Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Europol arrests 112 in child porn crackdown

124»

Einhard wrote: »
    The fact is that priests are no more likely to abuse minors than members of any other group or profession. We think they are but that's because such cases usually attract much more attention.

http://www.thedailybeast.com/newsweek/2010/04/07/mean-men.html

Well in all fairness, I'd assume that for a fair few cases, the opportunity of abuse is why some men joined... But it's irrelevant as the public outrage is at the cover-ups.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,339 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

Dudess wrote:
    El Horseboxo, I assume there is a counselling programme on offer for personnel investigating this sick sh1t?

Yeah I have to take mandatory counselling sessions once a month. But the door is always open for more. There's a high turnover rate in this job and alcoholism is a strong feature in past employees.

To the other person that asked, no I'm not a Garda nor in law enforcement as such. I'm a liaison for an international organization that works closely with various police departments in regards to online child exploitation and missing children. Most of the time our tech will handle and remove videos and images from servers. But in massive operations that will involve prosecutions there needs to be visual proof. Just briefly on my end. I really pity others that will have to watch them all in entirety once police acquire them.

And to the other guy that mentioned talking about it. I understand what you mean. But it helps me to talk about it. Nothing specific or going into detail as I know people don't want to hear about what I seen on a given day. But to even let people know and just cuss out some of these sick bastards helps. In fact we're actually encouraged to talk about it and not bottle it up. I usually talk to friends but thought I'd comment on this thread because despite the grim exposure to a horrifying side of humanity I took a certain amount of pride in this news.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

It is disgraceful and disgusting that people would actually do this stuff. How could someone actually rape a child but it is a lot more common than we wish to believe. 20% of people have paedophilic fantasies, their the ones who admit it.

The Talmud actually offers advice on Paedophilia and at what age it is suitable for it to begin between fathers and children. I think it says 3 for girls and 8 for boys. It actually encourages it.

There was a time when Paedophilia was seen as normal by some and it's only once we formed the concept of childhood in the modern world that it has become a taboo.

It's ****ing terrible, so many people's life's ruined. So many children destroyed.:(

• Registered Users Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

Balfie wrote: »
    This has to be one of the sickest things I have read in a long time! Seriously! Can't believe what some people can do. The parts that I put in bold seriously make me wanna throw up. How any person can do something to a child is sickening. Babies being sexually abused and raped. Sickening.

Makes me ashamed to be human sometimes.

RTE.ie Source.

and yet im still here...

but for how long ?!?!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 536 ✭✭✭ahal

My department was involved in assisting this. The last month has been especially flat out and I unfortunately ended up with images I'll never erase from my mind as they need need to be visually proofed before moving to process. The worst being the part you had bolded. I'll never get to come face to face with any of the perpetrators but I reckon I'd have been long locked up if I did. How the police arrest these sick fúcks without any claims of brutality is beyond me. A lot will be open and shut cases despite taking a long time to bring to sentence. But a good few scumbags will walk. I've sat in on some court proceedings and they can be very difficult to convict depending on the country they get tried in.

While this sort of a rant may be popular for reasons which are mostly valid, I doubt that you are involved in law enforcement (and if you are I'd be rather worried) using terms like "scumbag" etc.

People who do deal with paedophiles tend to accept that they are dealing with a mental illness and act according to the law, not emotion. Once you allow emotion to take over it gives rise to error, which actually can end up being counterproductive and in extreme circumstances can see charges being dropped against paedophiles.

If you are involved which again I would have to say I very much doubt, you would have an associated press office through which all contact with the media (including internet) takes place.

Edit: Having read your further posts I take it you're involved in a 'Perverted Justice' type organization?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,398 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

ahal wrote: »
    While this sort of a rant may be popular for reasons which are mostly valid, I doubt that you are involved in law enforcement (and if you are I'd be rather worried) using terms like "scumbag" etc.

People who do deal with paedophiles tend to accept that they are dealing with a mental illness and act according to the law, not emotion. Once you allow emotion to take over it gives rise to error, which actually can end up being counterproductive and in extreme circumstances can see charges being dropped against paedophiles.

If you are involved which again I would have to say I very much doubt, you would have an associated press office through which all contact with the media (including internet) takes place.

Edit: Having read your further posts I take it you're involved in a 'Perverted Justice' type organization?
    Are you seriously suggesting he should be out of a job because he called a group of paedos scumbags? In that case every policeman in the world should be sacked

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Why all the suspicion around El Horseboxo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭simit

God help the people that have to review the evidence. Those responsible should be buried alive in their own faeces.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭Balfie

Dudess wrote: »
    Why all the suspicion around El Horseboxo?

My thoughts exactly, the guy came into this thread to talk about the things he sees. AH is full of threads with people saying they seen someone take a dump somewhere or something stupid like that. A guy writes on here about a serious thing for once and gets questioned on how real his motives are.

The thoughts on this should be about how something like this can happen in the world, not about El Horseboxo's post.

Leave him the feck alone. No matter what capacity he is in, or where he is in it, like I have said already, he didn't give details, he is allowed to talk about things like that. All he said was he seen stuff. No names, no places, no dates, nothing.

Get over it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

The One word that stood out for me in that op was...... toddler.jesus h christ how could any one even begin to do something like that.
    Even animals don't do it.**** the do gooders and human rights people. these scum bags should be all put to death if found guilty.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,339 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

My department was involved in assisting this. The last month has been especially flat out and I unfortunately ended up with images I'll never erase from my mind as they need need to be visually proofed before moving to process. The worst being the part you had bolded. I'll never get to come face to face with any of the perpetrators but I reckon I'd have been long locked up if I did. How the police arrest these sick fúcks without any claims of brutality is beyond me. A lot will be open and shut cases despite taking a long time to bring to sentence. But a good few scumbags will walk. I've sat in on some court proceedings and they can be very difficult to convict depending on the country they get tried in.

I said I'm not involved in law enforcement. Not yet anyways.

Emotion has nothing to do with my job. I'm part of a team that discovers images and videos with tech provided by the FBI and Microsoft, we proof them and they are sent further up the chain. There is no error nor room for any bar a malfunction in technology which is virtually impossible because if it doesn't work nothing can be found. So no evidence found.

I'd like to know what more do you know about this operation through my 3 posts in this thread that is not available through the original posters news report? I mentioned my department was involved in a non law enforcement capacity. And then everything else was related to my job in general. I can and will call paedophiles scumbags. I realize the element of disease. Still won't change my opinion of them. You must have very little exposure to police if you think they don't use every name under the sun to describe perps they encounter in the line of duty. You should see the stuff posted on various police portals.

I'm not commenting as an official or in line with any press procedures. No details, no specifics, no names, no nothing that will impede court proceedings. As said before I'm well aware what can and cannot be said in any form of media. What I posted in this thread was the equivalent of a fireman coming on here and posting he responded to a call and saying the scenes were horrific in response to a posted news story about an arson case in which kids died. If he said the person that started the fire was a scumbag would you be expressing your opinion of you worrying about him being able to do his job or saying he will jeopardize any future court proceedings by talking to the media? For some reason I doubt it and I bet you'd be glad of him to pull you out of a burning building.

And no it's not some perverted justice type group. I very much doubt the UN and US justice department funds a concerned parents neighborhood watch type group.

Paparazzo wrote: »
    Are you seriously suggesting he should be out of a job because he called a group of paedos scumbags? In that case every policeman in the world should be sacked

Missing my point completely, so I'll put it simply. Which do you prefer?

1/ Paedo is aquitted because of pre-trial loose talk,

- or -

2/ Paedo is imprisoned.

The law is not emotional, sorry an' all, but I didn't invent it. Where do we draw the line? The problem otherwise with high emotion is that you can end up with the wrong people being attacked / houses burnt, and it actually contributes nothing to the main goal, which is imprisoning these sick individuals.

The image of the stranger in trenchcoat in a park is b.s. ... most abused children know their abusers, and quite often it's within the family.

I very much doubt also that any police force would in any way suggest that an outside organization should discuss anything, for fear of the obvious ... that being that regardless of how careful one is, there's always the risk of some info. slipping out and prejudicing a trial.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

crazygeryy wrote: »
    Even animals don't do it.**** the do gooders and human rights people. these scum bags should be all put to death if found guilty.
    Pointless comment - the do-gooders and human rights people (damn them!) don't set sentencing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,398 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Missing my point completely, so I'll put it simply. Which do you prefer?

1/ Paedo is aquitted because of pre-trial loose talk,

- or -

2/ Paedo is imprisoned.

The law is not emotional, sorry an' all, but I didn't invent it. Where do we draw the line? The problem otherwise with high emotion is that you can end up with the wrong people being attacked / houses burnt, and it actually contributes nothing to the main goal, which is imprisoning these sick individuals.

The image of the stranger in trenchcoat in a park is b.s. ... most abused children know their abusers, and quite often it's within the family.

I very much doubt also that any police force would in any way suggest that an outside organization should discuss anything, for fear of the obvious ... that being that regardless of how careful one is, there's always the risk of some info. slipping out and prejudicing a trial.

Read through your post that I quoted. Your first 2 points were giving out about El Horseboxo calling the poor paedos scumbags. You also seem to think that no one involved in law enforcement refer to criminals this way! Very naive. Also, as El Horseboxo said already, he knows exactly what he can say, and the idea that he won't work on a case again because of his internet post is just as laughable.

giving out about El Horseboxo calling the poor paedos scumbags..

Your abstract "view" :rolleyes: Do I take it that your use of the term "poor paedos" means you empathise with them, or are you being otherwise pathetic?
    You also seem to think that no one involved in law enforcement refer to criminals this way!

See above :rolleyes:
    and the idea that he won't work on a case again because of his internet post is just as laughable.

Unlike your good self I don't know every policeman in the World.

PS: There are police women these days too

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Well why do so many priests abuse kid then. I'm not having a go against the church for the sake of it, but out of the general public, I imagine there's a higher percentage of paedo priests than say teachers or something.
    There is a school of thought that says victims of paedophilia become paedophiles themselves.
    We have no idea how many children were victims of priests in this country, and how many of them went on to become paedophile priests themselves.

I remember reading something Freud said about paedos developing into paedos if they don't mature properly or something as children.
    Do we have more than most counties here?
    Freud thought everything was about yore ma.*

St.Spodo wrote: »
    I've always thought the main reason why there were/are so many paedophile priests in Ireland because they realised the trust their position would ensure, and the access they would have to children who trusted them.

That would be a reason, but you could apply the same reasoning to teachers, Gardaí and so forth.
    It would also apply to priests in other predominantly Catholic countries such as Italy, Spain etc.

Someone suggested that we have more paedophiles here than in any other country. I very much doubt that is the case.
    Yeah, we used to be a very sociable country, but we're not unique in that way.
    The same argument comes up all the time in Ireland. We have more scumbags, rapists, terrorists, kiddie fiddlers and gingers than everywhere else.
    Let's ignore the fact that only one of the 112 people arrested was Irish and say that we are a nation of paedos.

Sorry. I've spent too much time in AH and read the ramblings of too many self-loathing Irish people.

Anyway, I was just checking my spam folder and saw this: https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/30961/185700.PNG

I'd love if the link (I'm assuming there's a link. Didn't open it) was a trap.

*How to use yore ma in context.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 TheSean

Haha El Graymer, nice wind up.