Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day - Part II

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Top Dog

W123-80's wrote: »
    Could be worth a look.
    Prob need to know a hundred or two off first.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3822933
    NCT to 3/14? I thought all NCT's were only a year now? :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

Top Dog wrote: »
    NCT to 3/14? I thought all NCT's were only a year now? :confused:

2 years for cars under 10 year old ....

• Registered Users Posts: 24,158 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Bawnmore wrote: »
    Clean looking Saab here.

2 litre turbo (LPT I think they were mind), FSH, NCT 03/13, low mileage and I'm sure could be driven away for €500. Nice cheap motoring there.

Full-13727334.jpeg
    Why oh why did I tell the other half she could use my bonus for her bridesmaids dresses... :(

The only consolation is that it doesn't have leather and there's no mention of air con...

/\ - and its dated looking :(

• Registered Users Posts: 24,158 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

You say dated, I say classicly good looking ;)

I will own a 900 turbo at some point in my life...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭jimmyw

MidlandsM wrote: »
    /\ - and its dated looking :(

Wash your mouth out:p
    Sleepy wrote: »

Here here, definitely cheap motor apart from the tax.;)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

View2-13798778.jpeg
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3786552

This Clio was mentioned on the last page. I'm just interested in this bit:
    Just tested but back dated 11/12

So taking the seller at their word, they got the car NCT'd this month but it was due last November so was dated till November 2012. Is there anything to stop the seller going straight back into the NCT centre, and paying for a new NCT until 11/13? Surely this must be possible ? Just a thought.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

Me too, hopefully.

But it's going to be a mid 80's 900 Turbo Classic. Not an Opel. ;)

Something like this (with the steering wheel on the correct side).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

<Ollie> wrote: »

Me too, hopefully.

But it's going to be a mid 80's 900 Turbo Classic. Not an Opel. ;)

Something like this (with the steering wheel on the correct side).

Better be quick so. Classic 900s are getting very thin on the ground. I own a 92 non turbo and I've been offered good money for it on a few occasions. 3 years ago there would be 20 of them for sale at any time on eBay UK or pistonheads. Now you'll be lucky to see two or three. Good ones, not over priced ones but really really good ones are now 3 grand plus.16 value aeros are now over 5 grand in the UK.

Don't buy the "its an Opel" bollocks either. That's just the clarkson school of ignorance opinion that's been put out there. I also own a 2001 9-3 aero and, while it won't tackle a corner like a BMW ( neither will an 80s 900 either for that matter ) all the same its nothing short of excellent. Super comfy, wicked quick and bloody reliable. Best of all its fantastically discreet and Saab changed so much of its hardware that anything Opel has been banished from its personality completely.

I've owned classic 900s, 9000s , GM 9-3s and 9-5s. They're all excellent but I'll happily go along with the "crap Opel" tag when I'm looking to buy one because it lands me the greatest bargain every time :-)

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 23,157 Mod ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

bijapos wrote: »
    View2-13798778.jpeg

So taking the seller at their word, they got the car NCT'd this month but it was due last November so was dated till November 2012. Is there anything to stop the seller going straight back into the NCT centre, and paying for a new NCT until 11/13? Surely this must be possible ? Just a thought.

I dont have an answer for you.

But jaysis, buying one of them on the cheap just has to end in tears.

Saab Ed wrote: »
    Better be quick so. Classic 900s are getting very thin on the ground. I own a 92 non turbo and I've been offered good money for it on a few occasions. 3 years ago there would be 20 of them for sale at any time on eBay UK or pistonheads. Now you'll be lucky to see two or three. Good ones, not over priced ones but really really good ones are now 3 grand plus.16 value aeros are now over 5 grand in the UK.

Don't buy the "its an Opel" bollocks either. That's just the clarkson school of ignorance opinion that's been put out there. I also own a 2001 9-3 aero and, while it won't tackle a corner like a BMW ( neither will an 80s 900 either for that matter ) all the same its nothing short of excellent. Super comfy, wicked quick and bloody reliable. Best of all its fantastically discreet and Saab changed so much of its hardware that anything Opel has been banished from its personality completely.

I've owned classic 900s, 9000s , GM 9-3s and 9-5s. They're all excellent but I'll happily go along with the "crap Opel" tag when I'm looking to buy one because it lands me the greatest bargain every time :-)

Cheers Ed. Might buy one sooner rather than later then..

In fairness to Clarkson though, he said the exact opposite re. the Vauxhall effect on Saab (see video below 13 mins on). The Top Gear team really like Saab. Although I think myself, the latter cars had more of a GM effect than earlier ones. 92< 9-3's haven't the best built interiors for example (very un-Saab like).. Squeaky (I own one). And a few more issues. Not bombproof by any means.

• Registered Users Posts: 518 ✭✭✭coach22

99 ford fiesta for €850 with a years test

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3815731

• Registered Users Posts: 8,206 ✭✭✭ongarite

Ford Ka, NCT 8/13 for €1250:
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3826725

View2-13897991.jpeg

Great 2nd family car......

Panda, €1900 asking......

Full-13910534.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3829338

NCT untill feb-14,

TAX untill 11-12

city button for parking,4 almost new tyres, roof rails, easy run....I like em'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

^^^^^^^

04MH1835

Poorly hidden :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,752 ✭✭✭flyingsnail

dgt wrote: »
    ^^^^^^^

04MH1835

Well at least they remembered that it is on the tax and nct.:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,334 ✭✭✭bladespin

dgt wrote: »
    ^^^^^^^

04MH1835

Never understood hiding the reg like that :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭jimmyw

<Ollie> wrote: »

So they are saying that Saab themselves caused their own demise?

I do like that 99, cool car and the classic 900 too.Not so sure about 9000s, bit big I think.

But if I had a chance to buy any Saab, I wouldn't think twice.

jimmyw wrote: »
    So they are saying that Saab themselves caused their own demise?

I do like that 99, cool car and the classic 900 too.Not so sure about 9000s, bit big I think.

But if I had a chance to buy any Saab, I wouldn't think twice.

Saab hadn't made a profit in over two decades.

They were in a very peculiar market - an executive car, but never sold in quantities like BMW or Audi. The cars only appealed to a certain type of buyer really. An old Top Gear video on youtube shows Clarkson test driving the new 9-5 back then, but it was the same price as the BMW 5 series, which was a fantastic car that kept its value.

Pity it was GM that took them over. Would have preferred if it were Ford myself. BMW really made a hit of taking over Mini, but it would have been strange BMW taking over Saab, almost a direct competitor (even if they never really were a threat).

Such a shame the marque is gone (except for the new electric cars). They made some iconic cars.

• Registered Users Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Katunga

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3831184
    Hard to believe it €1950 even with the bit of damage.
    nct for 2 years and taxed

Katunga wrote: »
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3831184
    Hard to believe it €1950 even with the bit of damage.
    nct for 2 years and taxed

rough yoke

FTO, lots of test and some tax....WAYYYYYY over priced but.........

Full?id=13921421

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3831641

• Registered Users Posts: 8,206 ✭✭✭ongarite

Cheap Fiesta, NCT 7/13 for €800:
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3561571
    View2-12628358.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 3,033 ✭✭✭redsteveireland

Great 2nd family car......

Panda, €1900 asking......

Full-13910534.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3829338

NCT untill feb-14,

TAX untill 11-12

city button for parking,4 almost new tyres, roof rails, easy run....I like em'

Don't particularly like them but that would be ideal for the school run...what would that be like in a crash?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

Don't particularly like them but that would be ideal for the school run...what would that be like in a crash?

Like using a sledge hammer to open a walnut....:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,449 ✭✭✭blastman

FTO, lots of test and some tax....WAYYYYYY over priced but.........

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3831641
    If you ever need parts, though....

ahhhhh ....are you lazy or wha? ;)

http://www.lmgtfy.com/?q=2004+fiat+panda+ncap

Re; the FTO - no biggie on parts on these, body panels maybe, but general stuff is available.

• Registered Users Posts: 194 ✭✭kulareggae

I dont have an answer for you.

But jaysis, buying one of them on the cheap just has to end in tears.

Its not that bad :) I have 2 spend maybe 100 on it found a door in scrappy full service and 2 tyres happy days :)

• Registered Users Posts: 194 ✭✭kulareggae

bijapos wrote: »
    View2-13798778.jpeg

It depends on how long the Nct has been out my friends car they gave him for 3 months it was a few years out lol but then they gave him for 2 yrs

decent looking is200 from a fecking liar *

Full?id=13928843

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3833214

*Economical me hole....... lol