Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shifting....

• 22-12-2011 9:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5

I'm sure you're all familiar with shifting (French kissing) I always thought the way this worked among young people was quite strange. I'min my late teens and the way it always worked for me was go to a youth disco, get a friend to ask random girls if they would shift me, and eventually get lucky and snog her for a minute, then move on.

Was it like this for everyone else? Would love to hear people's takes and personal experiences, always seemedlike a weird experience. Also, what worked, how did you get the shift? :P As in did you get a friendto ask, ask a girls friend to ask her, or chat up the girl and ask yourself? And what age did you find random shifting ended at?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 MGHOW

Discos are basically just clubs for kids. Which means that the principles are the same for getting lucky if you're a male; everything is about looks.

If you were a good-looking young fella' as a youth, then yeah you could go to one of those places and 'shift' literally 100s of girls in a night. But if you were unfortunate enough to be born unfavorable in the looks department, then you will get turned down over and over again with no avail.

Just my experiences.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

But when you're older you discover alcohol, and the amazing effect it has.

[on women]

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

I shifted my way out the womb, is it strange to shift so soon?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

MGHOW wrote: »
    Discos are basically just clubs for kids. Which means that the principles are the same for getting lucky if you're a male; everything is about looks.

If you were a good-looking young fella' as a youth, then yeah you could go to one of those places and 'shift' literally 100s of girls in a night. But if you were unfortunate enough to be born unfavorable in the looks department, then you will get turned down over and over again with no avail.

Just my experiences.

Looks help, but confidence is more important and probably the thing most women find attractive in a man.

I had little experience of shifting as a teen, as I hated going to discos, went to an all boys's school, and was (charmingly) awkward.

Looking back, I could've got so many more shifts if I'd bothered trying.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 79 ✭✭bebostunnah

Teen fingering

• Registered Users Posts: 11,646 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

BLynch wrote: »
    I'min my late teens and the way it always worked for me was go to a youth disco, get a friend to ask random girls if they would shift me, and eventually get lucky and snog her for a minute, then move on.
    I'm 35 and I still do this at youth discos.

I get older, they stay the same age.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 554 ✭✭✭ThePower11

Drop the hand OP, shifting is so last century.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

If you are in your late teens it's time to start asking the girl yourself OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭boomkatalog

The way they did it in college was the guy would dance up behind you, ragin boner rubbing off your arse. The girl then would mouth across to her friend and ask is he good looking, if the friend says yes you turn around for the shift. If the friend says no, she grabs your hand, spins you around and ye pretend the guy doesn't exist.

If your friend is an asshole and says yes anyway, you turn around and get the face mauled off ya by whatever homely looking lad is rubbing himself up against the back of you. Once you're facing him, there's no goin back!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

awh I miss those days. though my first 'shift' was when I was 17 :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

I'm sure you're all familiar with shifting (French kissing) I always thought the way this worked among young people was quite strange. I'min my late teens and the way it always worked for me was go to a youth disco, get a friend to ask random girls if they would shift me, and eventually get lucky and snog her for a minute, then move on.

Was it like this for everyone else? Would love to hear people's takes and personal experiences, always seemedlike a weird experience. Also, what worked, how did you get the shift? :P As in did you get a friendto ask, ask a girls friend to ask her, or chat up the girl and ask yourself? And what age did you find random shifting ended at?

Why do I get the feeling that you're a 50 year old man wearing nothing but a trench-coat looking for cheap thrills on the internet.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭sebastianlieken

Looks help, but confidence is more important and probably the thing most women find attractive in a man.

as a teenager, i'm gonna say that looks are more important than confidance, this switches around when you hit your twenties. I was never the most confident teen, but (and I know it's the most twatish thing to say) I was good looking, and that got me lots of attention. My best mate was very confident and was always my wingman, he did the the talking, i did the shiftin' ... it was a good balance. :P

but now I find when you hit your twenties, it's all about confidence! so yeah, i'm here playing catch up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

awh I miss those days. though my first 'shift' was when I was 17 :o

17 :eek: were you afraid of boys?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

TheZohan wrote: »
    Why do I get the feeling that you're a 50 year old man wearing nothing but a trench-coat looking for cheap thrills on the internet.

She hasn't posted here in a while. Maybe try TLL?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

hondasam wrote: »

I'd say i wasint far off 17 either...

Late bloomer :pac: fugly

• Registered Users Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

I was 14 to 16 when I did this I think.
    Lucky for me - I was a girl, so never had to do the asking!
    (They really should change the social rules there actually - not really fair on the boys putting themselves out there so much)
    For me, it was all about looks or charm, or both.
    If there was a guy I just did not find attractive, there was no manipulation/technique that would work!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭cazzzzz

All I remember from teenage discos if a group of lads coming up to me and my friends..
    'Will you shift him?'
    'No'
    'Will you shift him?'
    'No'
    'Will you shift me?'
    'Alright Gwaaan so'
    Most asked question after a night out 'Did you get the shift?'

a little, but I think it was mostly the ugliness.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

My first shift was at a friend's birthday playing spin the bottle when I was 12. We went into the party deciding none of us would be fridgits by the end, and none of us were.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 BLynch

cazzzzz wrote: »
    'Did you get the shift?'

Classic line, only in Ireland :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 BLynch

Did anyone ever have the balls to go up to random girls at a disco and chat them up for a while, then ask for the shift himself? I can't ever remember anyone doing that... :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

themadchef wrote: »
    I'd say i wasint far off 17 either...

Late bloomer :pac: fugly
    a little, but I think it was mostly the ugliness.

I doubt either of ye were fugly, i'm sure ye have made up for the late start:D

• Registered Users Posts: 11,646 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

If there was a guy I just did not find attractive, there was no manipulation/technique that would work!
    There was.

You just wouldn't remember.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

Did anyone ever have the balls to go up to random girls at a disco and chat them up for a while, then ask for the shift himself? I can't ever remember anyone doing that... :/

That would have been creepy!

First they came for the socialists...

I doubt either of ye were fugly, i'm sure ye have made up for the late start:D

In kissing...yep.
    Domo230 wrote: »
    I was (am) ugly

Nobody ever asked me for the shift and they always said no :(

sames.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

first girl I kissed Ive mentally blocked out of my mind. seriously it was messy, drippy, and so much more, never again would i kiss a woman like that again after a long time the women's i kissed got better :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

Asked a friend to ask a girl once in a youth disco. She said no. Never asked a girl again.

I've shifted 3 girls. Bahhhhhhh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Shifting is for amateurs, hard anal is where it's at nowadays.

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭Carverkid

I don't ask any more, just a quick chat up, and if they're feeling it, lay the gob. ;-) If not just move on. Shift and drift, shift and drift.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I have honestly never experienced this. I had a few fellas asking 'will ya meet (clondalkin equivilant of shift) me' when I was out an about, but never had someone's friend ask me, nor was I ever asked if I 'got the shift'.

I feel like I missed out now, anyone want to shift?