Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE and the MBE

• 31-12-2011 10:35am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 963 ✭✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/1231/honours.html

Just read this news story on the RTE website. Found this line a bit funny and strange -
    His Member of the Order British (MBE) caps what was a spectacular year for the Northern Ireland player - having recovered from a final round meltdown at the US Masters he went on to win the US Open two months later.

I like they way they call the MBE 'Member of the Order British'. When its called Member of the British Empire. An Empire when raped a pillaged this country for hundreds of years, and his ancestors no doubt suffered under that 'Empire'.
    Do you think RTE deliberately left out Empire because its controversial or was it a genuine mistake?
    I know since the Queens visit we are all supposed to love everything British and 800 years means nothing anymore but I dont think honoring that Empire is a good thing for an Irish man to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭marketty

She is the queen of his country though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

NinjaK wrote: »

Just read this news story on the RTE website. Found this line a bit funny and strange -

I like they way they call the MBE 'Member of the Order British'. When its called Member of the British Empire. An Empire when raped a pillaged this country for hundreds of years, and his ancestors no doubt suffered under that 'Empire'.
    Do you think RTE deliberately left out Empire because its controversial or was it a genuine mistake?
    I know since the Queens visit we are all supposed to love everything British and 800 years means nothing anymore but I dont think honoring that Empire is a good thing for an Irish man to do.

Personally I think the whole thing is both funny and ridiculous. Darren and Rory are classed as 'Irish' but I've yet to see one of them wrap themselves in a Tricolour.

And as for those "honours" - a throwback to British imperialism at its worst. The british "empire" died a long time ago. Thankfully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

There would have been an "800 year" thread about it, whatever they called it.:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

gerry adams is getting one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭AG2R

Freddie59 wrote: »
    Personally I think the whole thing is both funny and ridiculous. Darren and Rory are classed as 'Irish' but I've yet to see one of them wrap themselves in a Tricolour.

ryder-cup-2006-k-club-dublin-ireland.jpg

AG2R wrote: »
    ryder-cup-2006-k-club-dublin-ireland.jpg

Ah fair enough then.:o But I still think the "honours" system is as I described it - a joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

At least they are being recognised by their state, what would Dublin confer upon them if they were from the South? Grazing right for their goats on St Stephens Green?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,708 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

And as for those "honours" - a throwback to British imperialism at its worst. The british "empire" died a long time ago. Thankfully.

imageshack.us/photo/my-images/52/rydercup.jpg/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Freddie59 wrote: »
    Darren and Rory are classed as 'Irish' but I've yet to see one of them wrap themselves in a Tricolour.

https://ssl.utvinternet.com/sportingvisions/imgdir/88092902/ryder-cup.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 963 ✭✭✭NinjaK

fryup wrote: »
    gerry adams is getting one

Is that an attempt at a joke??!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

Did you not actually read the story? They mention the word Empire in the line about Darren Clarke, so bang goes that theory.

As to the Irish v UK claims on the two lads - I'm sure they must be sick of the struggle to claim them as one nationality or another. Best of luck to them playing as pround Northern Irishmen or whatever they want to call themselves.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 963 ✭✭✭NinjaK

mike65 wrote: »
    At least they are being recognised by their state, what would Dublin confer upon them if they were from the South? Grazing right for their goats on St Stephens Green?

We dont award people like that so what are you on about??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

They might have gotten this :D;)

The award of Freedom of the City of Dublin acknowledges the contribution of certain people to the life of our city. It also bestows honour to important visitors to Dublin.A few recent honored people, I would say mikhail gorbachev is delighted:)

Paul McGuinness, 1 November 1999, 18 March 2000
    The Edge, 1 November 1999, 18 March 2000
    Larry Mullen Junior, 1 November 1999, 18 March 2000
    Adam Clayton, 1 November 1999, 18 March 2000
    Bono, 1 November 1999, 18 March 2000
    Mikhail Gorbachev, 3 December 2001, 9 January 2002
    Kevin Heffernan, 1 March 2004, 17 May 2004
    Ronnie Delany, 5 September 2005,5 March 2006
    Bob Geldof, 5 September 2005,5 March 2006
    Thomas Kinsella, 5 February 2007, 24 May 2007
    Louis Le Brocquy, 5 February 2007, 24 May 2007

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I would say Mikhail Gorbachev is wondering what he did for Dublerlin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

The reality probably is that RTE didn't know what to call the award, and fudged it.

"Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire"

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Order_of_the_British_Empire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

ejmaztec wrote: »
    "Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire"
    Duuuuuuuude! Party on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

Is that an attempt at a joke??!

Well if he can come down here and get elected not knowing what the VAT rate is them maybe it's not that far fetched...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Why was he honoured for his service to sport?

What sport is he involved with?

Well done on getting recognised by his monarch, though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

Pherekydes wrote: »
    Why was he honoured for his service to sport?

What sport is he involved with?

Well done on getting recognised by his monarch, though.

Agreed. It must be any young lads dream get such recognition from his head of state.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

Dotrel wrote: »
    Agreed. It must be any young lads dream get such recognition from his head of state.

Will he get the opportunity to meet her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

juan.kerr wrote: »
    Will he get the opportunity to meet her?

Yes, I think they get their honours directly from the queen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

I would say Mikhail Gorbachev is wondering what he did for Dublerlin!

They were probably grateful he disembarked the plane

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

I like they way they call the MBE 'Member of the Order British'. When its called Member of the British Empire.

Agreed, RTE have also cocked it up on their Teletext/Aertel page which also says "Member of the Order British" :confused: and then (MBE) in brackets. Personally I think an MBE or an OBE is a great honour to have bestowed upon you, and well done to Darren, Rory and all the others . . .

I wonder can I improve on my Lordship? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,574 ✭✭✭✭Victor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭30Min

It's up to each individual Irishman to decide for himself in the end and I'm delighted for them :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

Realistically speaking, the British empire slouched to its slow halt as the Union flag came down in Hong Kong in 1997. There effectively is no more empire, apart from a few islands like the Falklands.

There's nothing wrong with awards like the MBE or the OBE, they merely exist to thank and honour human beings for their extraordinary efforts in their community or in service to the general public. Entirely commendable awards.

Victor wrote: »

Indeed you may be right my good fellow, and amazingly, even I wasn't aware of that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭gigino

(I would say Mikhail Gorbachev is wondering what he did for Dublerlin! )
    They were probably grateful he disembarked the plane

lol thats right. Remember the time a few decades ago when our "teeshock" went to meet the Russian President at Shannon, and waited outside his plane while it refuelled ( on the way to Cuba or wherever ), and the Russian President snubbed him + did not get off the plane / meet him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Rory will be over the moon about the MBE. He sees himself as a Northern Irish British man. He is a catholic.

He grew up in a fairly unionist area and prob doesn't want he agro if he identified himself as more of an Irishman.

Darren Clarke and Graham McDowell were both raised protestant and have identified themselves as irishmen quite a few times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭gigino

marketty wrote: »
    She is the queen of his country though

+ 1. And from the RTE website

"Mr McIlroy said he was "delighted" to be named in the New Year Honours List for his service to sport."

Well done to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

gigino wrote: »
    + 1. And from the RTE website

"Mr McIlroy said he was "delighted" to be named in the New Year Honours List for his service to sport."

Well done to him.

I think RTE should do us all a favour and stop referring McIllroy as if he is an Irishman no different from Harrington. I find it embarrassing to hear it. He doesn't call himself Irish so leave it at that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Seanchai

later10 wrote: »
    Realistically speaking, the British empire slouched to its slow halt as the Union flag came down in Hong Kong in 1997. There effectively is no more empire, apart from a few islands like the Falklands.

There's nothing wrong with awards like the MBE or the OBE, they merely exist to thank and honour human beings for their extraordinary efforts in their community or in service to the general public. Entirely commendable awards.

This is very naive. An empire, dying or otherwise, always finds it handy to link itself with the successes of people with slim to no connection with it, be they Bono or Peter Sutherland, Daniel Barenboim or Steven Spielberg or numerous others.*

This award to McIlroy and Clarke is just more of the same pathetic bandwagon jumping on success, which has marked this annual pompous distribution of equally pompous imperial (and they still are, obviously, explicitly imperial: British Empire) titles. It's such a joke that you can buy these titles in exchange for political donations and the like, if you're so inclined.

* Sometimes, they back the wrong horse when they jump on success, as Benito Mussolini KBE, Suharto KBE, Robert Mugabe KBE, and many, many others bear witness. Indeed, the British honoured Robert Mugabe KBE (1994) before they honoured one Nelson Mandela KBE (1995), which reflects the British state's support for the apartheid régime, particularly under one Margaret Thatcher.

woodoo wrote: »
    I think RTE should do us all a favour and stop referring McIllroy as if he is an Irishman no different from Harrington. I find it embarrassing to hear it. He doesn't call himself Irish so leave it at that.
    Yes, they should mark him as different and insert "not our sort" in parentheses after his name.

Seriously, is this what you want?

RTE don't claim he's from the same 'tradition' (whatever that means) as nationalists; even if he is Irish, which he is in a geographic sense.

Lovely comment.:rolleyes: But still doesn't diminish the sheer farcical nature of these so-called "honours". Would I be right in guessing that you're English (or British:D) Mike?

He sees himself as a Northern Irish British man.
    Sweet Jesus. Talk about an identity crisis.:rolleyes:

+1 to that.

Seanchai wrote: »
    This is very naive. An empire, dying or otherwise, always finds it handy to link itself with the successes of people with slim to no connection with it
    They obviously felt they had enough of a connection with the British people to accept this award.

Unlike the Sovereign's Birthday Honours, these are honours decided by the British Prime Minister and his Cabinet, they are in effect the honours bestowed by a representative democracy to those who have been of service to the public.

Stop trying to use your silly nationalist claptrap and 800 years of oppression to get offended at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭bwatson

This is very naive. An empire, dying or otherwise, always finds it handy to link itself with the successes of people with slim to no connection with it, be they Bono or Peter Sutherland, Daniel Barenboim or Steven Spielberg or numerous others.*

This award to McIlroy and Clarke is just more of the same pathetic bandwagon jumping on success, which has marked this annual pompous distribution of equally pompous imperial (and they still are, obviously, explicitly imperial: British Empire) titles. It's such a joke that you can buy these titles in exchange for political donations and the like, if you're so inclined.

* Sometimes, they back the wrong horse when they jump on success, as Benito Mussolini KBE, Suharto KBE, Robert Mugabe KBE, and many, many others bear witness. Indeed, the British honoured Robert Mugabe KBE (1994) before they honoured one Nelson Mandela KBE (1995), which reflects the British state's support for the apartheid régime, particularly under one Margaret Thatcher.

The bitterness must really be eating you up. Every thread with any connection to Britain will see you charge in with your anti-British/Northern Irish rhetoric. Seeing as you clearly despise everything British/Unionist however it always raises a smile to see your anger/hatred/desperation, it is so extreme it appears almost debilitating.

Well done to the golfers, if they choose to accept the honours then many congratulations to them. A fantastic achievement.

They obviously felt they had enough of a connection with the British people to accept this award.

Unlike the Sovereign's Birthday Honours, these are honours decided by the British Prime Minister and his Cabinet, they are in effect the honours bestowed by a representative democracy to those who have been of service to the public.

Stop trying to use your silly nationalist claptrap and 800 years of oppression to get offended at it.

Very original; unable to respond intelligently to the point made, you respond with a baseless, clichéd "800 years" personal attack. :rolleyes:

Well said. Exposes these "honours" for what they are. A farce.

bwatson wrote: »
    The bitterness must really be eating you up. Every thread with any connection to Britain will see you charge in with your anti-British/Northern Irish rhetoric. Seeing as you clearly despise everything British/Unionist however it always raises a smile to see your anger/hatred/desperation, it is so extreme it appears almost debilitating.

Seeing as you clearly have a profound inability to understand or use the English language correctly, it's probably best in future if you addressed your diatribes to somebody with your own linguistic limitations.

These awards are largely attempts by the British crown and its politicians to bandwagon on success, be it the success of Robert Mugabe, Bono, Conrad Black or Rory McIlroy. Some bandwagon jumping pays off; some doesn't. That you both are very defensive about such an interpretation and engage in personal attacks in response is a bit too revealing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Seeing as you clearly have a profound inability to understand or use the English language correctly, it's probably best in future if you addressed your diatribes to somebody with your own linguistic limitations.

These awards are largely attempts by the British crown and its politicians to bandwagon on success, be it the success of Robert Mugabe, Bono, Conrad Black or Rory McIlroy. Some bandwagon jumping pays off; some doesn't. That you both are very defensive about such an interpretation and engage in personal attacks in response is a bit too revealing.

Actually it just seems that, like most countries, the UK awards honours to its citizens and occasionally also gives them to well-regarded foreigners. And why aren't you complaining about the "Order of Isabella the Catholic" that Spain still awards, with the King of Spain as Grand Master of the Order, for"rewarding the firm allegiance to Spain and the merits of Spanish citizens and foreigners in good standing with the Nation and especially in those exceptional services provided in pursuit of territories in America and overseas". Previous recipients include the footballer Diego Forlan, Eva Peron and a certain S. Hussein.

Very original; unable to respond intelligently to the point made, you respond with a baseless, clichéd "800 years" personal attack. :rolleyes:
    It's not a personal attack; if I called you names (though understandably, some consider 'nationalist' a slur) that would be a personal attack.

But I'm saying it's your suggestion that the British government is engaged in some cynical hero-hunting from foreign soils as part of some dirty rotten imperialist safari that is claptrap. Move on, everybody else has,and stop trying to get offended at something that makes absolutely no difference to you.

bwatson wrote: »

Well done to the golfers, if they choose to accept the honours then many congratulations to them. A fantastic achievement.

Well said bwatson, the bitterness does indeed seem to be eating him up, as he never misses an opportunity to have a go at all things connected to our neighbours, he just seems to live & breathe anti-Britishness in a way you don't see much anymore! anyway, enough of his anti-British bile.

Well done to all the recipients of the Queens honours, especially the golfers.

LordSutch wrote: »
    Well said bwatson, the bitterness does indeed seem to be eating him up, as he never misses an opportunity to have a go at all things connected to our neighbours, he just seems to live & breathe anti-Britishness in a way you don't see much anymore! anyway, enough of his anti-British bile.

Well done to all the recipients of the Queens honours, especially the golfers.

Rubbish. There are MANY - myself included - who would echo Seanchai's sentiments. The Queen's "honours".....FFS.:rolleyes: A load of oul bollocks.

goose2005 wrote: »
    why aren't you complaining about the "Order of Isabella the Catholic" that Spain still awards, with the King of Spain as Grand Master of the Order, for"rewarding the firm allegiance to Spain and the merits of Spanish citizens and foreigners in good standing with the Nation and especially in those exceptional services provided in pursuit of territories in America and overseas". Previous recipients include the footballer Diego Forlan, Eva Peron and a certain S. Hussein.

Please look at the thread title. Really. Just stop and think. If you want to establish a thread about the Spanish awards go for it and my views will be pretty much the same. This is not that thread, clearly.

Why there is so much resistance to the idea that political elites are instinctively inclined to hijack the success of other people is beyond me. It's naive to contend this is not happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭bwatson

:D:D

Aside from being nothing more than a little man deeply tormented by feelings of revulsion, fear and hatred you have shown how truly petty, arrogant and smug you are!

May I suggest in future you simply attach a photograph of any certificates of higher education you have been awarded? I am sure it will prove a far more conspicuous way of publicly asserting your clear intellectual superiority. However, I shall on this occasion congratulate you on your success in articulating emotion in a manner more admirable and refined manner than a man who has obviously mistaken this website for an informal message board. You have exposed me as being unworthy of even attempting to communicate with you! :pac:

I would feel deeply offended if it were not for the moments of humour you often provide. Here's to many more of your disapproving, desperate posts on all threads British in 2012!

LordSutch wrote: »

:rolleyes:. From the guy who is obsessed with lauding everything connected with British imperial history on this Irish forum, whatever you're saying to your political opponents can only be taken as a compliment by me and, I suspect, most Irish people.

It's not a personal attack; if I called you names (though understandably, some consider 'nationalist' a slur) that would be a personal attack.

So, if somebody accuses you of something, but doesn't call you a name, that's not a "personal attack"? By your above definition, this would seem to be your belief.
    But I'm saying it's your suggestion that the British government is engaged in some cynical hero-hunting from foreign soils as part of some dirty rotten imperialist safari that is claptrap.

That, my dear man, is entirely your suggestion. I said that they find it handy to utilise the success of other people for their own politics and to reinforce their own system. I stand by that. Your response was some Walter Mitty fantasy about what I said and an inevitably clichéd personal attack.

Move on, everybody else has,and stop trying to get offended at something that makes absolutely no difference to you.

Saying "everybody else has to move on", when you are defending an archaic honours system of the British Empire is - what's that word? - ironic, yes.