there a runnng joke with dgt and 406's then??

I thought about it too! But the TD is cheaper with a longer NCT (and more reliable :pac:)

But a cracking find nonetheless :)

1997 Ford Escort Ghia estate, 60k miles, NCT until 11/13. €800
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4296056

2000 Nissan Almera saloon, NCT until 6/13 and tax until 8/13. €995.
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4296080

1998 SAAB 93 Convertible, NCT until 5/13. Now isn't really the best time to buy a convertible but you could use that as a haggling tool. €950
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4149544

No mention of an NCT stopped me putting that one up ;)

NCT'ed until 2/13. Not really a lot so I'd leave that one out..

Is there a runnng joke with dgt and 406's then??

Er...... I hung that coat up a while ago :p

Exhibit a, b, c, d, e...... Plenty more :pac:

1997 Ford Escort Ghia estate, 60k miles, NCT until 11/13. €800
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4296056

2000 Nissan Almera saloon, NCT until 6/13 and tax until 8/13. €995.
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4296080

1998 SAAB 93 Convertible, NCT until 5/13. Now isn't really the best time to buy a convertible but you could use that as a haggling tool. €950
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4149544

The Almera an the Escort look like decent machines especially with test and new(ish) tyres. But I'm pretty sure I don't live in a 80's cop show so the soft top Saab is a nono! ;)

NCT'ed until 2/13. Not really a lot so I'd leave that one out..

Did you ring and ask? :eek::)

http://carsireland.ie/add.php

Pop any reg in here and it'll give you NCT expiry date, tax expiry date, owners etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,536 ✭✭✭✭L-M

rocky wrote: »

Yes but the 730 is just under I think...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BMW_M60

2997cc

What an epic guess lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,753 ✭✭✭Bigus

Only 65000 miles 2005 a few honest marks but 2.0 killing it ......would be ok for near a grand asking 1750

Loadsa room for hair dryers in the hatchback too

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4236615

Full-15914272.jpeg

http://carsireland.ie/add.php

Pop any reg in here and it'll give you NCT expiry date, tax expiry date, owners etc

Something to add to I've learned something new today :D

Bigus wrote: »
    Only 65000 miles 2005 a few honest marks but 2.0 killing it ......would be ok for near a grand asking 1750

Loadsa room for hair dryers in the hatchback too

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4236615

Full-15914272.jpeg

Those 2lt Coupe's are lovely to drive if you don't mind a stiff ride. I had on up from Sligo to Dublin once for a spin and I have to say she could move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭johndaman66

Sellers comment: "The 406 hdi was the best car ever made"

EEEK!!... Why do people feel the need to write in these sort of bullsh!t comments when advertising a car? These kind of comments tend to put me off as I'd guess the seller is gonna spout bs about other aspects of the car in hand...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,753 ✭✭✭Bigus

Drive it for a year and get your money back....true bangernomics with bit off the asking price 1124cc

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4273963

Full-16093013.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭johndaman66

If that one is genuine its a very good find indeed. The nicest colour in them in my opinion, half leather and relatively low mileage. A few months tax into the bargain to sweeten the deal even more. Won't hang around for long I reckon